amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:43 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion General chat about Amiga topics Anyone working on PFS3 ??

General chat about Amiga topics This forum is for conversations which are specifically "Amiga" related, but don't fit into other categories. Contents of this forum do appear on the main page, unlike Talk About. If a subject appears to be non-related, it will be moved to Talk About.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2011, 06:24 AM   #91
orange
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 19,212, Level: 87 Points: 19,212, Level: 87 Points: 19,212, Level: 87
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Yugoslavia
Posts: 2,569
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piru View Post
I don't need to test it. I know it's technically impossible to partition a >2TB drive reporting 512 byte block size (that's what current drives do due to compatibility reasons). These drives will report more than 2^32-1 sectors and you cannot fit such number into 32bit data type (used by both TD_GETGEOMETRY and RDB itself).
hm, I wonder if that compatibility mode could be turned off;
because, with 4096 byte blocks, the limit would be 8*2Gb ?

I mean at least some new OS/software would be able to use largest drives without requiring new controllers?

plus the drives might be a bit faster.
orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 11:24 PM   #92
Cosmos
Technoid
Points: 8,609, Level: 62 Points: 8,609, Level: 62 Points: 8,609, Level: 62
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
Cosmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 397
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Pfs3ds_000 v18.4

- 68000+
- Compiled with SAS/C 6.58
- Last version by Harry Sintonen


Here : http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=762029&postcount=96
Cosmos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 03:32 AM   #93
Cosmos
Technoid
Points: 8,609, Level: 62 Points: 8,609, Level: 62 Points: 8,609, Level: 62
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
Cosmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 397
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

@Piru

This new version of Pfs3 give uninitialised partitions beyond the 4 Gb border : "Write Error -3 on block 0" when used with the scsi 43.45 (Boing Bag 2) burned on eprom...

I'll try with the v18.5 on Aminet, but I think I'll get the same result !




!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC00018.jpg (96.8 KB, 17 views)
Cosmos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 03:59 AM   #94
Cosmos
Technoid
Points: 8,609, Level: 62 Points: 8,609, Level: 62 Points: 8,609, Level: 62
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
Cosmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 397
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

v18.3ds on Aminet => All partitions are working fine
v18.4ds => All partitions beyond the 4 Gb border are uninitialised
v18.5ds => All partitions beyond the 4 Gb border are uninitialised


(CF 16 Gb on A600 with ACA030 used with the scsi v43.45 into an eeprom)

Last edited by Cosmos; 06-27-2011 at 04:37 AM..
Cosmos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 05:53 AM   #95
Piru
Banned
Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 6,946
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

@Cosmos

Use the bug tracker, please. Also, please include output from check4gb.

Last edited by Piru; 06-27-2011 at 05:59 AM..
Piru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 12:48 PM   #96
Piru
Banned
Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 6,946
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosmos View Post
@Piru

This new version of Pfs3 give uninitialised partitions beyond the 4 Gb border : "Write Error -3 on block 0" when used with the scsi 43.45 (Boing Bag 2) burned on eprom...
For whatever reason this device doesn't appear to have a working HD_SCSICMD interface (DirectSCSI). This is indicated by the Check4GB output as well (no S).

This doesn't explain why old PFS3 supposedly works. I suspect some problem with your testing method rather than that the old PFS3 would actually be working.
Piru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 10:52 PM   #97
Cosmos
Technoid
Points: 8,609, Level: 62 Points: 8,609, Level: 62 Points: 8,609, Level: 62
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
Cosmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 397
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Unbelievable... The v18.3 is working fine, YOU made some changes and bump to v18.4...

v18.4 give now partitions uninitialised beyond the 4 Gb border, and it's ME the culprit... Whaou...


Whaou, whaou, whaou...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC00020.jpg (91.5 KB, 11 views)

Last edited by Cosmos; 06-30-2011 at 12:09 AM..
Cosmos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 12:54 AM   #98
Piru
Banned
Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 6,946
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosmos View Post
Unbelievable... The v18.3 is working fine, YOU made some changes and bump to v18.4...
I did not bump the filesystem version.
Code:
     2   michielp #define REVISION "18.4"
     2   michielp #define REVDATE  "11.09.99"
     2   michielp #define REVTIME  "18:02:53"
     2   michielp #define AUTHOR   "Michiel Pelt"
     2   michielp #define VERNUM   18
     2   michielp #define REVNUM   4
Quote:
v18.4 give now partitions uninitialised beyond the 4 Gb border, and it's ME the culprit...
v18.5 is the official PFS3 without any of my changes. If it fails then I can't see how this could be my fault.

Finally: The svn version is a work in progress. Anyone using this snapshot is doing so with the knowledge that things may be in flux. I strongly suggest you avoid using random svn builds and rather use the official v18.5 for now.

Last edited by Piru; 06-30-2011 at 12:56 AM..
Piru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 01:01 AM   #99
Piru
Banned
Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 6,946
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosmos View Post
used with the scsi 43.45 (Boing Bag 2)
Really? Isn't that 43.45 some unofficial patch from aminet?
http://aminet.net/package/driver/media/SCSI4345p

Code:
THIS PATCH IS COMPLETELY UNOFFICIAL. IT HAS NOT BEEN APPROVED BY AMIGA INC.
OR BY HAAGE & PARTNER. BY USING IT ON YOUR SYSTEM, YOU ACCEPT THE ENTIRE
RISK AS TO ITS QUALITY AND PERFORMANCE.
Piru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 05:36 AM   #100
Cosmos
Technoid
Points: 8,609, Level: 62 Points: 8,609, Level: 62 Points: 8,609, Level: 62
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
Cosmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 397
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

I believed the src version on Aminet was v18.3... My mistake, it's the v18.4...

When coders add some new changes on some sources, they bump the version or the revision numbers...

Anyway, the v18.4 on Aminet compiled with SAS/C 6.58 give the same error than the last files updated on SourceForge...
Cosmos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 06:17 AM   #101
ChaosLord
Premium Member
Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
ChaosLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,528
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

So the conclusion is that this is not Piru's fault.
Correct?
__________________
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
ChaosLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 06:33 AM   #102
Cosmos
Technoid
Points: 8,609, Level: 62 Points: 8,609, Level: 62 Points: 8,609, Level: 62
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
Cosmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 397
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Yes !

Pfs3 versions uploaded on Aminet in 2011 :

- binaries => v18.3
- sources => v18.4
Cosmos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 07:24 AM   #103
Piru
Banned
Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 6,946
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosmos View Post
When coders add some new changes on some sources, they bump the version or the revision numbers...
The source committed to SVN was for earlier PFS3 version (iirc PFS3 5.2 aka 18.4), since the very last src were lost. The source code has since been brought up to date and the current SVN should match the PFS3 5.3 (18.5) in features. See here: http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func...1&atid=2163218

The SVN "trunk" version is work in progress (and as such the revision hasn't been touched yet). The SVN trunk version isn't guaranteed to be stable at any given moment. Obviously there's nothing we can do to prevent anyone from releasing snapshot builds, but I would appreciate it if any such release would be accompanied with a warning about it being only a snapshot build.
Piru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 07:26 AM   #104
Piru
Banned
Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 6,946
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosmos View Post
Pfs3 versions uploaded on Aminet in 2011 :

- binaries => v18.3
- sources => v18.4
http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/PFS3_53 contains v18.5 though.
Piru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 11:53 AM   #105
x303
Cult Member
Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
x303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 632
Lightbulb Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piru View Post
The source committed to SVN was for earlier PFS3 version (iirc PFS3 5.2 aka 18.4)
Well, you might wanna bring RELNUM up-to-date. Currently it's still at 5.0.

Quote:
The SVN "trunk" version is work in progress (and as such the revision hasn't been touched yet). The SVN trunk version isn't guaranteed to be stable at any given moment. Obviously there's nothing we can do to prevent anyone from releasing snapshot builds, but I would appreciate it if any such release would be accompanied with a warning about it being only a snapshot build.
So why not add an alpha or beta definition in the svn, like #define RELNUM "5.2 Beta" (or Alpha), which I did in my copy (unreleased though).
x303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
working , pfs3

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump