amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:43 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion General chat about Amiga topics Amiga 2000 rev. 4 - any use upgrading it?

General chat about Amiga topics This forum is for conversations which are specifically "Amiga" related, but don't fit into other categories. Contents of this forum do appear on the main page, unlike Talk About. If a subject appears to be non-related, it will be moved to Talk About.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 12:55 AM   #1
Tomask
Merely Curious
Points: 529, Level: 10 Points: 529, Level: 10 Points: 529, Level: 10
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 8
Default Amiga 2000 rev. 4 - any use upgrading it?

I have an Amiga 2000 rev. 4 with kickstart 1.2 and was planning on upgrading it with a SCSI HDD controller, kickstart 2.04 and an acelleratorboard (type 2630 or something like that) but after reading a little more, it looks like the rev. 4 board is no good..

What do you guys think? Not easy to get hold of a n Amiga 2000 here in Norway..
Tomask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:26 AM   #2
barney
Cult Member
Points: 9,393, Level: 65 Points: 9,393, Level: 65 Points: 9,393, Level: 65
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
barney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 540
Default Re: Amiga 2000 rev. 4 - any use upgrading it?

Hell yeah, I'd upgrade it. I used a Amiga 4.3 motherboard for over 2 years without a problem. I had an 68030 accelerator, SCSI Card with 2mb hard drive, Kickstart 3.1, 8mb of extra memory and a flicker fixer card in the video slot. It worked perfectly. The only thing I hear you may have a problem is if you ever decide to connect the Indivision flicker fixer. I hear the motherboard has some capacitors that will be in the way. Other than that, it worked fine.


note: I wouldn't bother with KS 2.04. In my opinnion it's the worst choice to make. I would go with KS 3.1.

Barney

Last edited by barney; 12-03-2012 at 06:34 AM..
barney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:57 AM   #3
ral-clan
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,818, Level: 80 Points: 15,818, Level: 80 Points: 15,818, Level: 80
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
ral-clan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,783
Default Re: Amiga 2000 rev. 4 - any use upgrading it?

I used a 4.3 as well for a decade (highly upgraded) without a problem.

But is the "4" (i.e. 4.0) the German A2000B?

In that case, it may not be upgrading, as it has the weird A1000 based motherboard.
__________________
Music I've made using Amigas and other retro-instruments: http://soundcloud.com/brentsantin
ral-clan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 07:18 AM   #4
Jope
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,666, Level: 68 Points: 10,666, Level: 68 Points: 10,666, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,126
Default Re: Amiga 2000 rev. 4 - any use upgrading it?

I wouldn't bother with the A model. If you do end up upgrading it, Commodore expansions work the best.

Norway has a lot of Amigas.. Just keep your eyes open.
Jope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 08:46 AM   #5
bbond007
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,304, Level: 67 Points: 10,304, Level: 67 Points: 10,304, Level: 67
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
bbond007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,384
Default Re: Amiga 2000 rev. 4 - any use upgrading it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomask View Post
I have an Amiga 2000 rev. 4 with kickstart 1.2 and was planning on upgrading it with a SCSI HDD controller, kickstart 2.04 and an acelleratorboard (type 2630 or something like that) but after reading a little more, it looks like the rev. 4 board is no good..

What do you guys think? Not easy to get hold of a n Amiga 2000 here in Norway..
I had a 4.2(or 4.3, can't recall) with 3.1 ROM, 1MB agnus, PP&S 040/28/32MB, GVP4008+GURUROM+4mb, CV64 3D, Hydra Ethernet...

I never ran into any limitations with having such a old revision A2000...
bbond007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 09:47 AM   #6
orcish75
Hobbyist
Points: 1,443, Level: 21 Points: 1,443, Level: 21 Points: 1,443, Level: 21
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
orcish75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 67
Default Re: Amiga 2000 rev. 4 - any use upgrading it?

I'm guessing it's the German 4.0 or "A" revision that the guys above have mentioned. This was my first Amiga I got and I had endless problems with it. As Ral-Clan has mentioned, it uses the A1000 chipset with the "Thin" Agnus that can't address more than 512K chipmem. A lot of WHDLoad games (probably most) require at least 1Meg chipmem.

It doesn't have a Buster chip, so the signals on the expansion slots are very noisy and gives a lot of problems with various expansion boards. When I had my GVP A2000 HC+8 card in it, it would randomly freeze up when playing games or loading games off the HDD. I swapped out the MOBO for a Rev 6.2 board and haven't looked back, my A2000 is now 100% stable.

If you're able to get one cheaply, go for a Rev 4.3 or 6.2 motherboard. They're fairly common and will make your A2000 far more usable.

Cheers

Last edited by orcish75; 12-03-2012 at 09:53 AM..
orcish75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 10:08 AM   #7
Tomask
Merely Curious
Points: 529, Level: 10 Points: 529, Level: 10 Points: 529, Level: 10
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 8
Default Re: Amiga 2000 rev. 4 - any use upgrading it?

It's a 4.0 german board..

If I upgrade the board to - let's say 4.3, then it won't fit in my case since the 4.0 board only have the 2x sound outputs and all the others have 2x sound and 1x mono composite..

Oh well, from what I understand the 4.0 german version is a real retro A2000 so I guess I'll keep on to it for now.
Tomask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 01:36 PM   #8
orcish75
Hobbyist
Points: 1,443, Level: 21 Points: 1,443, Level: 21 Points: 1,443, Level: 21
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
orcish75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 67
Default Re: Amiga 2000 rev. 4 - any use upgrading it?

Quote:
If I upgrade the board to - let's say 4.3, then it won't fit in my case since the 4.0 board only have the 2x sound outputs and all the others have 2x sound and 1x mono composite.
Ah, yes, I did forget about that! I upgraded the mobo a long time ago. I didn't really want to do it, but I modified my case to allow all 3 phono plugs out. I was in the same situation as you then, very few A2000's available in South Africa and wasn't prepared to pay the shipping costs for such a heavy beast, so I just modified my case.

Cheers
orcish75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 01:46 PM   #9
Amiwest
Beginner
Points: 3,614, Level: 37 Points: 3,614, Level: 37 Points: 3,614, Level: 37
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 33
Default Re: Amiga 2000 rev. 4 - any use upgrading it?

http://www.nyx.net/~rdavis/AmigaHints2.html#upgr43
This site has information for upgrading 2000 mother boards.
Amiwest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 07:50 PM   #10
ral-clan
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,818, Level: 80 Points: 15,818, Level: 80 Points: 15,818, Level: 80
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
ral-clan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,783
Default Re: Amiga 2000 rev. 4 - any use upgrading it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amiwest View Post
http://www.nyx.net/~rdavis/AmigaHints2.html#upgr43
This site has information for upgrading 2000 mother boards.
Yes, but you can't simply upgrade a 4.0 motherboard to a later revision. They are almost entirely different computers, designed by different teams working on different continents. The A2000 4.0 is really an A1000+.
__________________
Music I've made using Amigas and other retro-instruments: http://soundcloud.com/brentsantin
ral-clan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 03:19 AM   #11
Tomask
Merely Curious
Points: 529, Level: 10 Points: 529, Level: 10 Points: 529, Level: 10
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 8
Default Re: Amiga 2000 rev. 4 - any use upgrading it?

Guess I'll start searching for a newer board then, and use my good old Dremel on the case to make it fit
Tomask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 10:57 AM   #12
Tomask
Merely Curious
Points: 529, Level: 10 Points: 529, Level: 10 Points: 529, Level: 10
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 8
Default Re: Amiga 2000 rev. 4 - any use upgrading it?

Rev 6.2 board is on the way! Looking forward to upgrade and install my new SCSI controller too!
Tomask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 12:57 PM   #13
Zac67
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Zac67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erlangen, Germany
Posts: 2,890
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: Amiga 2000 rev. 4 - any use upgrading it?

Rev 4.0 = A1000 + Zorro bus board
Rev 4.1+ = A500 + Zorro bus board + Buster
(there's also a "4.0" American version with Big Agnus but I guess it's extremely rare)
Zac67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 06:08 AM   #14
Tomask
Merely Curious
Points: 529, Level: 10 Points: 529, Level: 10 Points: 529, Level: 10
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 8
Default Re: Amiga 2000 rev. 4 - any use upgrading it?

Is the Rev 4.0 a rare board?
Tomask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 07:07 AM   #15
dannyp1
Cult Member
Points: 9,426, Level: 65 Points: 9,426, Level: 65 Points: 9,426, Level: 65
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
dannyp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 618
Default Re: Amiga 2000 rev. 4 - any use upgrading it?

The 6.2 motherboard is a good choice. You did the wise thing and won't regret it.
dannyp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 04:44 PM   #16
mechy
Cult Member
Points: 12,880, Level: 74 Points: 12,880, Level: 74 Points: 12,880, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
mechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas,usa
Posts: 926
Send a message via AIM to mechy Send a message via MSN to mechy
Default Re: Amiga 2000 rev. 4 - any use upgrading it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomask View Post
Guess I'll start searching for a newer board then, and use my good old Dremel on the case to make it fit
could you simply desolder the composite jack off the board(assuming you don't need it) and make it look original in the case?
mechy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 03:09 PM   #17
mark_k
Beginner
Points: 4,103, Level: 40 Points: 4,103, Level: 40 Points: 4,103, Level: 40
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 33
Default Re: Amiga 2000 rev. 4 - any use upgrading it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomask View Post
I have an Amiga 2000 rev. 4 with kickstart 1.2 and was planning on upgrading it with a SCSI HDD controller, kickstart 2.04 and an acelleratorboard (type 2630 or something like that) but after reading a little more, it looks like the rev. 4 board is no good..
Would you be able to check something for me on your A2000? When you run the SetClock command from a Workbench 1.2/1.3 disk, does it print a message like this:
Warning: Clock is at old address
or
Warning: clockchip found at $d80000
arrange update of mainboard as soon as possible
mark_k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
2000 , amiga , rev , upgrading

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump