amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:03 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Amiga 3000 Chip Revisions

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2011, 04:28 PM   #1
Kernel
Technoid
Points: 8,215, Level: 61 Points: 8,215, Level: 61 Points: 8,215, Level: 61
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Kernel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New New York, New Earth
Posts: 210
Send a message via ICQ to Kernel Send a message via AIM to Kernel Send a message via MSN to Kernel
Default Amiga 3000 Chip Revisions

I did a few searches but didn't find what I'm looking for...

With the recent dusting off of my A3K from the garage, I'm trying to figure out what chip upgrades I need to do.

I've got the 390539-11 Super Buster so appear to be all set there. However, when looking on Wikipedia (which we all kow is sometimes not accurate, haha) it indicates the following for the DMAC and RAMSEY combination:

-----
Ramsey & (Super) DMAC - In the A3000 and A4000 series, Ramsey controls the on-board 32-bit Fast RAM and provides address generation for SDMAC. The SDMAC in the A3000/T provides DMA and bus interface for the integrated WD33C93A SCSI controller. SDMAC rev 02 requires a Ramsey 04 and SDMAC 04, a Ramsey 07 counterpart.

The previous 16-bit DMAC used in A2091/A590 SCSI adapters also includes 24-bit address generation
-----

The issue here is that my chips are 390537-04 Super DMAC and 390541-04 Ramsey which apparently is not the proper combination. The way it is worded with one chip revision "requires" another makes me think mine shouldn;t even be working.

Can someone tell me what the best/preferred combination is for these chips?

Also, were there any newer revision of Agnus beyond 318069-03 or Fat Gary beyond 390540-02?

Thanks!

Last edited by SysAdmin; 05-15-2011 at 09:04 AM.. Reason: Fixed Amiga misspelling
Kernel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 04:33 PM   #2
Motormouth
Technoid
Points: 7,748, Level: 58 Points: 7,748, Level: 58 Points: 7,748, Level: 58
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Motormouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Another World
Posts: 261
Default Re: Amiag 3000 Chip Revisions

Interesting.....

I always thought it had to be (DMAC v2, Ramsey v4) and (DMAC v4, Ramsey v7) combinations also.

Which type of 32 bit fast ram do you have?
Motormouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 04:37 PM   #3
Zac67
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Zac67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erlangen, Germany
Posts: 2,890
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: Amiag 3000 Chip Revisions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kernel View Post
The issue here is that my chips are 390537-04 Super DMAC and 390541-04 Ramsey which apparently is not the proper combination.
Can someone tell me what the best/preferred combination is for these chips?
When writing that article I wasn't able to find any more accurate information to rev compatibilities, sorry. The article relies on information from CBM who apparently didn't test all combinations. If yours works it's fine.

Quote:
Also, were there any newer revision of Agnus beyond 318069-03 or Fat Gary beyond 390540-02?
There may be a few Agnus versions that work but there's no difference in performance, so nothing to worry about.
Zac67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 04:43 PM   #4
Kernel
Technoid
Points: 8,215, Level: 61 Points: 8,215, Level: 61 Points: 8,215, Level: 61
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Kernel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New New York, New Earth
Posts: 210
Send a message via ICQ to Kernel Send a message via AIM to Kernel Send a message via MSN to Kernel
Default Re: Amiag 3000 Chip Revisions

Wow, I got a reply from the article author! Nice!

As for the type of RAM, I'll need to tear it apart to check it. Once I replace the battery I'll look at that. It's gonna be a week or so however.
Kernel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 02:25 AM   #5
alexh
Desperately needs a life
Points: 13,977, Level: 76 Points: 13,977, Level: 76 Points: 13,977, Level: 76
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 3,638
Send a message via ICQ to alexh Send a message via MSN to alexh Send a message via Yahoo to alexh
Default Re: Amiag 3000 Chip Revisions

AFAIK DMAC -04 will work with RAMSEY -04 but DMAC -02 will not work with RAMSEY -07

If you have the rare DMAC -04 then you could and should get a RAMSEY -07. They should be cheap as they were made and used in A4k (whereas the DMAC -04 is very rare and expensive).

DMAC -04 and RAMSEY -07 is supposed to be the best combination for using accelerators.
alexh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 03:33 AM   #6
AmiDude
Cult Member
Points: 9,242, Level: 64 Points: 9,242, Level: 64 Points: 9,242, Level: 64
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
AmiDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 816
Default Re: Amiag 3000 Chip Revisions

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
AFAIK DMAC -04 will work with RAMSEY -04 but DMAC -02 will not work with RAMSEY -07
For your information; My A3000 has a DMAC02 + RAMSEY07 combination, and it works flawless.
AmiDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 03:34 AM   #7
VingtTrois
Lifetime Member
Points: 12,782, Level: 73 Points: 12,782, Level: 73 Points: 12,782, Level: 73
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
VingtTrois's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Frankreich/France/Francia/Frankrig/Frankenstein
Posts: 823
Send a message via AIM to VingtTrois
Default Re: Amiag 3000 Chip Revisions

@AmiDude & Kernel: what's the revision of your motherboard?
__________________
-A3K(T)040@35MHz/78MB/KS3.1/OS3.9/Buster11/PICASSO II/GVP IO/A2088XT/DENEB/HDD18GB
-A3K(D)030@25MHz/134MB RAM/KS3.1/OS3.9/Buster11/RETINA Z2/OKTAGON 2008/VLAB YC/MIDI/DKB3128/HDD18GB
-A2K/ROM 1.3-3.1/2MBCHIP/8MB/A2091/OKTAGON 2008/A2058/TANDEM IDE/FlickerFixer-Scandoubler/Genlock
-A1200/KS3.1/2MB+9MB/CF2GB A1200/KS3.0/2MB/CF1GB/
-A1K/KS1.2/Kickstart Adapter/A1050/512K
-A600/1MB/A603 1MB/CF2GB/4MB RAM expansion
-1xA2K-2xA600-2xA500-C128-C64-PS1-PS3-SNES-Archos GMini400-CDI Philips
VingtTrois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 03:43 AM   #8
AmiDude
Cult Member
Points: 9,242, Level: 64 Points: 9,242, Level: 64 Points: 9,242, Level: 64
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
AmiDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 816
Default Re: Amiag 3000 Chip Revisions

Quote:
Originally Posted by VingtTrois View Post
@AmiDude & Kernel: what's the revision of your motherboard?
Latest Rev. 9/03
AmiDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 05:01 AM   #9
Zac67
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Zac67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erlangen, Germany
Posts: 2,890
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: Amiag 3000 Chip Revisions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kernel View Post
Wow, I got a reply from the article author! Nice!
Just a rather 'raw' article - I just wanted to make some info a bit more public.

I'll add the revision matching info to wp right away!
Zac67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 05:45 AM   #10
alexh
Desperately needs a life
Points: 13,977, Level: 76 Points: 13,977, Level: 76 Points: 13,977, Level: 76
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 3,638
Send a message via ICQ to alexh Send a message via MSN to alexh Send a message via Yahoo to alexh
Default Re: Amiag 3000 Chip Revisions

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmiDude View Post
For your information; My A3000 has a DMAC02 + RAMSEY07 combination, and it works flawless.
Well if that's the case then it's all bollocks then
alexh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 06:42 AM   #11
Kernel
Technoid
Points: 8,215, Level: 61 Points: 8,215, Level: 61 Points: 8,215, Level: 61
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Kernel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New New York, New Earth
Posts: 210
Send a message via ICQ to Kernel Send a message via AIM to Kernel Send a message via MSN to Kernel
Default Re: Amiag 3000 Chip Revisions

Mine is a 6.1 Modified.
Kernel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 07:44 AM   #12
Motormouth
Technoid
Points: 7,748, Level: 58 Points: 7,748, Level: 58 Points: 7,748, Level: 58
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Motormouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Another World
Posts: 261
Default Re: Amiag 3000 Chip Revisions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kernel View Post
Wow, I got a reply from the article author! Nice!

As for the type of RAM, I'll need to tear it apart to check it. Once I replace the battery I'll look at that. It's gonna be a week or so however.
Check out
http://amiga.serveftp.net/A3000_Hard...de/memory.html

It has been awhile trying to remember........
I was asking about the fast ram you have, I think Static Column memory can be used in column and burst modes, but page mode is more compatible with CPU cards. The Ramsey effect these modes.

If you have CPU Card these enhanced static column memory modes are not useful.

check out Set Ramsey on Fred Fish disk 567 (probably also on aminet)

SetRamsey A program that allows you to test the current settings
of the RAMSEY ram controller chip on an Amiga 3000
under Kickstart 1.3 or 2.0, and change them if you
wish. Useful for hardware debugging to control static
column mode, burst mode, or change the refresh rate.
Version 1.50, update to version 1.02 on disk 423.
Binary only. Author: Nic Wilson.
Motormouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 07:58 AM   #13
mechy
Cult Member
Points: 13,011, Level: 74 Points: 13,011, Level: 74 Points: 13,011, Level: 74
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
mechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas,usa
Posts: 933
Send a message via AIM to mechy Send a message via MSN to mechy
Default Re: Amiag 3000 Chip Revisions

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmiDude View Post
For your information; My A3000 has a DMAC02 + RAMSEY07 combination, and it works flawless.
I can second this, i have had a A3000 with dmac2/ramsey7 that seemed to work fine,but i also tried this in another 3000 and it did not live together.. go figure. not sure what is causing the incompatibility to this day.

mech
mechy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 07:59 AM   #14
Zac67
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Zac67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erlangen, Germany
Posts: 2,890
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: Amiag 3000 Chip Revisions

There are several tools on Aminet for showing/changing Ramsey settings.

Static column ZIPs support 68030 bursts but pose no benefit w/ '040. They als require Kick 3.x for '040/060 boards to boot (there's a bug in 2.x ROMs enabling bursts with '040s although Ramsey only supports '030 bursts).

Last edited by Zac67; 05-15-2011 at 08:28 AM..
Zac67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 08:21 AM   #15
zipper
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,737, Level: 76 Points: 13,737, Level: 76 Points: 13,737, Level: 76
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
zipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: finland
Posts: 2,224
Default Re: Amiag 3000 Chip Revisions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zac67 View Post
There are several tools on Aminet for showing/changing Ramsey settings.
from which I think systemprefs is the best one as it helps with 060 CPU settings, too.
zipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 09:16 AM   #16
Kernel
Technoid
Points: 8,215, Level: 61 Points: 8,215, Level: 61 Points: 8,215, Level: 61
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Kernel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New New York, New Earth
Posts: 210
Send a message via ICQ to Kernel Send a message via AIM to Kernel Send a message via MSN to Kernel
Default Re: Amiag 3000 Chip Revisions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Motormouth View Post
Check out
http://amiga.serveftp.net/A3000_Hard...de/memory.html

I was asking about the fast ram you have, I think Static Column memory can be used in column and burst modes, but page mode is more compatible with CPU cards. The Ramsey effect these modes.
Well, I decided to pull the case off again and take a look. I only checked the first 2 zips since the silkscreen was visible and I figured the other zips would reflect the same; they read:

tc514256az-80

and

km44c258az-8
Kernel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 09:46 AM   #17
Motormouth
Technoid
Points: 7,748, Level: 58 Points: 7,748, Level: 58 Points: 7,748, Level: 58
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Motormouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Another World
Posts: 261
Default Re: Amiga 3000 Chip Revisions

@Kernel


from
http://ic-k.iclocator.com/KM44C258AZ...258AZ8KM4.html

km44c258az-8
looks like static mode 256kx4 80ns ram from Samsung

the
tc514256az-80
from the ic code is 256kx4 80ns ram from toshiba, I don't know if it is static or page

Do you have 4 megs of fast ram total? and all the zip sockets full
Motormouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 09:51 AM   #18
Zac67
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Zac67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erlangen, Germany
Posts: 2,890
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: Amiag 3000 Chip Revisions

xx4256 = 256K x4 (8 pcs for 1MB bank), page mode
xx4258 = same with static column

Mixing SC and PM ZIPs works but then the first bank must not be SC throughout.

Since the 256K x4 chips limit your fastram to 4 MB max, I'd look for a SIMM adapter. 32 pcs of 1M x4 ZIPs would be 100€-200€+...

PS: You can also use standard DIP chips xx4400 for the first bank instead of ZIPs, just leave the first bank ZIP sockets empty.

Last edited by Zac67; 05-15-2011 at 10:18 AM..
Zac67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 10:14 AM   #19
matthey
Cult Member
Points: 7,325, Level: 56 Points: 7,325, Level: 56 Points: 7,325, Level: 56
Activity: 50% Activity: 50% Activity: 50%
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 948
Default Re: Amiag 3000 Chip Revisions

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
DMAC -04 and RAMSEY -07 is supposed to be the best combination for using accelerators.
This is the only combo I have had problems with. My 3000T (3.1 ROMs) would not boot with CSMK3 and this combination. I had SCSI problems (error requesters) and I have the int mod, newer SCSI chip and Buster 11. For some reason, I thought it was a software problem where the AmigaOS tried to enable faster memory transfers. I have 16MB SC memory too. I have heard of similar problems with this combo and other accelerators although the A3640 works fine with this combo as well as no accelerator. The CSMK3 is very stable in the 3000T with the old DMAC and Ramsey.
matthey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
revisions , amiga , 3000 , amiag , chip

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump