amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:55 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion SCSI CF Card Reader

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2012, 06:41 AM   #1
k4lmp
Technoid
Points: 3,066, Level: 34 Points: 3,066, Level: 34 Points: 3,066, Level: 34
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
k4lmp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Church Hill, TN
Posts: 255
Default SCSI CF Card Reader

I have one of the Mechware SCSI CF card readers that I use for my primary HD. I don't use the PCMCIA adapter, but instead, plug the CF card straight into the CF slot. What I'm wondering, is if I can use the PCMCIA adapter, with a CF card inserted in the adapter, as another drive. Say, boot up without it installed as usual, then, if it is hot-swappable, insert it into the PCMCIA slot, and use it as just a drive to move files back and forth from my PC. If not hot-swappable, if I insert it at bootup, I am hoping the A2000 will see it as a not-bootable device, and go ahead and boot from the normal CF slot as usual. Any thoughts on this?

Thanks,
Jeff
k4lmp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 09:16 AM   #2
mechy
Cult Member
Points: 12,892, Level: 74 Points: 12,892, Level: 74 Points: 12,892, Level: 74
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
mechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas,usa
Posts: 927
Send a message via AIM to mechy Send a message via MSN to mechy
Default Re: SCSI CF Card Reader

Yes, the scsi card readers are hotswappable on all slots, i recommend leaving the boot drive in the cf slot,and then use the pcmcia adapter as the swappable slot.

If you don't want the machine to boot off it,either set the partitions as non bootable or set the boot priority different than the boot drive in Hdtoolbox.

You can do many things with them. You can have 5 separate boot drives,use other slots for backups,put macos/pctask on seperate cards so no chance of corrupting sys partitions.boot multiple os's off seperate cards which is available in the early boot menu etc. by staggering the boot priority in the partitions,you can select them in early boot menu and still have the main card boot the os.

I just received some PCD=47B card readers in that are 4 slot and do not use luns. they take up 3 scsi id numbers and although slower than the pcd-50b,are very useful for some picky music samplers as well as older amiga scsi controllers that cannot use SCSI LUNS properly. It gives a good way to go solid state.
The PCD-47B will allow booting off a card in the cf/SM slots directly without the pcmcia adapter on machines that cannot use luns.


Mech

Last edited by mechy; 06-07-2012 at 09:19 AM..
mechy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 11:30 AM   #3
runequester
It's Amiga time!
Points: 25,611, Level: 96 Points: 25,611, Level: 96 Points: 25,611, Level: 96
Activity: 96% Activity: 96% Activity: 96%
 
runequester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 3,695
Blog Entries: 7
Default Re: SCSI CF Card Reader

You know, it just friggen blows my mind when people come up with gadgets like this. Stuff that nobody would have thought possible in 1990
__________________
Amiga AND Linux fan. Zealots are people that lack faith

I blog..a lot.
http://doctorwhoretrospec.blogspot.com/
http://redleftperspective.blogspot.com/
http://theamigablog.blogspot.com/
runequester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 06:35 AM   #4
k4lmp
Technoid
Points: 3,066, Level: 34 Points: 3,066, Level: 34 Points: 3,066, Level: 34
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
k4lmp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Church Hill, TN
Posts: 255
Default Re: SCSI CF Card Reader

OK, so I finally got around to testing this. Here are the scenarios. With the OS CF plugged into the CF slot, and a non-bootable CF plugged into pcmcia slot with adapter, tries to boot from non-bootable, and stops and I get the insert bootable disk screen. With OS CF in pcmcia, and non-bootable CF in CF slot. Boots immediately from pcmcia OS CF, and never sees the non-bootable. Booting with OS CF in CF slot, and non-bootable not plugged in, then plugging non-bootable into pcmcia slot with adapter after bootup: I go into "mounter" and mount the non-bootable, it mounts successfully, and mounter shows it up as DH3, which is correct. Never shows up on desktop, and if I go into shell and try to change to DH3:, it says insert disk into volume DH3:. The non-bootable is formatted, and contains files. Any suggestions.

Thanks,
Jeff
k4lmp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 06:45 AM   #5
psxphill
Defender of the Faith
Points: 7,046, Level: 55 Points: 7,046, Level: 55 Points: 7,046, Level: 55
Activity: 58% Activity: 58% Activity: 58%
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,646
Default Re: SCSI CF Card Reader

Quote:
Originally Posted by k4lmp View Post
The non-bootable is formatted, and contains files. Any suggestions.
What file system? If it's FAT then it won't be DH3
psxphill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 06:47 AM   #6
k4lmp
Technoid
Points: 3,066, Level: 34 Points: 3,066, Level: 34 Points: 3,066, Level: 34
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
k4lmp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Church Hill, TN
Posts: 255
Default Re: SCSI CF Card Reader

Amiga formatted with SFS
k4lmp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 04:36 PM   #7
Castellen
Cult Member
Points: 10,837, Level: 68 Points: 10,837, Level: 68 Points: 10,837, Level: 68
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 972
Default Re: SCSI CF Card Reader

Does your SCSI card reader use one bus ID and then every card in the reader then have its own LUN? Never used one of these card readers before, but they sound good.

Just a silly theory, but is it something such as the Amiga only wanting to boot from the first LUN? What cards can you see from the early startup menu?

Because you're cold booting from OS3.1 ROM then it'll be using the older scsi.device or whatever the A2091 uses. Does it make any difference once the machine is running from the OS3.9 ROM? i.e. enter early startup menu with 3.9 and see if any of the other card LUNs are available.
Castellen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 05:48 PM   #8
jsixis
Too much caffeine
Points: 3,521, Level: 37 Points: 3,521, Level: 37 Points: 3,521, Level: 37
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 150
Default Re: SCSI CF Card Reader

seems to me (been a long time since I have played with a new scsi device) you need to use scsi prefs and set up the device as non bootable
jsixis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 09:52 AM   #9
k4lmp
Technoid
Points: 3,066, Level: 34 Points: 3,066, Level: 34 Points: 3,066, Level: 34
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
k4lmp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Church Hill, TN
Posts: 255
Default Re: SCSI CF Card Reader

It uses LUNS. I got it to recognize the CF card, by booting, inserting the CF card/pcmcia adapter in the reader, and mounting twice with "mounter". Don't know why I had to mount it twice, the first time, it showed up as DH3, which is correct, I then highlighted it again, and hit the mount button, and it showed up.

Jeff
k4lmp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 03:13 AM   #10
Lurch
Lifetime Member
Points: 15,475, Level: 80 Points: 15,475, Level: 80 Points: 15,475, Level: 80
Activity: 50% Activity: 50% Activity: 50%
 
Lurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,402
Send a message via MSN to Lurch
Default Re: SCSI CF Card Reader

Have been trying to get mine to work with just the cf card, but wont boot. Only had luck so far with the adapter.
Have to tried the post on eab about setting switch 4 to on but still no luck.
Will have another go once my sick 500 is back on it's feet :-( Waiting for parts is painful just happy I could find parts :-)
__________________
-=[LurcH]=-
A1200T 060@80MHz | A500 Plus 030@25MHz | Pegasos II G4@1GHz
Lurch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 08:30 AM   #11
k4lmp
Technoid
Points: 3,066, Level: 34 Points: 3,066, Level: 34 Points: 3,066, Level: 34
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
k4lmp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Church Hill, TN
Posts: 255
Default Re: SCSI CF Card Reader

Well, if you use the CF slot instead of the adapter, it takes it about 30 seconds to a minute to boot up. It has to scan all SCSI devices, including LUNs. I use a 2091 with rev. 7.0 roms, and an upgraded controller chip from Mechware, and mine works fine this way. If it is going to work, it could take up to a minute or so. My HD activity light flashes, as it checks each device/LUN. Try giving it a bit more time before giving up on it and turning the computer off. Also, make sure that you have LUNs enabled on your controller or it will not work in the cf slot. With LUNs disabled, it will only work in the PCMCIA slot with the adapter. Hope this helps.

Jeff

Last edited by k4lmp; 06-18-2012 at 08:33 AM..
k4lmp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 07:45 AM   #12
SpeedGeek
Technoid
Points: 3,491, Level: 36 Points: 3,491, Level: 36 Points: 3,491, Level: 36
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Posts: 184
Default Re: SCSI CF Card Reader

I predicted the time it takes to scan LUNs would slow down booting but I didn't expect 30 sec. or more! It looks like the PCD-47B is the best all around choice for now.
SpeedGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 07:54 AM   #13
desantii
Amiga Addict!
Points: 5,791, Level: 49 Points: 5,791, Level: 49 Points: 5,791, Level: 49
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: IL, US
Posts: 348
Default Re: SCSI CF Card Reader

I have two of these, one in my 3000T and one in my A2000. Haven't used the A3000 in a while but in the A2000 it is definitely not 30sec to start booting with just the CF card, I would say more like 10 sec, if that

It is connected to a GVP 030
__________________
Amiga 2000, 030 55mhz, 26mb ram, Indivision ECS, Megachip

Amiga 4000/060 Cyberstorm MKI

Amiga 500+ 2mb chip ram
desantii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 09:35 AM   #14
k4lmp
Technoid
Points: 3,066, Level: 34 Points: 3,066, Level: 34 Points: 3,066, Level: 34
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
k4lmp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Church Hill, TN
Posts: 255
Default Re: SCSI CF Card Reader

Quote:
Originally Posted by desantii View Post
I have two of these, one in my 3000T and one in my A2000. Haven't used the A3000 in a while but in the A2000 it is definitely not 30sec to start booting with just the CF card, I would say more like 10 sec, if that

It is connected to a GVP 030

Well, I don't have the GVP, (I wish I did) I have the A2091. If I use the CF card alone, in the PCMCIA adapter, prolly 10 seconds or so to boot. BUT, if you use the CF card in the CF card slot, on my reader, with LUNs enabled, it takes about 30 seconds. I don't know anything about the GVP, other than it is a better card than my A2091.
k4lmp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
card , reader , scsi

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump