amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:21 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

» Amiga.org » Amiga computer related discussion » Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion » Microvitec: M1438

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2008, 01:38 PM   #1
Daniele
Technoid
Points: 9,721, Level: 66 Points: 9,721, Level: 66 Points: 9,721, Level: 66
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
 
Daniele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 496
Send a message via MSN to Daniele
Default Microvitec: M1438

I am interested in the Monitor Microvitec: M1438 but one guy who is selling it says that the monitor is not standard vga, but a multiscan capable of the vga standard.
I want to know if it need a scandoubler and if it is connected trought the VGA or the RGB Port.

Many Thanks


__________________
Amiga 1200 into a DBox Tower with PPC603e@166Mhz040 256MB Mediator PCI SX - Ide-Fix Express OS4 Classic Voodoo3 Fast Ethernet - A1200 030@40MHZ - A2000 030@25MHZ - A500 - A500+ - A600 - C64 + MMC REPLAY!!!
Daniele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 01:44 PM   #2
HopperJF
Defender of the Faith
Points: 7,522, Level: 57 Points: 7,522, Level: 57 Points: 7,522, Level: 57
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,531
Send a message via MSN to HopperJF
Default Re: Microvitec: M1438

I used one on my 1200 no problem you just need the cable that converts it to the Amiga or just a simple passive device like the standard VGA/Amiga converters you get on eBay for peanuts and it will work fine on productivity mode
__________________
Religion is for people who believe in hell.
Spirituality is for people who have been there.
HopperJF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 01:45 PM   #3
zipper
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,607, Level: 75 Points: 13,607, Level: 75 Points: 13,607, Level: 75
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
zipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: finland
Posts: 2,214
Default Re: Microvitec: M1438

It does 15 - 40 kHz (actually upto 44-45) and shows every Amiga mode - but flicker stays in interlaced modes if not handled by flickerfixer or "flickerless" mode.
Yes, productivity was my favourite mode.
zipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 03:01 PM   #4
McVenco
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,869, Level: 66 Points: 9,869, Level: 66 Points: 9,869, Level: 66
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
McVenco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Centre of the Lowlands
Posts: 1,428
Send a message via MSN to McVenco
Default Re: Microvitec: M1438

Quote:
HopperJF wrote:
I used one on my 1200 no problem you just need the cable that converts it to the Amiga or just a simple passive device like the standard VGA/Amiga converters you get on eBay for peanuts and it will work fine on productivity mode
The later Amiga-branded models (I've got one of those) have a 23-pin RGB connector, rather than a 15-pin VGA connector, so no converter required.
__________________
| A4000 | CS-MK3 060@50 | Picasso IV |
| Member of Team Amiga (tm) | FidoNet 2:286/414.18 (long ago) |
| SysOp The Missing Channel BBS | Member of AGA BBS Intl. |
McVenco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 04:55 AM   #5
X-ray
Energizer Bunny of Babble
Points: 16,181, Level: 81 Points: 16,181, Level: 81 Points: 16,181, Level: 81
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
Space Invaders Champion, Chopper Challenge Champion, Mahjong Champion, Bounce Back Champion, Mission To Mars Champion, Bugz Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,370
Default Re: Microvitec: M1438

My Amiga Technologies 1438s has a standard RGB 23 connector.
X-ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 01:09 PM   #6
edem
Merely Curious
Points: 3, Level: 1 Points: 3, Level: 1 Points: 3, Level: 1
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Default Re: Microvitec: M1438

Hi, I am going to buy an M1438 monitor. Can I use it with a c64 and a cd32 too? The monitor has a standard RGB 23 connector.
edem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 02:50 PM   #7
psxphill
Defender of the Faith
Points: 7,023, Level: 55 Points: 7,023, Level: 55 Points: 7,023, Level: 55
Activity: 44% Activity: 44% Activity: 44%
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,641
Default Re: Microvitec: M1438

Quote:
Originally Posted by edem View Post
Hi, I am going to buy an M1438 monitor. Can I use it with a c64 and a cd32 too? The monitor has a standard RGB 23 connector.
You definately can't just plug a c64 in.
A CD32 neither unless you have something like a SX32 with an RGB port on it.

They are just VGA monitors that can sync down to 15khz. They don't use the CSYNC input, just the HSYNC/VSYNC. So you can't even convert them to SCART monitors easily (a SYNC seperator will do the job though).
psxphill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 04:01 PM   #8
AmigaEd
His Dudeness, El Duderino
Points: 6,462, Level: 52 Points: 6,462, Level: 52 Points: 6,462, Level: 52
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
 
AmigaEd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pensiltucky
Posts: 479
Default Re: Microvitec: M1438

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-ray View Post
My Amiga Technologies 1438s has a standard RGB 23 connector.
Hmmmm.... that is interesting. I had no idea they made some of these monitors with the DB23 connector. My monitor has the DB15 connector and I use the standard Commodore silver DB23 to DB15 adapter.

I guess you learn something new every day here on A.org!
__________________
"Pretty soon they will have numbers tattooed on our foreheads." - Jay Miner 1990

La Familia...
A1K - La Primera Dama -1987
A1K - La Princesa- January 2005
A2K - La Reina - February 2005
A2K - Doomy - March 2005
A500 - El Gran Jugador - April 2005
A1200 - La Hermosa Vista - May 2005
A2KHD - El Duro Grande - May 2005
A600 - Prístino - May 2005
A1200 - El Trueno Grande - July 2005
CDTV - El Misterioso - August 2005
C64 - El Gran Lebowski - August 2005
A3K - October 2010
y mas...
AmigaEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 05:07 PM   #9
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: Microvitec: M1438

I use a MicroVitek monitor as my main one, and thanks to a little switch box I built for it I use it for my main Amiga, SNES, TV & DVD/HD Recorder. The picture is far superior to my Commodore 1942 monitor as well...

(PS:Why have the little icon things been changed !!!)
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 05:42 PM   #10
odin
Colonization had Galleons
Points: 22,606, Level: 93 Points: 22,606, Level: 93 Points: 22,606, Level: 93
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
odin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Asker, Norway
Posts: 6,780
Default Re: Microvitec: M1438

I had a Microvitec branded M1438 back in the day. Whilst the multisync capability is nice, the non adjustable black border pissed me off to no end. Although that is probably easily adjustable if one is adventurous enough to open the case (apparently there's an adjust knob in there somewhere).
odin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 06:32 PM   #11
actung_bab
Cult Member
Points: 6,503, Level: 52 Points: 6,503, Level: 52 Points: 6,503, Level: 52
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
 
actung_bab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 650
Send a message via ICQ to actung_bab
Default Re: Microvitec: M1438

the amiga m14138s monitor l have is one those re badged l thoght it just plugs directly into 1200 rgb port l have 2 spare silver box adaptors here
__________________
Acthung baby
telnet://midnight-blue.dyndns.org
Cnet 4.60 PRO bbs software
Amiga 1200 020 14 mhz mbz 1200 z pcmcia network card 4 meg ram 2 Gb scandisk cf
Amiga 2000 020
Amiga 4000 030 25 mhz broken
Amiga x 4 1200
x 6 Sony Ps 3 Orginal 60 gb 4 port usb 160 gb hd (os 4.1 ready :-)
what can i say i like thse machines
x 3 XBOX 360 1x xbox 360 slim
url=http://avatars.jurko.net]http://img1.jurko.net/avatar_10587.jpg[/url]
actung_bab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 04:03 AM   #12
Hattig
Cult Member
Points: 10,681, Level: 68 Points: 10,681, Level: 68 Points: 10,681, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Hattig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 849
Send a message via AIM to Hattig
Default Re: Microvitec: M1438

I had an M1438 back in the day. Mine plugged straight into my A1200.

There were massive borders in productivity mode. However it looked nice in Super72 mode, 800x300.
Hattig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 04:32 AM   #13
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: Microvitec: M1438

Quote:
Originally Posted by odin View Post
I had a Microvitec branded M1438 back in the day. Whilst the multisync capability is nice, the non adjustable black border pissed me off to no end. Although that is probably easily adjustable if one is adventurous enough to open the case (apparently there's an adjust knob in there somewhere).
To set up a Microvitec to it's best you really need to open it up and tweak it internally, well worth doing though as in the end you can adjust all the screen modes to get rid of those big black borders...

(on a totally unrelated note, what's happened to the smilies !!!, they should be renamed the fighties or the angries !!!)
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 04:38 AM   #14
tone007
sad moaning faced git
Points: 15,051, Level: 79 Points: 15,051, Level: 79 Points: 15,051, Level: 79
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
tone007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via AIM to tone007
Default Re: Microvitec: M1438



The smilies look the same to me, maybe you're just perceiving them differently?

__________________
3 Commodore file cabinets, 2 Commodore USB turntables, 1 AmigaWorld beer mug
Alienware M14x i7 laptop running AmigaForever
tone007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 04:49 AM   #15
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: Microvitec: M1438

Quote:
Originally Posted by tone007 View Post


The smilies look the same to me, maybe you're just perceiving them differently?

Nah they've changed for sure, either that or my medications starting to have some weird side effects...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 11:59 AM   #16
Ancalimon
Technoid
Points: 10,627, Level: 68 Points: 10,627, Level: 68 Points: 10,627, Level: 68
Activity: 39% Activity: 39% Activity: 39%
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 420
Send a message via ICQ to Ancalimon
Default Re: Microvitec: M1438

Quote:
Originally Posted by odin View Post
I had a Microvitec branded M1438 back in the day. Whilst the multisync capability is nice, the non adjustable black border pissed me off to no end. Although that is probably easily adjustable if one is adventurous enough to open the case (apparently there's an adjust knob in there somewhere).
Does anyone know where those adjust knobs are?
__________________
A4000T, 604e@233&060@50, 128MB, CVisionPPC, VLabMotion, Toccata, XSurf100, ZorRAM256, Peggy+
A1200, Blizzard060@50, 256MB, Blizzard IV SCSI, FastATA mk4
Ancalimon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
m1438 , microvitec

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microvitec: M1438 *Question* Daniele Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 4 11-29-2008 07:07 PM
WTB : Commodore/Amiga Monitor M1438, M1538 or 1084s for my A1200 molcos Amiga Marketplace 3 07-08-2008 03:14 AM
M1438 Screenmode Issues r6stu Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 10 10-22-2007 01:19 PM
Microvitec swift240 Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 4 04-15-2005 02:13 PM
M1438 video <- Scart Ayashoka Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 1 01-03-2003 12:05 PM