amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:29 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga News and Community Announcements Amiga Hardware News Romy A4000 & A3000

Amiga Hardware News This is the news feed forum for Amiga related Hardware news and announcements.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2013, 12:25 AM   #1
Cosmos
Technoid
Points: 9,911, Level: 66 Points: 9,911, Level: 66 Points: 9,911, Level: 66
Activity: 83% Activity: 83% Activity: 83%
 
Cosmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 461
Default Romy A4000 & A3000

New small hardware available for A4000 & A3000 : Romy

The function of Romy is very simple : it allow a new 512 KB block space for Kickstart

So with Romy plugged on Fat Gary, we have now 1 MB Kickstart available for A3000 & A4000 !


More informations :

- A4000 : http://leblogdecosmos.blogspot.fr/20...omy-a4000.html

- A3000 : http://leblogdecosmos.blogspot.fr/20...omy-a3000.html


A batch of Romy is for sale 17 including Priority shipping worldwide. Contact me by email !




Cosmos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 10:59 AM   #2
yssing
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,225, Level: 72 Points: 12,225, Level: 72 Points: 12,225, Level: 72
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
yssing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,324
Default Re: Romy A4000 & A3000

would it work on an A1200 as well?
__________________
SAM 440 As main Amiga
Alien Air Attack html5 version.
yssing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 11:19 AM   #3
Zac67
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Zac67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erlangen, Germany
Posts: 2,890
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: Romy A4000 & A3000

No Fat Gary in A1200, mate...
Zac67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 11:29 AM   #4
SpeedGeek
Technoid
Points: 3,557, Level: 37 Points: 3,557, Level: 37 Points: 3,557, Level: 37
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Posts: 189
Default Re: Romy A4000 & A3000

Quote:
Originally Posted by yssing View Post
would it work on an A1200 as well?
No, it won't work but the A1200 already supports 1MB Kickstart ROMs.
SpeedGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 01:52 PM   #5
ognix
Technoid
Points: 8,306, Level: 61 Points: 8,306, Level: 61 Points: 8,306, Level: 61
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
ognix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Udine, ITALY
Posts: 244
Default Re: Romy A4000 & A3000

Good job!
ognix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 12:52 AM   #6
Astral
Technoid
Points: 10,872, Level: 69 Points: 10,872, Level: 69 Points: 10,872, Level: 69
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 475
Default Re: Romy A4000 & A3000

How does this work? I mean, you fit this little board and then what? The normal kickstart sockets can now magically fit kickstart chips twice the size?

It's not really that clear.
Astral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 01:38 AM   #7
Cosmos
Technoid
Points: 9,911, Level: 66 Points: 9,911, Level: 66 Points: 9,911, Level: 66
Activity: 83% Activity: 83% Activity: 83%
 
Cosmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 461
Default Re: Romy A4000 & A3000

Once Romy fitted on Fat Gary, you can now install a new 1 MB Kickstart on the two rom sockets
Cosmos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 08:28 AM   #8
danbeaver
Lifetime Member
Points: 5,666, Level: 48 Points: 5,666, Level: 48 Points: 5,666, Level: 48
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,334
Question Re: Romy A4000 & A3000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosmos View Post
Once Romy fitted on Fat Gary, you can now install a new 1 MB Kickstart on the two rom sockets
Where would I find an example to build a 1 meg ROM from rom modules and then properly assemble them to correctly burn the EPROMs? What EPROMS are used?
danbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 01:42 PM   #9
Darrin
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,579, Level: 90 Points: 20,579, Level: 90 Points: 20,579, Level: 90
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana
Posts: 4,374
Send a message via AIM to Darrin Send a message via Yahoo to Darrin
Default Re: Romy A4000 & A3000

So, assuming I fit one of these to my A4000, are there any home-made KS3.2+ ROMs out there that I could "aquire", and if so, what features would they add to my A4000?

I'd love a Kickstart that would have PFS3 native for large HDs, CD ROM support native, etc.
__________________
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
Darrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 05:49 PM   #10
nicholas
VIP / Donor
Points: 21,064, Level: 91 Points: 21,064, Level: 91 Points: 21,064, Level: 91
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Englistan
Posts: 8,190
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: Romy A4000 & A3000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darrin View Post
So, assuming I fit one of these to my A4000, are there any home-made KS3.2+ ROMs out there that I could "aquire", and if so, what features would they add to my A4000?

I'd love a Kickstart that would have PFS3 native for large HDs, CD ROM support native, etc.
Do you have a Deneb in your A4000 Darrin?

I'm due to put my A3000 back together soon and will be using the flash ROM on my Deneb to hold my custom kickstart.

This nifty piece of hardware does look nice though.
__________________
Every day is Ashura, every land is Karbala. Allahu akbar va Khamenei rahbar!
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 12:32 AM   #11
Zac67
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Zac67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erlangen, Germany
Posts: 2,890
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: Romy A4000 & A3000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darrin View Post
I'd love a Kickstart that would have PFS3 native for large HDs,
You can easily put PFS3 in RDB, no need to ROM it.
Zac67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 12:46 AM   #12
ChaosLord
Premium Member
Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
ChaosLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,528
Default Re: Romy A4000 & A3000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darrin View Post
I'd love a Kickstart that would have PFS3 native for large HDs, CD ROM support native, etc.
You can/should store PFS3 into your Rigid Disk Block (RDB) of your hard drive that way it is available the instant you turn on your computer. Commodore did a lot of things right and that was one of them!

Can anyone make a list of things that are useful to add into this new 1MB ROM?

Like what are all the things needed to 100% overcome the 4GB HD limit?

Someone should make a selection of custom ROMs for different machines.

As far as A1200s go, the perfect ultimate 1MB ROM depends on which accelerator you are using.

There are certain things that every machine needs added into the ROM.
But there are other things that are specific to certain hardware configs.
__________________
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
ChaosLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 01:06 AM   #13
fryguy
Technoid
Points: 7,439, Level: 57 Points: 7,439, Level: 57 Points: 7,439, Level: 57
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 238
Default Re: Romy A4000 & A3000

Having KingCon in (EEP)ROM would be neat.
fryguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 04:11 PM   #14
Mrs Beanbag
Technoid
Points: 3,180, Level: 34 Points: 3,180, Level: 34 Points: 3,180, Level: 34
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 455
Default Re: Romy A4000 & A3000

I'd like a ROM: drive so you can boot into a minimal WB without any disks. and all the basic CLI commands.
__________________
Signature intentionally left blank
Mrs Beanbag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 04:59 PM   #15
ChaosLord
Premium Member
Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
ChaosLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,528
Default Re: Romy A4000 & A3000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
I'd like a ROM: drive so you can boot into a minimal WB without any disks. and all the basic CLI commands.
When optimized versions of the commands are used, all the standard CLI commands are very tiny.

So it seems reasonable to have a standard AmigaDOS cli command set be RESIDENT inside the 1MB ROM, assuming you don't use the extra 1MB for all sorts of fancy libraries, or MUI or something.
__________________
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
ChaosLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 11:44 PM   #16
Protek
Technoid
Points: 6,617, Level: 53 Points: 6,617, Level: 53 Points: 6,617, Level: 53
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 164
Default Re: Romy A4000 & A3000

Nice work!

Ride that Gary, Romy! Ride!
__________________
A4000/040 3.1/3.1, 2 MB Chip, 24 MB Fast, Piccolo SD64 2MB, GVP A2000mHC+8 Rev2, 4 GB CF HD via CF IDE
A1200 3.1/3.9, Blizzard 1230MkIV 030@50 with SCSI kit, 2 MB Chip, 128 MB Fast, 1 GB CF HD via CF IDE
A600 3.1/3.1, 2 MB Chip, A603, 1GB CF HD via CF IDE
Protek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a3000 , a4000 , romy
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump