amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:10 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion FPGA Replay Board

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2010, 07:40 AM   #16
freqmax
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 14,472, Level: 78 Points: 14,472, Level: 78 Points: 14,472, Level: 78
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,075
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

How much does the pcb board itself without any components cost?
(size?, layers?)
freqmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 07:18 AM   #17
mikej
Cult Member
Points: 8,439, Level: 61 Points: 8,439, Level: 61 Points: 8,439, Level: 61
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 740
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

It's 6 layers and you can get the size from the drawing on the website.

I'm not prepared to discuss component pricing as the board is not available (and no use) on it's own - you can't self assemble this.

It's pretty tough to hit the price point I am offering it for in these volumes. When the manufacture moves completely to China it will be a little less.
Mike
mikej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 09:12 AM   #18
freqmax
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 14,472, Level: 78 Points: 14,472, Level: 78 Points: 14,472, Level: 78
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,075
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Just curious what pcb price you got for small runs for use in other non-amiga related projects
freqmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 09:43 AM   #19
mikej
Cult Member
Points: 8,439, Level: 61 Points: 8,439, Level: 61 Points: 8,439, Level: 61
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 740
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Sure,
The PCB company I use is called Shenzhen Gold Sky
http://www.gsspcb.com/en/

My contact is called Lily, who is great.
The price depends a lot on volume and the design, so send them the manufacturing data and get a quote. The NRE is quite high so you need to be looking at 50+ to make the overall price good, then it gets quite cheap.
Best,
Mike
mikej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 09:36 PM   #20
freqmax
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 14,472, Level: 78 Points: 14,472, Level: 78 Points: 14,472, Level: 78
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,075
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

I think a small run = 4 cards, I thought you used another one more physically close.

As I recall you used one company for the first 10 (or one?), and another one for the full 50?
freqmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 07:38 AM   #21
wizard66
Technoid
Points: 6,624, Level: 53 Points: 6,624, Level: 53 Points: 6,624, Level: 53
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
wizard66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Spijkenisse, Netherlands
Posts: 244
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by yaqube View Post
Frankly speaking there is not much to show right now. Everything has been delayed slightly.

I should get the new revision of the board shortly after Mike has verified the design. The daughter board should be ready in January.

In the meantime Tobias has managed to implement missing bitfield instructions. It has increased the core size to 75% of the FPGA.

We are still working on fixing minor problems. Finally we've got the RNC Copy Lock games to work.
@Yacube can i use my new unused ceramic PGA 060 rev 6 (71E41J) on your daughter board ?
__________________
-=* Homemade Minimig's Build 09 *=-

1x FPGAARCADE Replay v1.0B (Inside a A590 case)
Dreaming of 1x FPGAArcade Daughter-board :-) (inline from day 1)
1x A600

Last edited by wizard66; 01-02-2011 at 07:45 AM..
wizard66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 07:39 AM   #22
espskog
Technoid
Points: 13,617, Level: 75 Points: 13,617, Level: 75 Points: 13,617, Level: 75
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 210
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Are the PCB's similar for the 1st and 2nd run ?

Last edited by espskog; 01-02-2011 at 11:04 AM..
espskog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 08:22 AM   #23
yaqube
Technoid
Points: 5,126, Level: 45 Points: 5,126, Level: 45 Points: 5,126, Level: 45
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 197
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by wizard66 View Post
can i use my new unused ceramic PGA 060 rev 6 (71E41J) on your daughter board ?
Definitely
yaqube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 08:42 AM   #24
wizard66
Technoid
Points: 6,624, Level: 53 Points: 6,624, Level: 53 Points: 6,624, Level: 53
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
wizard66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Spijkenisse, Netherlands
Posts: 244
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by yaqube View Post
Definitely
Sweet, i'm happy that I hold back this CPU then ;-)
Maybe it's possible to overclock the cpu in the future this cpu can run 80 mhz easy..
__________________
-=* Homemade Minimig's Build 09 *=-

1x FPGAARCADE Replay v1.0B (Inside a A590 case)
Dreaming of 1x FPGAArcade Daughter-board :-) (inline from day 1)
1x A600

Last edited by wizard66; 01-02-2011 at 09:12 AM..
wizard66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 09:52 AM   #25
DCAmiga
Hobbyist
Points: 2,853, Level: 32 Points: 2,853, Level: 32 Points: 2,853, Level: 32
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
DCAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA, native of Sydney
Posts: 70
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by wizard66 View Post
Sweet, i'm happy that I hold back this CPU then ;-)
Maybe it's possible to overclock the cpu in the future this cpu can run 80 mhz easy..
Or maybe in a few years it will be much, much faster take a look at this up coming FPGA technology:
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencete...es-faster.html


__________________
Amiga 500, 1/2 Meg Trap Door, RocTec HD, Slim External Floppy (DF1), KS Switcher: KS 1.3 & KS 2.04 (1987-1995)
PeeCee Box, W7 - WinUAE
Dell Inspiron 14R - laptop
Sony PS3
Sony PSP
Nintendo Wii
Nintendo 3DS
DCAmiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 11:14 AM   #26
espskog
Technoid
Points: 13,617, Level: 75 Points: 13,617, Level: 75 Points: 13,617, Level: 75
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 210
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Hehe...How fast minimig do we need :-) I am just glad to hear RTG is in the pipeline so that we can glue the Replay board to the back of a monsterous Apple 24" screen and thus use the Replay board as a kick ass Classic usage with workbench and super-speed and a nice resolution. I believe Mike or Yaqube mentioned that 1680x 1050 should be possible to produce. That's gonna be very nice... :-)
espskog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 11:25 AM   #27
freqmax
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 14,472, Level: 78 Points: 14,472, Level: 78 Points: 14,472, Level: 78
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,075
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

I think 80 MHz signaling speed with the FPGA might be a stretch. It requires some consideration.

Last edited by freqmax; 01-02-2011 at 11:27 AM..
freqmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 12:51 PM   #28
wawrzon
Defender of the Faith
Points: 8,253, Level: 61 Points: 8,253, Level: 61 Points: 8,253, Level: 61
Activity: 46% Activity: 46% Activity: 46%
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,504
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by espskog View Post
Hehe...How fast minimig do we need :-) I am just glad to hear RTG is in the pipeline so that we can glue the Replay board to the back of a monsterous Apple 24" screen and thus use the Replay board as a kick ass Classic usage with workbench and super-speed and a nice resolution. I believe Mike or Yaqube mentioned that 1680x 1050 should be possible to produce. That's gonna be very nice... :-)
should not be a problem if it comes to amiga68k rtg solutions, my main 4000er handles that alright even under p96. cant use the (expensive&%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!ty/4.2 dumb users) mac display i have standing here cause it doesnt accept analogue signals anymore.
wawrzon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 01:42 PM   #29
espskog
Technoid
Points: 13,617, Level: 75 Points: 13,617, Level: 75 Points: 13,617, Level: 75
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 210
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by freqmax View Post
I think 80 MHz signaling speed with the FPGA might be a stretch. It requires some consideration.
Even 66Mhz 060 would be pretty cool :-)
espskog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 01:48 PM   #30
espskog
Technoid
Points: 13,617, Level: 75 Points: 13,617, Level: 75 Points: 13,617, Level: 75
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 210
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by wawrzon View Post
should not be a problem if it comes to amiga68k rtg solutions, my main 4000er handles that alright even under p96. cant use the (expensive&%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!ty/4.2 dumb users) mac display i have standing here cause it doesnt accept analogue signals anymore.
If I recall correctly, the Replay board has DVI output which the Apple Display should like. Anyway, I think I will buy something else which does not cost a zillion extra for the apple logo

Espen
espskog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
fpga , replay , board

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump