amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:42 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 3.3v card in 5v PCI symptoms?

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2011, 08:51 AM   #1
Heiroglyph
Cult Member
Points: 7,937, Level: 59 Points: 7,937, Level: 59 Points: 7,937, Level: 59
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Heiroglyph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 840
Default 3.3v card in 5v PCI symptoms?

I'm trying to figure out why both of my Nvidia cards prevent booting the Amiga.

With either an old TNT M64 or a fresh from the box 6200, the Amiga simply won't boot. A PC sees them with no problems.

I've seen the same result in both a Mediator 4000 and a Prometheus.

Is this a symptom of a 3.3v card in a 5v slot or what? It's just too weird that all the other PCI cards I have seem to work, but not these Nvidias.
Heiroglyph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 10:13 AM   #2
mongo
Premium Member
Points: 10,856, Level: 69 Points: 10,856, Level: 69 Points: 10,856, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 935
Default Re: 3.3v card in 5v PCI symptoms?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heiroglyph View Post
I'm trying to figure out why both of my Nvidia cards prevent booting the Amiga.

With either an old TNT M64 or a fresh from the box 6200, the Amiga simply won't boot. A PC sees them with no problems.

I've seen the same result in both a Mediator 4000 and a Prometheus.

Is this a symptom of a 3.3v card in a 5v slot or what? It's just too weird that all the other PCI cards I have seem to work, but not these Nvidias.
PCI slots and cards are either 3.3v only, 5v only, or universal. A 3.3v card won't fit into a 5v slot (unless you put it in backwards). All PC's have 5v slots, so all cards for PC's are either 5v only or universal. I don't know about the Prometheus, but I think on the Mediator they decided to not provide 3.3v on the PCI slots even though it should be present even on 5v only slots. So it is possible that the problems you are having are because the cards are expecting 3.3v and not getting it.
mongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 10:32 AM   #3
Tension
Banned
Points: 11,914, Level: 71 Points: 11,914, Level: 71 Points: 11,914, Level: 71
Activity: 56% Activity: 56% Activity: 56%
 
Tension's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,034
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: 3.3v card in 5v PCI symptoms?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mongo View Post
PCI slots and cards are either 3.3v only, 5v only, or universal. A 3.3v card won't fit into a 5v slot (unless you put it in backwards). All PC's have 5v slots, so all cards for PC's are either 5v only or universal. I don't know about the Prometheus, but I think on the Mediator they decided to not provide 3.3v on the PCI slots even though it should be present even on 5v only slots. So it is possible that the problems you are having are because the cards are expecting 3.3v and not getting it.
bloody typical
Tension is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 12:06 PM   #4
Zac67
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Zac67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erlangen, Germany
Posts: 2,890
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: 3.3v card in 5v PCI symptoms?

5V vs 3.3V PCI is not about power supply but about signal levels. A 3.3V only, non 5V tolerant card will either not work or be destroyed in a 5V slot. The other way around, a 5V card in a 3.3V board can destroy the board and other cards inserted.

Usually the notches prevent anything incompatible from being inserted - 5V cards have the notch away from the bracket, 3.3V cards on the bracket side and universals both. All Amiga PCI boards are 5V, so you'll need 5V (very old) or universal cards.

All TNT2 M64 PCI cards I could find on the 'net are either 5V or universal - but: I can remember having trouble with an M64 in an old Pentium board of mine (Asus T2P4) due to it being not PCI 2.1 compliant.


Last edited by Zac67; 08-28-2011 at 12:11 PM..
Zac67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 12:59 PM   #5
Heiroglyph
Cult Member
Points: 7,937, Level: 59 Points: 7,937, Level: 59 Points: 7,937, Level: 59
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Heiroglyph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 840
Default Re: 3.3v card in 5v PCI symptoms?

Both these cards are keyed as universal, but I've seen quite a few reports of cards that claim to be universal that are 3.3v only.

Any other explanations as to why it wouldn't boot?
Heiroglyph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 02:12 PM   #6
Tension
Banned
Points: 11,914, Level: 71 Points: 11,914, Level: 71 Points: 11,914, Level: 71
Activity: 56% Activity: 56% Activity: 56%
 
Tension's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,034
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: 3.3v card in 5v PCI symptoms?

Quote:
Originally Posted by heiroglyph View Post
both these cards are keyed as universal, but i've seen quite a few reports of cards that claim to be universal that are 3.3v only.

Any other explanations as to why it wouldn't boot?
qed
Tension is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 02:13 PM   #7
Tension
Banned
Points: 11,914, Level: 71 Points: 11,914, Level: 71 Points: 11,914, Level: 71
Activity: 56% Activity: 56% Activity: 56%
 
Tension's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,034
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: 3.3v card in 5v PCI symptoms?

stupid fcuking filter wont let me do capitals.
Tension is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 03:25 PM   #8
mongo
Premium Member
Points: 10,856, Level: 69 Points: 10,856, Level: 69 Points: 10,856, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 935
Default Re: 3.3v card in 5v PCI symptoms?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heiroglyph View Post
Both these cards are keyed as universal, but I've seen quite a few reports of cards that claim to be universal that are 3.3v only.

Any other explanations as to why it wouldn't boot?
Many universal cards still require the 3.3v power supply lines to work. The Radeon 9250 cards Elbox sells are modified to include a 3.3v regulator on board to supply the needed 3.3v.

You can see pictures of it here : http://www.a1k.org/forum/showpost.ph...7&postcount=31
mongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 07:49 AM   #9
Heiroglyph
Cult Member
Points: 7,937, Level: 59 Points: 7,937, Level: 59 Points: 7,937, Level: 59
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Heiroglyph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 840
Default Re: 3.3v card in 5v PCI symptoms?

So is this the expected symptom? Failure to boot? I mean, the PCI backplane drivers aren't even loaded yet.

I assumed that the card would just not show up or wouldn't function.
Heiroglyph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
33v , card , pci , symptoms

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump