amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:04 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion a1200 vs. a4000

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2011, 04:02 PM   #1
rednova
Cult Member
Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
rednova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 564
Default a1200 vs. a4000

Dear Amigans:

I have a great and running amiga 1200.
I am seriously thinking about selling it and getting
an amiga 4000. The main reason is because I could
'expand'my amiga 4000 way beyond I can my a1200.
Some things come to mind wich I will like to get, like
an opalvision or a better accelerator etc etc
I DO NOT NEED THE A4000
and I am happy with my amiga 1200.
My amiga is good enough for all my needs (artistic).
but I am seriously considering trading up to an a4000.
Any advice for an amiga lover ?

rednova
__________________
-mobilis in mobile-
rednova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 04:05 PM   #2
rednova
Cult Member
Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
rednova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 564
Default Re: a1200 vs. a4000

Hi:

EXTRA: I do not have enough room in my house to keep
both the a1200 and an a4000. SO I either keep one or the other.
Thanks !!!

Rednova
__________________
-mobilis in mobile-
rednova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 04:24 PM   #3
fitzsteve
Technoid
Points: 4,273, Level: 41 Points: 4,273, Level: 41 Points: 4,273, Level: 41
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 343
Default Re: a1200 vs. a4000

Easy, make room - get rid of a family pet or wife then you can keep both

In all seriousness, I love both my A1200 and A4000 projects, I couldn't get rid of either since they have their own strong points.

It really depends where you want to take your projects as the A1200 is cheaper to PPC/PCI up whereas the A4000 versions (CSPPC/MediatorDi) are more expensive.

If you just want to get Zorro cards then the A4000 is better option as Zorro expansion for A1200T are ZII only whereas A4k has ZIII.

A4000 with a Cybervision 64/3D, Cyberstorm MkII/III 060 and Deneb USB makes an awesome setup + 16bit Soundcard like a Toccata & X-Surf NIC to live the dream

Steve.

Last edited by fitzsteve; 10-16-2011 at 04:27 PM..
fitzsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 04:33 PM   #4
actung_bab
Cult Member
Points: 6,503, Level: 52 Points: 6,503, Level: 52 Points: 6,503, Level: 52
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
 
actung_bab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 650
Send a message via ICQ to actung_bab
Default Re: a1200 vs. a4000

Its great your got the motivation for new machine but i think i stick with the 1200
I always had 1200s well since they came out , and i thought yeah 4000 where bee,s kneees but after put my mind to making one myself and spent alot time and effort
buying parts from all around the world as chould not get complete one here in new zealand at the time . was bit dispointing , why ! there bit fragile and no where as robust as the 1200 . there more expensive to update, in the day they where the way to go if you wanted graphics networking but not know , the 1200 has just many if not more
options , apart from the big case which in my view is more pain these days

Mind you its up to you i do love my 2000 machine it seemed much more reliable
and well made
but hay if get my 4000 fixed again it might be saying oh its best thing since sliced bread
but for me if i was going esp spend big bucks to get second had 4000. why not keep
your 1200 and buy a brand new sam board or x 1000 amiga
that way you in the leading edge amiga and your getting all the new software u wont
get without os 4.1 or 4.2
but really if your going be happiest with 4000 go for it your choice
__________________
Acthung baby
telnet://midnight-blue.dyndns.org
Cnet 4.60 PRO bbs software
Amiga 1200 020 14 mhz mbz 1200 z pcmcia network card 4 meg ram 2 Gb scandisk cf
Amiga 2000 020
Amiga 4000 030 25 mhz broken
Amiga x 4 1200
x 6 Sony Ps 3 Orginal 60 gb 4 port usb 160 gb hd (os 4.1 ready :-)
what can i say i like thse machines
x 3 XBOX 360 1x xbox 360 slim
url=http://avatars.jurko.net]http://img1.jurko.net/avatar_10587.jpg[/url]
actung_bab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 04:40 PM   #5
SACC-guy
Technoid
Points: 9,703, Level: 66 Points: 9,703, Level: 66 Points: 9,703, Level: 66
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
SACC-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA USA
Posts: 307
Default Re: a1200 vs. a4000

Of course, the easier is both.
And the real difference is the zorro slots.

If video is your thing, a 4k with a toaster/flyer is great!
But, the upgrade path can be steep.
SACC-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 04:45 PM   #6
ChaosLord
Premium Member
Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
ChaosLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,528
Default Re: a1200 vs. a4000

@Rednova

Do not get the A4000. Its a waste of time.

I had an A4000 and an A1200 and I gave away my A4000 and kept my A1200.

Just do what I did:
1. Put A1200 in a Tower with a Mediator.
2. Expand away to your heart's content.
3. Hey now that your A1200 is in a tower u suddenly have room for an A4000! Or a u can slave a lowly core i5 bgcpc to ur mighty A1200 over ethernet as I have done.

A1200T + Mediator + Ethernet + Gfx card + Accellerator + Extra Ram + IDEfix + Giant Hard Drive FTW!
__________________
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
ChaosLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 05:14 PM   #7
Jose
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 23,695, Level: 94 Points: 23,695, Level: 94 Points: 23,695, Level: 94
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,800
Default Re: a1200 vs. a4000

A4000 has everything A1200 has but more. Ok, maybe the expansions are more expensive and it's doesn't have a clock port but you can get a clock port with an expansion card, the accelerators for the A4000 are better and a Zorro/PCI sound card is better anyway.
You'll still be able to play all your WHDLoad games but be able to do way more in terms of classic Zorro cards and RTG (unless you get a Mediator, which I personally don't like because it's a hack without DMA).

The problem you might end up getting is that after you tasted the A4000 and it's better expansion capabilities you'll probably want more and for that there is only AmigaOS4 or MorphOS machines available.

So maybe consider keeping the A1200 for classic stuff and an NG Amiga for the newer stuff.
__________________
\"We made Amiga, they {bleep}ed it up\"
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 05:23 PM   #8
rednova
Cult Member
Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
rednova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 564
Default Re: a1200 vs. a4000

Hi:

Thanks all of you for your time.
I've decided to keep my amiga 1200 and skip the a4000.
I have a powerful pentium pc with lightwave 3d and is super
for 3d grafix, so I don't need a powerful amiga.
I use my amiga mainly for cartoon animation like in
moviesetter and disney animation studio.
But my main use of my amiga will be for programming
new amiga games in amos.
Thanks all !!!

rednova
__________________
-mobilis in mobile-
rednova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 05:33 PM   #9
Karlos
Sockologist
Points: 50,530, Level: 100 Points: 50,530, Level: 100 Points: 50,530, Level: 100
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barishabaad, Sardistan
Posts: 16,665
Blog Entries: 18
Default Re: a1200 vs. a4000

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosLord View Post
@Rednova

Do not get the A4000. Its a waste of time.

I had an A4000 and an A1200 and I gave away my A4000 and kept my A1200.

Just do what I did:
1. Put A1200 in a Tower with a Mediator.
2. Expand away to your heart's content.
3. Hey now that your A1200 is in a tower u suddenly have room for an A4000! Or a u can slave a lowly core i5 bgcpc to ur mighty A1200 over ethernet as I have done.

A1200T + Mediator + Ethernet + Gfx card + Accellerator + Extra Ram + IDEfix + Giant Hard Drive FTW!
Cost aside, you did that totally the wrong way around IMNSHO. An A4000 + Mediator (+PCI Gfx Card, PCI NIC, PCI sound card etc) + CSPPC or any decent 060 board *destroys* any existing A1200 combination. Faster buses, proper DMA and a proper 32-bit address range for expansion space.

The only thing the A1200 can trump it on is the amount of RAM you can fit to an accelerator board: 256MB versus 128MB on the CSPPC.
__________________
OCA
This isn't SCSI... This is SATA!!!
I have CDO. It's like OCD except all the letters are in ascending order. The way they should be.
Core2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz / X48T / 4GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX275 / Linux x64, AROS, Win64
A1XE 800MHz / 512MB / Radeon 9200 / OS4.1
A1200T BPPC 240MHz / 256MB / Permedia 2 / OS 3.1 - OS3.9, OS4
A1200T Apollo 1240 28MHz / 32MB / Mediator1200 / Voodoo 3000 / OS3.9
A1200D Apollo 1240 25MHz (ejector seat ROM edition) / 32MB
Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 05:41 PM   #10
TheBilgeRat
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,020, Level: 63 Points: 9,020, Level: 63 Points: 9,020, Level: 63
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
TheBilgeRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Dundee, OR
Posts: 1,622
Default Re: a1200 vs. a4000

I have an A4000, and I love it, BUT:

1. Processor upgrades are expensive and rare.
2. Zorro options are also expensive and rare.
3. Indivisions are expensive and rare.
4. video cards and soundcards are expensive and rare.
5. Everything zorro is expensive and rare. :P

More A1200s in the wild mean more upgrades available at AmigaKit and Vesalia and Ami/ebay. I will someday have the beast described above(probably minus the ppc processor board - 1200 dollars is just too much for too little. If I want a great PPC solution it will be morphos on a macmini or somesuch), but not anytime soon.
TheBilgeRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 05:54 PM   #11
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 38,536, Level: 100 Points: 38,536, Level: 100 Points: 38,536, Level: 100
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,770
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: a1200 vs. a4000

That thing work with Video Toaster 4000 also?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosLord View Post
@Rednova

Do not get the A4000. Its a waste of time.

I had an A4000 and an A1200 and I gave away my A4000 and kept my A1200.

Just do what I did:
1. Put A1200 in a Tower with a Mediator.
2. Expand away to your heart's content.
3. Hey now that your A1200 is in a tower u suddenly have room for an A4000! Or a u can slave a lowly core i5 bgcpc to ur mighty A1200 over ethernet as I have done.

A1200T + Mediator + Ethernet + Gfx card + Accellerator + Extra Ram + IDEfix + Giant Hard Drive FTW!
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 06:32 PM   #12
LaserBack
Technoid
Points: 6,233, Level: 51 Points: 6,233, Level: 51 Points: 6,233, Level: 51
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 329
Default Re: a1200 vs. a4000

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDelusion View Post
That thing work with Video Toaster 4000 also?
the A4000 it is better for expansions but externally it looks like a ugly and old yellowed PC
the A1200 externally is great...feels like a real Amiga
stay with the A1200
LaserBack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 06:42 PM   #13
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 38,536, Level: 100 Points: 38,536, Level: 100 Points: 38,536, Level: 100
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,770
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: a1200 vs. a4000

Quote:
Originally Posted by LaserBack View Post
the A4000 it is better for expansions but externally it looks like a ugly and old yellowed PC
the A1200 externally is great...feels like a real Amiga
stay with the A1200

So the video toaster, how's it work with a 1200T?
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 07:19 PM   #14
bbond007
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,304, Level: 67 Points: 10,304, Level: 67 Points: 10,304, Level: 67
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
bbond007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,384
Default Re: a1200 vs. a4000

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDelusion View Post
So the video toaster, how's it work with a 1200T?
can be done.... i had a Z-IV with video slot... never had a toaster.
bbond007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 08:11 PM   #15
orb85750
Defender of the Faith
Points: 16,541, Level: 82 Points: 16,541, Level: 82 Points: 16,541, Level: 82
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
orb85750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,215
Default Re: a1200 vs. a4000

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDelusion View Post
So the video toaster, how's it work with a 1200T?
Yes, it works fine. I have a towered A1200/060 with toaster4000/flyer.
orb85750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 11:09 PM   #16
stefcep2
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,478, Level: 65 Points: 9,478, Level: 65 Points: 9,478, Level: 65
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,378
Default Re: a1200 vs. a4000

If you have only an A1200 and you want it for serious use, then an expanded A4000 is a better option. But the sort of things you would want ie RTG graphics, RTG audio, video encoders are the sort of things that can be done on Winuae much cheaper, and faster still!

So keep the A1200 for things that work on AGA best ie games and paint programs, and use winuae for anything that needs RTG.

And to confuse even more, I have both and would never sell my A4000, with Cyberstorm 268060, Cv64, Indivision, FastATA,
stefcep2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 09:25 AM   #17
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 38,536, Level: 100 Points: 38,536, Level: 100 Points: 38,536, Level: 100
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,770
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: a1200 vs. a4000

Trying to acquire a mediator as we speak...
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 10:48 AM   #18
nikodr
Too much caffeine
Points: 4,924, Level: 44 Points: 4,924, Level: 44 Points: 4,924, Level: 44
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 120
Default Re: a1200 vs. a4000

Quote:
Originally Posted by rednova View Post
Dear Amigans:

I have a great and running amiga 1200.
I am seriously thinking about selling it and getting
an amiga 4000. The main reason is because I could
'expand'my amiga 4000 way beyond I can my a1200.
Some things come to mind wich I will like to get, like
an opalvision or a better accelerator etc etc
I DO NOT NEED THE A4000
and I am happy with my amiga 1200.
My amiga is good enough for all my needs (artistic).
but I am seriously considering trading up to an a4000.
Any advice for an amiga lover ?

rednova
Hello!This sounds a little confusing for me.You say you are seriously that you want to sell your a1200 and get an amiga 4000 for expanding more,then you say you do not need the a4000 and you are happy with the a1200.

I think that given the high prices of zorro iii accessories and stuff, you can safely stay with the 1200.If you want to get mediators,usb stuff,csppc it will cost a kidney.And besides if you really want a faster gfx card,simply get a cheap notebook with winuae,most gfx cards of any pc nowdays can easily outperform any amiga gfx card for sure.

Just my thoughts.
nikodr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 11:08 AM   #19
Tension
Banned
Points: 11,914, Level: 71 Points: 11,914, Level: 71 Points: 11,914, Level: 71
Activity: 56% Activity: 56% Activity: 56%
 
Tension's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,034
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: a1200 vs. a4000

Get the A4000. It's way more stable when expanded.
You won't regret it.
Tension is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 03:14 PM   #20
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 38,536, Level: 100 Points: 38,536, Level: 100 Points: 38,536, Level: 100
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,770
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: a1200 vs. a4000

Alright, here's another question.

Would I be able to use not only a Toaster 4000, but also a couple Time Based Correctors with the 1200?
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a1200 , a4000

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump