amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:41 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion - M1230XA Accelerator Card

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2011, 02:39 PM   #1
Drummerboy
Technoid
Points: 10,372, Level: 67 Points: 10,372, Level: 67 Points: 10,372, Level: 67
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Drummerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: America - Behind Drums Set Close to any Amiga
Posts: 457
Default - M1230XA Accelerator Card

Hello,

Someone has this Card?

Or ever set up the memory in this card?


http://amiga.resource.cx/manual/M1230XA.pdf

I trying to config 128MB, but i am having problems..

Please if you did anytime, please let know..

Regards
__________________
Amiga 1000, 500, 600, 2000, 1200, 4000...

C= VIC 20 / 64 /SX64/ 128

Jay Miner`s Atari 2600 - Wood front -

\"Amiga, this Computer have a Own Live\"--\"Silence When the Drums are Talking\".... DrummerBoy
Drummerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 04:06 PM   #2
Effy
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 16,456, Level: 82 Points: 16,456, Level: 82 Points: 16,456, Level: 82
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Effy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bilzen, Belgium
Posts: 2,052
Send a message via MSN to Effy Send a message via Skype™ to Effy
Smile Re: - M1230XA Accelerator Card

If you have got kickstart 3.0 then you need to use a kind of Setmem command in order to activate the Fast memory on the card, if you have got kickstart 3.01 then it will see the memory on startup ... it's a great card, 128 Mb will work for sure, been there, done that
__________________
www.AmigaClub.be
Effy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 05:37 PM   #3
Drummerboy
Technoid
Points: 10,372, Level: 67 Points: 10,372, Level: 67 Points: 10,372, Level: 67
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Drummerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: America - Behind Drums Set Close to any Amiga
Posts: 457
Default Re: - M1230XA Accelerator Card

@Effy

Yeah, you are right.

The SetXA is a strange software becouse (for example) if you have a 16MB module and you Set in SetXA 32MB.. the SetXA set to you the memory as 32MB, but the real Module is 16MB.. You know its very rare.

This program make several tests about the speed, 80ns, 60ns and 40ns but not said wich kind speed is the tested memory..

After thats tests, show a window to put manually but you know i am not sure about memory Cycles. .. what mean about memory cycles..

In general, thats software (SetXA)not explained well.. its very hard to config.. and gives the feeling that will not work properly..
__________________
Amiga 1000, 500, 600, 2000, 1200, 4000...

C= VIC 20 / 64 /SX64/ 128

Jay Miner`s Atari 2600 - Wood front -

\"Amiga, this Computer have a Own Live\"--\"Silence When the Drums are Talking\".... DrummerBoy
Drummerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 07:45 PM   #4
Drummerboy
Technoid
Points: 10,372, Level: 67 Points: 10,372, Level: 67 Points: 10,372, Level: 67
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Drummerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: America - Behind Drums Set Close to any Amiga
Posts: 457
Default Re: - M1230XA Accelerator Card

This is for all that people know about SIMM memory Modules

The new question is:

If any 128MB, 60ns 72 Pin SIMM Module, how many Cicles is?
__________________
Amiga 1000, 500, 600, 2000, 1200, 4000...

C= VIC 20 / 64 /SX64/ 128

Jay Miner`s Atari 2600 - Wood front -

\"Amiga, this Computer have a Own Live\"--\"Silence When the Drums are Talking\".... DrummerBoy
Drummerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 08:28 PM   #5
spaceman88
Technoid
Points: 7,406, Level: 57 Points: 7,406, Level: 57 Points: 7,406, Level: 57
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 274
Default Re: - M1230XA Accelerator Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drummerboy View Post
This is for all that people know about SIMM memory Modules

The new question is:

If any 128MB, 60ns 72 Pin SIMM Module, how many Cicles is?
I just tried setting it faster and faster until it failed then backed off one. Gained a few extra points on AIBB :-)
spaceman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 08:47 PM   #6
pwermonger
Premium Member
Points: 3,531, Level: 37 Points: 3,531, Level: 37 Points: 3,531, Level: 37
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 136
Default Re: - M1230XA Accelerator Card

I have this card but its been ages since I changed the memory configuration in it. the card has its own software and doesn't autoconfigure the RAM. you have to set the RAM amount and in the startup sequence put the program that runs to add the RAM to the available pool on the Amiga. SetXA and autoXA or somesuch. this page has the disk images you need for the programs you need to set the RAM amount and get the Amiga to use it: http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/mbx1230

I don't think I see anything about this software in the manual there but you definately need it and the software is pretty self explanatory. Might even be a manual or readme on the disk.
pwermonger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 09:29 PM   #7
Drummerboy
Technoid
Points: 10,372, Level: 67 Points: 10,372, Level: 67 Points: 10,372, Level: 67
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Drummerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: America - Behind Drums Set Close to any Amiga
Posts: 457
Default Re: - M1230XA Accelerator Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by pwermonger View Post
I have this card but its been ages since I changed the memory configuration in it. the card has its own software and doesn't autoconfigure the RAM. you have to set the RAM amount and in the startup sequence put the program that runs to add the RAM to the available pool on the Amiga. SetXA and autoXA or somesuch. this page has the disk images you need for the programs you need to set the RAM amount and get the Amiga to use it: http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/mbx1230

I don't think I see anything about this software in the manual there but you definately need it and the software is pretty self explanatory. Might even be a manual or readme on the disk.
Yeah i am using SetXA and AutoXA (becouse i am running under OS 3.0),

When Setxa start making several tests, about memory speed starting from 80ns to 40ns. After that any window is opened requesting you Set the kind of memory you have. Then i select 128MB, 60ns, but i dont know what mean about "Cicles", you know you can select 1,2,3,4, depending the memory size you selected. After you need click and Check "add memory" (thats right?). Then this window close and enter to make some compartive tests with others Amiga Models.

But after this, all look like the memory are not recongnized although it appears in "other Mem" the memory.

The machine crash easy if you try to open tasks, aplications, software.
__________________
Amiga 1000, 500, 600, 2000, 1200, 4000...

C= VIC 20 / 64 /SX64/ 128

Jay Miner`s Atari 2600 - Wood front -

\"Amiga, this Computer have a Own Live\"--\"Silence When the Drums are Talking\".... DrummerBoy
Drummerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 09:57 PM   #8
UncleSpam
Beginner
Points: 6,879, Level: 54 Points: 6,879, Level: 54 Points: 6,879, Level: 54
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
UncleSpam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 23
Send a message via ICQ to UncleSpam Send a message via AIM to UncleSpam Send a message via Yahoo to UncleSpam Send a message via Skype™ to UncleSpam
Default Re: - M1230XA Accelerator Card

I have that accelerator board for my A1200.

I'm also using 60ns 64MB SIMM module set at 3 wait states... try 2 but it will probably fail at 60ns. If it does, recover and set it to 3... that's rock solid.
__________________
Member of SCCAN
Dell M4400/8GB RAM/512GB SSD/BD-RE/27" Dell U2711 Display/Win7 Ultimate x64
WinUAE 2.4.1/OS3.9+Amiga Forever 2012
A1200/68030/68882/50MHz/64MB RAM/8GB CF Card/IndivisionAGA MkII/OS3.9
UncleSpam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 12:55 AM   #9
Khephren
Cult Member
Points: 10,476, Level: 68 Points: 10,476, Level: 68 Points: 10,476, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 605
Default Re: - M1230XA Accelerator Card

Some docs for this card here:

http://amiga.resource.cx/manual/M1230XA.pdf

What results are you guys getting from it? I used to hit 10mips on SYSinfo.
Khephren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 02:33 AM   #10
Effy
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 16,456, Level: 82 Points: 16,456, Level: 82 Points: 16,456, Level: 82
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Effy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bilzen, Belgium
Posts: 2,052
Send a message via MSN to Effy Send a message via Skype™ to Effy
Cool Re: - M1230XA Accelerator Card

Think I just used SetXA without parameters under kickstart 3.0, if you have kickstart 3.01 then you won't need that command anymore, it autoconfigs itself without problem ...
__________________
www.AmigaClub.be
Effy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
accelerator , m1230xa , card

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump