amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:00 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Amiga 1200 Clock Port

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2011, 02:47 PM   #1
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 38,623, Level: 100 Points: 38,623, Level: 100 Points: 38,623, Level: 100
Activity: 55% Activity: 55% Activity: 55%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,781
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Amiga 1200 Clock Port

So I have one of those 1200's that was designed by a man who apparently smoked too much crack before going into work. That is to say, the clock port is on the wrong F'ing side.

I have a friend who has offered to fix this for me, but he says it would be best to leave the pins where they are, and install a new set.

Does this sound reasonable, or do they need to be completely removed for some reason?

Also, I assume that all that needs to be done is to basically heat up the solder points where the pins should be, and slip them in?

Thankx!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_6591.jpg (98.0 KB, 33 views)
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 03:03 PM   #2
Tension
Banned
Points: 11,914, Level: 71 Points: 11,914, Level: 71 Points: 11,914, Level: 71
Activity: 56% Activity: 56% Activity: 56%
 
Tension's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,034
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: Amiga 1200 Clock Port

i once had a 1200 with all the pins in place! i wonder what the other pins do?
Tension is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 03:37 PM   #3
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 38,623, Level: 100 Points: 38,623, Level: 100 Points: 38,623, Level: 100
Activity: 55% Activity: 55% Activity: 55%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,781
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: Amiga 1200 Clock Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tension View Post
i once had a 1200 with all the pins in place! i wonder what the other pins do?

I guess f@ck your sh@t up if you plug the wrong thing in there like a Sound Card or Subway.
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 03:39 PM   #4
dreamcast270mhz
Technoid
Points: 3,730, Level: 38 Points: 3,730, Level: 38 Points: 3,730, Level: 38
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
dreamcast270mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Melbourne Florida
Posts: 322
Default Re: Amiga 1200 Clock Port

I learned the hard way, if your not sure what goes where, RTFM, it cost me over $200 in all, from both burning the mobo, paying a fraudulent user to fix my computer and losing it because he lied to me.
__________________
My machines:
PowerMac G4 MDD 1.5ghz 1.25GB 10.5.8 & MOS 2.7
Mac Mini C2D 10.6.8 2GHz 3GB 250GB HDD
MacBook Retina 16GB 256GB SSD 10.8
iPad 2
Underground Gamer invites (a classic game site) PM

Need a part for a PC or Mac? PM me, I'll let you know if I come across it.

OS X trumps Windows on every level.

MorphOS, OS4 and Classic Amiga systems are the only ones who are real 'Amigas', not that joke AROS or Amiga Forever.
dreamcast270mhz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 03:42 PM   #5
Tension
Banned
Points: 11,914, Level: 71 Points: 11,914, Level: 71 Points: 11,914, Level: 71
Activity: 56% Activity: 56% Activity: 56%
 
Tension's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,034
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: Amiga 1200 Clock Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDelusion View Post
I guess f@ck your sh@t up if you plug the wrong thing in there like a Sound Card or Subway.
I wonder if the other header has data lines in it that could be harnessed in some way?

Hmmmm....
Tension is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 03:43 PM   #6
Tension
Banned
Points: 11,914, Level: 71 Points: 11,914, Level: 71 Points: 11,914, Level: 71
Activity: 56% Activity: 56% Activity: 56%
 
Tension's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,034
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: Amiga 1200 Clock Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamcast270mhz View Post
a fraudulent user to fix my computer and losing it because he lied to me.
Name and shame the cnut.
Tension is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 03:56 PM   #7
platon42
Cult Member
Points: 9,459, Level: 65 Points: 9,459, Level: 65 Points: 9,459, Level: 65
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
platon42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 573
Default Re: Amiga 1200 Clock Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tension View Post
i once had a 1200 with all the pins in place! i wonder what the other pins do?
Together with the P9A connector (usually not populated at all) they provide a 32 Bit Data bus for the second megabyte of chipmem -- which is useless because luckily, a one MB chipram A1200 was never produced.
__________________
--
Regards, Chris Hodges )-> http://www.platon42.de <-(
hackerkey://v4sw7CJS$hw6/7ln6pr7+8AOP$ck0ma8u2LMw1/4Xm5l3i5TJCOTextPad/e7t2BDMNb7GHLen5a34s5IMr1g3/5ACM
platon42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 03:59 PM   #8
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 38,623, Level: 100 Points: 38,623, Level: 100 Points: 38,623, Level: 100
Activity: 55% Activity: 55% Activity: 55%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,781
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: Amiga 1200 Clock Port

So....


...is this a simple matter of putting in new pins where the solder is?
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 03:59 PM   #9
Darrin
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,321, Level: 89 Points: 20,321, Level: 89 Points: 20,321, Level: 89
Activity: 76% Activity: 76% Activity: 76%
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via AIM to Darrin Send a message via Yahoo to Darrin
Default Re: Amiga 1200 Clock Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tension View Post
i once had a 1200 with all the pins in place! i wonder what the other pins do?
I had one of those mobos too. I had to snap them off in order to install my FastATA board.
__________________
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
Darrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 04:01 PM   #10
Tension
Banned
Points: 11,914, Level: 71 Points: 11,914, Level: 71 Points: 11,914, Level: 71
Activity: 56% Activity: 56% Activity: 56%
 
Tension's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,034
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: Amiga 1200 Clock Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by platon42 View Post
Together with the P9A connector (usually not populated at all) they provide a 32 Bit Data bus for the second megabyte of chipmem -- which is useless because luckily, a one MB chipram A1200 was never produced.


Cheers for the info!
Tension is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 07:34 PM   #11
magnetic
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 16,457, Level: 82 Points: 16,457, Level: 82 Points: 16,457, Level: 82
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
magnetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,045
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Amiga 1200 Clock Port

Hmm i heard about this problem when I read the PDF man of Subway.. What revision boards have this problem? I'm away from my A1200 atm and have an Escom one, I should be ok right? Its just certain cbm ones or what?
__________________
bPlan Pegasos2 G4@1ghz
Quad Boot:Reg. MorphOS /Amiga OS4.1 U4/Ubuntu GNU-Linux /MacOS X

Amiga Technologies A1200 HD | Blizzard 1260@66mhz | 128mb | OS 3.9 | Indivision MK2

Amiga 600 | 3.1 Rom | 2mb Chip 5mb Fast VAMPIRE FPGA ACCELERATOR 68000@87 mhz | ClassicWB 68k
magnetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 07:42 PM   #12
amigadave
Lifetime Member
Points: 22,493, Level: 93 Points: 22,493, Level: 93 Points: 22,493, Level: 93
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
amigadave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Big Bear Lake, CA
Posts: 3,585
Default Re: Amiga 1200 Clock Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDelusion View Post
So I have one of those 1200's that was designed by a man who apparently smoked too much crack before going into work. That is to say, the clock port is on the wrong F'ing side.

I have a friend who has offered to fix this for me, but he says it would be best to leave the pins where they are, and install a new set.

Does this sound reasonable, or do they need to be completely removed for some reason?

Also, I assume that all that needs to be done is to basically heat up the solder points where the pins should be, and slip them in?

Thankx!
What are you planning on connecting to it? That might affect the answers you get, as to what you should do with the existing pins.
__________________
How are you helping the Amiga community?
amigadave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 08:36 PM   #13
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 38,623, Level: 100 Points: 38,623, Level: 100 Points: 38,623, Level: 100
Activity: 55% Activity: 55% Activity: 55%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,781
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: Amiga 1200 Clock Port

SubwAy or Delfina
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
1200 , amiga , clock , port

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump