amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:28 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2011, 01:28 PM   #1
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 37,307, Level: 100 Points: 37,307, Level: 100 Points: 37,307, Level: 100
Activity: 29% Activity: 29% Activity: 29%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,629
Default Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Amiga-500-60...item415f332622


Any body try one of these?
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:08 PM   #2
Ami_GFX
Technoid
Points: 5,923, Level: 49 Points: 5,923, Level: 49 Points: 5,923, Level: 49
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 379
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

It looks like one of these put in a box with a DB23 cable.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/140521303998...84.m1423.l2649

It looks like a fairly nice job. There are several posts on them recently. They are supposed to work fairly well and are 24 bit.
Ami_GFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:27 PM   #3
stefcep2
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,175, Level: 64 Points: 9,175, Level: 64 Points: 9,175, Level: 64
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,346
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

so he buys @$40 US and sells @$160 US?
stefcep2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:43 PM   #4
ferrellsl
Cult Member
Points: 9,351, Level: 65 Points: 9,351, Level: 65 Points: 9,351, Level: 65
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 679
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

Yeah, the US dollar is really weak in Europe these days! LOL
ferrellsl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 05:04 PM   #5
Ami_GFX
Technoid
Points: 5,923, Level: 49 Points: 5,923, Level: 49 Points: 5,923, Level: 49
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 379
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

I think he's earning his money. He has to buy the rgb board, chassis, db23 connector, switches and whatever else he puts inside the box and I'm sure it takes him a couple of hours to put one together and test it. Not to mention the time he spent figuring out how to do it and make it work. If you buy the raw board, you have to figure out how to make it work with an Amiga in a stable configuration. Then, if one gets damaged in shipping, he has to take it back and either fix or replace it and probably has to swallow the shipping charge.

I've thought about trying one of these Arcade converters but I've got too many projects going on right now. I know I'd spend some time putting it into a chassis if I got one.
Ami_GFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 05:33 PM   #6
joekster
Technoid
Points: 6,077, Level: 50 Points: 6,077, Level: 50 Points: 6,077, Level: 50
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 182
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

I've used this scan converter before. it's ok, but requires a little setup (thru the built-in menu).
joekster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 07:29 PM   #7
amiman99
Lifetime Member
Points: 5,548, Level: 47 Points: 5,548, Level: 47 Points: 5,548, Level: 47
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 689
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

I have the same board, works OK for $35, not worth $160.

I put mine in Radio Shack box, added 9pin connector for Amiga RGB, and I'm using 25pin-9pin Amiga monitor cable.

Have problems with PAL resolutions.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ami-vga.jpg (90.4 KB, 121 views)
amiman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 09:35 PM   #8
amiman99
Lifetime Member
Points: 5,548, Level: 47 Points: 5,548, Level: 47 Points: 5,548, Level: 47
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 689
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

I was playing with this board again to see if I can get it to work in PAL and finally success.
The problem was with the H V Position and H V Size settings.
The main issue is that if you set the NTSC side first then the PAL will be screwed up. So I messed with settings in PAL resolution till I got good picture, then modified the settings that will work on NTSC side at the same time.
My setting for future reference:
H POS 56
V POS 16
H Size 48
V Size 59

So, not bad for $35.
amiman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 08:09 AM   #9
wa9yoz
Technoid
Points: 6,944, Level: 54 Points: 6,944, Level: 54 Points: 6,944, Level: 54
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Station, In., U.S.A.
Posts: 171
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
I was playing with this board again to see if I can get it to work in PAL and finally success.
The problem was with the H V Position and H V Size settings.
The main issue is that if you set the NTSC side first then the PAL will be screwed up. So I messed with settings in PAL resolution till I got good picture, then modified the settings that will work on NTSC side at the same time.
My setting for future reference:
H POS 56
V POS 16
H Size 48
V Size 59

So, not bad for $35.
Where can I find one of these?
Tony
wa9yoz@arrl.net
wa9yoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 10:42 AM   #10
amiman99
Lifetime Member
Points: 5,548, Level: 47 Points: 5,548, Level: 47 Points: 5,548, Level: 47
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 689
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by wa9yoz View Post
Where can I find one of these?
Tony
wa9yoz@arrl.net
Here and it's $32 with free shipping
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Arcade-Game-...-/330605923350
Just ask if it's V4.0.
amiman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 05:32 PM   #11
gertsy
Lifetime Member
Points: 11,775, Level: 71 Points: 11,775, Level: 71 Points: 11,775, Level: 71
Activity: 79% Activity: 79% Activity: 79%
 
gertsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Melbourne, Oz
Posts: 1,803
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ami_GFX View Post
I think he's earning his money. He has to buy the rgb board, chassis, db23 connector, switches and whatever else he puts inside the box and I'm sure it takes him a couple of hours to put one together and test it. Not to mention the time he spent figuring out how to do it and make it work. If you buy the raw board, you have to figure out how to make it work with an Amiga in a stable configuration. Then, if one gets damaged in shipping, he has to take it back and either fix or replace it and probably has to swallow the shipping charge.

I've thought about trying one of these Arcade converters but I've got too many projects going on right now. I know I'd spend some time putting it into a chassis if I got one.
Agree!

Plus powersupply and cables. Plus time. All YOU have to do is plug it in. Why would people think that price is expensive? That's why each batch he makes sells out in no time.

Previous posts sound like a case of; "I want it all and I want it for zip!" If you want it cheaper get the card and do it yourself. For the same raw materials I bet you find yourself up around the $80us mark add the time you take to build it and,,, yep $150us.

It obviously is worth $160 because it sells for that like hot cakes..
__________________
G E R T S Y
A4000 040@25 16/2MB 8GB CF
A2000 040@33 16/2MB 20GB BHD
A1200 030@33 64/2MB 4GB CF
A 500 000@07 2/1MB A590 1GB HD

Last edited by gertsy; 02-18-2012 at 05:38 PM..
gertsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 09:10 PM   #12
amiman99
Lifetime Member
Points: 5,548, Level: 47 Points: 5,548, Level: 47 Points: 5,548, Level: 47
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 689
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

Most of us tinker with stuff, so it shouldn't be a problem make it work. Those that can't do it, must pay the price.

My original idea and this is how I made it, see pictures:
$32 GBS
$10 Case from Radio Shack
$5 DB9 connector
$5 5v 2A PS from Goodwill
Some cutting tools and sharp knife

Pin 1 - BLACK (GND)
PIN 3 - RED
PIN 3 - GREEN
PIN 5 - BLUE
PIN 7 - GRAY (SYNC)
This is made so that you can use your existing 1084 Amiga monitor cable.
There are some 1084 cables with DIN connector, with those you are out of luck.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_3860.jpg (87.6 KB, 87 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3861.jpg (94.1 KB, 78 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3862.jpg (97.5 KB, 68 views)
amiman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 09:23 PM   #13
InTheSand
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,151, Level: 67 Points: 10,151, Level: 67 Points: 10,151, Level: 67
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
InTheSand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nelson, NZ
Posts: 1,766
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

Any idea what happens if one of these is fed a genuine VGA signal, e.g. a productivity 640x480 screenmode? Does it pass it through unaltered? Thanks.
InTheSand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 09:53 PM   #14
amiman99
Lifetime Member
Points: 5,548, Level: 47 Points: 5,548, Level: 47 Points: 5,548, Level: 47
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 689
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by InTheSand View Post
Any idea what happens if one of these is fed a genuine VGA signal, e.g. a productivity 640x480 screenmode? Does it pass it through unaltered? Thanks.
I just tried the Multiscan 31KHz 640x480 mode, and looks like it worked, but it was not perfect. The screen was shifter up from NTSC position, so the menu bar was not seen.
You need to play with screen controls to center the picture, also I noticed that the screen was getting brighter every few seconds.
Because Amiga can generate custom screen modes, it's kinda hard to pre-adjust all screen modes to work w/o some adjustments.
That's why I had hard time getting NTSC and PAL to work together. I have adjusted for a perfect picture using NTSC, but then PAL was screw up.
Also DBLPAL and DBLNTSC does not work, but you don't need it.
amiman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 10:06 PM   #15
InTheSand
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,151, Level: 67 Points: 10,151, Level: 67 Points: 10,151, Level: 67
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
InTheSand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nelson, NZ
Posts: 1,766
Default Re: Multi-Amiga Flicker Fixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
I just tried the Multiscan 31KHz 640x480 mode, and looks like it worked, but it was not perfect.
Sounds encouraging though, thanks for testing!
InTheSand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
fixer , flicker , multiamiga

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump