amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:11 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Software Issues and Discussion My New Hardware for use with OctaMED S.S.

Amiga Software Issues and Discussion This forum exists for the discussion of the use, issues with, and fun brought about by classic and next generation Amiga software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2011, 07:16 PM   #16
spihunter
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,752, Level: 73 Points: 12,752, Level: 73 Points: 12,752, Level: 73
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,501
Default Re: My New Hardware for use with OctaMED S.S.

Quote:
Originally Posted by minator View Post
You have these a bit mixed up:

Phantom power is a power source for condenser Mics, they require power as part of their design though some have batteries as well.
Dynamic Mics do not require any power.
Note: Only use phantom power on things that need it, otherwise you could end up frying things!

Pre-amps are for everything. It's the first thing a signal goes through when it goes into a mixer. You use them to increase the level on Mics (all types), guitars and anything else (even synths if they need it).

All Mics will need to go through a pre-amp whether it has phantom power or not.

--

I'm learning a lot of this stuff at the moment as well but there's a lot of help out there.
Youtube has loads of stuff.

There's a free book here on setting up a studio:
http://www.recordingreview.com/kille..._SettingUp.php

ProAudioDVDs.com have a weekly free video.
They also have a DVD set called "Ultimate Home Recording School". Bit expensive but very good, covers a lot of the basic knowledge you'll need.

Yea, You know it's bad when I'm a 20 year veteran of this stuff and I can't get it right on a retro computer forum!. Thanks for clearing that up..
spihunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 09:27 PM   #17
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,642
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: My New Hardware for use with OctaMED S.S.

Minator: Great link, thankx!

Magnetic: I got mine at a local Christian Musick store of all places and talked them down on the price. Though I've seen them go for around the same price on Ebay.

Spihunter: Will check out track, thankx!

I need to upload some of my own material...


So to those who are using these with OctaMED (more here than I expected, wow!), can I send commands from within OctaMED to control more than just the keys? I.E. Adjust the filter, mixer, lfo, etc.?

Also, how do I tell octamed to not only trigger a key on the keyboard, but also to hold it down instead of press and release?
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 01:15 AM   #18
magnetic
Defender of the Faith
Points: 16,052, Level: 81 Points: 16,052, Level: 81 Points: 16,052, Level: 81
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
magnetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,987
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: My New Hardware for use with OctaMED S.S.

xdelusion

I dont think that the microkorg has keys that sustain the notes..thats why octamed wont do it maybe?
__________________
bPlan Pegasos2 G4@1ghz
Quad Boot:Reg. MorphOS /Amiga OS4.1 U4/Ubuntu GNU-Linux /MacOS X

Amiga Technologies A1200 HD | Blizzard 1260@66mhz | 128mb | OS 3.9 | Indivision MK2

Amiga 600 | 3.1 Rom | 4mb SRAM 2mb Chip | ClassicWB 68k
magnetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 12:07 PM   #19
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,642
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: My New Hardware for use with OctaMED S.S.

Magnetic: I'm figuring that what ever can be done by hand should be able to do through OctaMED, but I could be wrong.


Spihunter: That track was awesome, reminds me of something...

GOing to check out more of your stuff, thankx again!
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 02:08 PM   #20
x303
Cult Member
Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
x303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 632
Lightbulb Re: My New Hardware for use with OctaMED S.S.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDelusion View Post
Magnetic: I got mine at a local Christian Musick store of all places and talked them down on the price.
Someone has seen the light

Quote:
So to those who are using these with OctaMED (more here than I expected, wow!), can I send commands from within OctaMED to control more than just the keys? I.E. Adjust the filter, mixer, lfo, etc.?

Also, how do I tell octamed to not only trigger a key on the keyboard, but also to hold it down instead of press and release?
That should be possible, so check the ss guide. Read the chapter named 'The MIDI Cmd 3cxx Window'. With command 05 and 00 you should be able to control everything. And check the korg manual for the controllers & values.
x303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 02:24 PM   #21
trekiej
Defender of the Faith
Points: 19,352, Level: 88 Points: 19,352, Level: 88 Points: 19,352, Level: 88
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
trekiej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,684
Blog Entries: 8
Default Re: My New Hardware for use with OctaMED S.S.

That is a messed avatar.
Cool post though.
trekiej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 02:38 PM   #22
ral-clan
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,203, Level: 79 Points: 15,203, Level: 79 Points: 15,203, Level: 79
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
ral-clan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: My New Hardware for use with OctaMED S.S.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDelusion View Post
I just got it a couple days ago, and I must admit, to a non-musician, the manual is very confusing, though there are plenty of guides on Youtube that have got me pulling off more tricks with this than I expected to be doing already.

Bottom line, I DO NOT resent forking out the $200 for this that I spent in the least bit!

Sadly it did not come with the mic. Any good suggestions for a quality replacement?
You only paid $200 for the MicroKorg? That's a steal for a synth this good.
ral-clan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 06:31 PM   #23
spihunter
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,752, Level: 73 Points: 12,752, Level: 73 Points: 12,752, Level: 73
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,501
Default Re: My New Hardware for use with OctaMED S.S.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDelusion View Post
Magnetic: I'm figuring that what ever can be done by hand should be able to do through OctaMED, but I could be wrong.


Spihunter: That track was awesome, reminds me of something...

GOing to check out more of your stuff, thankx again!
Hey, Thanks for listening!. Let us know when you upload some of your stuff.
spihunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 06:46 PM   #24
minator
Cult Member
Points: 10,283, Level: 67 Points: 10,283, Level: 67 Points: 10,283, Level: 67
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
minator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 589
Default Re: My New Hardware for use with OctaMED S.S.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spihunter View Post
Yea, You know it's bad when I'm a 20 year veteran of this stuff and I can't get it right on a retro computer forum!. Thanks for clearing that up..
There's a lot to know! I wasn't 100% sure myself so checked as I was writing it.

Great track BTW.
minator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 06:51 PM   #25
minator
Cult Member
Points: 10,283, Level: 67 Points: 10,283, Level: 67 Points: 10,283, Level: 67
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
minator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 589
Default Re: My New Hardware for use with OctaMED S.S.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ral-clan View Post
You only paid $200 for the MicroKorg? That's a steal for a synth this good.
How does it compare with real analogue? I know a lot of the Analogue guys don't like virtual synths but what do you (or anyone who's tried both) think?

I've only heard them sparingly in shops but they sound pretty good.
minator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 11:58 AM   #26
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,642
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: My New Hardware for use with OctaMED S.S.

Well, the OctaMED S.S. guide often times tells me to refer to the hard manual which I do not have, so...

....does anyone happen to have it in PDF?

Also there are many functions in the guide that I do not understand. Such as when it talks about using HEX values, or when it shows symbols such as $0F or something to that effect...

You can't use the $ sign in OctaMED, so what is it trying to tell me?

It does appear that you can control the Korg in ways beyond merely pressings keys, but thus far I'm making no sense of any of it. I thought I had the Press and Hold/Press and Release Key, element down, but apparently I'm off on that too.

Can someone present a screen shot of how some of this actually works in OctaMED. All my MOD samples are MIDI free and thus free of these commands.

Thankx!

Also here are some photos...

I have my Synth sitting on wood atm till I can find or construct a better replacement, so things are looking a little hill jack at the moment.

The second photo is the Atari 2600 Pro Sounded with Guitar Jack. The photo shows the Atari, two numeric keypads which can be used as the drums and settings selection buttons, as well as a copy of SynthCart and the MIDI adapter which I was using to plug it into the Amiga.

Lastly we have a photo of the Atari hooked into the Amiga along with the Korg. On the right there is a lap harp which I am trying to use in conjunction with my cheap mic and the Korg Vocoder. To the right is my piece of %&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@! mixer, which is giving me issues so I still can not record...

Again anyone know any good techniques to clean contacts on these old mixers?

And on that note, I don't really see a practical use for the 2600. I could get by using FM samples instead, so I think my Pro-Sounded 2600 is going on Ebay today.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg amikorg.jpg (66.0 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg 2600.jpg (70.9 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg amiatarisynthharp.jpg (60.2 KB, 6 views)
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs

Last edited by XDelusion; 04-28-2011 at 12:02 PM..
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 12:48 PM   #27
x303
Cult Member
Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
x303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 632
Exclamation Re: My New Hardware for use with OctaMED S.S.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDelusion View Post
Well, the OctaMED S.S. guide often times tells me to refer to the hard manual which I do not have, so...

....does anyone happen to have it in PDF?
There isn't a pdf (unless someone created on). I have octamed 6 & 7 (SS) which both came on cd, so no 'hard manual'. BTW, the right manual for SS is called Manual and not octamed.guide.

Quote:
Also there are many functions in the guide that I do not understand. Such as when it talks about using HEX values, or when it shows symbols such as $0F or something to that effect...

You can't use the $ sign in OctaMED, so what is it trying to tell me?
Leave the $ sign off ! Just use the value.
It works the same way for samples as for midi, most commands are for samples & midi, some for samples only, some for midi only.
x303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 12:55 PM   #28
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,642
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: My New Hardware for use with OctaMED S.S.

I don't recall seeing a file titled "Manual".

Care to upload it for us?
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 01:11 PM   #29
x303
Cult Member
Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
x303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 632
Cool Re: My New Hardware for use with OctaMED S.S.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDelusion View Post
I don't recall seeing a file titled "Manual".
It's on the cd, in the 'Soundstudio v1/english' drawer.
x303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 01:16 PM   #30
TheGoose
Defender of the Faith
Points: 13,413, Level: 75 Points: 13,413, Level: 75 Points: 13,413, Level: 75
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
TheGoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Moon
Posts: 1,458
Blog Entries: 9
Default Re: My New Hardware for use with OctaMED S.S.

Cool rig dude! Kinda Zen with the blocks and wood. I can help with the amigaguide manual, pm me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDelusion View Post
Well, the OctaMED S.S. guide often times tells me to refer to the hard manual which I do not have, so...

....does anyone happen to have it in PDF?

Also there are many functions in the guide that I do not understand. Such as when it talks about using HEX values, or when it shows symbols such as $0F or something to that effect...

You can't use the $ sign in OctaMED, so what is it trying to tell me?

It does appear that you can control the Korg in ways beyond merely pressings keys, but thus far I'm making no sense of any of it. I thought I had the Press and Hold/Press and Release Key, element down, but apparently I'm off on that too.

Can someone present a screen shot of how some of this actually works in OctaMED. All my MOD samples are MIDI free and thus free of these commands.

Thankx!

Also here are some photos...

I have my Synth sitting on wood atm till I can find or construct a better replacement, so things are looking a little hill jack at the moment.

The second photo is the Atari 2600 Pro Sounded with Guitar Jack. The photo shows the Atari, two numeric keypads which can be used as the drums and settings selection buttons, as well as a copy of SynthCart and the MIDI adapter which I was using to plug it into the Amiga.

Lastly we have a photo of the Atari hooked into the Amiga along with the Korg. On the right there is a lap harp which I am trying to use in conjunction with my cheap mic and the Korg Vocoder. To the right is my piece of %&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@! mixer, which is giving me issues so I still can not record...

Again anyone know any good techniques to clean contacts on these old mixers?

And on that note, I don't really see a practical use for the 2600. I could get by using FM samples instead, so I think my Pro-Sounded 2600 is going on Ebay today.
__________________
G1200, A3000D, A1200 PPC AOS4.0C

I'm on Google +
TheGoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
vocoder , synth , octamed , midi , hardware , korg

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump