amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:45 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion General chat about Amiga topics We need an iBrowse replacement for 68k!!!

General chat about Amiga topics This forum is for conversations which are specifically "Amiga" related, but don't fit into other categories. Contents of this forum do appear on the main page, unlike Talk About. If a subject appears to be non-related, it will be moved to Talk About.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2013, 01:00 PM   #161
Fab
Technoid
Points: 3,744, Level: 38 Points: 3,744, Level: 38 Points: 3,744, Level: 38
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 216
Default Re: We need an iBrowse replacement for 68k!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by wawrzon View Post
jason has compiled aros owb for 68k, and i (and others) have tested it. it is almost usable, which means webkit browser might altogether be usable even on real amigas (060).
i expect fabs odyssey might be somewhat more responsive as this outdated version of aros owb.
Considering AROS OWB didn't have blitter support at all, it could only be faster, and not a little. I still think it would be rather slow on 060.


Quote:
thanks to jason and deadwood i have been able to build aros68k toolchain, configure the odyssey project somewhat but making ive run immediately into some (define) problems, because the project wants to build whith pthreads. i couldnt find the cause, fab, you might recall ive asked you too.
Well, you just need to set the thread backend you use when invoking cmake, if you didn't already.
That's USE_THREADS=MORPHOS.
So for instance
cd cross-build
cmake -DCMAKE_CROSSCOMPILING=ON -DCMAKE_TOOLCHAIN_FILE=../morphos.cmake -DUSE_IMAGEDECODER=GENERIC -DUSE_THREADS=MORPHOS .. etc...
Fab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 02:24 PM   #162
wawrzon
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,048, Level: 63 Points: 9,048, Level: 63 Points: 9,048, Level: 63
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,662
Default Re: We need an iBrowse replacement for 68k!!!

Quote:
Considering AROS OWB didn't have blitter support at all, it could only be faster, and not a little.
that exactly was the problem, it was blitting very slowly, scrolling slowly and the like..

Quote:
I still think it would be rather slow on 060.
on css heavy sites, yes.. bbc has loaded few minutes, about two afair and of course without java script. but it rendered correctly with datatypes. but a1k frontpage was there almost in an iinstant, and one has to consider arostcp stack is still very laggy..

now what concerns the build i have a script here where morphos is clearly defined for paths:

Code:
cmake \
    -DCMAKE_CROSSCOMPILING=ON \
    -DCMAKE_TOOLCHAIN_FILE=../cmake/aros.cmake \
    -DCMAKE_MODULE_PATH=../cmake \
    -DUSE_GRAPHICS="MORPHOS" \
    -DUSE_FONTS="FREETYPE" \
    -DUSE_TIMER="MORPHOS" \
    -DUSE_I18N:STRING=ICU \
    -DBUILD_SHARED_LIBS="NO" \
    -DUSE_THREADS="MORPHOS" \
    -DWITH_OWB_CONFIG_DIR="PROGDIR:owb.conf" \
    -DICU_LIBRARY="-licui18n -licuuc -licudata" \
    -DICU_INCLUDE="$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/include" \
	-DPNG12_LIBRARIES=$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/lib/libpng.a \
	-DPNG12_INCLUDE_DIRS=$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/include/ \
	-DFREETYPE_LIBRARIES=$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/lib/libfreetype2.a \
	-DFREETYPE_INCLUDE_DIRS=$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/include \
	-DFONTCONFIG_LIBRARIES=$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/lib/libfontconfig.a \
	-DFONTCONFIG_INCLUDE_DIRS=$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/include \
	-DJPEG_LIBRARY=$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/lib/libjpeg.a \
	-DJPEG_INCLUDE_DIR=$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/include/ \
	-DCURL_LIBRARIES="$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/lib/libcurl.a;$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/lib/libiconv.a;$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/lib/libz.a;$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/lib/libssl.a;$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/lib/libcrypto.a;" \
	-DCURL_INCLUDE_DIRS=$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/include/ \
	-DOWB_BASE_DEPS_LIBRARIES=$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/lib/libxml2.a \
	-DOWB_BASE_DEPS_INCLUDE_DIRS=$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/include/libxml2 \
	-DSQLITE3_INCLUDE_DIRS=$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/include/ \
	-DSQLITE3_LIBRARIES=$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/lib/libsqlite3.a \
	-DLIBXSLT_LIBRARIES=$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/lib/libxslt.a \
	-DLIBXSLT_INCLUDE_DIRS=$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/include/ \
	-DCAIRO_LIBRARY=$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/lib/libcairo.a \
	-DCAIRO_INCLUDE_DIR=$AROS_DEVELOPMENT/include/ \
    -DENABLE_ACCESSIBILITY:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_BLOB:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_DATALIST:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_DOM_STORAGE:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_EVENTSOURCE:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_FILE_SYSTEM:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_FILTERS:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_FTPDIR:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_GEOLOCATION:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_ICONDATABASE:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_INDEXED_DATABASE:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_INPUT_TYPE_COLOR:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_INSPECTOR:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_JAVASCRIPT_DEBUGGER:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_MEDIA_STATISTICS:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_METER_TAG:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_MICRODATA:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_NOTIFICATIONS:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_NPAPI:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_OFFLINE_DYNAMIC_ENTRIES:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_OFFLINE_WEB_APPLICATIONS:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_PROGRESS_TAG:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_REQUEST_ANIMATION_FRAME:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_RUBY:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_SANDBOX:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_SQL_DATABASE:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_WEB_SOCKETS:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_WEB_TIMING:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_XPATH:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_XSLT:BOOL=ON \
    -DENABLE_TESTS:BOOL=OFF \
    -DENABLE_TESTS_CPPUNIT:BOOL=OFF \
    ..
while now it stops somewhere else and i cant even configure it anymore aven though reinstalled and readjusted the whole source:
Code:
CMake Error at Tools/OWBLauncher/CMakeLists.txt:65 (target_link_libraries):
  Cannot specify link libraries for target "owb" which is not built by this
  project.
damn ive messed it up again..

Last edited by wawrzon; 03-12-2013 at 03:03 PM..
wawrzon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 03:26 PM   #163
Lurch
Lifetime Member
Points: 15,467, Level: 80 Points: 15,467, Level: 80 Points: 15,467, Level: 80
Activity: 52% Activity: 52% Activity: 52%
 
Lurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,401
Send a message via MSN to Lurch
Default Re: We need an iBrowse replacement for 68k!!!

Very interested in how this turns out, browsing is very quick with the 060@80MHz but as has been said the current browsers make a mess of websites :-(

Is there a link to the AROS OWB I can try?
__________________
-=[LurcH]=-
A1200T 060@80MHz | A500 Plus 030@25MHz | Pegasos II G4@1GHz
Lurch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 03:57 PM   #164
wawrzon
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,048, Level: 63 Points: 9,048, Level: 63 Points: 9,048, Level: 63
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,662
Default Re: We need an iBrowse replacement for 68k!!!

you need to run it under aros68k. this means you need to download aros68k nightly and decompress it onto an empty bootable partiotion, and then download the corresponding contributions where owb is in extras/networking/apps/owb

now that the last nightles do not start on 68k due to rebuilding the infrastructure, you may have to use aros vision distro for "classics".
you ll have to check out and remove all unnecessary ttf fonts from the fonts: dir otherwise it will take ages to parse them. i had somewhere an archive with those appropriate but forgot where. then you need to start arostcp (you need a lan card) otherwise the browser will refuse to run. and then you will have to sustain very long start, set the image decoders to datatypes in the browser prefs, disable javascript and then it might go online.

meanwhile ive noticed that olaf puts millions of fonts even into the aros vision classics, i would have to remove them now even to check if owb starts, its been months i ran that last time. i cant be bothered today. sorry.

Last edited by wawrzon; 03-12-2013 at 04:01 PM..
wawrzon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 10:51 AM   #165
chris
Cult Member
Points: 11,358, Level: 70 Points: 11,358, Level: 70 Points: 11,358, Level: 70
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
 
chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 625
Send a message via ICQ to chris
Default Re: We need an iBrowse replacement for 68k!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by apj View Post
I try to compile Chris's OS4 NetSurf.
I have half of code compiled at this moment.
If somebody knows how to implement some OS4 functions on classic,
post it here:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=68233
I don't have an account on EAB, however:

Quote:
COMPILE: amiga/schedule.c
amiga/schedule.c:28:17: pbl.h: No such file or directory
You need to build libpbl - http://www.mission-base.com/peter/source/
I use it because it's a bit nicer/quicker for controlling the list of scheduled events.

Also WINDOW_NewMenu would need to be replaced with (from the top of my head) LayoutMenus and the attach menu function (whose name escapes me at the moment), and the reverse clean-up when the window closes (in gui_window_destroy after DisposeObject(gwin->objects[GID_MAIN])). WINDOW_NewMenu can then be removed as that's all it does.

Quote:
int32 -> replace by LONG

uint32 -> replace by ULONG

int16 -> replace by WORD

uint16 -> replace by UWORD

int8 -> replace by BYTE

uint8 -> replace by UBYTE
I'd rather you didn't do that, instead add the necessary typedefs to os3support.h.
__________________
"Miracles we do at once, the impossible takes a little longer" - AJS on Hyperion
Avatar picture is Tabitha by Eric W Schwartz
chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 05:25 PM   #166
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,678, Level: 68 Points: 10,678, Level: 68 Points: 10,678, Level: 68
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,536
Blog Entries: 2
Cool Re: We need an iBrowse replacement for 68k!!!

NetSurf AGA BETA released

You can read up about the development of this new browser port on this EAB thread Amiga Browser

Basically (Arti) the guy that has been working on the (SDL based) 68k RTG ports of NetSurf asked if he could use my new AGA SDL to see it would enable him to get NetSurf working for AGA users.

Currently it is slow and requires a powerful AGA machine. It looks to me that the performance issues are from generating the image rather than actually displaying it (eg AGA is not the reason it is slow!).

There is the possibility that Arti might be able to improve the speed and fix the issues with the colors etc, all questions/thanks/encouragement/donations should be sent directly to Arti -> http://ami-soft.blogspot.com.au/





I don't know about you guys but I think it's pretty cool that classics will finally get a new web browser after all these years
__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, Odamex AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 06:04 PM   #167
commodorejohn
VIP / Donor
Points: 11,104, Level: 69 Points: 11,104, Level: 69 Points: 11,104, Level: 69
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
commodorejohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Posts: 3,154
Blog Entries: 8
Default Re: We need an iBrowse replacement for 68k!!!

Ooh, I'll give it a shot. Where do I download and what additional stuff do I need?
__________________
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/MT-32/D-10, Oberheim Matrix-6, Yamaha DX7/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini, Ensoniq Mirage/SQ-80, Sequential Circuits Prophet-600, Hohner String Performer

"'Legacy code' often differs from its suggested alternative by actually working and scaling." - Bjarne Stroustrup
commodorejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 06:06 PM   #168
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,678, Level: 68 Points: 10,678, Level: 68 Points: 10,678, Level: 68
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,536
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: We need an iBrowse replacement for 68k!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by commodorejohn View Post
Ooh, I'll give it a shot. Where do I download and what additional stuff do I need?

Have a read of the EAB link I posted above, all will be revealed
__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, Odamex AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 09:52 PM   #169
LoadWB
VIP / Donor
Points: 14,788, Level: 78 Points: 14,788, Level: 78 Points: 14,788, Level: 78
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,229
Default Re: We need an iBrowse replacement for 68k!!!

I see you've produced a working SDL for AGA; I may have missed it elsewhere, but is there a working SDL for RTG?
LoadWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 10:52 PM   #170
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,678, Level: 68 Points: 10,678, Level: 68 Points: 10,678, Level: 68
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,536
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: We need an iBrowse replacement for 68k!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoadWB View Post
I see you've produced a working SDL for AGA; I may have missed it elsewhere, but is there a working SDL for RTG?
Of course, how do think the RTG version of NetSurf 68k runs

You can find it if you do a Google search, I don't think it's on AmiNet.
__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, Odamex AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 10:46 AM   #171
direktorn
Too much caffeine
Points: 494, Level: 9 Points: 494, Level: 9 Points: 494, Level: 9
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 78
Default Re: We need an iBrowse replacement for 68k!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoadWB View Post
I see you've produced a working SDL for AGA; I may have missed it elsewhere, but is there a working SDL for RTG?
Yes, but it's buggy, you can't resize the window.
direktorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 12:11 PM   #172
commodorejohn
VIP / Donor
Points: 11,104, Level: 69 Points: 11,104, Level: 69 Points: 11,104, Level: 69
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
commodorejohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Posts: 3,154
Blog Entries: 8
Default Re: We need an iBrowse replacement for 68k!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Have a read of the EAB link I posted above, all will be revealed
Ah. Well, if it won't run on an 030 I'm out of luck :/
__________________
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/MT-32/D-10, Oberheim Matrix-6, Yamaha DX7/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini, Ensoniq Mirage/SQ-80, Sequential Circuits Prophet-600, Hohner String Performer

"'Legacy code' often differs from its suggested alternative by actually working and scaling." - Bjarne Stroustrup
commodorejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 12:30 PM   #173
AmigaClassicRule
Cult Member
Points: 7,492, Level: 57 Points: 7,492, Level: 57 Points: 7,492, Level: 57
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 953
Default Re: We need an iBrowse replacement for 68k!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by direktorn View Post
Yes, but it's buggy, you can't resize the window.
No you cannot..but then again in an AGA resolution and output you do not want to resize window you want it to be maximized as much as possible. In fact...this treats the Amiga computer as a console...pretty much any browser in modern consoles like Playstation or xBox 360 or even xBox One and Playstation 4 treat browsers the same way the Amiga classic in AGA chipset does. It opens it in full screen..filling the entire screen with the website and then when you move the cursor with your controller all the way up...the address bar and toolbar drops down. It is not multitasking with the console and if you want to do other things than browsing you need to close the browser down and return back to the Home page of your console.

Amiga classic is doing the same thing pretty much...that I love...I enjoy the sexy interface and the wait hourglass I have no objection at all with the interface and the way it is now. However, the big issue I have is that it is super buggy...it crashes a lot and it does not display the page color correctly...but also the fact it is running on a 2 MB chip RAM may cause this good browser to be VERY unstable...very...very unstable and limit the amount of pages you can view with 2 MB of CHIP RAM depending on the intensity of the pictures, flash, colors that page have. Also this browser have the javascript disabled...which means due to again the limitation of the CHIP RAM we will not be able to run javascript app at all..and this heavily limits browsing experience.

I think if NovaCoder makes two version of this...one version have the javascript disabled etc just for the limitation of the Amiga classic hardware running in AGA and have a version for FPGA Replay where Javascript is enabled and even possibly flash (if it can be done) and HTML 5 enabled. The question why? Simply put that FPGA Replay have AGA+ as a custom chipset..meaning the CHIP RAM can hold 128 MB of RAM that is more than enough to do ALL your browsing need without trouble, have higher resolution, have higher bandwidth capacity in speed for the graphics chip RAM and have integrated RTG...which in this case now that I think about...the NetSurf RTG version right now in aminet is more than enough to run it comfortably with FPGA Replay...as long as the Javascript there is not disabled or anything.
AmigaClassicRule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 05:22 PM   #174
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,678, Level: 68 Points: 10,678, Level: 68 Points: 10,678, Level: 68
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,536
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: We need an iBrowse replacement for 68k!!!

Arti has released an new BETA today over on EAB, looks like he's got the colors working properly now

__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, Odamex AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 11:08 AM   #175
a-pex
Technoid
Points: 6,649, Level: 53 Points: 6,649, Level: 53 Points: 6,649, Level: 53
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 171
Default Re: We need an iBrowse replacement for 68k!!!

Fantastic work, really fantastic work! *thumbs up*

So sad, I moved to my girlfriend and the whole Amiga stuff is in a storage hall, at the moment. ;-)

By the way, what happend with EAB???
a-pex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
68k , aga , browser , css , ibrowse , replacement

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump