amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:25 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

» Amiga.org » Amiga computer related discussion » Amiga Gaming » BOOM 68k Port

Amiga Gaming This forum is dedicated to games software and solutions for the Commodore Amiga computer. Need help blowing up pixels? Know of the next gaming revolution? Talk about it here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2012, 07:59 PM   #21
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 39,234, Level: 100 Points: 39,234, Level: 100 Points: 39,234, Level: 100
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,803
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: BOOM 68k Port

Another great megawad for this and ADoom!

http://www.doomworld.com/idgames/?id=16630
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 08:08 PM   #22
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 39,234, Level: 100 Points: 39,234, Level: 100 Points: 39,234, Level: 100
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,803
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: BOOM 68k Port

Well crap! There's a few ADOOM and Boom compatible wads worth mentioning this week!

http://doomworld.com/php/topstory.php?id=3456
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 12:41 AM   #23
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,966, Level: 69 Points: 10,966, Level: 69 Points: 10,966, Level: 69
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,541
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: BOOM 68k Port

Just found this old thread again, this is BOOM running on my 'old' 040 (fullscreen with HUD) -> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Au9QkovMHE0

I'll upload a new video if it running on my 80Mhz 060 when I get the time.
__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, Odamex AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA

Last edited by NovaCoder; 05-14-2012 at 12:53 AM..
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 12:42 AM   #24
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,966, Level: 69 Points: 10,966, Level: 69 Points: 10,966, Level: 69
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,541
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: BOOM 68k Port

And here it is -> Amiga BOOM 060 Style
__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, Odamex AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 05:37 AM   #25
JJ
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,996, Level: 91 Points: 20,996, Level: 91 Points: 20,996, Level: 91
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
JJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 3,758
Default Re: BOOM 68k Port

That bloody shifts fair play
__________________
“We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.” - George Bernard Shaw

Xbox Live: S0ulA55a551n2

Registered MorphsOS 3.7 user
JJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 11:32 AM   #26
paul1981
Cult Member
Points: 5,753, Level: 49 Points: 5,753, Level: 49 Points: 5,753, Level: 49
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
paul1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: England
Posts: 836
Default Re: BOOM 68k Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
And here it is -> Amiga BOOM 060 Style
Glad to see you finally got your (Apollo) '060 card.
80MHz as well... she's a beauty!
paul1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 01:34 PM   #27
motrucker
Classic Amiga snob
Points: 15,899, Level: 81 Points: 15,899, Level: 81 Points: 15,899, Level: 81
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
motrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Maryland - U.S.A.
Posts: 2,113
Default Re: BOOM 68k Port

Oh gawd - I haven't messed with DOOM in years. I can see that's about to change....
motrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 06:20 PM   #28
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,966, Level: 69 Points: 10,966, Level: 69 Points: 10,966, Level: 69
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,541
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: BOOM 68k Port

This is what I'm currently working on -> AmiQuake, should be ready in a 2 weeks.
__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, Odamex AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 07:52 AM   #29
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 39,234, Level: 100 Points: 39,234, Level: 100 Points: 39,234, Level: 100
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,803
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: BOOM 68k Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
This is what I'm currently working on -> AmiQuake, should be ready in a 2 weeks.
So are you the guy behind the Alien Breed Quake TC as well?

If so, were you able to rip resources such as textures from Alien Breed 3D 2?
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 08:52 AM   #30
Crumb
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,515, Level: 73 Points: 12,515, Level: 73 Points: 12,515, Level: 73
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Crumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,764
Default Re: BOOM 68k Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
This is what I'm currently working on -> AmiQuake, should be ready in a 2 weeks.
In some platforms like mips or arm they modified some fpu code to use integers so perhaps you could apply some speed up.
__________________
The only spanish amiga news web page/club: Club de Usuarios de Amiga de Zaragoza (CUAZ)
Crumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 11:12 AM   #31
dreamcast270mhz
Technoid
Points: 3,730, Level: 38 Points: 3,730, Level: 38 Points: 3,730, Level: 38
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
dreamcast270mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Melbourne Florida
Posts: 322
Default Re: BOOM 68k Port

I wonder.... can it run on Amithlon?
__________________
My machines:
PowerMac G4 MDD 1.5ghz 1.25GB 10.5.8 & MOS 2.7
Mac Mini C2D 10.6.8 2GHz 3GB 250GB HDD
MacBook Retina 16GB 256GB SSD 10.8
iPad 2
Underground Gamer invites (a classic game site) PM

Need a part for a PC or Mac? PM me, I'll let you know if I come across it.

OS X trumps Windows on every level.

MorphOS, OS4 and Classic Amiga systems are the only ones who are real 'Amigas', not that joke AROS or Amiga Forever.
dreamcast270mhz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 11:27 AM   #32
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 39,234, Level: 100 Points: 39,234, Level: 100 Points: 39,234, Level: 100
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,803
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Thumbs down Re: BOOM 68k Port

When I tried it under AmithlOn, nothing happened when I double clicked the icon. I then tried it via command line and it acted as if I never typed a command at all.

An Amithlon specific port of this for PrBoom Plus would be nice though.

Last edited by XDelusion; 05-17-2012 at 04:23 PM..
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 08:40 PM   #33
fishy_fiz
Defender of the Faith
Points: 14,692, Level: 78 Points: 14,692, Level: 78 Points: 14,692, Level: 78
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,635
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: BOOM 68k Port

You need to have the wad files in the same directory. I encountered the same thing.
I cant seem to get mods to work though, or any command line arguements, and it crashes almost as soon as it launches. Also it only displays the image in top half of the screen a bit squashed (I think its trying to use one of my weird, designed for mame p96 screenmodes).

Any pointers would be appreciated.

@XDelusion

Glad my ab3d mod idea stuck. I cant seem to shake it either.
Any recommendations for editors and whatnot? I'd like to do the whole thing from my amiga and/or amithlon box though, which limits me to amiga tools, or DOS tools (for running inside pc task).
fishy_fiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 09:16 PM   #34
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,966, Level: 69 Points: 10,966, Level: 69 Points: 10,966, Level: 69
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,541
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: BOOM 68k Port

A couple of points.

1) Don't even try and launch it from the command line, this is a multi-tasking WB friendly application and can only be launched from the WB.
2) Use the Icon's Tooltypes to specify locations of WAD files and the BEX files etc.
3) There is currently a bug with the 060 C2P routines, do not specify 060 with an AGA display type (will be fixed with the next release)
4) The current AmiNet version of BOOM doesn't use P96 for RTG, it's coded as a native CyberGFX app for max speed
5) This game is only targeted at classic 68k, don't try to run it on any other 'Amiga like' platform and expect it to work properly
__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, Odamex AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 03:10 AM   #35
Crumb
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,515, Level: 73 Points: 12,515, Level: 73 Points: 12,515, Level: 73
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Crumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,764
Default Re: BOOM 68k Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
A couple of points.

1) Don't even try and launch it from the command line, this is a multi-tasking WB friendly application and can only be launched from the WB.
OS-friendly apps should work correctly launched from CLI. Is the problem stack related? ADoom worked flawlessly launched from both CLI and WB.

Quote:
2) Use the Icon's Tooltypes to specify locations of WAD files and the BEX files etc.
If you take code from ADoom you could make it override tooltype settings when CLI parameters are specified.

Quote:
3) There is currently a bug with the 060 C2P routines, do not specify 060 with an AGA display type (will be fixed with the next release)
You could auto detect cpu type and use that functions unless user forces the app to use other cpu functions. It is easy, just use something like this:
ULONG detecta_cpu(void)
{

if ((SysBase->AttnFlags & AFF_68060) != 0)
cpu_type = 68060;
else if ((SysBase->AttnFlags & AFF_68040) != 0)
cpu_type = 68040;
else if ((SysBase->AttnFlags & AFF_68030) != 0)
cpu_type = 68030;
else if ((SysBase->AttnFlags & AFF_68020) != 0)
cpu_type = 68020;
else if ((SysBase->AttnFlags & AFF_68010) != 0)
cpu_type = 68010;
else
cpu_type = 68000;
return(cpu_type);
}
ULONG detecta_fpu(void)
{
if (SysBase->AttnFlags & AFF_FPU40)
fpu_type = 68040;
else
if (SysBase->AttnFlags & AFF_68882)
fpu_type = 68882;
else
if (SysBase->AttnFlags & AFF_68881)
fpu_type = 68881;
else fpu_type = 0;
return(fpu_type);
}

Quote:
4) The current AmiNet version of BOOM doesn't use P96 for RTG, it's coded as a native CyberGFX app for max speed
You won't gain a single fps removing p96 support.
Quote:
5) This game is only targeted at classic 68k, don't try to run it on any other 'Amiga like' platform and expect it to work properly
It should work as it's an OS-friendly multitasking game. It would be different if it didn't multitask and took over the machine for maximum speed, writting to chipram at 7MB/s perfectly synchronized with the screen refresh in the short while between a frame ends and the next one is shown (like many demos do), but it's not the case.
__________________
The only spanish amiga news web page/club: Club de Usuarios de Amiga de Zaragoza (CUAZ)

Last edited by Crumb; 05-18-2012 at 03:13 AM..
Crumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 07:23 AM   #36
Abu the monkey
Merely Curious
Points: 2,292, Level: 28 Points: 2,292, Level: 28 Points: 2,292, Level: 28
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Abu the monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oxfordshire, England
Posts: 20
Default Re: BOOM 68k Port

very nice...
Abu the monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:14 AM   #37
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 39,234, Level: 100 Points: 39,234, Level: 100 Points: 39,234, Level: 100
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,803
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: BOOM 68k Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishy_fiz View Post
@XDelusion

Glad my ab3d mod idea stuck. I cant seem to shake it either.
Any recommendations for editors and whatnot? I'd like to do the whole thing from my amiga and/or amithlon box though, which limits me to amiga tools, or DOS tools (for running inside pc task).
If you want to do any DOOM editing in an Amiga related OS, you are going to be confined to DosBox running old archaic dos programs. Unless of course you update DosBOX for AROS at some point with your previous plans...

...then we may be able to run the old version of DOOM Builder inside Win98 lite.

Other than that I suggest these two windows programs.

DOOM Builder 2

http://www.doombuilder.com/

(I started mapping when DOOM editing was like using an old 80's CAD program. Editing within DOOM Builder 2 saves SOOOOO VERRRRRRYYYYY MUCH TIME!!!! Just watch the tutorials linked on the page, you'll see!!!!)

Slade

http://slade.mancubus.net/

(Slade is the most advanced tool in relation to editing DOOM resources files such as textures, sprites, sound files, audio files and so forth.)

If you insist upon running something inside Dosbox, well then you have... well just have a look here:

http://www.doomworld.com/classicdoom/utils/editors.php


For the note, some of the special tools made to take advantage of some of BOOM's features can only be run in DOS. This includes the tool to create new animated textures amongst others.
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:24 AM   #38
Frags
Too much caffeine
Points: 6,133, Level: 50 Points: 6,133, Level: 50 Points: 6,133, Level: 50
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nottingham, England
Posts: 89
Default Re: BOOM 68k Port

At the risk of sounding like a party-pooper, isn`t porting Quake and Doom a bit of a pointless exercise when we already have extremely well optimised 68K ports of both?
Not that it`s any of my business how you spend your pleasure time of course!

edit: I think I see now - you`re trying to accomodate the AB3DII assets right?
__________________
-insert clever profundity here-

Last edited by Frags; 05-18-2012 at 08:28 AM..
Frags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:39 AM   #39
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 39,234, Level: 100 Points: 39,234, Level: 100 Points: 39,234, Level: 100
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,803
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: BOOM 68k Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frags View Post
At the risk of sounding like a party-pooper, isn`t porting Quake and Doom a bit of a pointless exercise when we already have extremely well optimised 68K ports of both?
Not that it`s any of my business how you spend your pleasure time of course!

edit: I think I see now - you`re trying to accomodate the AB3DII assets right?
Optimizations. Think of BOOM as DOOM with a TON of bug fixes, mapping limitations removed and a ton of extra goodies...

http://doom.wikia.com/wiki/Boom

Flags:

http://www.doomworld.com/tutorials/boom5.php

Properties Transfer:

http://www.doomworld.com/tutorials/boom2.php

Advanced Teleports:

http://www.doomworld.com/tutorials/boom4.php

Ice, Mud, Wind Currents:

http://www.doomworld.com/tutorials/boom6.php

Scrolling Effects:

http://www.doomworld.com/tutorials/boom3.php

Advanced Elevators:

http://www.doomworld.com/tutorials/boom7.php

More Triggers:

http://www.doomworld.com/tutorials/boom8.php

Man's Best friend:

The ability to add drones to help the player fight enemies within the game, I.E. Gradius or Shadow Dancer.

The ability to add color schemes to your maps so it looks like some rooms are lit up in blue while others appear red, green, yellow, normal etc.

And so much more.

As for Alien Breed 3D II under BOOM...

...that's an idea of Fish's that him and I are currently tossing around in our heads. Boom was not ported to accommodate, but now that we have BOOM we want to do something Amiga centric with it.



BTW, what was the name of the Amiga based DOOM source port that allowed for Free Look?


Do you think code from that could be worked into your port of BOOM Nova?

Last edited by XDelusion; 05-18-2012 at 08:52 AM..
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:45 AM   #40
Frags
Too much caffeine
Points: 6,133, Level: 50 Points: 6,133, Level: 50 Points: 6,133, Level: 50
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nottingham, England
Posts: 89
Default Re: BOOM 68k Port

Looks good, I`m going to give it a try on this here PC right now...

BTW, it was DoomAttack that had free look
__________________
-insert clever profundity here-
Frags is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
68k , boom , port

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump