amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:11 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Correct jumper setting for A3000 HD

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2012, 03:09 PM   #1
Akiko
VIP / Donor
Points: 12,026, Level: 71 Points: 12,026, Level: 71 Points: 12,026, Level: 71
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
Akiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 967
Default Correct jumper setting for A3000 HD

I'm looking to replace the standard 100MB SCSI Hard drive that came with my A3000 for a 10GB one I found in storage. The drive spins up fine,the HD light flashes a few times
but then the A3000 hangs on a white screen. Can anyone tell from the photos below if the jumpers are correctly set for the A3000 or if I need any termination on this drive?



Akiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 03:17 PM   #2
danbeaver
Lifetime Member
Points: 4,832, Level: 44 Points: 4,832, Level: 44 Points: 4,832, Level: 44
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,092
Default Re: Correct jumper setting for A3000 HD

All SCSI drives need termination; your 10Gb drive offers active (term power) and on board. But a termination issue would cause data errors. There is another problem, I believe going on. Hang on a bit, someone with stronger opinions will shout at you shortly
danbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 03:30 PM   #3
Zac67
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Zac67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erlangen, Germany
Posts: 2,890
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: Correct jumper setting for A3000 HD

Only drive? Set ID to 0, enable termination, termpower & auto spinup.
Zac67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a3000 , correct , jumper , setting

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump