Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Amiga Animation and CHIP RAM versus FAST RAM  (Read 10386 times)

Description:

Offline RowbeartoeTopic starter

• Show only replies by Rowbeartoe
    • http://myspace.com/RowbeartoeIM
Amiga Animation and CHIP RAM versus FAST RAM
« on: March 30, 2008, 02:19:41 AM »
I used to be a computer salesman back in 1989.  The store had an Amiga 500 and an Atari 1040ST on display.  I have always been an Atarian, but was fascinated by the Amiga.  As I'm sure many of you are aware, in many ways the Amiga was the evolution of the Atari 8-Bit computers.  

Now when I had side by side comparisons I noticed that the Amiga 500 never could do 60fps animations?  We even had Antic software with Cad 3D 2.0 on both computers, but the Amiga was limited to 30fps at best.  I remember having several (albeit slightly downgraded graphicly) Amiga HAM-6 animations such as the juggler, or a Scult 3D demo converted to Spectrum 512 running at 60fps on the ST.  I could never answer the question to customers if the Amiga animation software could match that speed.  

Cyperpaint on the ST was Zoetrope on the Amiga- was the Amiga version capable of 60fps?  My question is does any  Amiga software for the 500,1000, or 2000 allow full screen 320x200 animations at 60fps?  Turbo Silver 3.0, VideoScape 3d, Photon Video Cel Animator, Deluxe Paint III, and Photon Paint II all had animation capabilities on the Amiga.  But none of my magazines mentioned how fast these animations could go.  The reviewers always neglected to mention if it could.  That along with my personal experience suggests the Amiga could not.  Am I wrong?

If not, was it the CHIP RAM in the Amiga preventing 60fps animations?  Was it the slightly slower clock speed (7.1 MHz vs 8.0 MHz) of the 68000?  Was it the more memory intense files of the Amiga- Atari's 4bit versus Amiga's 5bit picture files?  Was it perhaps the Amiga 500 only had 512K?  

Thanks for you help everyone.