amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:40 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2012, 08:19 AM   #21
amiman99
Lifetime Member
Points: 6,163, Level: 51 Points: 6,163, Level: 51 Points: 6,163, Level: 51
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 740
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

The unit draws 400mA and max draw for the video port at 5V is 100mA http://old.pinouts.ru/Video/AmigaVideo_pinout.shtml
So, I would not recommend it.
__________________
A500 KS 2.1, 1MB Chip, 68000
A600 KS 3.1, 2MB Chip, ACA630 32MB RAM
A1000 KS 1.3, 2MB RAM
A1200 KS 3.1, Blizzard IV 50MHz 64MB RAM
A2000 KS 2.1, 68030 25MHz, 6MB RAM
A3000 KS 3.1, 68030 25MHz, 16MB RAM
A4000 KS 3.0, 68040 25MHz, 16MB RAM
CDTV KS 3.1, 4MB RAM
CD32
AROS BOX
amiman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 08:33 AM   #22
ck007
Premium Member
Points: 3,265, Level: 35 Points: 3,265, Level: 35 Points: 3,265, Level: 35
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
ck007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 64
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

There was a guy selling these units on eBay and from memory, it was powered by the DB23 video port.

I wonder how he did it?
__________________
ck007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 08:38 AM   #23
AmmoJammo
Cult Member
Points: 4,653, Level: 43 Points: 4,653, Level: 43 Points: 4,653, Level: 43
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
 
AmmoJammo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 610
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

you sure thats how they were powered? I wouldn't be doing it...
AmmoJammo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 08:47 AM   #24
ck007
Premium Member
Points: 3,265, Level: 35 Points: 3,265, Level: 35 Points: 3,265, Level: 35
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
ck007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 64
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

I'm pretty sure he stated it in the auction - a DB23 cable was soldered onto the board and that was the only cable...
__________________
ck007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 09:00 AM   #25
AmmoJammo
Cult Member
Points: 4,653, Level: 43 Points: 4,653, Level: 43 Points: 4,653, Level: 43
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
 
AmmoJammo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 610
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

the power figures from the amiga are probably fairly "safe" figures...

if you were to regulate the 12v @ 100ma, you'd probably be able to get 5volts @ 200ma

combine that with the 5volts @ 100ma...

I still wouldn't do it though! lol
AmmoJammo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 09:12 AM   #26
ck007
Premium Member
Points: 3,265, Level: 35 Points: 3,265, Level: 35 Points: 3,265, Level: 35
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
ck007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 64
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

Fair call... a 5V PSU isn't that much trouble to hook up to the board...
__________________
ck007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 09:21 AM   #27
desiv
Defender of the Faith
Points: 6,191, Level: 51 Points: 6,191, Level: 51 Points: 6,191, Level: 51
Activity: 64% Activity: 64% Activity: 64%
 
desiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

I totally agree it's not a bad deal assembled.

I built mine super cheap tho.. (Because I am super cheap..)

GBS-8200 - c. $32
5v2A PSU - c. $2
Black Plastic case - Free (It came with a bunch of CA (Computer Associates) CDs in it, but we get a new pack every year..)
DB23 - Free (Gutted an A520 RF Modulator)
Maybe 2 hours tech time - Free (and overcharged at that, if you saw my solder skills, or lack thereof..)

Ain't the purtiest, but it's working.. ;-)

TBH, I haven't used it all that much yet.. I really like my 1084s monitors.
This is more of a back up, in case of 1084s tragedy at some time in the future..

It's no Indivision, but for the money.... Not too shabby... ;-)

desiv
__________________
Amiga 1200 w/ ACA1230/28 - 4G CF, MAS Player, ext floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 500 w/ 2M CHIP and 8M FAST RAM, DCTV, AEHD floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 1000 w/ 4M FAST RAM, DUAL CF hard drives, external floppy.
desiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 11:09 AM   #28
barney
Cult Member
Points: 9,393, Level: 65 Points: 9,393, Level: 65 Points: 9,393, Level: 65
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
barney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 540
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

I am definitely going to get one of these video converter's but I am still a little confused about inputing the RGB signal and the type of power supply used.
Isn't it possible just to use the external RGB input on the front of the board?
Also, what are the exact specs of the power supply? I see it's 5v and 2A, but what is the tip polarity (+ or -). Thanks.
barney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 04:53 PM   #29
Crumb
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,515, Level: 73 Points: 12,515, Level: 73 Points: 12,515, Level: 73
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Crumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,764
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDelusion View Post
Any body try one of these?
For that price I prefer to buy a new Indivision.
__________________
The only spanish amiga news web page/club: Club de Usuarios de Amiga de Zaragoza (CUAZ)
Crumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:08 AM   #30
danbeaver
Lifetime Member
Points: 5,755, Level: 49 Points: 5,755, Level: 49 Points: 5,755, Level: 49
Activity: 86% Activity: 86% Activity: 86%
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,354
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crumb View Post
For that price I prefer to buy a new Indivision.
My thoughts exactly!
danbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 02:04 AM   #31
djos
Cult Member
Points: 5,438, Level: 47 Points: 5,438, Level: 47 Points: 5,438, Level: 47
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
djos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 929
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

I've got the 8220 model and it works pretty well imo - I mounted mine on a piece of perspex with thin rubber feet and installed a power switch so I dont need to keep un/plugging in the damn thing each time.

__________________
Amiga 1200 w/ KS1.3, ACA1220 16Mhz 128MB w/ RTC, 4GB CF-HDD, a1011 External FDD
Amiga 500 w/ KS1.3, 512k Chip-Ram, 512k Slow-Ram, 4MB Fast-Ram, FDD Boot Selector, HxC RevC SD Floppy Drive, a1010 External FDD
Commodore 64 w/ 1541 Ultimate-II inc Tape Adapter, JiffyDOS, 1541 Disk Drive, 1531 Datasette, C64 Flyer Net Modem, ZoomFloppy
djos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:21 AM   #32
ral-clan
Defender of the Faith
Points: 16,087, Level: 81 Points: 16,087, Level: 81 Points: 16,087, Level: 81
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
ral-clan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,791
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

I've just recently found out about these and am getting quite excited!

$32 with free shipping for a flicker fixer? Sounds too good to be true (even if I have to make my own cable).

Can't be that easy? Can it?

There are a ton of threads about using this converter - but no one seems to be stating the obvious - what is the video quality like? Same as RGB quality on a 1084? Poor as composite? More like S-Video quality?

Can someone please describe the video quality? If it's as good as native RGB on a 1084 then I'm buying one of these immediately for my A500!

Thanks.
__________________
Music I've made using Amigas and other retro-instruments: http://soundcloud.com/brentsantin
ral-clan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:42 AM   #33
broken
Technoid
Points: 7,136, Level: 55 Points: 7,136, Level: 55 Points: 7,136, Level: 55
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
broken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mason, OH USA
Posts: 224
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by ral-clan View Post

Can someone please describe the video quality? If it's as good as native RGB on a 1084 then I'm buying one of these immediately for my A500!
lol

not even close.

I had one before and thought the video quality was garbage to be honest. I tested it with both a LCD and CRT monitor. Keep in mind everything inputted into it is automatically upscaled to 60Hz NTSC. If you play a PAL game or Demo (virtually all of them), then you will have jerky scrolling that isn't smooth at all. Plus there are graphical glitches that pop up all the time. And I saw issues with workbench cursor having glitches around it.


All in all, I think it's a lousy solution. It might be ok if you are inputting nothing but NTSC stuff like a SNES or Genesis to scale up to a VGA monitor. But as soon as you input something can run at multiple resolutions and different refresh rates, this thing falls down. Hard.

I personally think a good Svideo adapter like the one Nathan (amigamaniac) use to build give you far better quality (while maintaining proper 50/60Hz screen refresh) than this POS.


IMHO

Last edited by broken; 02-16-2013 at 07:28 AM..
broken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 02:51 PM   #34
ral-clan
Defender of the Faith
Points: 16,087, Level: 81 Points: 16,087, Level: 81 Points: 16,087, Level: 81
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
ral-clan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,791
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by broken View Post
lol

not even close.
IMHO
That's wierd. I've seen other posts where people are saying it's quite good. I wish I could see a high quality screen grab so I can judge better.
__________________
Music I've made using Amigas and other retro-instruments: http://soundcloud.com/brentsantin
ral-clan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 03:13 PM   #35
AmmoJammo
Cult Member
Points: 4,653, Level: 43 Points: 4,653, Level: 43 Points: 4,653, Level: 43
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
 
AmmoJammo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 610
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

The output is OK....

if your only choice is the GBS, or composite, then the GBS is fantastic....

It'll never be as good as RBG/scart, it does weird things to the video.

I'll try to take some good pics later, comparing scart to the GBS, on the same monitor!
AmmoJammo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 04:12 PM   #36
AmmoJammo
Cult Member
Points: 4,653, Level: 43 Points: 4,653, Level: 43 Points: 4,653, Level: 43
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
 
AmmoJammo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 610
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

GBS set to 1024 x 786, which is this LCDs native resolution...

It will often create weird banding in solid colours, or patterns, whereas the scart displays it as a proper, solid colour...

Keep in mind this monitor is rubbish, and doesn't display any image properly centred

GBS


SCART


The GBS also creates these weird patterns around the mouse pointer... I didn't even bother photographing them.

There's also often a weird ghosting around text, as mentioned before, this screen isn't great, so the scart image looks a bit odd too you can also see in the following pic, that along the row of "D" in HD0, HD1, HD2, etc, its blurry.... the GBS doesn't do a very good job of upscaling... grey also seems to be displayed slightly blue, although you can probably adjust this

GBS


SCART


SO! if you're needing a way to connect your Amiga to an LCD TV for playing games, then I'm sure you'll be more than happy with the GBS.

Last edited by AmmoJammo; 02-16-2013 at 04:14 PM..
AmmoJammo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 04:23 PM   #37
Lurch
Lifetime Member
Points: 15,615, Level: 80 Points: 15,615, Level: 80 Points: 15,615, Level: 80
Activity: 38% Activity: 38% Activity: 38%
 
Lurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,419
Send a message via MSN to Lurch
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

I found anything moving looks weird. The mouse pointer is a good example, a couple of games I tried through it didn't display right either.

To be honest look around for an s-video/scart solution or by a flickerfixer/scandoubler.
__________________
-=[LurcH]=-
A1200T 060@80MHz | A500 Plus 030@25MHz | Pegasos II G4@1GHz
Lurch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 04:24 PM   #38
djos
Cult Member
Points: 5,438, Level: 47 Points: 5,438, Level: 47 Points: 5,438, Level: 47
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
djos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 929
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

Kipper2k has a new S-Video/Composite adapter for $35cad.

http://kipper2k.com/amigaforsale/

__________________
Amiga 1200 w/ KS1.3, ACA1220 16Mhz 128MB w/ RTC, 4GB CF-HDD, a1011 External FDD
Amiga 500 w/ KS1.3, 512k Chip-Ram, 512k Slow-Ram, 4MB Fast-Ram, FDD Boot Selector, HxC RevC SD Floppy Drive, a1010 External FDD
Commodore 64 w/ 1541 Ultimate-II inc Tape Adapter, JiffyDOS, 1541 Disk Drive, 1531 Datasette, C64 Flyer Net Modem, ZoomFloppy
djos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 04:39 PM   #39
broken
Technoid
Points: 7,136, Level: 55 Points: 7,136, Level: 55 Points: 7,136, Level: 55
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
broken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mason, OH USA
Posts: 224
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

I would take a solid svideo connection over this POS anyday.

The jerky scrolling for PAL games and demos completely makes this device un-recommendable in my opinion.
broken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 04:42 PM   #40
ral-clan
Defender of the Faith
Points: 16,087, Level: 81 Points: 16,087, Level: 81 Points: 16,087, Level: 81
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
ral-clan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,791
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

AmmoJammo,

Thanks a lot for those pictures. They were EXTREMELY informative. I agree that if you have nothing, or mostly do gaming, having one of these Chinese boards may be better than nothing. But the banding on the solid colours is just unuseable for my purposes (DPaint painting - where solid colours would come up a lot).

I'm assuming the second photo in each pair is SCART?

You guys are lucky to have SCART in Europe. We didn't get anything decent like that until S-Video came around.

As for the S-Video adapter, thanks Djos. I actually have a few Amiga CRT monitors handy at the moment, but was just considering the Chinese flicker fixer because it would give me some backup and an option to move onto commonly available LCDs when these CRTs died. Hopefully when they do there will be a better solution. I can't really use one of Jens' Indvisions right now, because I've got a few other things inside my A500 that would make if very difficult to fit another internal device.

So the Commodore CRTs will have to do for now.

Thanks very much.
__________________
Music I've made using Amigas and other retro-instruments: http://soundcloud.com/brentsantin
ral-clan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
fixer , flicker , multiamiga

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump