amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:30 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Overtaxing PSU?

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2014, 08:18 PM   #1
Matt_H
VIP / Donor
Points: 24,129, Level: 94 Points: 24,129, Level: 94 Points: 24,129, Level: 94
Activity: 61% Activity: 61% Activity: 61%
 
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston, MA, United States
Posts: 5,250
Default Overtaxing PSU?

Hello all,

Having some trouble with my 4000T and I'm beginning to suspect it's the power supply. The PSU is fairly new and hasn't been used much, so it shouldn't be worn out at this point, but I'm wondering if it's just not powerful enough. My previous supply was 300W, which I thought was overkill, so when I found a replacement that was 230W I figured it would be okay. Perhaps not.

In short, do you think 230W is enough to power...?
4000T motherboard
CSPPC + replacement fan
5 Zorro cards
2 CD drives
1 (10,000 RPM SCSI) hard drive
1 floppy drive
1 case fan with LEDs

Symptoms are some slight instability, hard drive sometimes seems to stop and start spinning, trouble reading CDs. These seem to clear up if I disconnect a few things. Basically just looking to get some confirmation from the experts here before I plunk down $30 on a more powerful PSU

Thanks!
Matt_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 09:34 PM   #2
danbeaver
Lifetime Member
Points: 4,832, Level: 44 Points: 4,832, Level: 44 Points: 4,832, Level: 44
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,092
Cool Re: Overtaxing PSU?

Even the new AT PSU's can fail. While a more robust 300 or 400W AT PSU can be found on the web, you may want to check out your 230W supply (which should be adequate for your hardware) to make sure the voltage is constant under load without ripples and drop outs. This problems will cause odd failures that are unpredictable. Except for the mostly unused -12V line, an ATX PSU can be modified to supply the power and the mATX ones can fit into an AT style PSU box so the hardware lines up with the mountings.
danbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:42 PM   #3
Matt_H
VIP / Donor
Points: 24,129, Level: 94 Points: 24,129, Level: 94 Points: 24,129, Level: 94
Activity: 61% Activity: 61% Activity: 61%
 
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston, MA, United States
Posts: 5,250
Default Re: Overtaxing PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by danbeaver View Post
Even the new AT PSU's can fail. While a more robust 300 or 400W AT PSU can be found on the web, you may want to check out your 230W supply (which should be adequate for your hardware) to make sure the voltage is constant under load without ripples and drop outs. This problems will cause odd failures that are unpredictable. Except for the mostly unused -12V line, an ATX PSU can be modified to supply the power and the mATX ones can fit into an AT style PSU box so the hardware lines up with the mountings.
Hmm, either way I'd be looking at a new PSU... may as well go for the drop-in AT replacement...
Matt_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:11 PM   #4
QuikSanz
Cult Member
Points: 10,286, Level: 67 Points: 10,286, Level: 67 Points: 10,286, Level: 67
Activity: 28% Activity: 28% Activity: 28%
 
QuikSanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Surf City, Huntington Beach, Ca.
Posts: 620
Default Re: Overtaxing PSU?

Hmm, at 115V AC, US power voltage, that's a whole 2 amps. This may not be enough for a PPC card and you other cards/expansions. I may be tempted to go with a 350Watt to be sure is has a bit to spare.

Chris
QuikSanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:48 PM   #5
danbeaver
Lifetime Member
Points: 4,832, Level: 44 Points: 4,832, Level: 44 Points: 4,832, Level: 44
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,092
Question Re: Overtaxing PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuikSanz View Post
Hmm, at 115V AC, US power voltage, that's a whole 2 amps. This may not be enough for a PPC card and you other cards/expansions. I may be tempted to go with a 350Watt to be sure is has a bit to spare.

Chris
Really? I have an A4000D with CSPPC, two UWSCSI drives, DVD-R/W, Mediator with Radeon 9200, SB128, RTL8139, and Spider USB on the standard 140W PSU running for years without problems. I never knew it was under powered.
danbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:09 PM   #6
QuikSanz
Cult Member
Points: 10,286, Level: 67 Points: 10,286, Level: 67 Points: 10,286, Level: 67
Activity: 28% Activity: 28% Activity: 28%
 
QuikSanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Surf City, Huntington Beach, Ca.
Posts: 620
Default Re: Overtaxing PSU?

The newer ones are not what they used to be. Switching types seem to be less efficient at higher output %. not sure.

Chris

Edited

Last edited by QuikSanz; Yesterday at 08:20 PM..
QuikSanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:25 PM   #7
Matt_H
VIP / Donor
Points: 24,129, Level: 94 Points: 24,129, Level: 94 Points: 24,129, Level: 94
Activity: 61% Activity: 61% Activity: 61%
 
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston, MA, United States
Posts: 5,250
Default Re: Overtaxing PSU?

350W AT supplies seem to be a bit hard to find, unfortunately, but 300W ones are readily available.

Dan, it doesn't surprise me that your original PSU is still working. I think Chris is spot on that they don't make 'em like they used to. There isn't exactly much of a competitive market incentive for high build quality in AT PSUs these days . My 4000T's original PSU lasted from manufacture in 1996 until 2007 under a slightly lighter load, and I think it was 200W. The 300W replacement lasted 2007 until 2012 or 2013, and now it looks like the current 230W may be scrap-ready after only a few weeks of active use (though it's been physically installed longer).

I wonder if I should get 2 new ones so I have a spare...
Matt_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:48 PM   #8
QuikSanz
Cult Member
Points: 10,286, Level: 67 Points: 10,286, Level: 67 Points: 10,286, Level: 67
Activity: 28% Activity: 28% Activity: 28%
 
QuikSanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Surf City, Huntington Beach, Ca.
Posts: 620
Default Re: Overtaxing PSU?

The old ones are brick's, if you still have one send it to that recap guy.

Chris
QuikSanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
overtaxing , psu

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump