amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:07 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion A2000 Fried by user error -- question

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2011, 03:14 PM   #1
orb85750
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,613, Level: 80 Points: 15,613, Level: 80 Points: 15,613, Level: 80
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
orb85750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,211
Default A2000 Fried by user error -- question

My brother plugged in an external floppy to his A2000 while the machine was on. Now the computer doesn't boot at all. It powers on fine, but he gets only a black screen. What component(s) is most likely fried?
orb85750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 04:03 PM   #2
CSixx
Technoid
Points: 5,719, Level: 48 Points: 5,719, Level: 48 Points: 5,719, Level: 48
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tacoma, Wa
Posts: 312
Default Re: A2000 Fried by user error -- question

I've shorted mine out quite a few times on the floppy, the serial port, etc... Same result, black screen. As unlikely as it sounds, i leave it off for a day then turn it on and it magically works again.

But maybe I've just been lucky.
CSixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 04:53 PM   #3
orb85750
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,613, Level: 80 Points: 15,613, Level: 80 Points: 15,613, Level: 80
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
orb85750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: A2000 Fried by user error -- question

It happened a few days ago. We tried that by default. The magic didn't work for us. :-(
orb85750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 10:34 PM   #4
drwho
Technoid
Points: 6,869, Level: 54 Points: 6,869, Level: 54 Points: 6,869, Level: 54
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
drwho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 205
Send a message via ICQ to drwho Send a message via AIM to drwho
Default Re: A2000 Fried by user error -- question

That could be the 5v rail on the power supply.

If you want, you can test this with a cheap meter on the red (+5v) of one of the large, white "molex" power connectors.

Hope this helps,
Mike
__________________
Amiga 2000: GVP TekMagic 060@50Mhz C:2MB F:128MB Retina Z2 HydraII
Amiga 3000T: A3640 C:2MB F:128MB Picasso II X-Surf
drwho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 12:13 AM   #5
actung_bab
Cult Member
Points: 6,503, Level: 52 Points: 6,503, Level: 52 Points: 6,503, Level: 52
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
 
actung_bab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 650
Default Re: A2000 Fried by user error -- question

yes did the same thing with my amiga 4000 just after worked on it for year getting parts putting it together aggg i was pluging in internal floppy sitched it on a made a arching sound , and result is the same . am hoping it power supply as well , but got wait
to amiga guy here in nz back from south pole end the year aghhhh been like year already
__________________
Acthung baby
telnet://midnight-blue.dyndns.org
Cnet 4.60 PRO bbs software
Amiga 1200 020 14 mhz mbz 1200 z pcmcia network card 4 meg ram 2 Gb scandisk cf
Amiga 2000 020
Amiga 4000 030 25 mhz broken
Amiga x 4 1200
x 6 Sony Ps 3 Orginal 60 gb 4 port usb 160 gb hd (os 4.1 ready :-)
what can i say i like thse machines
x 3 XBOX 360 1x xbox 360 slim
url=http://avatars.jurko.net]http://img1.jurko.net/avatar_10587.jpg[/url]
actung_bab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 09:58 AM   #6
spaceman88
Technoid
Points: 7,406, Level: 57 Points: 7,406, Level: 57 Points: 7,406, Level: 57
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 274
Default Re: A2000 Fried by user error -- question

Quote:
Originally Posted by orb85750 View Post
My brother plugged in an external floppy to his A2000 while the machine was on. Now the computer doesn't boot at all. It powers on fine, but he gets only a black screen. What component(s) is most likely fried?
Try swapping the CIA chips. I burnt one out by plugging my monitor into the serial port ( yes I know!! :-). If you get a different problem you can order a replacement.
spaceman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a2000 , error , fried , question , user

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump