amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:40 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Gaming AmiQuake 2 - new 68k Quake 2 Port

Amiga Gaming This forum is dedicated to games software and solutions for the Commodore Amiga computer. Need help blowing up pixels? Know of the next gaming revolution? Talk about it here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2013, 04:18 AM   #1
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,401, Level: 67 Points: 10,401, Level: 67 Points: 10,401, Level: 67
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,517
Blog Entries: 2
Default AmiQuake 2 - new 68k Quake 2 Port

Anyone ever seen Quake 2 run on a 68k in AGA mode before?

AmiQuake 2 AGA

Thought not....
__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, ODAMEX AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 05:10 AM   #2
Faerytale
Too much caffeine
Points: 5,602, Level: 48 Points: 5,602, Level: 48 Points: 5,602, Level: 48
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Faerytale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 118
Default Re: AmiQuake 2 - new 68k Quake 2 Port

AWESOME!! Really cool!! I wish i had a 060
Faerytale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 06:56 AM   #3
Cosmos
Technoid
Points: 8,629, Level: 62 Points: 8,629, Level: 62 Points: 8,629, Level: 62
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
Cosmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 399
Default Re: AmiQuake 2 - new 68k Quake 2 Port

Fantastic !
Cosmos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 07:26 AM   #4
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,642
Default Re: AmiQuake 2 - new 68k Quake 2 Port

XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 11:08 AM   #5
yssing
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,895, Level: 71 Points: 11,895, Level: 71 Points: 11,895, Level: 71
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
yssing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,295
Default Re: AmiQuake 2 - new 68k Quake 2 Port

I WANT!
That is very very cool
yssing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 04:07 PM   #6
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,401, Level: 67 Points: 10,401, Level: 67 Points: 10,401, Level: 67
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,517
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: AmiQuake 2 - new 68k Quake 2 Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by yssing View Post
I WANT!
That is very very cool
thanks, glad you like it
__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, ODAMEX AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 04:51 PM   #7
Karlos
Sockologist
Points: 50,135, Level: 100 Points: 50,135, Level: 100 Points: 50,135, Level: 100
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barishabaad, Sardistan
Posts: 16,646
Blog Entries: 18
Default Re: AmiQuake 2 - new 68k Quake 2 Port

Cool stuff.

I got Quake3 running on my A1200, but alas not on AGA
__________________
OCA
This isn't SCSI... This is SATA!!!
I have CDO. It's like OCD except all the letters are in ascending order. The way they should be.
Core2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz / X48T / 4GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX275 / Linux x64, AROS, Win64
A1XE 800MHz / 512MB / Radeon 9200 / OS4.1
A1200T BPPC 240MHz / 256MB / Permedia 2 / OS 3.1 - OS3.9, OS4
A1200T Apollo 1240 28MHz / 32MB / Mediator1200 / Voodoo 3000 / OS3.9
A1200D Apollo 1240 25MHz (ejector seat ROM edition) / 32MB
Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 07:44 PM   #8
Iggy
Desperately needs a life
Points: 15,647, Level: 80 Points: 15,647, Level: 80 Points: 15,647, Level: 80
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,899
Default Re: AmiQuake 2 - new 68k Quake 2 Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karlos View Post
Cool stuff.

I got Quake3 running on my A1200, but alas not on AGA
No AGA here, so alas.

How'd you get Quake3 running on your machine, Karlos?
__________________
Now just another Sinner with a tablet.

Purchased a 2.0 GHz G5 PowerMac for now (and I have 2.3 PCI-E G5 PowerMac for future revisions of MorphOS).

Also I still have a 1.42 GHz iBook (with MorphOS 3.4).

Finally I still have an old A2000 for the days I'm into pain.

"We are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid." -Benjamin Franklin

"I'm a hard worker." -George W. Bush

"Guess I'll have to change my way of livin..."

Kenny Downing is my God.
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 08:13 PM   #9
ChaosLord
Premium Member
Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
ChaosLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,528
Default Re: AmiQuake 2 - new 68k Quake 2 Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
How'd you get Quake3 running on your machine, Karlos?
He cheated and used a PC gfx card
__________________
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
ChaosLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 08:21 PM   #10
ChaosLord
Premium Member
Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
ChaosLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,528
Default Re: AmiQuake 2 - new 68k Quake 2 Port

I am curious to know how your AmiQuake2 AGA compares with AmiQuake2 RTG?

How does the frame rate compare?
Colors?
Resolution?

Its all very interesting!

I am also interested in what percent of time AmiQuake2 spends doing C2P?

And how much faster framerate could be on Replay+060 Daughtercard.
__________________
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
ChaosLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 08:32 PM   #11
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,401, Level: 67 Points: 10,401, Level: 67 Points: 10,401, Level: 67
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,517
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: AmiQuake 2 - new 68k Quake 2 Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosLord View Post
I am curious to know how your AmiQuake2 AGA compares with AmiQuake2 RTG?

How does the frame rate compare?
Colors?
Resolution?

Its all very interesting!

I am also interested in what percent of time AmiQuake2 spends doing C2P?

And how much faster framerate could be on Replay+060 Daughtercard.
Hiya,

I think it will be faster than the old RTG version @ the target resolution of 320x240 in 8bit color, my port is based on the awesome Yamagi Quake 2 Port.

With my port of Quake I've discovered that RTG is not really much quicker than AGA, it seems that the C2P/AGA is only slowing it down by about 3% at 320x200 vs RTG direct fame buffer writes.
__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, ODAMEX AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 08:35 PM   #12
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,401, Level: 67 Points: 10,401, Level: 67 Points: 10,401, Level: 67
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,517
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: AmiQuake 2 - new 68k Quake 2 Port

If you guys liked that, then you'll love this -> BETA 5

__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, ODAMEX AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 08:54 PM   #13
ChaosLord
Premium Member
Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
ChaosLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,528
Default Re: AmiQuake 2 - new 68k Quake 2 Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
With my port of Quake I've discovered that RTG is not really much quicker than AGA, it seems that the C2P/AGA is only slowing it down by about 3% at 320x200 vs RTG direct fame buffer writes.
In my gamecoding, which is 100% 2D, RTG is actually slower than AGA.
__________________
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
ChaosLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:06 PM   #14
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,642
Default Re: AmiQuake 2 - new 68k Quake 2 Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
If you guys liked that, then you'll love this -> BETA 5

Alright, now that is just cool! How badly does it slow down when you get into action at this point?

It's interesting seeing it under a 256 color palette. I'm really starting to think that PrBOOM could still happen some day.
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:32 PM   #15
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,401, Level: 67 Points: 10,401, Level: 67 Points: 10,401, Level: 67
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,517
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: AmiQuake 2 - new 68k Quake 2 Port

Yeah don't give up on PrBOOM, my BOOM port is now at 'end-of-life' and it would be nice to have a more advanced port on my 1200 one of these days

What happened to your Apollo 1260 btw, ever get it to run BOOM properly?
__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, ODAMEX AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
68k , amiquake , port , quake

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump