amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:48 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion FPGA Replay Board

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2013, 02:38 AM   #3081
gaula92
Technoid
Points: 7,189, Level: 56 Points: 7,189, Level: 56 Points: 7,189, Level: 56
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 373
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosLord View Post
Its slavery. Slavery is wrong. Period.
Slavery is an euphemism for capitalism here, imho.
Capitalism is killing us all.
gaula92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 04:47 AM   #3082
psxphill
Defender of the Faith
Points: 7,123, Level: 55 Points: 7,123, Level: 55 Points: 7,123, Level: 55
Activity: 55% Activity: 55% Activity: 55%
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by gaula92 View Post
Slavery is an euphemism for capitalism here, imho.
Capitalism is killing us all.
Without capitalism we wouldn't have computers.
psxphill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 05:08 AM   #3083
gaula92
Technoid
Points: 7,189, Level: 56 Points: 7,189, Level: 56 Points: 7,189, Level: 56
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 373
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by psxphill View Post
Without capitalism we wouldn't have computers.
That's NOT true. URSS wasn't capitalist (and I don't condone state communism) and they had computers.
gaula92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 05:13 AM   #3084
mikej
Cult Member
Points: 8,612, Level: 62 Points: 8,612, Level: 62 Points: 8,612, Level: 62
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 744
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosLord View Post
Your statement is only true if the HDMI MAFIA sue the manufacturer and win the court case which requires them to persuade/threaten/bribe a judge and jury into accepting that slavery and extortion are part of civilized behavior.

The concept that the MAFIA can own all the connectors past, present and future, of the entire universe is ridiculously immoral, vile and evil.

I mean they claim to own WIRES. Wires! Wires have been around for centuries! How can you own wires that you didn't pay for? How can you own wires 1000 years in the future built by ppl who don't exist in your lifetime?

Its slavery. Slavery is wrong. Period.
Not saying I agree with it for sure....
http://www.hdmi.org/manufacturer/terms.aspx

That is why I use a DVI connector - which is open. Fortunately HDMI protocol is a superset of DVI, so an HDMI input will accept DVI.

There would be nothing to stop you running embedded audio and high resolution HDMI formats over the DVI connector of course, if the PHY supported it.

Directly connecting the FPGA has it's own issues with signal quality at higher resolutions, the IO is not really up to the job. Let's see what the new generation FPGAs can do.
/MikeJ
mikej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 05:14 AM   #3085
ElPolloDiabl
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,732, Level: 80 Points: 15,732, Level: 80 Points: 15,732, Level: 80
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,360
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

The problem isn't capitalism, it's greed. There is also the welfare mentality, "I should have stuff for free".
__________________
Go Go Gadget Signature!
ElPolloDiabl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 05:14 AM   #3086
psxphill
Defender of the Faith
Points: 7,123, Level: 55 Points: 7,123, Level: 55 Points: 7,123, Level: 55
Activity: 55% Activity: 55% Activity: 55%
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
more gates means better functionality
Only within the same architecture, Spartan 6 & Spartan 3E are different architecture. The Spartan 6 LX45 seems to be just a little more expensive than the Spartan 3E with 1.6M gates, while the Spartan 6 has less gates it has more units.

I don't know enough about the different FPGA architectures to determine which is better.

http://uk.rs-online.com/web/c/semico...of+Logic+Cells

Last edited by psxphill; 08-18-2013 at 05:20 AM..
psxphill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 05:23 AM   #3087
gaula92
Technoid
Points: 7,189, Level: 56 Points: 7,189, Level: 56 Points: 7,189, Level: 56
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 373
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElPolloDiabl View Post
The problem isn't capitalism, it's greed. There is also the welfare mentality, "I should have stuff for free".
Capitalism = greed, by definition.
gaula92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 05:39 AM   #3088
psxphill
Defender of the Faith
Points: 7,123, Level: 55 Points: 7,123, Level: 55 Points: 7,123, Level: 55
Activity: 55% Activity: 55% Activity: 55%
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikej View Post
Directly connecting the FPGA has it's own issues with signal quality at higher resolutions, the IO is not really up to the job. Let's see what the new generation FPGAs can do.
/MikeJ
The pipistrello will be interesting to watch, although I'd like to see something a bit more than 8 bit.

http://www.gadgetfactory.net/2013/07...e-pipistrello/

Xilinx seem to be pushing HDMI now, all their evaluation boards seem to have them. I don't know what resolution their higher end FPGA's can achieve though.

Last edited by psxphill; 08-18-2013 at 06:08 AM..
psxphill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 05:56 AM   #3089
Everblue
Technoid
Points: 13,617, Level: 75 Points: 13,617, Level: 75 Points: 13,617, Level: 75
Activity: 50% Activity: 50% Activity: 50%
 
Everblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Malta, EU
Posts: 490
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

When I owned an original Dreambox DM800s, which is an HD box, it had a DVI connector on the back. It came with a DVI to HDMI cable and HAD audio. So I guess there is a way around it.
Everblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 06:05 AM   #3090
ChaosLord
Premium Member
Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
ChaosLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,528
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by gaula92 View Post
Slavery is an euphemism for capitalism here, imho.
Capitalism is killing us all.
Slavery is a euphemism for Communism here. Communism is killing us all.

Capitalists don't make laws. Governments make laws. Most capitalists are against the idea of owning "concepts" and "ideas".

Of course evil capitalists do favor owning "ideas" and "slavery" and etc. But it isn't capitalism in general.

The HDMI MAFIA has nothing to do with capitalism and it is totally irrelevant whether the mafia enforcers are capitalists, communists or some other religion. Its all irrelevant. All that matters is it is wrong, immoral and against the good of the people.

Anything that restricts the advancement of technology hurts civilization.


Capitalism is only the right to spend your money how you want. THAT IS ALL.

Capitalism has nothing to do with telling MikeJ he can't practice freedom of expression and solder wires any way he damned well pleases. Don't confuse separate issues!

The HDMI MAFIA opposes Capitalism. This proves they are not Capitalists. Capitalists believe that anyone can build anything they want any time they want and sell it or give it away for any price they want. The HDMI MAFIA does not want capitalists giving away free HDMI devices.

HDMI is AntiCapitalist.

DVI is Capitalist.

DVI does not charge you money to solder wires.

DVI mobsters don't threaten you if you put a DVI connector on a circuit board.

DVI Gangsters don't call up Mike and demand a cut of the action.

DVI produces the same quality of video signal that HDMI does.

DVI is free for all capitalists to use as they see fit.

HDMI is dangerous. If you fail to pay your protection money to the racket then you could have your life ruined in a "court" of "law".
__________________
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
ChaosLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 08:00 AM   #3091
JimS
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,218, Level: 69 Points: 11,218, Level: 69 Points: 11,218, Level: 69
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
JimS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 1,109
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Let's keep the politics out of this thread, please!
__________________
Obsolescence is futile. You will be emulated. - Amigus of Borg
JimS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 10:52 AM   #3092
freqmax
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 15,399, Level: 80 Points: 15,399, Level: 80 Points: 15,399, Level: 80
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,179
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by Everblue View Post
When I owned an original Dreambox DM800s, which is an HD box, it had a DVI connector on the back. It came with a DVI to HDMI cable and HAD audio. So I guess there is a way around it.
But what does physically generate the signals if the FPGA I/O isn't up to it?

Regarding HDMI at large it has the attributes of legal entrapment and should be avoided as much as possible. Ie don't use HDMI encoders, HDMI connectors, select players and TVs without it etc. Make use of DisplayPort and similar free video interfaces.

Last edited by freqmax; 08-18-2013 at 11:12 AM..
freqmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 04:51 PM   #3093
psxphill
Defender of the Faith
Points: 7,123, Level: 55 Points: 7,123, Level: 55 Points: 7,123, Level: 55
Activity: 55% Activity: 55% Activity: 55%
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by freqmax View Post
But what does physically generate the signals if the FPGA I/O isn't up to it?

Regarding HDMI at large it has the attributes of legal entrapment and should be avoided as much as possible. Ie don't use HDMI encoders, HDMI connectors, select players and TVs without it etc. Make use of DisplayPort and similar free video interfaces.
According to http://www.dream-multimedia-tv.de/board/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=12016

Dreambox DM8000 uses a http://mipt.cc:8080/index.php?title=BCM7400
As the HDMI encoder is embedded in the CPU and the board has a DVI output, then they may have argued that it doesn't need an HDMI license. However they might have paid one anyway, we don't know.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Everblue View Post
When I owned an original Dreambox DM800s, which is an HD box, it had a DVI connector on the back. It came with a DVI to HDMI cable and HAD audio. So I guess there is a way around it.
There is a solution, you use an HDMI compatible PHY. But the FPGA replay doesn't have one & it's a bit late to start thinking about adding one.

Last edited by psxphill; 08-18-2013 at 04:59 PM..
psxphill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 05:50 PM   #3094
freqmax
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 15,399, Level: 80 Points: 15,399, Level: 80 Points: 15,399, Level: 80
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,179
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Ok so can Spartan-6 LX FPGA make HDMI video+audio signals or is that "too hard" for it to accomplish?

Is "RocketPort" uncapable of this too?
freqmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 06:30 PM   #3095
psxphill
Defender of the Faith
Points: 7,123, Level: 55 Points: 7,123, Level: 55 Points: 7,123, Level: 55
Activity: 55% Activity: 55% Activity: 55%
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by freqmax View Post
Ok so can Spartan-6 LX FPGA make HDMI video+audio signals or is that "too hard" for it to accomplish?
The spectrum HDMI video I posted shows it can, the fpga isn't rated to 1080p but it seems with a wing and a prayer it seems to work.
psxphill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 08:03 PM   #3096
freqmax
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 15,399, Level: 80 Points: 15,399, Level: 80 Points: 15,399, Level: 80
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,179
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Alright so it's just a question of changing the line coding and stuffing the right data to get HDMI with audio. Of course as soon as commercial standard TVs comes with open interfaces such as DisplayPort the whole HDMI crap will be dumped.

So now we have a development roadmap where HDMI video+audio compatibility can be accomplished without getting entrapped.

Amiga coders hopefully generate a strong force field of wings and prayers
freqmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 04:40 AM   #3097
AJCopland
Cult Member
Points: 8,079, Level: 60 Points: 8,079, Level: 60 Points: 8,079, Level: 60
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
AJCopland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 854
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Any news on when we might actually be able to get one of these FPGAArcade boards?

I think I must be on a list somewhere having enquired numerous times over the years.
AJCopland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 05:08 AM   #3098
Everblue
Technoid
Points: 13,617, Level: 75 Points: 13,617, Level: 75 Points: 13,617, Level: 75
Activity: 50% Activity: 50% Activity: 50%
 
Everblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Malta, EU
Posts: 490
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

So am I :P
Everblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 05:52 AM   #3099
mikej
Cult Member
Points: 8,612, Level: 62 Points: 8,612, Level: 62 Points: 8,612, Level: 62
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 744
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by Everblue View Post
So am I :P
Actually pretty soon, I have hundreds of the damn things I need to get rid off.
Just want to make sure they work.
If you don't want the Amiga core you can have em now ...
/Mike
mikej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 05:54 AM   #3100
Everblue
Technoid
Points: 13,617, Level: 75 Points: 13,617, Level: 75 Points: 13,617, Level: 75
Activity: 50% Activity: 50% Activity: 50%
 
Everblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Malta, EU
Posts: 490
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

@MikeJ

I only intend to use it as an Amiga. Basically running an .HDF file with Workbench 3.1, WHDload and a bunch of games.

- Will the core in its current status be able to handle this ?

I also need:

- RGB/Scart Cable
- ATX adapter
- Backplate

Thanks!

Last edited by Everblue; 08-19-2013 at 07:48 AM..
Everblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
fpga , replay , board

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump