amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:59 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion General chat about Amiga topics Fed up I need HELP please

General chat about Amiga topics This forum is for conversations which are specifically "Amiga" related, but don't fit into other categories. Contents of this forum do appear on the main page, unlike Talk About. If a subject appears to be non-related, it will be moved to Talk About.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2012, 12:38 PM   #1
swift240
Defender of the Faith
Points: 13,926, Level: 76 Points: 13,926, Level: 76 Points: 13,926, Level: 76
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
swift240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Wolverhampton
Posts: 1,046
Default Fed up I need HELP please

Using OS3.9 BB1.
Amiga 1200.

Well I have been trying very very hard to get my AMiga on the Internet I am using a PCMCIA 3com589D card with a scom Internet dongle.

I first started off by using Genesis put in all the correct settings (I hope)
Example.

Gateway 192.168.1.1
DNS 194.168.4.100

BUT I havent got a clue as to my IP address? I have loooked in to my router and I see I have 6 other thinfgs all wired to the Interent either by cable or WIFI.

Well I tried puting this in 192.168.1.107 but when trying to run Genesis I get the Online gesture in the box and all seems to work fine.
How ever If I try AWeb 3.5.09 or IBrowse 2.04 I get cant resolve URL

It seems to be a DNS problem from what I can gather. Its like it cant find the DNS.

I even tried MiamiDX and same problem it all comes down to the DNS.

I tried lookingt into Linux Mint for the Internet connections and I get this.

DNS 194.168.4.100 I tried that but its no good it wont see it for some reason?

This is what is on my PC Windows 7

IPv4 address 192.168.1.101
Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
Default gateway 192.168.1.1
D.H.C.P Server 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers 8.26.56.26
156.154.70.22

Linux Mint

IPv4 address 192.168.1.100
Broadcast address 192.168.1.255
Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway 192.168.1.1
Primary DNS 194.168.4.100
Secondary DNS 194.168.8.100

I have tried all I know but no good, I can not find what the IP address is for my Amiga 3com589D and if I did would the DNS then be ok?

I am totaly lost, any help please for an old fart/fellow Amigan please.

or is it possible that the 3com589D pcmcia card is faulty?

TIA.

Mike.
__________________
Amiga 1200, 82gb HD, 4 way IDE'97, DVD Multi-Recorder, OS3.9, BB1,BB2, Apollo Turbo MkIII 030/40, 32meg Fastram, HP 810C, Alba HDTV, Converted PC PSU. C128, C64, C16, Plus4, 1701, 1570, 1541MkII, ARP6.0,KCS Power Cart, FreezeFrame MK3B, Freeze Machine, Simons Basic, PSP, PS1, PS2, PS3 + 80gb USB HD, Xbox.
swift240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:55 PM   #2
danbeaver
Lifetime Member
Points: 4,779, Level: 44 Points: 4,779, Level: 44 Points: 4,779, Level: 44
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,076
Question Re: Fed up I need HELP please

If your router is set for DHCP then it doesn't matter what the Amiga's address is. The gateway and such just copy from windows. The DNS should be automatic from the router too if you set those options correctly. MiamiDX was the easiest for me, but select DHCP for all you settings and if you want copy down the DNS's that the router uses and put those into MiamiDX.
danbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:14 PM   #3
lionstorm
Cult Member
Points: 12,091, Level: 72 Points: 12,091, Level: 72 Points: 12,091, Level: 72
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: France
Posts: 833
Default Re: Fed up I need HELP please

first try to ping your machines around and then ping a know website like google...
lionstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:52 PM   #4
swift240
Defender of the Faith
Points: 13,926, Level: 76 Points: 13,926, Level: 76 Points: 13,926, Level: 76
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
swift240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Wolverhampton
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Fed up I need HELP please

I have tried both of your suggestions and still no good.

By the way, its a Virgin modem and a Pluscom AR-2317 router if thats any good to you?

Mike.
__________________
Amiga 1200, 82gb HD, 4 way IDE'97, DVD Multi-Recorder, OS3.9, BB1,BB2, Apollo Turbo MkIII 030/40, 32meg Fastram, HP 810C, Alba HDTV, Converted PC PSU. C128, C64, C16, Plus4, 1701, 1570, 1541MkII, ARP6.0,KCS Power Cart, FreezeFrame MK3B, Freeze Machine, Simons Basic, PSP, PS1, PS2, PS3 + 80gb USB HD, Xbox.
swift240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 02:17 PM   #5
cunnpole
Too much caffeine
Points: 2,366, Level: 29 Points: 2,366, Level: 29 Points: 2,366, Level: 29
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
cunnpole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 76
Default Re: Fed up I need HELP please

what happens when you tried ping google (8.8.8.8) by ip?

that's their dns server ip btw so if you arent sure about yours try that
cunnpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 02:29 PM   #6
odin
Colonization had Galleons
Points: 22,338, Level: 92 Points: 22,338, Level: 92 Points: 22,338, Level: 92
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
odin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Asker, Norway
Posts: 6,770
Default Re: Fed up I need HELP please

DHCP is b0rked in Genesis as far as I know. Configure Genesis with a static IP address (make sure it's not an address from the DHCP pool of your DHCP server). Then first make sure you can ping your gateway. Then try to ping another machine on your network. Then try to ping the Amiga from another machine.

It doesn't really matter that much which DNS server(s) you configure. I usually use the Google DNS servers (8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 as mentioned above).

Last edited by odin; 12-05-2012 at 02:32 PM..
odin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 02:39 PM   #7
danbeaver
Lifetime Member
Points: 4,779, Level: 44 Points: 4,779, Level: 44 Points: 4,779, Level: 44
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,076
Smile Re: Fed up I need HELP please

Genesis = AmiTCP versio -- hardest to get working
AmiTCP 3.0b standard Freebie version -- hard to get working
EasyNet Version 1.01 (or so) -- AmigaKit's "Frontend GUI" for AmiTCP 3.0b
Miami -- why bother
MiamiDX -- Easiest OS 3.x to get running; there are Full keys available on line, as well as guides specifically for A1200's with NIC cards. And it is free (EasyNet is NOT).

NetConnect3 a series of files including the Voyager Browser available from EAB's server, "The Zone."

AmiTCP version 4.22/3 available if you know where to look; even experienced users can't get it to work.

[Roadshow Version who knows, but as easy as Pi to configure -- caveat, needs OS 4.1 ergo a PPC card]

----------
Go to Aminet and get MiamiDX 10c, you will need Main and the MUI front end, there is a guide out there I have not read. Search for MiamiDX key file on line or ask someone. Follow the instructions on the Amiga web site.
danbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 02:51 PM   #8
swift240
Defender of the Faith
Points: 13,926, Level: 76 Points: 13,926, Level: 76 Points: 13,926, Level: 76
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
swift240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Wolverhampton
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Fed up I need HELP please

When I ping 8.8.8.8 I get this. From my PC
Packets sent 4, packets received 4, packets lost 0

Mike.
__________________
Amiga 1200, 82gb HD, 4 way IDE'97, DVD Multi-Recorder, OS3.9, BB1,BB2, Apollo Turbo MkIII 030/40, 32meg Fastram, HP 810C, Alba HDTV, Converted PC PSU. C128, C64, C16, Plus4, 1701, 1570, 1541MkII, ARP6.0,KCS Power Cart, FreezeFrame MK3B, Freeze Machine, Simons Basic, PSP, PS1, PS2, PS3 + 80gb USB HD, Xbox.
swift240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:40 PM   #9
Lurch
Lifetime Member
Points: 14,625, Level: 78 Points: 14,625, Level: 78 Points: 14,625, Level: 78
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Lurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,255
Send a message via MSN to Lurch
Default Re: Fed up I need HELP please

Watching with interest as I'll be trying this soon :-)
__________________
-=[LurcH]=-
Lurch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:44 PM   #10
huronking
Technoid
Points: 9,138, Level: 64 Points: 9,138, Level: 64 Points: 9,138, Level: 64
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
huronking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: Fed up I need HELP please

I have a relatively complicated network that I find myself too lazy to troubleshoot properly when problems arise. So... on devices that I have assigned static IPs I just put the default router address in the primary DNS entry.

(I live on a mountain and frequently replace equipment due to lightning damage... so I make configuring replacement gear as effortless as I can)

Maybe that will help.
huronking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 07:34 PM   #11
Matt_H
VIP / Donor
Points: 24,044, Level: 94 Points: 24,044, Level: 94 Points: 24,044, Level: 94
Activity: 44% Activity: 44% Activity: 44%
 
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston, MA, United States
Posts: 5,239
Default Re: Fed up I need HELP please

Set your DNS to the same as your Gateway. MiamiDX also has an option to autodiscover DNS servers so you can leave it blank.
Matt_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 10:59 PM   #12
MelbourneBen
Technoid
Points: 4,453, Level: 42 Points: 4,453, Level: 42 Points: 4,453, Level: 42
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
MelbourneBen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 220
Default Re: Fed up I need HELP please

I found Amitcp 3.02b quite easy to setup, there is a guide here:

http://www.wiwi.uni-frankfurt.de/~an...itcp/index.htm

First thing I'd try and do is ping the router/gateway, it should be in the same subnet as your router. I wouldn't bother with DHCP, stick with using a static IP.

If you can ping the router then you should be nearly there. If your having DNS issues reaching say www.google.com.au you should be able to ping its IP. Then you'll atleast now if you're Amiga is reaching the internet.
__________________
Member of the Adelaide Commodore & Amiga user group

C= A1200 1D4 4MB Fast Ram FPU, 3.1 roms, 4GB CF HD, PCMCIA NIC, C= 1084s.
MelbourneBen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
fed

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump