amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:03 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion General chat about Amiga topics Anyone working on PFS3 ??

General chat about Amiga topics This forum is for conversations which are specifically "Amiga" related, but don't fit into other categories. Contents of this forum do appear on the main page, unlike Talk About. If a subject appears to be non-related, it will be moved to Talk About.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2011, 04:21 AM   #1
SHADES
Technoid
Points: 9,859, Level: 66 Points: 9,859, Level: 66 Points: 9,859, Level: 66
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 349
Default Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Just wondering if anyone is working on PFS3 to enable big TB partitions for big fast drives etc.....
Just such a shame if it has now been released and no one is interested. Such a great FS.
__________________
It\'s not the question, that is the problem, it is the problem, that is the question.
SHADES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 04:58 AM   #2
takemehomegrandma
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 20,340, Level: 89 Points: 20,340, Level: 89 Points: 20,340, Level: 89
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
takemehomegrandma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,930
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHADES View Post
Just wondering if anyone is working on PFS3 to enable big TB partitions for big fast drives etc.....
Just such a shame if it has now been released and no one is interested. Such a great FS.
Yes, Piru is working on it!

EDIT: Here are some posts from him about the progress:
http://www.morphzone.org/modules/new...&topic_id=7805
__________________
MorphOS is Amiga done right!

Last edited by takemehomegrandma; 06-10-2011 at 05:04 AM..
takemehomegrandma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 06:18 AM   #3
x303
Cult Member
Points: 11,999, Level: 71 Points: 11,999, Level: 71 Points: 11,999, Level: 71
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
x303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 633
Talking Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

You can follow the progress here: http://pfs-amiga.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/pfs-amiga/
x303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 07:51 AM   #4
Piru
' union select name,pwd--
Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
Piru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 6,946
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHADES View Post
Just wondering if anyone is working on PFS3 to enable big TB partitions.
Enabling larger partitions is a bit tricky. There are some notes about it here:
http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func...1&atid=2163218 (click comment)

See here for the full list of feature requests:
http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?grou...1&atid=2163218

As for the progress: PowerPC native PFS3 is working on MorphOS now.
Piru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 08:13 AM   #5
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHADES View Post
Just wondering if anyone is working on PFS3 to enable big TB partitions for big fast drives etc.....
Just such a shame if it has now been released and no one is interested. Such a great FS.
If you're really looking to work with TB sized partitions the I'd recommend SmartFileSystem as there is no limitation on partition size or HD size...

I've been using it for many years now and it has proven very stable and I have never lost one bit of data with it...

SmartFileSystem Ver 1.279
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 08:44 AM   #6
Piru
' union select name,pwd--
Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
Piru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 6,946
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franko View Post
If you're really looking to work with TB sized partitions the I'd recommend SmartFileSystem as there is no limitation on partition size or HD size.
SFS is dog slow compared to PFS3 though. Also there for sure is a limitation of 2TB, so there's no use in getting a HDD larger than that.
Piru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 09:11 AM   #7
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piru View Post
SFS is dog slow compared to PFS3 though. Also there for sure is a limitation of 2TB, so there's no use in getting a HDD larger than that.
Slow is just your opinion Piru and of course your entitled to that...

But you are very wrong in saying that is has a 2TB limitation, I suggest you download it read the docs and better still try it for yourself and you will find you are totally wrong with your 2TB limitation claim...

Looks like you don't know everything after all...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 11:06 AM   #8
Piru
' union select name,pwd--
Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
Piru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 6,946
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franko View Post
Slow is just your opinion Piru and of course your entitled to that.
Actually it isn't an opinion but fact that can be verified by anyone.

Quote:
But you are very wrong in saying that is has a 2TB limitation
The limitation is 2TB.
Piru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 11:23 AM   #9
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piru View Post
Actually it isn't an opinion but fact that can be verified by anyone.


The limitation is 2TB.
Again it's just an opinion and just to prove you wrong here's my opinion "SFS is fast"...

so there you go, you did say anyone and I being anyone have just told you that it is fast and verified by me but at the end of it all no matter what you or I say it's simply an opinion...

Now where your totally wrong is in your claim that 2TB is the limit on SFS which I can tell you straight is absolutely wrong...

And as you were forever telling others like Dave Haynie to back things up they say, well now it's your turn. Back up this incorrect/false claim of a 2TB limit or stop making such false claims as you often like to tell others...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 11:31 AM   #10
CSixx
Technoid
Points: 5,719, Level: 48 Points: 5,719, Level: 48 Points: 5,719, Level: 48
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tacoma, Wa
Posts: 312
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franko View Post
Again it's just an opinion and just to prove you wrong here's my opinion "SFS is fast"...

so there you go, you did say anyone and I being anyone have just told you that it is fast and verified by me but at the end of it all no matter what you or I say it's simply an opinion...
He said it's slow compared to PFS.
One of them is faster than the other, that is a fact. It's not an opinion if there are cold hard facts.
CSixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 11:43 AM   #11
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSixx View Post
He said it's slow compared to PFS.
One of them is faster than the other, that is a fact. It's not an opinion if there are cold hard facts.
It may be a "Fact" to Piru and yourself but I beg to differ I say SFS is fast and again it's all down to opinions, nothing else...

Strange how he can't provide proof of his absurd 2TB limit claim (which he has posted twice now), as I await here to prove him wrong with proof that there is no such 2TB limit using SFS...

And for anyone who does not want to wait on Pirus answer (if he ever gives one) then feel free to go to the authors site and download SFS and read the docs and see for themselves that Pirus 2TB Limit claim is wrong...

SmartFileSystem Ver 1.279

Last edited by Franko; 06-10-2011 at 11:47 AM.. Reason: added some info
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 11:46 AM   #12
amiga4ever
Hobbyist
Points: 4,553, Level: 43 Points: 4,553, Level: 43 Points: 4,553, Level: 43
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
amiga4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 62
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

So, where exactly can I download a nice precompiled and user-friendly release of this new open-source version?

btw: if Piru recommends something Amiga related, I'd (personally) take his word as gospel.

Last edited by amiga4ever; 06-10-2011 at 11:48 AM..
amiga4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 11:55 AM   #13
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiga4ever View Post
btw: if Piru recommends something Amiga related, I'd (personally) take his word as gospel.
Then more fool you as SFS doesn't have the filesize or HD size limitations that PFS3 does...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 12:02 PM   #14
amiga4ever
Hobbyist
Points: 4,553, Level: 43 Points: 4,553, Level: 43 Points: 4,553, Level: 43
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
amiga4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 62
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

I can't agree or disagree on the point of filesize limits, but I'm not at all interested in filesize limits. Speed on my A1200 is the most important factor and I remember that a few years back (when deciding between the two) PFS3 was the clear winner.

As for taking Piru's word on Amiga issues, I do not think that is foolish. Piru has proven over the years that he knows the Amiga system inside out. Even if he made a mistake on the filesize limit - it's simply because he's human (despite what some may think, lol)

anyway, i will not get tangled up in this.
amiga4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 12:08 PM   #15
MickJT
Too much caffeine
Points: 7,609, Level: 58 Points: 7,609, Level: 58 Points: 7,609, Level: 58
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 151
Send a message via MSN to MickJT
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

From what i've read, the source code that was released is for version 18.3.

There was an important bugfix in 18.5 that is needed for Apache to work. Is that fix existing in the source code at sourceforge.net?
MickJT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 12:26 PM   #16
itix
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,334, Level: 75 Points: 13,334, Level: 75 Points: 13,334, Level: 75
Activity: 75% Activity: 75% Activity: 75%
 
itix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,144
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franko View Post
It may be a "Fact" to Piru and yourself but I beg to differ I say SFS is fast and again it's all down to opinions, nothing else...
SFS stops being fast when admin blocks are cluttered over the disk. Performance degrades faster if you are using .recycled directory but reality is that newly formatted SFS disk is always faster than old empty SFS disk.
itix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 12:28 PM   #17
itix
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,334, Level: 75 Points: 13,334, Level: 75 Points: 13,334, Level: 75
Activity: 75% Activity: 75% Activity: 75%
 
itix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,144
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franko View Post
Then more fool you as SFS doesn't have the filesize or HD size limitations that PFS3 does...
SFS partitions are limited to 127GB and filesize can not be larger than 2GB. In theory you can have file size to almost 4GB but it is not guaranteed to work with all applications.
itix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 12:35 PM   #18
Damion
Desperately needs a life
Points: 15,947, Level: 81 Points: 15,947, Level: 81 Points: 15,947, Level: 81
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nevada, USA
Posts: 3,461
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Slow is just your opinion Piru and of course your entitled to that.
I guess it's the opinion of the several Amigas I own, too. In addition to being subjectively faster by an obvious measure, the PFS3 partitions always booted faster by several seconds and won all the filesystem related tests and benchmarks.

This is on everything from A1200 and A4000 internal IDE, to accelerator SCSI on my GVPA530, TekMagic 2060, CS-MK2, CSPPC, and finally USB drives off the DENEB. I also have a vague recollection of PFS3 blowing away SFS on my old Pegasos (but that was a long time ago).

No data loss either since I purchased it sometime in the late 90's, including testing some purposefully flaky setups.
Damion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 12:35 PM   #19
LoadWB
VIP / Donor
Points: 14,937, Level: 79 Points: 14,937, Level: 79 Points: 14,937, Level: 79
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,239
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piru View Post
SFS is dog slow compared to PFS3 though. Also there for sure is a limitation of 2TB, so there's no use in getting a HDD larger than that.
And filesystem limitations aside, IIRC 2.5TB drives and above use 4k physical block sizes. I know this is a problem for some PCs, but I'm not certain about the Amiga.
LoadWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 12:44 PM   #20
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: Anyone working on PFS3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by itix View Post
SFS partitions are limited to 127GB and filesize can not be larger than 2GB. In theory you can have file size to almost 4GB but it is not guaranteed to work with all applications.
Sorry mate but your 100% wrong on both claims...

With the introduction in SFS of SF2 partitions the 127GB limitation was done away with a number of years ago along with the 4GB filesize...

With an SF2 partition there is on limit in theory as to the partition size or filesize...

Hence the reason why on my 2 500GB Amiga HDs I have 250Gb partitions crammed full of DVD Dual Layer ISO's of up 8.3GB individual file sizes and all can be read or written on the Amiga without any problems whatsoever and I've been doing this on a daily basis for a number of years now without any problems or loss of data...

I suggest to all who like to make these false claims to download SmartFileSystem themselves and read carefully the docs and better still try it out for themselves before making such incorrect statement and claims here...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
working , pfs3

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump