amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:37 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

» Amiga.org » Amiga computer related discussion » Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion » Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2011, 05:50 AM   #1
killer
Beginner
Points: 8,689, Level: 62 Points: 8,689, Level: 62 Points: 8,689, Level: 62
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sanremo
Posts: 29
Default Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

Last night i was wondering why there is no new hardware for morph os, os4 has the sam440, the new460ex and when available the new x-1000 (plus the old amiga one and micro).. yes i know there are the mac but all this hardware is old and used without any sort of warranty..
killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 05:51 AM   #2
bitman
Technoid
Points: 4,600, Level: 43 Points: 4,600, Level: 43 Points: 4,600, Level: 43
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
 
bitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Planet Amiga
Posts: 208
Default Re: Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

The userbase is probably even smaller than OS4, so no one dares investing in it. But MorphOS could probably be ported to the existing new hardware if the developers wanted to.
bitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 05:58 AM   #3
tone007
sad moaning faced git
Points: 15,075, Level: 79 Points: 15,075, Level: 79 Points: 15,075, Level: 79
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
tone007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via AIM to tone007
Default Re: Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

Quote:
Originally Posted by killer View Post
yes i know there are the mac but all this hardware is old and used without any sort of warranty..
But you can buy 4 or 5 Apple systems for the price of just one of those low-production systems!
__________________
3 Commodore file cabinets, 2 Commodore USB turntables, 1 AmigaWorld beer mug
Alienware M14x i7 laptop running AmigaForever
tone007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 06:01 AM   #4
Krashan
Technoid
Points: 8,643, Level: 62 Points: 8,643, Level: 62 Points: 8,643, Level: 62
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Krashan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Białystok, Poland
Posts: 205
Default Re: Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

all this hardware is old and used without any sort of warranty..

Who cares if it is dirt cheap? One fails, you buy another. On the other hand, this hardware is of high quality and risk of failure is low.
__________________
Homepage · MorphOS Files · DigiBooster 3
Krashan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 06:03 AM   #5
itix
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,207, Level: 74 Points: 13,207, Level: 74 Points: 13,207, Level: 74
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
itix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,111
Default Re: Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

There is quite good reason: there is no reasonably priced new hardware. On the other hand Macs have one good advantage: it has got the name ;-)
__________________
English Amiga Board
Only MorphOS makes it possible \o_
itix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 06:05 AM   #6
takemehomegrandma
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 20,168, Level: 89 Points: 20,168, Level: 89 Points: 20,168, Level: 89
Activity: 36% Activity: 36% Activity: 36%
 
takemehomegrandma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,926
Default Re: Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

Quote:
Originally Posted by killer View Post
Last night i was wondering why there is no new hardware for morph os, os4 has the sam440, the new460ex and when available the new x-1000
Because the hardware that MorphOS is available for is way, way faster, way, way cheaper than the ones you mentioned. MorphOS runs on mainstream PPC HW that is proven and very easy to get a hold of.

The Sam/X1000 route is nothing but pointless madness.

Quote:
yes i know there are the mac but all this hardware is old and used without any sort of warranty..
That old hardware is still much faster than the HW you mentioned above, you can have it repaired by any Apple dealer, or if you don't bother with that, you can easily buy several spare machines and still be *way* under the cost for one single, low performing Sam. There really is no problem!
__________________
MorphOS is Amiga done right!
takemehomegrandma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 06:06 AM   #7
JJ
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,704, Level: 90 Points: 20,704, Level: 90 Points: 20,704, Level: 90
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
JJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 3,716
Default Re: Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

I was waiting for this thread to be started.

The main reason I would expect would be who needs new hardware. I doubt anyone in the Morphos wants top pay the prices of the sam when we have more powerful second hand, better designed cheap hardware in lost of quantity.

Come on them supply the figures that show how many copies of OS4 have been sold and how many MorphOS ?
__________________
“We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.” - George Bernard Shaw

Xbox Live: S0ulA55a551n2

Registered MorphsOS 3.4 user
JJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 06:10 AM   #8
JJ
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,704, Level: 90 Points: 20,704, Level: 90 Points: 20,704, Level: 90
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
JJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 3,716
Default Re: Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

The MacMini is an awseome piece of kit, small , silent , well designed. I was sceptical at first. But people who refuse you Mac hardware are blined by the OS. Mac Os sucks balls, well I really don't like it anyway, but your only using the hardware. despite what you think of apple, and i won't buy apple products, they do generally make good looking, robust hardware.
__________________
“We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.” - George Bernard Shaw

Xbox Live: S0ulA55a551n2

Registered MorphsOS 3.4 user
JJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 06:19 AM   #9
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

I see a lot of folk mentioning cheap Macs here, I don't call the 350 quid I paid a few months ago for this old iMacG5 cheap and you'll very rarely see one going for much less on ebay. So where do you all buy these cheap Macs ???

Im also led to believe that MorphOS can't even be used on the G5 (something to do with the GFX Card I think) which is a shame as I reckon anything must be better than Mac OSX 10.5 ...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 06:24 AM   #10
redrumloa
Original Omega User
Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
redrumloa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,126
Blog Entries: 4
Send a message via AIM to redrumloa
Default Re: Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

Quote:
Originally Posted by killer View Post
Last night i was wondering why there is no new hardware for morph os, os4 has the sam440, the new460ex and when available the new x-1000 (plus the old amiga one and micro).. yes i know there are the mac but all this hardware is old and used without any sort of warranty..
My 1.25Ghz eMac cost me $30. I could buy 30 spare computers at this price and still have spent less than a Sam460.

BTW, I do not bad mouth Acube. They seem to be a real company with real product and real warranty, something that cannot be said of some previous "Amiga" hardware vendors. I simply have no use or desire for their product.
__________________
Someone has to state the obvious and that someone is me!
redrumloa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 06:30 AM   #11
redrumloa
Original Omega User
Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
redrumloa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,126
Blog Entries: 4
Send a message via AIM to redrumloa
Default Re: Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franko View Post
I see a lot of folk mentioning cheap Macs here, I don't call the 350 quid I paid a few months ago for this old iMacG5 cheap and you'll very rarely see one going for much less on ebay. So where do you all buy these cheap Macs ???
The Thunderbird Swap Shop is where I got mine, paid $30 for a 1.25Ghz eMac. I eventually plan on getting a top end G4 Power Mac or possibly a top end G5 Power Mac. From research the G4 will run me $100-$150 max, the G5 would be $200-$350 max. Some people have an inflated view of what their computers are worth, like idiots on Craigslist asking $400 for an eMac. You just have to filter those idiots out and find the real sellers.
__________________
Someone has to state the obvious and that someone is me!
redrumloa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 06:32 AM   #12
Piru
' union select name,pwd--
Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
Piru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 6,946
Default Re: Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franko View Post
Im also led to believe that MorphOS can't even be used on the G5 (something to do with the GFX Card I think)
MorphOS doesn't yet support PowerMac G5. The currently supported hardware is listed here: http://www.morphos-team.net/hardware.html
Piru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 06:37 AM   #13
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piru View Post
MorphOS doesn't yet support PowerMac G5. The currently supported hardware is listed here: http://www.morphos-team.net/hardware.html
Thanks anyway Piru, You pointed me to that link before when I asked about the G4 I bought just before the G5 and the GFX card in my G4 isn't supported either...

(I must be buying the wrong type of iMacs...)
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 06:39 AM   #14
killer
Beginner
Points: 8,689, Level: 62 Points: 8,689, Level: 62 Points: 8,689, Level: 62
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sanremo
Posts: 29
Default Re: Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

Mac are all used and out of production and i don't think apple repeairs them at low price.. btw if you are happy to look for used refurbished hw then you are welcome..
killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 06:40 AM   #15
zylesea
Cult Member
Points: 7,981, Level: 60 Points: 7,981, Level: 60 Points: 7,981, Level: 60
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
zylesea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bielefed, F.R.Germany
Posts: 565
Default Re: Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

Quote:
Originally Posted by killer View Post
Last night i was wondering why there is no new hardware for morph os, os4 has the sam440, the new460ex and when available the new x-1000 (plus the old amiga one and micro).. yes i know there are the mac but all this hardware is old and used without any sort of warranty..
Folks in butterfly country usually are able to do some basic economic calculation. If there was sustainable demand there would be a product. Seems like currently there is no sustainable demand.
zylesea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 06:42 AM   #16
killer
Beginner
Points: 8,689, Level: 62 Points: 8,689, Level: 62 Points: 8,689, Level: 62
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sanremo
Posts: 29
Default Re: Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

Quote:
Originally Posted by zylesea View Post
Folks in butterfly country usually are able to do some basic economic calculation. If there was sustainable demand there would be a product. Seems like currently there is no sustainable demand.
ok i understood, so the problem is the user base..
killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 06:45 AM   #17
tone007
sad moaning faced git
Points: 15,075, Level: 79 Points: 15,075, Level: 79 Points: 15,075, Level: 79
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
tone007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via AIM to tone007
Default Re: Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franko View Post
(I must be buying the wrong type of iMacs...)
I think all iMacs are wrong if you want to run MorphOS.

You need an eMac. http://shop.ebay.co.uk/i.html?_nkw=e....c0.m270.l1313

Even those are cheap over in the UK.
__________________
3 Commodore file cabinets, 2 Commodore USB turntables, 1 AmigaWorld beer mug
Alienware M14x i7 laptop running AmigaForever
tone007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 06:46 AM   #18
Golem!dk
Technoid
Points: 6,795, Level: 54 Points: 6,795, Level: 54 Points: 6,795, Level: 54
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
Golem!dk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 414
Default Re: Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

Quote:
Originally Posted by killer View Post
ok i understood, so the problem is the user base..
The user base might not see it as such a problem, I'm quite happy with my MorphOS hardware, try to wrap your head around that. What hardware are you using?
__________________
~
Golem!dk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 06:47 AM   #19
tone007
sad moaning faced git
Points: 15,075, Level: 79 Points: 15,075, Level: 79 Points: 15,075, Level: 79
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
tone007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via AIM to tone007
Default Re: Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

Quote:
Originally Posted by killer View Post
ok i understood, so the problem is the user base..
Actually, there is no "problem" that I can see. Feel free to keep inventing them, though.
__________________
3 Commodore file cabinets, 2 Commodore USB turntables, 1 AmigaWorld beer mug
Alienware M14x i7 laptop running AmigaForever
tone007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 06:50 AM   #20
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: Why no new hardware for MorphOS??

Quote:
Originally Posted by tone007 View Post
I think all iMacs are wrong if you want to run MorphOS.

You need an eMac. http://shop.ebay.co.uk/i.html?_nkw=e....c0.m270.l1313

Even those are cheap over in the UK.
Crap... those are cheap...

I've just spent well over £400 on ebay this week buying some spare VIC20s & C64s, I could have bought a bucket load of them Macs for that...

Methinks I'm gonna have to build a bigger house...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
morphos , hardware

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump