amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:21 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Operating System Specific Discussions MorphOS MorphOS -- Development Support AmigaE/ECX - LoadSeg and libraries

MorphOS -- Development Support This forum is to allow the discussion of development tools and help for MorphOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2011, 12:06 PM   #1
evenmore
Merely Curious
Points: 5,839, Level: 49 Points: 5,839, Level: 49 Points: 5,839, Level: 49
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bangor, NI
Posts: 5
Default AmigaE/ECX - LoadSeg and libraries

I have been a long time Amiga user, although I have never upgraded from the classic 3.9 OS. I am now in the process of getting a MorphOS machine, and will be using it to do a little bit of programming. My problem is, I use AmigaE on the classic Amiga, which works fine for me. But it's MorphOS equivalent, ECX, is giving me headaches. While it compiles my program, it won't let my program open an ECX generated library.

My question is, is it possible to open an ECX/AmigaE generated library (or any library for that matter) directly using the LoadSeg() command, instead of OpenLibrary()? Or does anyone have information on how this is done?

Cheers
evenmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 01:13 PM   #2
SamuraiCrow
Premium Member
Points: 14,410, Level: 77 Points: 14,410, Level: 77 Points: 14,410, Level: 77
Activity: 77% Activity: 77% Activity: 77%
 
SamuraiCrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,107
Blog Entries: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to SamuraiCrow Send a message via Skype™ to SamuraiCrow
Default Re: AmigaE/ECX - LoadSeg and libraries

AmigaE's library mode is hopelessly malformed. I don't know about ECX but I do know that PortablE has a compatibility mode for running older AmigaE software. It doesn't have a library mode yet though.
SamuraiCrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 04:58 PM   #3
evenmore
Merely Curious
Points: 5,839, Level: 49 Points: 5,839, Level: 49 Points: 5,839, Level: 49
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bangor, NI
Posts: 5
Thumbs up Re: AmigaE/ECX - LoadSeg and libraries

Thanks for the reply. I thought E's library function wasn't quite right. I did check PortablE as well, unfortunately there is no library mode in it. PortablE is good, but quite slow at compiling, and my code would require a lot of changes in order for it to work.

As far as I can see, there is no way of guaranteeing where the AmigaE/ECX compiler will put its code in a binary file, making it very hard to determine which functions are which after a LoadSeg(). At least in a library file, the OpenLibrary() would do that all for you.

May have to think of a completely different way of producing plugins for my program. Cheers!
evenmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
amigae , amigae or ecx , ecx , libraries , loadseg

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump