amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:35 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Recommended Amiga Dealers Is Software Hut Still open?

Recommended Amiga Dealers This forum exists to allow Amiga.org members to share their positive experiences with Amiga dealers so that others might get a better feel for the various dealers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2011, 12:11 AM   #1
wildstar1063
Too much caffeine
Points: 9,021, Level: 63 Points: 9,021, Level: 63 Points: 9,021, Level: 63
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 95
Default Is Software Hut Still open?

Is Software Hut Still open?
Their website is still there, but I emailed them last week and this week regarding some
hardware I am interested in, but have not received and answer to either email.

I wonder if I would do better by calling them.

Thanks
__________________
Amiga 3000T with 12Megs-SCZ, G-Force 040 28mhz, Delfina Lite, CyberVision 64/3D, QuickNet-2000 Ethernet, 2gig IBM , CD Rom and external Zip 100 Also Fastlane Z3 board and Amax IV whenever I install them.
Also an A600, and an A3000D bone stock, with 12...
wildstar1063 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 12:52 AM   #2
esc
Technoid
Points: 2,925, Level: 33 Points: 2,925, Level: 33 Points: 2,925, Level: 33
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 210
Default Re: Is Software Hut Still open?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildstar1063 View Post
Is Software Hut Still open?
Their website is still there, but I emailed them last week and this week regarding some
hardware I am interested in, but have not received and answer to either email.

I wonder if I would do better by calling them.

Thanks
I've tried both methods a few times in the past few months - nothing.
esc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 03:47 AM   #3
stachu100
Technoid
Points: 6,353, Level: 52 Points: 6,353, Level: 52 Points: 6,353, Level: 52
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
stachu100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Piaseczno, Poland
Posts: 262
Default Re: Is Software Hut Still open?

I bought Indivision AGA few months back from them. And after small perturbances I've got what I ordered. But I agree that communication is not the best.
stachu100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 07:58 PM   #4
Motormouth
Technoid
Points: 7,404, Level: 57 Points: 7,404, Level: 57 Points: 7,404, Level: 57
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
Motormouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Another World
Posts: 260
Default Re: Is Software Hut Still open?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildstar1063 View Post
Is Software Hut Still open?
Their website is still there, but I emailed them last week and this week regarding some
hardware I am interested in, but have not received and answer to either email.

I wonder if I would do better by calling them.

Thanks
I emailed them twice ~ month ago with no luck
Motormouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 10:35 PM   #5
SysAdmin
News posting Auto Agent
Points: 40,215, Level: 100 Points: 40,215, Level: 100 Points: 40,215, Level: 100
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,290
Default Re: Is Software Hut Still open?

Looks like their website is down.
SysAdmin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 10:50 PM   #6
esc
Technoid
Points: 2,925, Level: 33 Points: 2,925, Level: 33 Points: 2,925, Level: 33
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 210
Default Re: Is Software Hut Still open?

The big shame of it, for me, is that softhut is the only place I have found so far with replacement casework...$5 or $10 or so for a full front plastic face piece for the a3000 (which I desperately need).
esc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 01:11 AM   #7
Miked
Technoid
Points: 5,488, Level: 47 Points: 5,488, Level: 47 Points: 5,488, Level: 47
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 181
Default Re: Is Software Hut Still open?

I too have emailed them with no luck...
Miked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 03:29 AM   #8
AmigaPixel
Technoid
Points: 7,413, Level: 57 Points: 7,413, Level: 57 Points: 7,413, Level: 57
Activity: 28% Activity: 28% Activity: 28%
 
AmigaPixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Arizona USA
Posts: 383
Default Re: Is Software Hut Still open?

I was about to post the same question, but you beat me to the punch! Anyway it is a real shame if Software Hut is not operating. They were such a major retailer back in the day, I used to enjoy looking at there ads when every new Amiga World or other publication came out.

Maybe if enough of us bug them through email and phone calls they will stir awake again.
AmigaPixel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 10:51 AM   #9
wildstar1063
Too much caffeine
Points: 9,021, Level: 63 Points: 9,021, Level: 63 Points: 9,021, Level: 63
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 95
Default Re: Is Software Hut Still open?

When you call, the answering machine says luminous media

I found this info which has a different email, but the same address:

http://www.eluminousmedia.com/LMnew/contact_us.html

contact - United States

For: East Coast & West Coast
603 Jeffers Circle
Exton, Pa. 19341
USA
Telephone: 610-793-2354

joe@eluminousmedia.com


Chuck E.
__________________
Amiga 3000T with 12Megs-SCZ, G-Force 040 28mhz, Delfina Lite, CyberVision 64/3D, QuickNet-2000 Ethernet, 2gig IBM , CD Rom and external Zip 100 Also Fastlane Z3 board and Amax IV whenever I install them.
Also an A600, and an A3000D bone stock, with 12...
wildstar1063 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 12:42 PM   #10
Matt_H
VIP / Donor
Points: 24,106, Level: 94 Points: 24,106, Level: 94 Points: 24,106, Level: 94
Activity: 43% Activity: 43% Activity: 43%
 
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston, MA, United States
Posts: 5,243
Default Re: Is Software Hut Still open?

@ wildstar1063

Software Hut has been their side business for a number of years now - that's probably the main one.
Matt_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 02:45 PM   #11
mechy
Cult Member
Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
mechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas,usa
Posts: 911
Send a message via AIM to mechy Send a message via MSN to mechy
Default Re: Is Software Hut Still open?

Quote:
Originally Posted by esc View Post
The big shame of it, for me, is that softhut is the only place I have found so far with replacement casework...$5 or $10 or so for a full front plastic face piece for the a3000 (which I desperately need).
i tried to buy one a year or 2 ago and he said they were sold out. their page is never updated ;/

oh and i just tried thier web page,it seems to be up still.


mech
mechy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 04:02 PM   #12
gizmo350
Lifetime Member
Points: 12,189, Level: 72 Points: 12,189, Level: 72 Points: 12,189, Level: 72
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
gizmo350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: GR, Michigan
Posts: 833
Default Re: Is Software Hut Still open?

Website is back up.... yesterday it was down for a while though.
I bought a new GVP A1200 accelerator from him about 6 months ago simply using his website to order it. The website stated that I could get some free gifts for ordering on the web. Well, I got the accelerator right away and he even sent some free goodies for the gifts (didn't get what I chose for free gifts). He threw in a few trinkets including a new Tetris game. I did try to email him again shortly afterwards but never got a reply. Maybe try ordering from his site.
__________________
A500 w/2MB Chip, 2MB Fast, Indi ECS, A590-4GB/MechyCF-HDD, ROM Switcher w/KS1.3/KS2.1

A2000HD w/2MB Chip, 32MB Fast, Phase 5: Blizzard 2040/ERC, 4GBHDD, Indi ECS, CD-RW, Kitchen Sync, SunRize AD516, Toaster 2000, WB2.1

A1200 w/2MB Chip, 64MB EDO Fast, 4GB CF-HDD, GVP-M Typhoon 030 40MHz, Subway USB, EasyNet Ethernet, Indivision AGA MKI, FastATA MK-IV, Internal Slim CD/DVD-RW, WB3.5 - It's KickAss Fast Too!


A Site For Classic Amiga Projects
gizmo350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 07:06 PM   #13
vintagepgh
Merely Curious
Points: 163, Level: 3 Points: 163, Level: 3 Points: 163, Level: 3
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: Is Software Hut Still open?

They are alive and well. I just bought a GVP A1200 accelerator from them.
vintagepgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 09:36 PM   #14
TheBilgeRat
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,020, Level: 63 Points: 9,020, Level: 63 Points: 9,020, Level: 63
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
TheBilgeRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Dundee, OR
Posts: 1,622
Default Re: Is Software Hut Still open?

Call them and leave clear concise return number. He'll call you back.
TheBilgeRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 09:43 PM   #15
FaLLeNOnE
Technoid
Points: 8,468, Level: 62 Points: 8,468, Level: 62 Points: 8,468, Level: 62
Activity: 36% Activity: 36% Activity: 36%
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 377
Send a message via ICQ to FaLLeNOnE
Default Re: Is Software Hut Still open?

I asked for a new A4000T two weeks ago and got a reply from them telling me that they were out of stock.
__________________
Amiga4000T 604e-233 060-50 128MB CVisionPPC
VLabMotion Toccata Peggy+
Someone built me a brand new 4000T motherboard so that I can use all the stuff I have once again!
FaLLeNOnE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
hut , open , software

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump