amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:57 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Desktop Audio and Video OPL FM on the Amiga?

Amiga Desktop Audio and Video Discuss Amiga related Audio and Video creation & manipulation here. post links to your songs, videos, hardware/software reviews etc.....

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2011, 04:46 PM   #1
commodorejohn
VIP / Donor
Points: 10,617, Level: 68 Points: 10,617, Level: 68 Points: 10,617, Level: 68
Activity: 76% Activity: 76% Activity: 76%
 
commodorejohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Posts: 3,055
Blog Entries: 8
Default OPL FM on the Amiga?

I've heard bits and pieces about some Amiga software using a bridgeboard plus an Adlib or Sound Blaster to get Yamaha FM on the Amiga. Being a fan of FM chips, I'd like to find out more about this, especially if there's information I could use to incorporate that capability into my own programs. I thought I saw an MSX emulator that did on Aminet, but it turns out it actually uses a Picasso IV addon with an OPL3 chip; what software, if any, actually did this?
__________________
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/MT-32/D-10, Oberheim Matrix-6, Yamaha DX7/DX7-IIFD/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/DSS-1, Hohner String Performer

"'Legacy code' often differs from its suggested alternative by actually working and scaling." - Bjarne Stroustrup
commodorejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 04:49 PM   #2
nicholas
VIP / Donor
Points: 20,419, Level: 90 Points: 20,419, Level: 90 Points: 20,419, Level: 90
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Englistan
Posts: 8,115
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: OPL FM on the Amiga?

You could probably port this in a few hours or so.

http://adplug.sourceforge.net/
__________________
Every day is Ashura, every land is Karbala.
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 05:04 PM   #3
commodorejohn
VIP / Donor
Points: 10,617, Level: 68 Points: 10,617, Level: 68 Points: 10,617, Level: 68
Activity: 76% Activity: 76% Activity: 76%
 
commodorejohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Posts: 3,055
Blog Entries: 8
Default Re: OPL FM on the Amiga?

Well, yes, but A. that would require much more CPU horsepower, and B. Adplug's emulation is...so-so. Most OPL2/3 emulators vary significantly from the sound of an actual chip, for some reason (it's particularily evident in the percussion sounds, but lots of things differ noticeably.)
__________________
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/MT-32/D-10, Oberheim Matrix-6, Yamaha DX7/DX7-IIFD/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/DSS-1, Hohner String Performer

"'Legacy code' often differs from its suggested alternative by actually working and scaling." - Bjarne Stroustrup
commodorejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 05:36 PM   #4
J-Golden
"Night Janitor" Moderator
Points: 15,994, Level: 81 Points: 15,994, Level: 81 Points: 15,994, Level: 81
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
J-Golden's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Rexburg, ID
Posts: 1,279
Default Re: OPL FM on the Amiga?

I'm in kind of a hurry or I'd look it up for you, but there is a thread from about 5-6 months ago that talks all about the use of bridgeboards, which ones did what and what other things you can use them for...
__________________


AMIGA: (NOUN) THE FIRST COMPUTER THAT BRIDGED THE GAP BETWEEN HUMANITY AND TECHNOLOGY.

Be Positive towards the Amiga community!

I'm a dyslectic, phonetic spelling English Major. It's funny 'cause it's TRUE!

WWBD? - What Would Batmen Do?
J-Golden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 05:43 PM   #5
commodorejohn
VIP / Donor
Points: 10,617, Level: 68 Points: 10,617, Level: 68 Points: 10,617, Level: 68
Activity: 76% Activity: 76% Activity: 76%
 
commodorejohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Posts: 3,055
Blog Entries: 8
Default Re: OPL FM on the Amiga?

There's this one from July, but the only reference to OPL capability is in regards to a mega-multifunction ISA card that includes an OPL3 chip, which apparently didn't even work :/
__________________
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/MT-32/D-10, Oberheim Matrix-6, Yamaha DX7/DX7-IIFD/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/DSS-1, Hohner String Performer

"'Legacy code' often differs from its suggested alternative by actually working and scaling." - Bjarne Stroustrup
commodorejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 09:40 AM   #6
J-Golden
"Night Janitor" Moderator
Points: 15,994, Level: 81 Points: 15,994, Level: 81 Points: 15,994, Level: 81
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
J-Golden's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Rexburg, ID
Posts: 1,279
Default Re: OPL FM on the Amiga?

Yeah, that's the thread. It explains which bridge boards can allow access to PC cards and what not. I was hoping that would point you in the right direction...
__________________


AMIGA: (NOUN) THE FIRST COMPUTER THAT BRIDGED THE GAP BETWEEN HUMANITY AND TECHNOLOGY.

Be Positive towards the Amiga community!

I'm a dyslectic, phonetic spelling English Major. It's funny 'cause it's TRUE!

WWBD? - What Would Batmen Do?
J-Golden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 09:59 AM   #7
ral-clan
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,203, Level: 79 Points: 15,203, Level: 79 Points: 15,203, Level: 79
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
ral-clan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: OPL FM on the Amiga?

Did you know there is a software FM synthesizer for Amiga?

http://aminet.net/package/mus/misc/fmsynth37

Not real-time, but you can use the samples in other stuff.

Also, it might be easier just to buy an old Yamaha FB-01 for $50 and a $5 Amiga MIDI interface from eBay and then use that. There is even an FB-01 editor available on Aminet.

I know you probably want to go the hardware route, but it seems like it might be more convoluted than the above solutions.
ral-clan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 10:03 AM   #8
commodorejohn
VIP / Donor
Points: 10,617, Level: 68 Points: 10,617, Level: 68 Points: 10,617, Level: 68
Activity: 76% Activity: 76% Activity: 76%
 
commodorejohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Posts: 3,055
Blog Entries: 8
Default Re: OPL FM on the Amiga?

Well, yeah, that would work. My thought, though, was more along the lines of having it as an obscure little option for music output in future game releases, not so much because I need FM on my Amiga.
__________________
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/MT-32/D-10, Oberheim Matrix-6, Yamaha DX7/DX7-IIFD/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/DSS-1, Hohner String Performer

"'Legacy code' often differs from its suggested alternative by actually working and scaling." - Bjarne Stroustrup
commodorejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 10:18 AM   #9
Khephren
Cult Member
Points: 10,476, Level: 68 Points: 10,476, Level: 68 Points: 10,476, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 605
Default Re: OPL FM on the Amiga?

The Amiga can do FM synthesis, though I'm not sure it was used much, if at all.

interesting thread:
http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthre...sis#post575655
Khephren is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
adlib , amiga , opl , opl2 , opl3 , sound blaster

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump