amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:51 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Marketplace WTB: OS 3.0 or 3.1

Amiga Marketplace This forum is here so that members can alert other members to Amiga items they've seen on eBay (or other auctions). If you are selling Amiga items on eBay, you might let us know about them here. Likewise, if you're selling Amiga items sans eBay, this is the "for sale" forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2013, 05:55 PM   #1
curtis
Cult Member
Points: 9,811, Level: 66 Points: 9,811, Level: 66 Points: 9,811, Level: 66
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
curtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Amarillo, TX
Posts: 600
Default WTB: OS 3.0 or 3.1

Okay, I'm drawing slowly close to getting my A500 with Bodega Bay restored, but I've run into a bit of a problem. My 3.0 Install disk crapped out!

So, I'm looking for either a replacement/copy of the 3.0 Install disk or if someone has a full set of 3.1 they'd be willing to sell...

I'm located in Amarillo, TX.

Thanks,

Curtis
__________________
Outside a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside a dog it's too dark to read! Groucho Marx

Curtis McCain

http://www.suddenlink.net/pages/curtismc
curtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 10:27 PM   #2
danbeaver
Lifetime Member
Points: 5,683, Level: 48 Points: 5,683, Level: 48 Points: 5,683, Level: 48
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,338
Question Re: WTB: OS 3.0 or 3.1

Are you looking for originals? Or copies?
danbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 10:47 PM   #3
djos
Cult Member
Points: 5,394, Level: 47 Points: 5,394, Level: 47 Points: 5,394, Level: 47
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
djos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 928
Default Re: WTB: OS 3.0 or 3.1

I bought my sealed NOS WB3.1 disks from ebay for what I thought was a reasonable price.
__________________
Amiga 1200 w/ KS1.3, ACA1220 16Mhz 128MB w/ RTC, 4GB CF-HDD, a1011 External FDD
Amiga 500 w/ KS1.3, 512k Chip-Ram, 512k Slow-Ram, 4MB Fast-Ram, FDD Boot Selector, HxC RevC SD Floppy Drive, a1010 External FDD
Commodore 64 w/ 1541 Ultimate-II inc Tape Adapter, JiffyDOS, 1541 Disk Drive, 1531 Datasette, C64 Flyer Net Modem, ZoomFloppy
djos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 11:58 PM   #4
spirantho
Premium Member
Points: 12,747, Level: 73 Points: 12,747, Level: 73 Points: 12,747, Level: 73
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,460
Default Re: WTB: OS 3.0 or 3.1

3.0 won't run on an A500 anyway... you need OS 3.1 with the appropriate Kickstart.

Edit; just noticed the other thread.. yes, it's true you can run 3.0 but it's a lot of hassle as you'll need to remove anything that used the 020. Much better off with the 3.1 that's designed to run on it.
__________________
--
Ian Gledhill
ian.gledhill@btinternit.com (except it should be internEt of course...!)
Check out my shop! http://www.mutant-caterpillar.co.uk/shop/ - for 8-bit (and soon 16-bit) goodness!

Last edited by spirantho; 01-24-2013 at 12:03 AM..
spirantho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 12:58 AM   #5
Lurch
Lifetime Member
Points: 15,615, Level: 80 Points: 15,615, Level: 80 Points: 15,615, Level: 80
Activity: 38% Activity: 38% Activity: 38%
 
Lurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,419
Send a message via MSN to Lurch
Default Re: WTB: OS 3.0 or 3.1

Don't remember removing anything from it, just set it up under WinUAE and copied it to a CF Card and booted the A500 plus :-)
__________________
-=[LurcH]=-
A1200T 060@80MHz | A500 Plus 030@25MHz | Pegasos II G4@1GHz
Lurch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 04:35 PM   #6
curtis
Cult Member
Points: 9,811, Level: 66 Points: 9,811, Level: 66 Points: 9,811, Level: 66
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
curtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Amarillo, TX
Posts: 600
Default Re: WTB: OS 3.0 or 3.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by danbeaver View Post
Are you looking for originals? Or copies?
Honestly, I don't care as long as I can get it loaded up on my machine!

I figure if anybody's going to squawk about copyright on this, they really need to find a life!

Curtis
__________________
Outside a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside a dog it's too dark to read! Groucho Marx

Curtis McCain

http://www.suddenlink.net/pages/curtismc
curtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 05:13 PM   #7
curtis
Cult Member
Points: 9,811, Level: 66 Points: 9,811, Level: 66 Points: 9,811, Level: 66
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
curtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Amarillo, TX
Posts: 600
Default Re: WTB: OS 3.0 or 3.1

Surprisingly enough, I found an auction of fleabay for 3.1 AND ROM. So will wait to see how this turns out.

Curtis
__________________
Outside a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside a dog it's too dark to read! Groucho Marx

Curtis McCain

http://www.suddenlink.net/pages/curtismc
curtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 07:06 PM   #8
TjLaZer
Desperately needs a life
Points: 21,443, Level: 92 Points: 21,443, Level: 92 Points: 21,443, Level: 92
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Posts: 3,194
Send a message via ICQ to TjLaZer Send a message via MSN to TjLaZer Send a message via Yahoo to TjLaZer
Default Re: WTB: OS 3.0 or 3.1

Lots of misinformation! WB 3.0 will run just fine on ANY Amiga with a Kickstart 3.1 ROM. It just won't have the small updates and added features! With a floppy based A500, you won't even notice the enhancements!

It's like saying you cannot run/install Windows XP SP1 on a PC that came preloaded with Windows XP SP3 because it has a newer BIOS on it!
__________________
Going Bananas over AMIGAs since 1987...

Looking for Fusion Fourty PNG ROMs V3.4?


Last edited by TjLaZer; 01-24-2013 at 07:09 PM..
TjLaZer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:15 PM   #9
danbeaver
Lifetime Member
Points: 5,683, Level: 48 Points: 5,683, Level: 48 Points: 5,683, Level: 48
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,338
Smile Re: WTB: OS 3.0 or 3.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by curtis View Post
Honestly, I don't care as long as I can get it loaded up on my machine!

I figure if anybody's going to squawk about copyright on this, they really need to find a life!

Curtis
I asked because some people are collectors and refuse to use copies. If you have an EPROM programmer to burn a 16-bit 27C400 (at least 120ns or faster), then you can find the ROM image online as well as ADF images of the 6 disks. PM sent.
danbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 05:00 AM   #10
psxphill
Defender of the Faith
Points: 7,185, Level: 56 Points: 7,185, Level: 56 Points: 7,185, Level: 56
Activity: 55% Activity: 55% Activity: 55%
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,680
Default Re: WTB: OS 3.0 or 3.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by spirantho View Post
Edit; just noticed the other thread.. yes, it's true you can run 3.0 but it's a lot of hassle as you'll need to remove anything that used the 020. Much better off with the 3.1 that's designed to run on it.
I ran a copy of an A1200 rom on an A500 with a 68000 without any issues, I might not have used all of the libraries but it was good enough for what I needed it for.

But 3.1 is definitely better
psxphill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 05:25 AM   #11
som99
Lifetime Member
Points: 11,084, Level: 69 Points: 11,084, Level: 69 Points: 11,084, Level: 69
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
som99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sweden, Fort Independence
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via MSN to som99 Send a message via Skype™ to som99
Default Re: WTB: OS 3.0 or 3.1

@curtis - As I said before, If you do not win the auction ill copy the WB disk you want and mail them to you free of charge
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by eBay PC Engine sellers
The one of home game consoles where I aimed at an airplane in those days in the next generation of Family Computer of Nintendo which got an overwhelming share in a market and appeared for.

Smell of tobacco has been attached to all products..
People you do not agree the tracking number attached, will be canceled.
www.som99.se
som99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 05:55 AM   #12
psxphill
Defender of the Faith
Points: 7,185, Level: 56 Points: 7,185, Level: 56 Points: 7,185, Level: 56
Activity: 55% Activity: 55% Activity: 55%
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,680
Default Re: WTB: OS 3.0 or 3.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by som99 View Post
@curtis - As I said before, If you do not win the auction ill copy the WB disk you want and mail them to you free of charge
FWIW most of the 3.1 roms on ebay are pirate. The labels give it away.

The upgrades were only available in a boxed set which included manuals.

Spare parts for the A1200/A4000/A4000T turned up because Amiga Technologies needed them for manufacturing.
But those will be silk screened mask roms.

Last edited by psxphill; 01-25-2013 at 05:59 AM..
psxphill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 05:10 PM   #13
curtis
Cult Member
Points: 9,811, Level: 66 Points: 9,811, Level: 66 Points: 9,811, Level: 66
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
curtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Amarillo, TX
Posts: 600
Default Re: WTB: OS 3.0 or 3.1

Actually, I was wondering about that.

Wonder why ebay still allows them? Oh wait, murky waters on who owns what parts of the Amiga corporate corpse...

Curtis

Quote:
Originally Posted by psxphill View Post
FWIW most of the 3.1 roms on ebay are pirate. The labels give it away.

The upgrades were only available in a boxed set which included manuals.

Spare parts for the A1200/A4000/A4000T turned up because Amiga Technologies needed them for manufacturing.
But those will be silk screened mask roms.
__________________
Outside a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside a dog it's too dark to read! Groucho Marx

Curtis McCain

http://www.suddenlink.net/pages/curtismc
curtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:22 PM   #14
psxphill
Defender of the Faith
Points: 7,185, Level: 56 Points: 7,185, Level: 56 Points: 7,185, Level: 56
Activity: 55% Activity: 55% Activity: 55%
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,680
Default Re: WTB: OS 3.0 or 3.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by curtis View Post
Actually, I was wondering about that.

Wonder why ebay still allows them? Oh wait, murky waters on who owns what parts of the Amiga corporate corpse...
I don't know if ebay requires Amiga to complain, but they allow it because nobody has told them that the auctions are a problem.
psxphill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 10:53 AM   #15
TjLaZer
Desperately needs a life
Points: 21,443, Level: 92 Points: 21,443, Level: 92 Points: 21,443, Level: 92
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Posts: 3,194
Send a message via ICQ to TjLaZer Send a message via MSN to TjLaZer Send a message via Yahoo to TjLaZer
Default Re: WTB: OS 3.0 or 3.1

Reasons I can think:

1. Its a VERY small market and nobody cares to push it, if you want to be an a$$ complain.
2. It is hard to find real 3.1 ROMs! Especially today, you might find some on Vesalia or AmigaKit, but stock is usually low.
3. Who owns what? Nobody seems to know anyways.
4. But to get completely technical, yes it is pirating. But it is 2013. Lets just be real here. Nobody cares for 25+ year old computer equipment.

I can see it now, can you imagine people bitching and complaining over 1986 PC BIOS copying/selling on vintage 8088 and 286 PC forums.... lol NOT

Only Amigans make that possible!

EDIT: YEP AmigaKit does not sell A600/500/2000 Kickstart 3.1 ROMs

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...hp?cPath=40_99
__________________
Going Bananas over AMIGAs since 1987...

Looking for Fusion Fourty PNG ROMs V3.4?


Last edited by TjLaZer; 01-26-2013 at 10:59 AM..
TjLaZer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 01:43 PM   #16
curtis
Cult Member
Points: 9,811, Level: 66 Points: 9,811, Level: 66 Points: 9,811, Level: 66
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
curtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Amarillo, TX
Posts: 600
Default Re: WTB: OS 3.0 or 3.1

Yeah, first places I looked were AmigaKit and Vesalia. Obviously, no joy.

Curtis
__________________
Outside a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside a dog it's too dark to read! Groucho Marx

Curtis McCain

http://www.suddenlink.net/pages/curtismc
curtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 05:03 PM   #17
curtis
Cult Member
Points: 9,811, Level: 66 Points: 9,811, Level: 66 Points: 9,811, Level: 66
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
curtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Amarillo, TX
Posts: 600
Default Re: WTB: OS 3.0 or 3.1

HOLY SMOKES!!!!!

That package I was bidding on at ebay went for over $100!

I dropped out at about $75.

Is it me, or is that a bit on the steep side?

Fortunately I've got another member burning me a ROM and copies of diskettes.

Curtis
__________________
Outside a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside a dog it's too dark to read! Groucho Marx

Curtis McCain

http://www.suddenlink.net/pages/curtismc
curtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
wtb

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump