amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:52 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion General chat about Amiga topics No Amiga 1000s?

General chat about Amiga topics This forum is for conversations which are specifically "Amiga" related, but don't fit into other categories. Contents of this forum do appear on the main page, unlike Talk About. If a subject appears to be non-related, it will be moved to Talk About.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2012, 03:01 AM   #1
walterg74
Beginner
Points: 425, Level: 8 Points: 425, Level: 8 Points: 425, Level: 8
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 33
Default No Amiga 1000s?

So in my retro craze of getting old school computers (among which Amigas of course), I noticed there seems to be no Amiga 1000s published anyware... Are they so scarce now? On what passes for our local "ebay", there's this one seller selling just aunit (no keyboard) for about 180 us dollars.... I though it to be kind of crazy, but then I saw there are none available (and I can't even find a keyboard even if I wanted that one he sells...). So what's the deal?
walterg74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 03:16 AM   #2
CritAnime
Previous Life Time Member
Points: 6,368, Level: 52 Points: 6,368, Level: 52 Points: 6,368, Level: 52
Activity: 31% Activity: 31% Activity: 31%
 
CritAnime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,144
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: No Amiga 1000s?

1000's do seem to be scarce. I have been checking ebay for a while to try and catch one and they don't come around very often.
__________________
Admin at http://commodoregamingwiki.co.uk
Personal blog http://critanime.com
CritAnime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 03:44 AM   #3
walterg74
Beginner
Points: 425, Level: 8 Points: 425, Level: 8 Points: 425, Level: 8
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 33
Default Re: No Amiga 1000s?

Yes, that and looking some ore, I also don't see any 2000s or 3000s practically... :S
walterg74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 03:49 AM   #4
CritAnime
Previous Life Time Member
Points: 6,368, Level: 52 Points: 6,368, Level: 52 Points: 6,368, Level: 52
Activity: 31% Activity: 31% Activity: 31%
 
CritAnime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,144
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: No Amiga 1000s?

there is a 3000 on the UK ebay store at the moment. Seems a bit beaten but should be serviceable. There is also a 2000 available on gumtree. Again it's in the UK though.
__________________
Admin at http://commodoregamingwiki.co.uk
Personal blog http://critanime.com
CritAnime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 05:51 AM   #5
bitman
Technoid
Points: 4,600, Level: 43 Points: 4,600, Level: 43 Points: 4,600, Level: 43
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
 
bitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Planet Amiga
Posts: 208
Default Re: No Amiga 1000s?

Quote:
Originally Posted by walterg74 View Post
So in my retro craze of getting old school computers (among which Amigas of course), I noticed there seems to be no Amiga 1000s published anyware...
Last week i managed to pick up an Amiga 1000 with monitor and orginal boxes etc. for only $100 - but that was in Denmark - and it was the first I've seen in a long time - but again I don't think the A1000 was that popular in DK anyway.
__________________
BigBookOfAmigaHardware.com. C A4000T/060/PIV, 4xA4000/040, A4000/030, 2x A600, 5 x A500, 2xA500+, 3xA2000, A1200/030@50/4mb, A1200/ACA030, A1200/030@50/32mb, A1200/030@50/32mb, A1200/020/4mb, 2xA1200/020/8mb, 2xA1200, CDTV, 2xCD32, A1000, 4xC64, C128D, C128 + many more
bitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 10:12 AM   #6
Oldsmobile_Mike
VIP / Donor
Points: 14,993, Level: 79 Points: 14,993, Level: 79 Points: 14,993, Level: 79
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
 
Oldsmobile_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,675
Default Re: No Amiga 1000s?

Someone is hoarding them? It'll be on TV one of these days, A1000's stacked to the ceilings, just you wait, LOL. ;-p
Oldsmobile_Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 10:31 AM   #7
Kremlar
Technoid
Points: 4,511, Level: 42 Points: 4,511, Level: 42 Points: 4,511, Level: 42
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Milford, MA USA
Posts: 185
Default Re: No Amiga 1000s?

Speaking of hoarding, check this guy out:

http://www.atariage.com/forums/topic...5#entry2381685
Kremlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 10:32 AM   #8
pan1k
Cult Member
Points: 11,746, Level: 71 Points: 11,746, Level: 71 Points: 11,746, Level: 71
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
 
pan1k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 839
Default Re: No Amiga 1000s?

Where are you located? I might be interested in selling one of my A1000s. Has original box, and keyboard, mouse.
__________________
A4K: \'060, Cyberstorm MKIII Cybervision 64/3D w/ Scandoubler, Buddha Flash XSurf, MP3@64, A4K: \'040, Toaster, Y/C, A1200: Apollo \'040, A1200 GVP '030, A1200: Stock, A2000: 68K, Trump SCSI, Supra 8Mb, and Toaster 4K, A2500: \'030, GVP SCSI, Supra 8MB x2, Video Toaster, CD32, Minimig, Efika and Hopefully an A4000T soon!
pan1k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 11:28 AM   #9
blanghorst
Too much caffeine
Points: 2,845, Level: 32 Points: 2,845, Level: 32 Points: 2,845, Level: 32
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
blanghorst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 77
Default Re: No Amiga 1000s?

Quote:
Originally Posted by walterg74 View Post
Yes, that and looking some ore, I also don't see any 2000s or 3000s practically... :S
My experience is the opposite -- in the past 3 or 4 weeks, there have been several A2000 and A3000 systems on eBay and even a few A1000s. Now that I've got my A2000 and A3000 running, I think I'm going to grab an A1000 next.
__________________
Amiga 2000 | GVP 68030 w/ 8 MB RAM | A2091 w/ 52 MB hard drive | Dual floppy drives

Amiga 3000 | 68030 @ 25 Mhz | 18 MB RAM | 3.2 GB SCSI hard drive

Vic 20 w/C2N datassette (trying to find it!)
C-64 w/ 1541 drive
C-128 w/ 1571 drive
blanghorst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 11:29 AM   #10
blanghorst
Too much caffeine
Points: 2,845, Level: 32 Points: 2,845, Level: 32 Points: 2,845, Level: 32
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
blanghorst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 77
Default Re: No Amiga 1000s?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pan1k View Post
Where are you located? I might be interested in selling one of my A1000s. Has original box, and keyboard, mouse.
If he isn't interested and you're in the US, I might be interested.
__________________
Amiga 2000 | GVP 68030 w/ 8 MB RAM | A2091 w/ 52 MB hard drive | Dual floppy drives

Amiga 3000 | 68030 @ 25 Mhz | 18 MB RAM | 3.2 GB SCSI hard drive

Vic 20 w/C2N datassette (trying to find it!)
C-64 w/ 1541 drive
C-128 w/ 1571 drive
blanghorst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 12:37 PM   #11
Digiman
Defender of the Faith
Points: 6,596, Level: 53 Points: 6,596, Level: 53 Points: 6,596, Level: 53
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,045
Default Re: No Amiga 1000s?

A1000 is the nicest non AGA Amiga to use and one of the rarest but a combination of ebays a$$hole policies towards new sellers and low selling price they will soon disappear off scumbay.

The same 20 A1000s are bought and sold on
Digiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 12:47 PM   #12
motrucker
Premium Member
Points: 15,629, Level: 80 Points: 15,629, Level: 80 Points: 15,629, Level: 80
Activity: 30% Activity: 30% Activity: 30%
 
motrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Maryland - U.S.A.
Posts: 2,096
Default Re: No Amiga 1000s?

Here in the States ebay has had more than a few listed for reasonable prices. I even saw one at a local flea market that worked for $125.00 with 2Mb ram upgrade and 1080 monitor.
I notice that some of the ebay listings are actually in Canada.
Don't seem to be scarce here, anyway.
motrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 12:49 PM   #13
salax54
Hobbyist
Points: 3,732, Level: 38 Points: 3,732, Level: 38 Points: 3,732, Level: 38
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 65
Default Re: No Amiga 1000s?

If you're in Europe, i just saw four of them on the German ebay, and one over at the Dutch ebay... Good luck there!
salax54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:50 PM   #14
psxphill
Defender of the Faith
Points: 7,016, Level: 55 Points: 7,016, Level: 55 Points: 7,016, Level: 55
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,640
Default Re: No Amiga 1000s?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digiman View Post
A1000 is the nicest non AGA Amiga to use and one of the rarest
I prefer the "batpack" rev 5 a500, as it was the first I owned. No pesky kickstart disks & no noisy fans.
psxphill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 03:58 PM   #15
walterg74
Beginner
Points: 425, Level: 8 Points: 425, Level: 8 Points: 425, Level: 8
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 33
Default Re: No Amiga 1000s?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pan1k View Post
Where are you located? I might be interested in selling one of my A1000s. Has original box, and keyboard, mouse.
I am actually located in south america. I have been coming to europe on two occasions recently, and took advantage of that to get me some mice enay auctions (i think all from uk sellers). Where are you located and how much would you want for your Amiga? I should be coming back in about a month and a half give or take.
walterg74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 04:47 PM   #16
pan1k
Cult Member
Points: 11,746, Level: 71 Points: 11,746, Level: 71 Points: 11,746, Level: 71
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
 
pan1k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 839
Default Re: No Amiga 1000s?

I'm in the USA, California. Let me pull it out of storage and make sure all accessories are there. I think it has the 512k memory upgrade also.
__________________
A4K: \'060, Cyberstorm MKIII Cybervision 64/3D w/ Scandoubler, Buddha Flash XSurf, MP3@64, A4K: \'040, Toaster, Y/C, A1200: Apollo \'040, A1200 GVP '030, A1200: Stock, A2000: 68K, Trump SCSI, Supra 8Mb, and Toaster 4K, A2500: \'030, GVP SCSI, Supra 8MB x2, Video Toaster, CD32, Minimig, Efika and Hopefully an A4000T soon!
pan1k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 04:59 PM   #17
persia
Desperately needs a life
Points: 20,675, Level: 90 Points: 20,675, Level: 90 Points: 20,675, Level: 90
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
persia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,744
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: No Amiga 1000s?

I'd be interested if it had a phoenix board....
__________________


What we're witnessing is the sad, lonely crowing of that last, doomed cock.
persia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 11:33 PM   #18
Bif
Too much caffeine
Points: 4,077, Level: 40 Points: 4,077, Level: 40 Points: 4,077, Level: 40
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 112
Default Re: No Amiga 1000s?

Jinx ... I've been looking to buy a reasonable A1000 locally for a few years now and just got home 10 minutes ago with one I picked up off of my local Craigslist. Came with 1080 monitor, 1060 sidecar, DigiView, Perfect Sound digitizer, external floppy, etc. Everything seems to be original, working, and in good condition. Not bad for $75 I think. I'll have to find some time to play with it tomorrow.

I always had a soft spot for the A1000 as it's the first one I saw, and I think the case looks great. I've been a bit put off by the expandability, but interesting enough I'm just reading now that the sidecar can host a hard drive? That will be interesting to try and get going. I now have an A1000, A2000, and 4000D - now I just need a cheap A3000 to complete my collection, the one I want the most actually.
Bif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 02:05 AM   #19
Ni72ous
Technoid
Points: 9,092, Level: 64 Points: 9,092, Level: 64 Points: 9,092, Level: 64
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Ni72ous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 402
Default Re: No Amiga 1000s?

Quote:
Originally Posted by persia View Post
I'd be interested if it had a phoenix board....
There is an A1000 Phoenix on amibay now with 2mb chip, 4mb fast, kick 3.1 and 030/40 turbo fe accelerator.
__________________
Ni72ous
Ni72ous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 02:51 AM   #20
skywalkgr
Too much caffeine
Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57
Activity: 26% Activity: 26% Activity: 26%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 73
Default Re: No Amiga 1000s?

I won a few days ago an a2000

There are a few inside ebay.de , take a look here :

http://www.ebay.de/itm/Amiga-2000-Co...ht_3173wt_1227

http://www.ebay.de/itm/Amiga-A-2000-...#ht_500wt_1287

I am looking also for an a1000 , i think its very hard to find one :/
__________________
a12oo + blizzard 1230iV - 68030@50Mhz w/mmu- 10MbRam - Hitachi 2,5inch 40GB hard disk - OS 3.5
a5oo : Kickstart 1.3 , 512Kb of extra ram

Last edited by skywalkgr; 04-18-2012 at 02:56 AM..
skywalkgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
1000s , amiga

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump