amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:19 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Software Issues and Discussion Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

Amiga Software Issues and Discussion This forum exists for the discussion of the use, issues with, and fun brought about by classic and next generation Amiga software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2012, 12:53 PM   #1
Rolly
Merely Curious
Points: 95, Level: 1 Points: 95, Level: 1 Points: 95, Level: 1
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Rolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Telemark, Norway
Posts: 11
Default Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

Hi, you'll have to excuse me if the answer to this already is to be found at this forum, I tried to search with no luck though.

What I wonder is how I can transfer files from my PC to my Amiga 500 with a nullmodem cable. I started out trying Amiga Explorer but then I discovered I had to have the Amiga Explorer on my Amiga as well on my PC, which I don't have.

I also checked out the "adf sender terminal" but didn't quite figure out how to use it.

Anyone got a very easy step by step way of doing it?
If there is even ANY easier way of doing it I'm thankful for feedback

I'd appreciate any help that would solve my problem once and for all
Rolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 01:18 PM   #2
orange
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 19,844, Level: 88 Points: 19,844, Level: 88 Points: 19,844, Level: 88
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Yugoslavia
Posts: 2,586
Default Re: Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

that has been answered many times. iirc, you'd need at least some software on Amiga. unless your PC can write Amiga floppies (unlikely). Do you have Workbench? extras?

I'd use ZMODEM with programs like terminus.
__________________
This message has been digitally remastered.
orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 01:41 PM   #3
k4lmp
Technoid
Points: 3,066, Level: 34 Points: 3,066, Level: 34 Points: 3,066, Level: 34
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
k4lmp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Church Hill, TN
Posts: 255
Default Re: Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

Right click on the Amiga Explorer icon on your PC, and run "Setup". It explains how to transfer AE to your Amiga over the null modem cable. Very easy to do.

Check out my post on this thread http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=66691 I explained to another person how to do the AE transfer.

Last edited by k4lmp; 12-01-2012 at 01:44 PM..
k4lmp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 02:02 PM   #4
Rolly
Merely Curious
Points: 95, Level: 1 Points: 95, Level: 1 Points: 95, Level: 1
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Rolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Telemark, Norway
Posts: 11
Default Re: Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

Thanks for answering. I do have Workbench yes, not sure 'bout extras. I'll check it out and sorry for the redundant question
Rolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 03:54 AM   #5
Dandy
Cult Member
Points: 10,766, Level: 68 Points: 10,766, Level: 68 Points: 10,766, Level: 68
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
Dandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cologne - Germany
Posts: 981
Default Re: Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolly View Post

Hi, you'll have to excuse me if the answer to this already is to be found at this forum, I tried to search with no luck though.

What I wonder is how I can transfer files from my PC to my Amiga 500 with a nullmodem cable. I started out trying Amiga Explorer but then I discovered I had to have the Amiga Explorer on my Amiga as well on my PC, which I don't have.

I also checked out the "adf sender terminal" but didn't quite figure out how to use it.

Anyone got a very easy step by step way of doing it?
If there is even ANY easier way of doing it I'm thankful for feedback

I'd appreciate any help that would solve my problem once and for all
Oh - it's been a while since I fired up one of my A500s and tried to exchange data with other computers - but what I remember is this:
Using a nullmodem cable you will transfer the data via serial interface.
I always prefered data transfer via the parallel interface for transfer speed reasons.
For this you need a PARnet cable and the PARnet software (or this version: PARnet software).
That way data transfer between old low spec Amigas is quiete convenient.

But perhaps today in the modern times it could also be a solution to get hold of a clock port expansion for the A500 (I have a weak remembrance that once there was a hardware add-on for the A500 offering an A1200-compatible-clockport, but can't remember the name a.t.m.. There you could (in theory) connect one of E3B's USB cards for clockport(Algor/Subway), that can be operated with Anaiis USB stack for low-spec Amigas.
Now you can connect USB-keyboard and USB-mouse. Possibly also a 10 mBit network interface card works? That should allow for the fastest possible file transfer with old, low spec Amigas...

But I never tested the USB solution - therefor I wrote "in theory". I don't know for sure if a network card works with Anaiis - but you could ask Gilloo:
Contact address
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Any mail, comments, suggestions, documentations are welcome!

Please send a mail with the title "ANAIIS" at the following mail address
gilles dot pelletier at voila dot fr

Enjoy USB on old classic Amiga.
And remember: Only Amiga makes it possible!
__________________
All the best,

Dandy

Website maintained by me

If someone enjoys marching to military music, then I already despise him. He got his brain accidently - the bone marrow in his back would have been sufficient for him! (Albert Einstein)
Dandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 04:10 AM   #6
Bamiga2002
Cult Member
Points: 7,233, Level: 56 Points: 7,233, Level: 56 Points: 7,233, Level: 56
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 685
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Default Re: Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

I used Dos-2-Dos for transfers between my PC and A500.
Check this post
__________________
A1200 BlizzardPPC **Mediator TX|Voodoo3|10MB Ethernet|Nec USB| - OS3.9 (BoingBags powered)**
CD32
A500
Bamiga2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:07 PM   #7
Rolly
Merely Curious
Points: 95, Level: 1 Points: 95, Level: 1 Points: 95, Level: 1
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Rolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Telemark, Norway
Posts: 11
Default Re: Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

I'm grateful for the feedback, still I haven't been able to do it. Must admit I'm a bit confused, there seems to be so many ways of doin' it but I don't seem to understand any of them.

With my last try, I used ADF Sender Terminal. Tried to transfer a file called "transwarplong", before that i should type "type ser: to ram:transwarp" in the shell on the amiga. The transfer seemed to work on the pc, but then I should hit ctrl+c on the amiga... but nothing happens....

Feels so strange this should be so difficult when so many knows how to do it...
I really don't care about the speed, I just want connection and be able to load adf-files to diskettes for use on the amiga.

If there is such a thing as a straight forward, easy, step-by-step instruction on how to do it with just an amiga 500, a nullmodem cable and pc I would be a happy man.

I do have Workbench 1.3 available and downloaded ADF Sender Terminal.

Rolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:19 PM   #8
desiv
Defender of the Faith
Points: 6,191, Level: 51 Points: 6,191, Level: 51 Points: 6,191, Level: 51
Activity: 64% Activity: 64% Activity: 64%
 
desiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

Where are you located?
Might be able to send you a floppy with the software on it already..

desiv
__________________
Amiga 1200 w/ ACA1230/28 - 4G CF, MAS Player, ext floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 500 w/ 2M CHIP and 8M FAST RAM, DCTV, AEHD floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 1000 w/ 4M FAST RAM, DUAL CF hard drives, external floppy.
desiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 02:08 PM   #9
Rolly
Merely Curious
Points: 95, Level: 1 Points: 95, Level: 1 Points: 95, Level: 1
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Rolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Telemark, Norway
Posts: 11
Default Re: Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

I'm located in Norway, I'll be happy to pay you for a floppy disk though, If I could pay via Paypal
Rolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 03:06 PM   #10
desiv
Defender of the Faith
Points: 6,191, Level: 51 Points: 6,191, Level: 51 Points: 6,191, Level: 51
Activity: 64% Activity: 64% Activity: 64%
 
desiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolly View Post
I'm located in Norway, I'll be happy to pay you for a floppy disk though, If I could pay via Paypal
I could and would be willing..
But Norway is a bit away from Oregon...

Maybe someone closer could help out?

If not, let me know and I'll post one......
(No idea how much postage would cost; never shipped out of the country...)

desiv
__________________
Amiga 1200 w/ ACA1230/28 - 4G CF, MAS Player, ext floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 500 w/ 2M CHIP and 8M FAST RAM, DCTV, AEHD floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 1000 w/ 4M FAST RAM, DUAL CF hard drives, external floppy.
desiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 03:21 PM   #11
commodorejohn
VIP / Donor
Points: 11,260, Level: 70 Points: 11,260, Level: 70 Points: 11,260, Level: 70
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
 
commodorejohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Posts: 3,165
Blog Entries: 8
Default Re: Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolly View Post
With my last try, I used ADF Sender Terminal. Tried to transfer a file called "transwarplong", before that i should type "type ser: to ram:transwarp" in the shell on the amiga. The transfer seemed to work on the pc, but then I should hit ctrl+c on the amiga... but nothing happens....

Feels so strange this should be so difficult when so many knows how to do it...
I really don't care about the speed, I just want connection and be able to load adf-files to diskettes for use on the amiga.

If there is such a thing as a straight forward, easy, step-by-step instruction on how to do it with just an amiga 500, a nullmodem cable and pc I would be a happy man.
Oy, this brings back some memories. For starters, have you verified that the null-modem connection is working? Try simply type ser: on the Amiga and send some text from the PC - does it show up correctly? If not, double-check that the serial settings are identical on both.

If that's working, then the transwarplong method should work just fine...
__________________
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/MT-32/D-10, Oberheim Matrix-6, Yamaha DX7/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini, Ensoniq Mirage/SQ-80, Sequential Circuits Prophet-600, Hohner String Performer

"'Legacy code' often differs from its suggested alternative by actually working and scaling." - Bjarne Stroustrup
commodorejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 06:01 AM   #12
Rolly
Merely Curious
Points: 95, Level: 1 Points: 95, Level: 1 Points: 95, Level: 1
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Rolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Telemark, Norway
Posts: 11
Default Re: Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

Now I have actually managed to transfer Transdisk to the workbench disk... so, it really works... but now what? What do I do? I have not been able to figure that out so far... Should I copy it from there to a new disk?
Rolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 09:18 AM   #13
desiv
Defender of the Faith
Points: 6,191, Level: 51 Points: 6,191, Level: 51 Points: 6,191, Level: 51
Activity: 64% Activity: 64% Activity: 64%
 
desiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolly View Post
Now I have actually managed to transfer Transdisk to the workbench disk... so, it really works... but now what? What do I do? I have not been able to figure that out so far... Should I copy it from there to a new disk?
Definitely, you want a copy.. (maybe a few) ;-)

OK, I usually use transwarp, which is similar, but not exactly the same, so I googled for the command line and options to transdisk.

If you've copied transdisk to your df0:, you'd do something like this:

c:transdisk -w ser: -d trackdisk 1

That will write the image to a floppy in your external drive. (df1)
(Well, it will ask you to start the transfer from ADF Sender Termninal, and then it should start writing to DF1)

If you don't have an external, use "trackdisk 0". In that case, I'd copy transdisk to RAM from whatever floppy you have it on, so you can call it with "ram:transdisk" and not have to worry about swapping that disk in and out and/or overwriting the wrong floppy. ;-)

Also, I believe transdisk uses your Amiga WB serial prefs, so you need to set those.
For the first transfers, I'd suggest 19,200. I had good luck with that baud rate. If you have troubles, 9600 is a slow but safe bet.
Just make sure that ADF Sender Terminal is using the same baud rate (and other settings (8N1)).

Good Luck!

desiv
(If you can do 9600 but not 19,200, try lowering the resolution (interlace off) and number of colors for your WB. It can actually make a difference. )
__________________
Amiga 1200 w/ ACA1230/28 - 4G CF, MAS Player, ext floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 500 w/ 2M CHIP and 8M FAST RAM, DCTV, AEHD floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 1000 w/ 4M FAST RAM, DUAL CF hard drives, external floppy.
desiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 10:47 AM   #14
nickoteen
Technoid
Points: 2,696, Level: 31 Points: 2,696, Level: 31 Points: 2,696, Level: 31
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
nickoteen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Croatia
Posts: 156
Default Re: Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolly View Post
Hi, you'll have to excuse me if the answer to this already is to be found at this forum, I tried to search with no luck though.

What I wonder is how I can transfer files from my PC to my Amiga 500 with a nullmodem cable. I started out trying Amiga Explorer but then I discovered I had to have the Amiga Explorer on my Amiga as well on my PC, which I don't have.

I also checked out the "adf sender terminal" but didn't quite figure out how to use it.

Anyone got a very easy step by step way of doing it?
If there is even ANY easier way of doing it I'm thankful for feedback

I'd appreciate any help that would solve my problem once and for all
Had the same problem some six months ago when I first started playing with my A500 and AExplorer.

To make the long story short, it all comes to this:

1.) You need AExplorer setup on PC
2.) You NEED AExplorer executable (file) on Amiga side as well

I've tried EVERYTHING to make AExplorer transfer itself to real Amiga and failed numerous times. Followed instructions to the letter of every word, changed numerous null-modem cables, made an exact null-modem cable compliant to AExplorer specifications ... nothing worked. The file NEVER sucesfully transfered itself to the Amiga side. That is ... until !

I changed my KS version from 1.3 to 2.04 (A500+). For some reason, under KS 1.3, transfer of AExplorer Amiga component was a no go for me.

After KS change (when you run AE on PC it asks you what KS you have. 1.3 or higher), everything worked like a charm, regardless of the cable. Even with a generic (non AE compliant) null-modem cable, the transfer went like intendent.

So .. KS 2.04 is 10 dollars more or less on ebay (I'd go for 3.1 if you decide to change your 1.3. Around 20 bucks a piece if I remember correctly).

Once you have AExplorer on the Amiga disk (Amiga side), you can transfer ADFs just like that.

Hope this helps.
nickoteen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 10:19 AM   #15
Rolly
Merely Curious
Points: 95, Level: 1 Points: 95, Level: 1 Points: 95, Level: 1
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Rolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Telemark, Norway
Posts: 11
Default Re: Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

Quote:
Originally Posted by desiv View Post
If you've copied transdisk to your df0:, you'd do something like this:

c:transdisk -w ser: -d trackdisk 1
When I try that command I get error code 121

"Unable to load c:transdisk: error code 121"

Rolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 11:50 AM   #16
desiv
Defender of the Faith
Points: 6,191, Level: 51 Points: 6,191, Level: 51 Points: 6,191, Level: 51
Activity: 64% Activity: 64% Activity: 64%
 
desiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

The file could be corrupt from the transfer or possibly not executable.
From a SHELL, I think it's something like:
protect transdisk e

..to make it executable...

desiv
__________________
Amiga 1200 w/ ACA1230/28 - 4G CF, MAS Player, ext floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 500 w/ 2M CHIP and 8M FAST RAM, DCTV, AEHD floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 1000 w/ 4M FAST RAM, DUAL CF hard drives, external floppy.
desiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 01:03 PM   #17
Rolly
Merely Curious
Points: 95, Level: 1 Points: 95, Level: 1 Points: 95, Level: 1
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Rolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Telemark, Norway
Posts: 11
Default Re: Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

Tried one more time and got a bit further... got the text you see in the picture under here but then nothing more happened... now what?
(I did not try after "protect transdisk e", didn't see that for until now)

Rolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 01:10 PM   #18
Amiga_CDTV
VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
Points: 4,871, Level: 44 Points: 4,871, Level: 44 Points: 4,871, Level: 44
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Amiga_CDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 80
Default Re: Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

At that point, the disk drive should start whirring as it starts writing the disk (and the track display should start counting up as it goes).

As the command was "... trackdisk 1", it's trying to write into external floppy disk drive, is that correct?

I hope you get it running, I know how much pain this method of transfer can be!
__________________
Commodore KIM-1, PET-2001, CBM 8032, CBM 8050, CBM 8250LP, D9060, VIC-20, C64, C64c, 1541, 1541-II, 1571, 1581,
Amiga A1000, A1060 Sidecar, A500, CDTV, CD32, 1084S, A1200, A1200 Magic Pack from Petro, custom-case A3000T, repaired A4000T and looking for more
Amiga_CDTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 02:24 PM   #19
Rolly
Merely Curious
Points: 95, Level: 1 Points: 95, Level: 1 Points: 95, Level: 1
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Rolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Telemark, Norway
Posts: 11
Default Re: Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

Yeah, it should be writing to external floppy disk drive but nothing happens...
Rolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 06:47 PM   #20
desiv
Defender of the Faith
Points: 6,191, Level: 51 Points: 6,191, Level: 51 Points: 6,191, Level: 51
Activity: 64% Activity: 64% Activity: 64%
 
desiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Transfer files from PC to Amiga 500

At that point, you need to go to your PC and start to send using ADF Sender Terminal.

If it doesn't work (start writing), then it's possible the comm settings in ADF sender don't match the ones in Workbench.

desiv
__________________
Amiga 1200 w/ ACA1230/28 - 4G CF, MAS Player, ext floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 500 w/ 2M CHIP and 8M FAST RAM, DCTV, AEHD floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 1000 w/ 4M FAST RAM, DUAL CF hard drives, external floppy.
desiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
500 , amiga , files , transfer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump