amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:50 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion MASPlayer on parallel port other than stock?

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2013, 10:45 PM   #1
Astral
Technoid
Points: 10,453, Level: 68 Points: 10,453, Level: 68 Points: 10,453, Level: 68
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 454
Default MASPlayer on parallel port other than stock?

I've got myself a MASPlayer here connected to the stock parallel port on my A1200. It's limitations are pretty well known with high rate MP3's. So...I thought I'd buy an IOBlix 1200P to see if higher rate MP3's could work through this.

No luck in setting it up.

Obviously the main thing is letting MASPlayer know I would like to use the IOBlix device driver. But so far no luck. I am not even sure if it is configurable to use this device.

Has anyone been successful in this? Or even some other similar setup in the MASPlayer is working through another device other than the stock parallel port?
Astral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 03:09 AM   #2
amiga1260
Cult Member
Points: 10,386, Level: 67 Points: 10,386, Level: 67 Points: 10,386, Level: 67
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 587
Default Re: MASPlayer on parallel port other than stock?

The MAS Player can only used on an orginal parrallel ports.
amiga1260 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 04:12 AM   #3
Astral
Technoid
Points: 10,453, Level: 68 Points: 10,453, Level: 68 Points: 10,453, Level: 68
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 454
Default Re: MASPlayer on parallel port other than stock?

Mmmmmmm...interesting. The MASPlayer driver disk contains the sourcecode. Not sure what language it is in - I can check. I am not much of a coder, but would it be possible to reprogram it to work/access a different .device?
Astral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 09:53 AM   #4
psxphill
Defender of the Faith
Points: 6,633, Level: 53 Points: 6,633, Level: 53 Points: 6,633, Level: 53
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,540
Default Re: MASPlayer on parallel port other than stock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Astral View Post
Mmmmmmm...interesting. The MASPlayer driver disk contains the sourcecode. Not sure what language it is in - I can check. I am not much of a coder, but would it be possible to reprogram it to work/access a different .device?
It depends on how the hardware was designed and what the other parallel port is capable of. It might require directly accessing the other hardware as the device may not offer enough functionality.
psxphill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 11:24 AM   #5
skolman
Hobbyist
Points: 4,898, Level: 44 Points: 4,898, Level: 44 Points: 4,898, Level: 44
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 52
Default Re: MASPlayer on parallel port other than stock?

Newer MAS chips also support AAC/MP4 Audio, but that is suitable for connection to slot CPU.

http://www.alldatasheet.com/view.jsp?Searchword=MAS35
__________________
A1200D PPC BVision FastATA NET | CD32 | Efika PPC | iBook G3 | Mac mini G4

http://www.youtube.com/user/skolman78
skolman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 11:54 PM   #6
danbeaver
Lifetime Member
Points: 4,823, Level: 44 Points: 4,823, Level: 44 Points: 4,823, Level: 44
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,089
Question Re: MASPlayer on parallel port other than stock?

Are you saying that the rate limiting factor is not the decoding done on-chip in the MAS device, but the speed at which the data is fed to it?

As best as I recall, when done by the 680X0 CPU the decoding was the rate limiting factor using up to 50+% of even an 060. But I'm no expert in this area.
danbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 12:30 AM   #7
Astral
Technoid
Points: 10,453, Level: 68 Points: 10,453, Level: 68 Points: 10,453, Level: 68
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 454
Default Re: MASPlayer on parallel port other than stock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by danbeaver View Post
Are you saying that the rate limiting factor is not the decoding done on-chip in the MAS device, but the speed at which the data is fed to it?

As best as I recall, when done by the 680X0 CPU the decoding was the rate limiting factor using up to 50+% of even an 060. But I'm no expert in this area.
The opinion I've gathered in recent times says that yes, in more peoples opinions than not, it's the parallel port speed that is the limiting factor. Mind you...I haven't done tests to confirm this.

That's why I'm thinking the IOBlix1200P (or for other miggies a similar device) would help.

I'm also beginning to think that maybe an MP3@64 would've been a better choice for me???

Last edited by Astral; 09-09-2013 at 12:32 AM..
Astral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 02:33 AM   #8
psxphill
Defender of the Faith
Points: 6,633, Level: 53 Points: 6,633, Level: 53 Points: 6,633, Level: 53
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,540
Default Re: MASPlayer on parallel port other than stock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Astral View Post
The opinion I've gathered in recent times says that yes, in more peoples opinions than not, it's the parallel port speed that is the limiting factor. Mind you...I haven't done tests to confirm this.
You probably should confirm it, if there is a problem with speed it's more likely going to be because the CPU can't guarantee that data will keep flowing to the chip all the time.

But it might depend on what the protocol is doing, if it's having to reverse direction on some pins constantly then the built in parallel port might not be able to keep up. But your add on parallel port might not be any better.

Ideally you want a parallel port that can constantly DMA to the MASPlayer without any interaction from the CPU. I don't know of any DMA parallel ports though.
psxphill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 03:01 PM   #9
danbeaver
Lifetime Member
Points: 4,823, Level: 44 Points: 4,823, Level: 44 Points: 4,823, Level: 44
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,089
Default Re: MASPlayer on parallel port other than stock?

I believe that the parallel port was not intended to do much more than transfer 8-bits to a printer; while it has been used for Zip drives, AV A-to-D digitizers and the MAS device, that was not its designed purpose. DMA to a high speed parallel "pipe" occurs for SCSI, but PIO is used on IDE. The other DMA devices are serial in nature. In any event, you are using the Amiga as a storage device to feed data to an MP3 chip and there are choices made based on cost and simplicity. PIO is also used in place of DMA for serial USB and Ethernet devices (see Jens' articulation on EAB).

The function you desire would be best handled with a sound card with the desired decoding chips in situ.

Last edited by danbeaver; 09-09-2013 at 03:05 PM.. Reason: Add
danbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
masplayer , parallel , port , stock

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump