Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Hi all, a newbie here...  (Read 1170 times)

Description:

Offline giZmo350Topic starter

• Lifetime Member
  • Gulfport, Miss
    • Show only replies by giZmo350
Hi all, a newbie here...
« on: April 29, 2005, 03:59:43 AM »
I always wanted an Amiga so got an A500 from ebay. It all works pretty much. One odd thing, I can't find a power switch on the unit anywhere! I didn't get any manuals with it. So I don't really know how to operate it. I had a Commodore 128 (about 20 years ago) and I remember that there are some odd key strokes and holds. Any help with the power button thing would be great (I have to keep pulling the power plug). So glad to be here and I'm looking forward to tinkering around with this computer!
A500: 2MB Chip, 8MB Fast, IndiECS, MiniMegi, IDE4ZorroII on Z-500, KS1.3/KS3.1, WB3.1&BWB

A2000HD: 2MB Chip, 128MB Fast, P5:Blizz 2060@50MHz, PCD-50B/4GBCF, XSurf100, RapidRoad, IndiECS, Matze RTG, MiniMegi, CD-RW, SunRize AD516, WB3.9

A1200: 2MB Chip, 64MB Fast, 4GBCF, GVP Typhoon 030 @40MHz w/FPU, Subway USB, EasyNet Ethernet, Indi AGA MKI, FastATA MK-IV, Internal Slim CD/DVD-RW, WB3.5

Surfing The Web With AMIGA Is Fun Again!

Offline Ilwrath

Re: Hi all, a newbie here...
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2005, 04:34:55 AM »
always wanted an Amiga so got an A500 from ebay. It all works pretty much. One odd thing, I can't find a power switch on the unit anywhere!

If you aren't using the stock power supply, you might not have a power switch...  It was on the power supply.  ;-)

CTRL-Amiga-Amiga resets it, though, so you don't have to unplug/replug all the time.

Offline adz

• Knight of the Sock
    • Show only replies by adz
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2005, 04:36:33 AM »
Hi and welcome to A.org :-)

The A500 in its stock configuration doesn't have a power switch on the machine itself, the power switch is located on the machines power supply. Hope this helps :-)

Edit...damn Ilwrath beat me to it :-P