amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:53 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 68060 Accelerators

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2010, 10:25 PM   #41
stefcep2
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,489, Level: 65 Points: 9,489, Level: 65 Points: 9,489, Level: 65
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,379
Default Re: 68060 Accelerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franko View Post
I do agree that an RTG board would make things even better but how many folk actually own one



Well I did say somewhere else I'd post some SysSpeed benchmarks for various setups and let folk judge for themselves, as I've never had a slow problem like you describe, I'll do it tomorrow though it's 4:35am here just now and It's time for me 3 hourly sleep...



I've only ever owned an Apollo040 board but I've downloaded some Apollo060 SysSpeed test result from the net and comparing both the Blizzard and the Apollo there were no significant differences.

Find it rather odd that you manged to get AIBB running on an 060 board as AIBB is not compatible with an 060 board, just launched it right now to check and am sitting here staring at the old bright orange software failure message ERROR 8000 000B...

Do you have a special version of AIBB ???
1. syspeed AFAIR isn't as good as AIBB. Can't remember why.

2. To run AIBB on a 68060, you use the 68000 cpu, and a 68882 fpu option, just click the cycle gadget. AIBB then works. It probably underestimates how quick the 68060 is to relative to 68040 and lower cpu (still outperforms them on AIBB benchmarks), but for (at least) the purpose of comparing 68060 boards from differing manufacturers its useful.

eg http://aminet.net/package/util/moni/AIBB_1260, http://aminet.net/package/util/moni/Module68060, http://aminet.net/package/util/moni/p4_A4060

Last edited by stefcep2; 12-22-2010 at 10:28 PM..
stefcep2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 10:26 PM   #42
mechy
Cult Member
Points: 12,892, Level: 74 Points: 12,892, Level: 74 Points: 12,892, Level: 74
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
mechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas,usa
Posts: 927
Send a message via AIM to mechy Send a message via MSN to mechy
Default Re: 68060 Accelerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosLord View Post
Sorry but you did it wrong.

If you had purchased a hardware flickerfixer then your gfx speed would have quadrupled.

You are never ever ever ever supposed to use dblscan modes. They are ridiculously slow.
Uhh no,your wrong, i don't care what flickerfixer you add to A1200 aga is dog dick slow in any amount of reasonable colors(256) or res. you never had a gfx card on an amiga have you?
Aga is fine for games and with a flicker fixer its tolerable to stare at with some apps.

I second the A4000 with 060(csppc even better) and a gfx card.I bought a PIV in 95 and it was the next best thing i could of bought other than the 060 MKII back then.

@franko : sorry mate,get off that mac you are using and go load a 1024x768 24 bit picture on the AGA and see if u can do much with it in decent time or better yet load piles of 24bit pics into a big document in pagestream. I guarantee it will bring that machine to a crawl(yes it can be done though). could This perhaps why you haven't ever browsed on the 1200 matey?
mechy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 10:31 PM   #43
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: 68060 Accelerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefcep2 View Post
1. syspeed AFAIR isn't as good as AIBB. Can't remember why.

2. To run AIBB on a 68060, you use the 68000 cpu, and a 68882 fpu option, just click the cycle gadget. AIBB then works. It probably underestimates how quick the 68060 is to relative to 68040 and lower cpu (still outperforms them), but for the purpose of comparing 68060 boards from differing manufacturers its useful.
1: they both have their differences but both perform the said task in slighlty different manor...

2: You can't run AIBB on an 060 and you don't even get to the option screen it crashes as soon as the checking system text appears, look it's just did it again, you must be using a hacked version ???
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 10:31 PM   #44
zipper
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,658, Level: 76 Points: 13,658, Level: 76 Points: 13,658, Level: 76
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
zipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: finland
Posts: 2,218
Default Re: 68060 Accelerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franko View Post
I thought Karlos was the only one left with an RTG board, and I cant get the bugger to sell me it...
Neither me, having 5 different in 2 towers - sick?
zipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 10:32 PM   #45
stefcep2
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,489, Level: 65 Points: 9,489, Level: 65 Points: 9,489, Level: 65
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,379
Default Re: 68060 Accelerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_leander View Post

Lulz. Owned.
See above

Quote:
Also, aga in 8bit will always be slow, knock it down to 64 and it'll purr along nicely, even with an 040.
Sure if all you want to run is workbench, register paint program, or a WP or text editor.

For software like ImageFX, Photogenics, Arte Effect, any 24 bit renderer, you can't compare AGA with a 24 bit board.
stefcep2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 10:35 PM   #46
stefcep2
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,489, Level: 65 Points: 9,489, Level: 65 Points: 9,489, Level: 65
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,379
Default Re: 68060 Accelerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franko View Post
1: they both have their differences but both perform the said task in slighlty different manor...
i seem to recall that AIBB was a better way to benchmark. Not sure why.
Quote:
2: You can't run AIBB on an 060 and you don't even get to the option screen it crashes as soon as the checking system text appears, look it's just did it again, you must be using a hacked version ???
Just the 6.5 version that comes with classic workbench.

Check the aminet links of other people doing AIBB benchmarks with an '060.
stefcep2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 11:15 PM   #47
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: 68060 Accelerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefcep2 View Post
i seem to recall that AIBB was a better way to benchmark. Not sure why.


Just the 6.5 version that comes with classic workbench.

Check the aminet links of other people doing AIBB benchmarks with an '060.
Damn... Im knackered it's 6:07 and haven't slept since Tuesday but this AIBB thing has been bugging me...

Quick disassemble of AIBB V6.5 (the one I'm using) reveals it can only handle up to 040 boards, so apart from the fact it crashes on an 060 it would be pretty pointless using benchmarks form AIBB to compare 060 boards.

Right I'm off to bed now cos me eye are hanging oot ma heid and my last brain cell has only the strength to guide me to my bed...

So it goodnight from me.. and its goodnight from him...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 11:19 PM   #48
zipper
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,658, Level: 76 Points: 13,658, Level: 76 Points: 13,658, Level: 76
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
zipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: finland
Posts: 2,218
Default Re: 68060 Accelerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefcep2 View Post
i seem to recall that AIBB was a better way to benchmark. Not sure why.
Just the 6.5 version that comes with classic workbench.

Check the aminet links of other people doing AIBB benchmarks with an '060.
Easy - just config AIBB for 68000/68010 with FPU via tooltypes or command line.
zipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 02:11 AM   #49
Xanxi
Cult Member
Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Xanxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 894
Default Re: 68060 Accelerators

Sysspeed is the best benchmark and runs on 060.

About the AGA, i think it is a damn good chipset with amazing performance and speed for something that old. I run everything with it (productivity software, emulator including VGA modes for PCTask or Shapeshifter) very nicely.
__________________
10 Classic Amiga Computers so far: I have too many computers!!
Xanxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 03:52 AM   #50
ElPolloDiabl
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,618, Level: 80 Points: 15,618, Level: 80 Points: 15,618, Level: 80
Activity: 30% Activity: 30% Activity: 30%
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,358
Default Re: 68060 Accelerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xanxi View Post
Sysspeed is the best benchmark and runs on 060.

About the AGA, i think it is a damn good chipset with amazing performance and speed for something that old. I run everything with it (productivity software, emulator including VGA modes for PCTask or Shapeshifter) very nicely.
I don't agree. OCS was awesome for it's time. 8-bit graphics wasn't that much of a leap and the PC and Mac were already there with SVGA/256 color in chunky mode. I guess that was the era of the expandable Wintel box and one reason it is the dominant platform.
__________________
Go Go Gadget Signature!
ElPolloDiabl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 04:42 AM   #51
Digiman
Defender of the Faith
Points: 6,596, Level: 53 Points: 6,596, Level: 53 Points: 6,596, Level: 53
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,045
Default Re: 68060 Accelerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElPolloDiabl View Post
An 030 is also more compatible. If you use your Amiga mainly for games you will be happy with 030.
If you use mostly Apps/Productivity the 060 (or 040) will give you noticeably more speed and would be worth trying to get a hold of one.
Only problem is the 030, save the fact it has higher clock speeds, is no real improvement on an 020. A 28mhz 020 and 30mhz 030 are more or less the same performance in reality.

So my question is....is anyone working on a 50mhz 020 based card if it would cost less? Or are 030s the lowest spec 680x0 based CPU still produced?
Digiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 04:56 AM   #52
ElPolloDiabl
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,618, Level: 80 Points: 15,618, Level: 80 Points: 15,618, Level: 80
Activity: 30% Activity: 30% Activity: 30%
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,358
Default Re: 68060 Accelerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digiman View Post
Only problem is the 030, save the fact it has higher clock speeds, is no real improvement on an 020. A 28mhz 020 and 30mhz 030 are more or less the same performance in reality.

So my question is....is anyone working on a 50mhz 020 based card if it would cost less? Or are 030s the lowest spec 680x0 based CPU still produced?
The 030 might have a handy MMU on it.
__________________
Go Go Gadget Signature!
ElPolloDiabl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 05:45 AM   #53
A1260
Cult Member
Points: 7,387, Level: 57 Points: 7,387, Level: 57 Points: 7,387, Level: 57
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
A1260's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 687
Talking Re: 68060 Accelerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by tone007 View Post
Having an '060 makes your penis bigger.
yeah its like owing a porsche... hahaha!
A1260 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 07:59 AM   #54
AmiDude
Cult Member
Points: 9,133, Level: 64 Points: 9,133, Level: 64 Points: 9,133, Level: 64
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
AmiDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 812
Default Re: 68060 Accelerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franko View Post
...Find it rather odd that you manged to get AIBB running on an 060 board as AIBB is not compatible with an 060 board, just launched it right now to check and am sitting here staring at the old bright orange software failure message ERROR 8000 000B...

Do you have a special version of AIBB ???
To run AIBB on 68060 systems, use the following ToolTypes, then it should work.

CPU=68000
FPU=68060
MMU=68060
CPUSPEED=60.0
FPUSPEED=60.0

Replace the CPU- and FPU-Speed settings with the speed of your CPU.
AmiDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 08:07 AM   #55
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: 68060 Accelerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmiDude View Post
To run AIBB on 68060 systems, use the following ToolTypes, then it should work.

CPU=68000
FPU=68060
MMU=68060
CPUSPEED=60.0
FPUSPEED=60.0

Replace the CPU- and FPU-Speed settings with the speed of your CPU.
Just gonna give that a try thanks, let you know in a couple of minutes...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 08:13 AM   #56
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: 68060 Accelerators

Just gave it a go... non luck I'm afraid...

same result as before = Software Failure 8000 000B

Anyway not much point as it doesn't contain any code to specifically test an 060 for benchmark results... reckon I'll just stick to SysSpeed...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 03:51 PM   #57
stefcep2
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,489, Level: 65 Points: 9,489, Level: 65 Points: 9,489, Level: 65
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,379
Default Re: 68060 Accelerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franko View Post
Just gave it a go... non luck I'm afraid...

same result as before = Software Failure 8000 000B

Anyway not much point as it doesn't contain any code to specifically test an 060 for benchmark results... reckon I'll just stick to SysSpeed...
i used to get that error when using earlier version 68060 libraries, or using a non-commodore 68040.library ( the commodore 68040.library should be 43888 bytes).

on CS II A4000 68060 my libs are set up using these instructions
Quote:
To get a layout which works for every processor use this: *
* *
* 37.30 CBM 68040.library -> libs:68040old.library *
* Phase5 68040.library -> libs:68040new.library *
* Phase5 68060.library -> libs:68060.library *
* Phase5 68040dummy.library -> libs:68040.library
http://phase5.a1k.org/index.php?driverslibraries
stefcep2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 04:43 PM   #58
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: 68060 Accelerators

@ stefcep2

I do use the latest 060 library (Ver46.15)

However on my setup the 040 new/dummy or real libraries are not used or needed so I deleted them years ago. Just the 68060.library is required with my Blizzard060/PPC setup...



Anyway as I say SysInfo is a better tool when it comes to benchmarking an 060
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 06:24 PM   #59
nicholas
VIP / Donor
Points: 20,934, Level: 91 Points: 20,934, Level: 91 Points: 20,934, Level: 91
Activity: 46% Activity: 46% Activity: 46%
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Englistan
Posts: 8,186
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: 68060 Accelerators

cgxsystem and cybergraphics.library with no RTG card?
__________________
Every day is Ashura, every land is Karbala. Allahu akbar va Khamenei rahbar!
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 02:14 AM   #60
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: 68060 Accelerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholas View Post
cgxsystem and cybergraphics.library with no RTG card?
I know, I've had to put them in just now cos a version of Frodo (the C64 emulator) I'm modifying just now requires them...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
accelerators

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump