amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:52 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Marketplace Monitor required.

Amiga Marketplace This forum is here so that members can alert other members to Amiga items they've seen on eBay (or other auctions). If you are selling Amiga items on eBay, you might let us know about them here. Likewise, if you're selling Amiga items sans eBay, this is the "for sale" forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2013, 10:13 AM   #16
ChaosLord
Premium Member
Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
ChaosLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,528
Default Re: Monitor required.

Oh and btw, just to be clear:
You can have your 1084S connected on your high-quality crisp FREE 16.7 Million color RGB port of your Amiga 1200 and you can have some other sort of highres monitor connected at the same time for highres interlace desktop publishing or gaming if you add a flickerfixer.

All Amigas easily allow 2 or 3 monitors at the same time.

My A1200T has 1084S on the RGB port, the ViewSonic Multisync 19" on the VGA port and a 17" NEC multisync on the gfx card port (I don't use the gfx card so much). A1200T FTW!

No matter what I throw at my miggy she is there to serve me.
__________________
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
ChaosLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 10:27 AM   #17
ChaosLord
Premium Member
Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
ChaosLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,528
Default Re: Monitor required.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ral-clan View Post
You are kidding, right?
That is exactly what the County Clerk said to me, after everyone had finished laughing at me and then noticed I wasn't smiling.

The picture on that monitor was sooooooo beautiful and vibrant. It was wonderful. I could have just given it to a real human being like thesnapman44 and he would have loved it and taken care of it and fed it a healthy diet of SuperFrog and No Second Prize. He could have inherited it down to his children and his grandchildren and great grandchildren. Remember it was built in the days of proper lead-based solder that does not automatically self destruct.

But instead that sweet innocent beautiful monitor was murdered in the prime of her life.

I paid $330.00 for that monitor brand new. It had a really great tilt/swivel base that made it much better than my 1084S's
__________________
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
ChaosLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 07:43 PM   #18
danbeaver
Lifetime Member
Points: 4,827, Level: 44 Points: 4,827, Level: 44 Points: 4,827, Level: 44
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,090
Cool Re: Monitor required.

There is a Samsung 940MW for sale on eBay
danbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 08:37 PM   #19
thesnapman44
Beginner
Points: 238, Level: 4 Points: 238, Level: 4 Points: 238, Level: 4
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 29
Default Re: Monitor required.

Quote:
Originally Posted by danbeaver View Post
There is a Samsung 940MW for sale on eBay
There may well be, but will it work and is it what i am looking for? )
thesnapman44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 08:42 PM   #20
thesnapman44
Beginner
Points: 238, Level: 4 Points: 238, Level: 4 Points: 238, Level: 4
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 29
Default Re: Monitor required.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosLord View Post
That is exactly what the County Clerk said to me, after everyone had finished laughing at me and then noticed I wasn't smiling.

The picture on that monitor was sooooooo beautiful and vibrant. It was wonderful. I could have just given it to a real human being like thesnapman44 and he would have loved it and taken care of it and fed it a healthy diet of SuperFrog and No Second Prize. He could have inherited it down to his children and his grandchildren and great grandchildren. Remember it was built in the days of proper lead-based solder that does not automatically self destruct.

But instead that sweet innocent beautiful monitor was murdered in the prime of her life.

I paid $330.00 for that monitor brand new. It had a really great tilt/swivel base that made it much better than my 1084S's
Oh you don`t know how much love that monitor would have got lol. It would even be laying in the bed with me, after a hard days gaming, snuggled up with a blanket and cocoa . I had to read your reply to my thread a few times to make sure what i was reading. I mean, it got threw away. That`s criminal, barbaric, and other words that i can`t think off right now. Excuse me while i leave and sit and weep for her. Sniff.
thesnapman44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 06:54 AM   #21
thesnapman44
Beginner
Points: 238, Level: 4 Points: 238, Level: 4 Points: 238, Level: 4
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 29
Default Re: Monitor required.

Quote:
Originally Posted by danbeaver View Post
There is a Samsung 940MW for sale on eBay
I contacted the retailer concerning that above mentioned monitor. They informed me it would not be suitable for the Amiga, as it would not be compatible for the OS on the Amiga. Thank you anyway, and hey people, i am still lookinf for a monitor
thesnapman44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 07:47 AM   #22
zipper
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,418, Level: 75 Points: 13,418, Level: 75 Points: 13,418, Level: 75
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
zipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: finland
Posts: 2,204
Default Re: Monitor required.

They don't know what they are speaking ... Re the manual it accepts normal video:
Input Signal, Terminated
RGB Analog, DVI(Digital Visual Interface)
Composite Digital RGB, 0.7Vp-p5%, Positive bright, 75Ω10%(terminated),
Separate H/V sync, Composite,TTL level, positive or negative
TV / Video
Color system NTSC-M, PAL-M/N, PAL/SECAM - L/L',B/G,D/K,I
Video format S-Video, Composite, Component, Built-in-Tuner, PIP
zipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 10:19 AM   #23
ral-clan
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,203, Level: 79 Points: 15,203, Level: 79 Points: 15,203, Level: 79
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
ral-clan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Monitor required.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thesnapman44 View Post
I contacted the retailer concerning that above mentioned monitor. They informed me it would not be suitable for the Amiga, as it would not be compatible for the OS on the Amiga. Thank you anyway, and hey people, i am still lookinf for a monitor
I would do your own research on this. A lot of "tech support staff" for companies are fairly useless when it comes to Amiga questions. They haven't a clue what an Amiga is and just give an automatic answer of "unsupported". Study the monitors specs and determine if its compatible for yourself.

Besides, Amiga "OS" has little to do with whether or not the monitor is supported. If the monitor supports standard PAL / NTSC scan rates, then it should work, provided you are using the correct connectors.
__________________
Music I've made using Amigas and other retro-instruments: http://soundcloud.com/brentsantin
ral-clan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 10:50 AM   #24
thesnapman44
Beginner
Points: 238, Level: 4 Points: 238, Level: 4 Points: 238, Level: 4
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 29
Default Re: Monitor required.

This may well be the final question on this matter, so if there is someone who really is into the tech stuff regarding the Amiga and it`s compatible monitor/s. i would be grateful:
Will a 60 Hertz t.v work with the Amiga 1200?
thesnapman44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 11:07 AM   #25
ral-clan
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,203, Level: 79 Points: 15,203, Level: 79 Points: 15,203, Level: 79
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
ral-clan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Monitor required.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thesnapman44 View Post
This may well be the final question on this matter, so if there is someone who really is into the tech stuff regarding the Amiga and it`s compatible monitor/s. i would be grateful:
Will a 60 Hertz t.v work with the Amiga 1200?
Assuming that by 60Hz, you mean NTSC, then yes, it normally would, using the A1200's composite output connector. Not as sharp as a real RGB monitor, but good enough for games.

BUT....haven't you got a PAL Amiga that you dragged over from the UK? In that case, I'm not sure, as the composite output might only be in PAL format (50Hz). I know the Amiga can output PAL / NTSC on its RGB port, but I'm not sure if the composite connector is switchable (I don't have an A1200).
__________________
Music I've made using Amigas and other retro-instruments: http://soundcloud.com/brentsantin
ral-clan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 03:13 PM   #26
thesnapman44
Beginner
Points: 238, Level: 4 Points: 238, Level: 4 Points: 238, Level: 4
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 29
Default Re: Monitor required.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ral-clan View Post
Assuming that by 60Hz, you mean NTSC, then yes, it normally would, using the A1200's composite output connector. Not as sharp as a real RGB monitor, but good enough for games.

BUT....haven't you got a PAL Amiga that you dragged over from the UK? In that case, I'm not sure, as the composite output might only be in PAL format (50Hz). I know the Amiga can output PAL / NTSC on its RGB port, but I'm not sure if the composite connector is switchable (I don't have an A1200).
Oh for heavens sake !!!! I completely forgot about the Amiga being PAL (as it was nicely put, i DRAGGED it to the States) rofl. I am so glad that you pointed that out Rai-Clan. Top marks for that and give them a medal lol.
I am going to leave this particular thread alone now, but just to say, if any one has any definite information on anyone who has an Amiga Monitor, (anywhere), email me and catch my attention immediately by putting something like Got One !!!! in the subject line lol.

All of you have been great at giving me information on this subject, and i thank you all.
thesnapman44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 03:26 PM   #27
thesnapman44
Beginner
Points: 238, Level: 4 Points: 238, Level: 4 Points: 238, Level: 4
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 29
Default Re: Monitor required.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Viewsonic-VX...item4ac0cc293d

Noticed this on Ebay. The specs look correct. Can someone confirm asap so that i can get a bid on it.
Thanks.
thesnapman44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 04:38 PM   #28
danbeaver
Lifetime Member
Points: 4,827, Level: 44 Points: 4,827, Level: 44 Points: 4,827, Level: 44
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,090
Question Re: Monitor required.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thesnapman44 View Post
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Viewsonic-VX...item4ac0cc293d

Noticed this on Ebay. The specs look correct. Can someone confirm asap so that i can get a bid on it.
Thanks.
I will say this again, "Do you want to invest in an upgrade solution -- meaning DVI or VGA output?" Or stay with your Amiga native RGB 15KHz output?
danbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 05:26 PM   #29
thesnapman44
Beginner
Points: 238, Level: 4 Points: 238, Level: 4 Points: 238, Level: 4
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 29
Default Re: Monitor required.

Quote:
Originally Posted by danbeaver View Post
I will say this again, "Do you want to invest in an upgrade solution -- meaning DVI or VGA output?" Or stay with your Amiga native RGB 15KHz output?
stay with what i have
thesnapman44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 05:45 PM   #30
ChaosLord
Premium Member
Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
ChaosLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,528
Default Re: Monitor required.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thesnapman44 View Post
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Viewsonic-VX...item4ac0cc293d

Noticed this on Ebay. The specs look correct. Can someone confirm asap so that i can get a bid on it.
Thanks.
What specs? It says nothing useful.
Does it work with PAL? Does it work with NTSC? Does it work with a 31.5Khz signal? Does it work with a 15.75khz signal? ? What resolutions does it accept? Lots of so-called "modern" monitors ban many of the Amiga's video modes from working.

If the specs are not listed it is safe to assume "junk".

The monitor in that listing can safely be assumed to not work with your Amiga unless you have a flickerfixer. If you have a flickerfixer then you get a 25% chance of it working based on the info in Ebay listing. If you read the actual instruction manual then the odds would change.


In case you got confused, that ViewSonic is 100% different from my ViewSonic that I am using. Mine is a CRT monitor (big thick screen). Also my ViewSonic only works on my FlickerFixer port so far as I know. I never tested it to see if it was 15.75Khz compatible because 99.99% of monitors made since late 90s are not 15.75Khz compatible.
__________________
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
ChaosLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
monitor , required

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump