amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:16 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion I'm BACK and working on the old A4000T

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2011, 08:04 AM   #1
J-Golden
"Night Janitor" Moderator
Points: 16,594, Level: 82 Points: 16,594, Level: 82 Points: 16,594, Level: 82
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
 
J-Golden's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Rexburg, ID
Posts: 1,302
Send a message via AIM to J-Golden
Unhappy I'm BACK and working on the old A4000T

So long dusty, sandy and HOT iraq!

Ahhhh, it is SO nice to be back home! Landed i good old idaho on Thursday night and am trying to get everything up and running!

Update all Computers PC, Mac, Linux box): CHECK!

Play some long missed games: CHECK!

Install CPU card in A4000T: CHECK!

Run full test on A4000T: CHECK!

Everything seems to be working fine BUT the Floppy drive. It's a Sony MPF520-1 and has the crappy (poorly re-pinned) floppy cable on it. What it doesn't have, and not sure if it needs, is the adapter board that goes btween the cable nad the Floppy drive.

I've looked around to try to get some info on this butI have to admit, I'm rusty on which sites have what info.

I ge tno lights from it, Workbench pops up the "Unrecognizable disk" icon at boot and doesn't disapear with a disk inserted but I do think I hear it spin for a split second when I pop in a disk. Any clues?
__________________


AMIGA: (NOUN) THE FIRST COMPUTER THAT BRIDGED THE GAP BETWEEN HUMANITY AND TECHNOLOGY.

Be Positive towards the Amiga community!

I'm a dyslectic, phonetic spelling English Major. It's funny 'cause it's TRUE!

WWBD? - What Would Batmen Do?
J-Golden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 08:28 AM   #2
Heiroglyph
Cult Member
Points: 8,948, Level: 63 Points: 8,948, Level: 63 Points: 8,948, Level: 63
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Heiroglyph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 903
Default Re: I'm BACK and working on the old A4000T

Welcome back!

I know that my 4000T's with PC drives didn't have the adapter board and the drives worked. I didn't think they needed them.

Those hacked-up cables are really fragile though.

I pretty quickly replaced them with Amiga HD drives so I didn't have to deal with them long term.

Sorry I'm not much help.
Heiroglyph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 09:34 AM   #3
mechy
Cult Member
Points: 13,095, Level: 74 Points: 13,095, Level: 74 Points: 13,095, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
mechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas,usa
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to mechy Send a message via MSN to mechy
Default Re: I'm BACK and working on the old A4000T

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-Golden View Post
So long dusty, sandy and HOT iraq!

Ahhhh, it is SO nice to be back home! Landed i good old idaho on Thursday night and am trying to get everything up and running!

Update all Computers PC, Mac, Linux box): CHECK!

Play some long missed games: CHECK!

Install CPU card in A4000T: CHECK!

Run full test on A4000T: CHECK!

Everything seems to be working fine BUT the Floppy drive. It's a Sony MPF520-1 and has the crappy (poorly re-pinned) floppy cable on it. What it doesn't have, and not sure if it needs, is the adapter board that goes btween the cable nad the Floppy drive.

I've looked around to try to get some info on this butI have to admit, I'm rusty on which sites have what info.

I get no lights from it, Workbench pops up the "Unrecognizable disk" icon at boot and doesn't disapear with a disk inserted but I do think I hear it spin for a split second when I pop in a disk. Any clues?
heiroglyph is right they didn't need a adapter board if you had the cobbled up cable lol.check the data cable over- its really a poorly done hack. hopefully the power cable hasn't been plugged in upside down and fried the drive itself.. If you have a regular straight cable(or use the straight section before the twist) A regular amiga drive will work.

Glad to hear you are back from the land of sand.

Mech
mechy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 10:47 PM   #4
T3000
Cult Member
Points: 7,891, Level: 59 Points: 7,891, Level: 59 Points: 7,891, Level: 59
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
T3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lake Tahoe Area
Posts: 617
Exclamation Re: I'm BACK and working on the old A4000T

Ya didn't say how long it was stored/unused. Maybe the contacts in the disk size and write protect sensors oxidized a bit. Good luck and welcome back.
T3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 11:01 PM   #5
Kesa
Ninja Fruit Slasher
Points: 13,906, Level: 76 Points: 13,906, Level: 76 Points: 13,906, Level: 76
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Kesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Princess Castle
Posts: 2,395
Blog Entries: 4
Lightbulb Re: I'm BACK and working on the old A4000T

You left?
__________________
Even my cat doesn't like me.
Kesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a4000t , back , working

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump