amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:24 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga News and Community Announcements SMBMounter Updated to v0.2

Notices

Amiga News and Community Announcements If you have a news item, or want to announce something to the entire online Amiga Community, this is the forum in which to place your announcement.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2011, 06:15 AM   #1
SysAdmin
News posting Auto Agent
Points: 41,718, Level: 100 Points: 41,718, Level: 100 Points: 41,718, Level: 100
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,402
Default SMBMounter Updated to v0.2

News from Daedalus via amigaworld.net

It's been over a year since the initial release, but I finally got my act together and implemented some bug fixes and new features that people had been looking for. SMBMounter is a commodity GUI frontend for SMBFS, and can be used for mounting, unmounting and editing network drives quickly and easily.

I've submitted it to Aminet and OS4Depot, but you can also get it on my website:

http://www.robthenerd.com/show.php?s...&page=download

All feedback is appreciated! Especially MorphOS users, as IIRC there was a bug that only showed up on MorphOS which prevented it from working, and I'd like to hear if it's now working properly.

New features include:
- User-definable font settings
- Passwords are now stored encrypted and are only displayed as they are entered
- Support for filesystem charset translation via SMBFS
- New "automount" feature to mount shares as soon as SMBMounter starts (very useful for WBStartup use!)
- User/password prompt for Quickmount shares, and as an option in normal shares
- "Unmount all" option added to Project menu
- Improved error handling and requester information

SMBMounter has been tested under OS4.1 and OS3.9 and works fine so far...

SysAdmin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 06:51 AM   #2
Daedalus
Cult Member
Points: 9,252, Level: 64 Points: 9,252, Level: 64 Points: 9,252, Level: 64
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 880
Send a message via ICQ to Daedalus Send a message via MSN to Daedalus
Default Re: SMBMounter Updated to v0.2

@Transition

Thanks Never got around to posting it here, was just about to now
__________________
Engineers do it with precision
--
http://www.robthenerd.com
Daedalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 07:14 AM   #3
rdolores
Technoid
Points: 6,496, Level: 52 Points: 6,496, Level: 52 Points: 6,496, Level: 52
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 194
Default Re: SMBMounter Updated to v0.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Transition View Post
News from Daedalus via amigaworld.net

SMBMounter has been tested under OS4.1 and OS3.9 and works fine so far...

Any chance of getting a version of this for AROS. Thanks...
__________________
A1000 - 2 Floppies, 2 MB RAM, OS 1.0-1.3
A500 - 170 MB HD, 8 MB RAM, OS 1.3/2.04
A2000 - 350 MB HD, 8 MB RAM, A2630, OS 2.04
A2500 - 540 MB HD, 8 MB RAM, A2630, OS 3.9
A1200 - 20 GB HD, 64 MB RAM, Blizzard IV
Amithlon - 49 GB HD, 768 MB RAM, PIII-1G
AROS - 80 GB HD, 2 GB RAM, P4-3.2GHz
rdolores is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 09:21 AM   #4
Daedalus
Cult Member
Points: 9,252, Level: 64 Points: 9,252, Level: 64 Points: 9,252, Level: 64
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 880
Send a message via ICQ to Daedalus Send a message via MSN to Daedalus
Default Re: SMBMounter Updated to v0.2

@rdolores
I'm afraid it's 68k only, so until AROS has fully transparent 68k emulation la AOS4 and MorphOS, it won't work It's written in AmiBlitz, and AFAIK there isn't any way to recompile it for AROS.
__________________
Engineers do it with precision
--
http://www.robthenerd.com
Daedalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 09:33 AM   #5
Thomas
Desperately needs a life
Points: 15,083, Level: 79 Points: 15,083, Level: 79 Points: 15,083, Level: 79
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,021
Default Re: SMBMounter Updated to v0.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdolores View Post
Any chance of getting a version of this for AROS. Thanks...
It won't be of much use anyway because it's only a GUI. First you need a port of SMBFS.
__________________
Email: thomas-rapp@web.de
Home: thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de/
Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 10:08 AM   #6
Daedalus
Cult Member
Points: 9,252, Level: 64 Points: 9,252, Level: 64 Points: 9,252, Level: 64
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 880
Send a message via ICQ to Daedalus Send a message via MSN to Daedalus
Default Re: SMBMounter Updated to v0.2

Oh, I didn't even realise there wasn't a port of SMBFS for AROS... Guess that should come first indeed!
__________________
Engineers do it with precision
--
http://www.robthenerd.com
Daedalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 12:56 PM   #7
utri007
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,020, Level: 79 Points: 15,020, Level: 79 Points: 15,020, Level: 79
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,080
Default Re: SMBMounter Updated to v0.2

It doesn't seems to work with Win 7 ???

Last edited by utri007; 06-14-2011 at 12:59 PM..
utri007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 01:47 PM   #8
Daedalus
Cult Member
Points: 9,252, Level: 64 Points: 9,252, Level: 64 Points: 9,252, Level: 64
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 880
Send a message via ICQ to Daedalus Send a message via MSN to Daedalus
Default Re: SMBMounter Updated to v0.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
It doesn't seems to work with Win 7 ???
Yep - well, it's an issue with SMBFS rather than SMBMounter. Something changed in the SMB protocol with Vista, so SMBFS doesn't work with Vista or 7 unfortunately, either from the command line or with this front-end. It would be great to hear if anyone has a work-around, but so far I haven't come across one.
__________________
Engineers do it with precision
--
http://www.robthenerd.com
Daedalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
v02 , updated , smbmounter
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump