amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:25 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Software Issues and Discussion Softkicking to run OS3.9

Amiga Software Issues and Discussion This forum exists for the discussion of the use, issues with, and fun brought about by classic and next generation Amiga software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2011, 07:51 AM   #1
fishy_fiz
Defender of the Faith
Points: 14,592, Level: 78 Points: 14,592, Level: 78 Points: 14,592, Level: 78
Activity: 37% Activity: 37% Activity: 37%
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,632
Blog Entries: 1
Default Softkicking to run OS3.9

Im interested to try soft kicking 3.1 so I can install os3.9 on my a1200 (I have 3.0 physical roms). I have an apollo 1240 accelerator so Im under the impression RemApollo is my best option ? Anything else I should be aware of when softkicking?
Thanks in advance ?
fishy_fiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 08:17 AM   #2
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: Softkicking to run OS3.9

Simple answer... NO...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 09:45 AM   #3
utri007
Defender of the Faith
Points: 14,893, Level: 79 Points: 14,893, Level: 79 Points: 14,893, Level: 79
Activity: 32% Activity: 32% Activity: 32%
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,070
Default Re: Softkicking to run OS3.9

RemApollo is your best change

With RemApollo you can also load modules, like comos new graphics.library, wich you can't do with blizkick
utri007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 11:15 AM   #4
Jope
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,666, Level: 68 Points: 10,666, Level: 68 Points: 10,666, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,126
Default Re: Softkicking to run OS3.9

Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
With RemApollo you can also load modules, like comos new graphics.library, wich you can't do with blizkick
Out of curiosity, why can't blizkick load the graphics.library? Did Cosmos break something?
Jope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 11:29 AM   #5
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: Softkicking to run OS3.9

BlizKick CAN load libraries...

This is One of the small scripts I use with BlizKick on my Blizzard060/PCC board...

Code:
FAILAT 10

Assign <>NIL: BKM: "SYS:Expansion/BlizKick/Modules/"
Assign <>NIL: Kik: "DEVS:KickStarts/Bliz/"

CD BKM:

C:+C/BlizKick Kik:ROM3.1.patched extresbuf=110000 Module= FixGetMsg con.dev.new FFS.V45.9 FSys.res.V45.7 inp.dev.V50.26 ram-hand.V44.21 Rom.IDTag.V44.26 IntAckFix msingbas.lib mffp.lib AlertFix QUIET

Assign <>NIL: BKM: Remove
Assign <>NIL: Kik: Remove
As you can see I use this script to replace the "mathieeesingbas.library" & the "mathffp.library" with 060 specific versions...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 11:32 AM   #6
CSixx
Technoid
Points: 5,719, Level: 48 Points: 5,719, Level: 48 Points: 5,719, Level: 48
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tacoma, Wa
Posts: 312
Default Re: Softkicking to run OS3.9

Blizzkick is intended for Blizzard cards (which is why it works on yours Franko).
RemApollo is the Apollo card equivalent.
CSixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 11:36 AM   #7
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: Softkicking to run OS3.9

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSixx View Post
Blizzkick is intended for Blizzard cards (which is why it works on yours Franko).
RemApollo is the Apollo card equivalent.
Yeah, I had gathered that but I was just trying to explain to Jope that BlizKick can handle libraries as I think the other posts had led him to believe it couldn't...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 04:11 PM   #8
utri007
Defender of the Faith
Points: 14,893, Level: 79 Points: 14,893, Level: 79 Points: 14,893, Level: 79
Activity: 32% Activity: 32% Activity: 32%
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,070
Default Re: Softkicking to run OS3.9

With blizkick you need to have special module to load specified external library. You just can't put any .library and load it with blizkick.

OR I'm I wrong? Have anybody loaded graphics.library with blizkick?

Last edited by utri007; 06-03-2011 at 04:23 PM..
utri007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 06:22 PM   #9
Piru
' union select name,pwd--
Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
Piru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 6,946
Default Re: Softkicking to run OS3.9

Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
With blizkick you need to have special module to load specified external library.
No you don't. You can load anything you can LoadSeg.
Quote:
You just can't put any .library and load it with blizkick.
Of course the code needs to be fully reentrant and without any static data. Not all libraries qualify.
Piru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 06:39 PM   #10
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: Softkicking to run OS3.9

Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
With blizkick you need to have special module to load specified external library. You just can't put any .library and load it with blizkick.

OR I'm I wrong? Have anybody loaded graphics.library with blizkick?
As Piru quite correctly answered your question, it only leaves me wondering why you would want to load the graphics.library separately when it's already in the fastmem ROM image...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 07:53 PM   #11
stefcep2
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,489, Level: 65 Points: 9,489, Level: 65 Points: 9,489, Level: 65
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,379
Default Re: Softkicking to run OS3.9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franko View Post
As Piru quite correctly answered your question, it only leaves me wondering why you would want to load the graphics.library separately when it's already in the fastmem ROM image...
there is a new third party graphics.library.
stefcep2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 11:52 PM   #12
Jope
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,666, Level: 68 Points: 10,666, Level: 68 Points: 10,666, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,126
Default Re: Softkicking to run OS3.9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franko View Post
I think the other posts had led him to believe it couldn't...
.. or perhaps I was just being an %&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@! and wanted Utri to explain why he thought it couldn't .. ;-)
Jope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 01:38 AM   #13
utri007
Defender of the Faith
Points: 14,893, Level: 79 Points: 14,893, Level: 79 Points: 14,893, Level: 79
Activity: 32% Activity: 32% Activity: 32%
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,070
Default Re: Softkicking to run OS3.9

I have asked it here multiple times and nobody hasn't tell me how to do it and as a franko pointed out I got impression that it is not possible. I didn't get it work myself, with RemApollo it worked easily.

With cosmos new graphics.library games like napalm, foundation wich use hires modes are much more playable.

Last edited by utri007; 06-04-2011 at 01:41 AM..
utri007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 12:50 AM   #14
fishy_fiz
Defender of the Faith
Points: 14,592, Level: 78 Points: 14,592, Level: 78 Points: 14,592, Level: 78
Activity: 37% Activity: 37% Activity: 37%
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,632
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Softkicking to run OS3.9

Thanks for the feedback people. Could someone please paste me a simple example of remapollo use just doing a standard softkick of a 3.1 rom image please ? I'm interested in loading extra modules and libs too, but being that Ive never used it before I just want to take it a step at a time.
Thanks in advance
fishy_fiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 01:07 AM   #15
mfilos
Cult Member
Points: 8,184, Level: 61 Points: 8,184, Level: 61 Points: 8,184, Level: 61
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 652
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Default Re: Softkicking to run OS3.9

Why you just don't get an El'Cheapo actual 3.1 kickstart and be done with?
3.0 is epix failz0rz.

If you have the 3.1 kick, you can then load modules of your choice with LoadModule/LoadResident at will.
__________________
Visit my Amiga blog here
- A600: 030@37.5, 64MB, A604n, 16GB CF, Indivision ECS, Subway, MAS-Player + Custom Audio Mixer (internal), HxC SD + Slim floppy (internal)
mfilos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 01:30 AM   #16
utri007
Defender of the Faith
Points: 14,893, Level: 79 Points: 14,893, Level: 79 Points: 14,893, Level: 79
Activity: 32% Activity: 32% Activity: 32%
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,070
Default Re: Softkicking to run OS3.9

I depends if mobo has timing fixes or not. My Apollo doesn't boot at all with 1d4 mobo with 3.1 roms installed, works just fine with 3.0 roms. Without fixes 2b mobo is totally useless
utri007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 09:19 PM   #17
fishy_fiz
Defender of the Faith
Points: 14,592, Level: 78 Points: 14,592, Level: 78 Points: 14,592, Level: 78
Activity: 37% Activity: 37% Activity: 37%
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,632
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Softkicking to run OS3.9

So is no-one is able to help me out with an example please ?
fishy_fiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 09:50 PM   #18
Heiroglyph
Cult Member
Points: 7,937, Level: 59 Points: 7,937, Level: 59 Points: 7,937, Level: 59
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Heiroglyph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 840
Default Re: Softkicking to run OS3.9

I don't have one, but here is something I found:
http://rhz1.comlu.com/tipsandtricks/remapollo_fix.htm
Heiroglyph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 12:32 AM   #19
fishy_fiz
Defender of the Faith
Points: 14,592, Level: 78 Points: 14,592, Level: 78 Points: 14,592, Level: 78
Activity: 37% Activity: 37% Activity: 37%
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,632
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Softkicking to run OS3.9

Cool, thanks for that Heiroglyph.
fishy_fiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
run , os39 , softkicking

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump