amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:27 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2012, 04:33 PM   #31
danbeaver
Lifetime Member
Points: 4,832, Level: 44 Points: 4,832, Level: 44 Points: 4,832, Level: 44
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,092
Default Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

Un-lha the mui archive then delete all the demos and locales then re-lha it so the archive fits a floppy. You should be able to do this on a PC with the unZip utility, at least mine handles lha files easily
danbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 04:34 PM   #32
Darrin
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,171, Level: 89 Points: 20,171, Level: 89 Points: 20,171, Level: 89
Activity: 46% Activity: 46% Activity: 46%
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana
Posts: 4,342
Send a message via AIM to Darrin Send a message via Yahoo to Darrin
Default Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

Extract it on your PC and then copy the files to a couple of floppies, recombine them into a single folder on the Amiga and then do the setup from there.

I never realised the LHA file was so big because my A4000 has a high density drive.
__________________
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
Darrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 06:55 PM   #33
WeiXing3D
Technoid
Points: 3,433, Level: 36 Points: 3,433, Level: 36 Points: 3,433, Level: 36
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
WeiXing3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 196
Default Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by danbeaver View Post
Un-lha the mui archive then delete all the demos and locales then re-lha it so the archive fits a floppy. You should be able to do this on a PC with the unZip utility, at least mine handles lha files easily
I'm using MOS running in a Mac Mini to download and manipulate downloads. How do I re-ha the rest of files to in fit in a floppy?
__________________
SAM460EX @1.15GHz, 2GB Memory, AOS4.1. MorphOS 3.3 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros Desktop 1.52
WeiXing3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 07:07 PM   #34
WeiXing3D
Technoid
Points: 3,433, Level: 36 Points: 3,433, Level: 36 Points: 3,433, Level: 36
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
WeiXing3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 196
Unhappy Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop (DILEMMA)

All,

This is my technological dilemma
As I have explained, I have installed and extracted all files from a DENEB card in my A3000, configured with an internal (adapted and no modifications were necessary) CF Card Reader (from Mechware) and one floppy drive. I have a 2GB cf card mounted in a PCMCIA card adapter with Workbench 3.9 mounted on it, and serving as my booting HD.

Then I have an A1200, also equipped with a PCMCIA card reader, 66GB HDD (with 3 partitions) and finally, a MOS 3.0 equipped Mac Mini (I have a multiple firmat card reader working with my MOS computer).

My dilemma is how to combine or use these 3 technologies, to bring muimaster.library to my A3000. I tried to copy the downloaded (from my MOS computer) file in lha format from a CF card using the PCMCIA adapter with WB3.9 in my A3000, but I guess that I may need to finish some configuring here too, since when I swapped the card: First, I get a mssg saying that I need to replace WB39 back in the unit, and if I cancel that, and insert the cf card with my muimaster file, I get a mssg saying that my dh0: (I guess it refers to my PCMCIA mounted unit) is unassigned and it's ghostly.

So, you experts out there...what kind I do to break this vicious cycle which doesn't let me finish the installation of my DENEB and bring life to my A3000?

Does it make any sense?
__________________
SAM460EX @1.15GHz, 2GB Memory, AOS4.1. MorphOS 3.3 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros Desktop 1.52
WeiXing3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 09:16 PM   #35
Damion
Desperately needs a life
Points: 15,734, Level: 80 Points: 15,734, Level: 80 Points: 15,734, Level: 80
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nevada, USA
Posts: 3,460
Default Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop (DILEMMA)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WeiXing3D View Post
Does it make any sense?
I think so! :P

Do you have FAT installed on the A1200? The easiest solution would seem to be transferring the file from your MorphOS machine by FAT-formatted CF card to the A1200, then from the 1200 to the 3000 by floppy.
Damion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 11:08 PM   #36
WeiXing3D
Technoid
Points: 3,433, Level: 36 Points: 3,433, Level: 36 Points: 3,433, Level: 36
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
WeiXing3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 196
Wink Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop (DILEMMA)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damion View Post
I think so! :P

Do you have FAT installed on the A1200? The easiest solution would seem to be transferring the file from your MorphOS machine by FAT-formatted CF card to the A1200, then from the 1200 to the 3000 by floppy.
Could you please tell me where to find FAT, if it's installed in my A1200? I'd think that I might have it, since I have been using cf cards in my A1200 for almost a week now, after installing a few files and apps that I was recommended to have (i.e. FAT95 that came with cf card patch).

If not where can I download it from and how to use it? Thanks in advance for any help.
__________________
SAM460EX @1.15GHz, 2GB Memory, AOS4.1. MorphOS 3.3 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros Desktop 1.52
WeiXing3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 12:10 AM   #37
Damion
Desperately needs a life
Points: 15,734, Level: 80 Points: 15,734, Level: 80 Points: 15,734, Level: 80
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nevada, USA
Posts: 3,460
Default Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

Sounds like you're already using it. In which case, you should be able to share files between your MorphOS box/PC and your 1200 via the CF cards, then by floppy to your 3000. You might have to unarc the MUI archive on the 1200 and split it up over a few floppies.
Damion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 04:41 PM   #38
WeiXing3D
Technoid
Points: 3,433, Level: 36 Points: 3,433, Level: 36 Points: 3,433, Level: 36
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
WeiXing3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 196
Exclamation Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

@ damion or anybody else who could help:


I'm getting closer, but NOT quite there yet. This is what I did:

1. I copied the mui88usr.lha file directly in the cf card that I'm using as my startup HDD in my A3000.
2. I extracted the .lha file just by double-cliciking and the Unarc app did the job. I unpacked everything in a partition that I have in my cf card called "Data,"
3. I found a drawer named "MUI" in my Data, that was made during the unpacking.
4. I opened the drawer and launched by double-clicking the Install-MUI and used the Intermediate level. BUT, I noticed that the installation says that it will create a drawer called "MUI," which I already have there
5. So I continued with the installation in spite of the warning and I got ...Sorry...an Error Has Ocurred!
COPYFILES: Couldn't copy file :"LiesMich" in line 563. I know this is German for ReadMe file
DOS Error Type: Unable to access a file or drawer--object in use.
Then the install windows closes and I don't think the installation was done.

What can I do?
__________________
SAM460EX @1.15GHz, 2GB Memory, AOS4.1. MorphOS 3.3 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros Desktop 1.52
WeiXing3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 11:58 PM   #39
zipper
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,418, Level: 75 Points: 13,418, Level: 75 Points: 13,418, Level: 75
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
zipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: finland
Posts: 2,204
Default Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

I'd look at line 563 and delete it if there's just that LiesMich copy stuff.
Perhaps you need another version of Installer, if yours is an old one - you could type in shell: which installer all and then version installer (with the path) to look what you have.
zipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 06:58 AM   #40
Kernel
Technoid
Points: 8,090, Level: 60 Points: 8,090, Level: 60 Points: 8,090, Level: 60
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Kernel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New New York, New Earth
Posts: 209
Send a message via ICQ to Kernel Send a message via AIM to Kernel Send a message via MSN to Kernel
Default Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

I just pulled my 3000 out of storage and while doing the ritual chip reseats etc., i noticed my deneb appears to only be providing power to the built in port and the pins closest to that port... I.e., Tue outermost expansion port doesn't appear to have power. Could this be a PSU issue on the 3k or a denied- issue? I haven't been able to actually boot and try any devices yet and won't until later this evening so I figured is try here to get others input while I have downtime.

I've confirmed the poeer status using a USB netgear adapter that has a USB powrer indicator on it.

Thx all!
Kernel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a3000 , card , deneb , desktop , installing

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump