amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:00 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Marketplace FS/FA Amiga 500/600/1200 custom HD PSU's-100v-240v!

Amiga Marketplace This forum is here so that members can alert other members to Amiga items they've seen on eBay (or other auctions). If you are selling Amiga items on eBay, you might let us know about them here. Likewise, if you're selling Amiga items sans eBay, this is the "for sale" forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2010, 04:27 PM   #1
mechy
Cult Member
Points: 13,068, Level: 74 Points: 13,068, Level: 74 Points: 13,068, Level: 74
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
 
mechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas,usa
Posts: 938
Send a message via AIM to mechy Send a message via MSN to mechy
Exclamation FS/FA Amiga 500/600/1200 custom HD PSU's-100v-240v!

sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out

Ok guys, i have finally tested (5 months!)my New "international" heavy duty 500/600/1200 psu's to the point they are ready to go out in the world. I have made 3 different labels for them.They run on any input from 100 to 240vac.
I can ship these anywhere in the world(erm.. except nigeria lol)
Specs as follows:

This homebrew power supply project was born out of my need for a more powerful true universal 120v/240v 50/60hz power supply that could replace our aging/failing commodore bricks.I wanted a power supply that was much smaller, completely quiet, had a lighted switch so you could tell when it was actually on,even when unplugged from the computer, more powerful than the original,and works on any input voltage from 100 to 240vac without switching anything! A true International switchmode PSU that will work in any country.
This is a brand new off the shelf UL/CE power supply i found and modified with a lighted green switch and new 5 pin square din connector. Unfortunately the din connectors are so hard to find i only managed to source 15 of them and have built 15 complete power supplies.Technically since i modded it,it would no longer be considered UL/CE...I state this so there is no confusion.

APOWER Desktop Amiga Power Supply Features:
Up to 7amps on the 5v rail (original dsp-A500 is 4.5 amps)
1.5amps on the +12 rail (original dsp-A500 is 1 amp)
.3 Amps onthe -12 rail (original dsp-A500 is .1 amp)
Overload Protection
Short protection
Switchmode power supply
Completely silent with a giant heatsink nearly the full length internally
Runs on any input voltage from 100 to 240VAC - AutoSensing so no switches to change!
Lighted Switch (finally!)
Built By a amiga hardware nut for himself and other amiga nuts
About half the size of the original Commodore one making it much more portable
Includes power cord for 110VAC (5ft long) 1.5 meters
Output cable is (3.5ft long) 1.067 meters
Power Supply measures approx. (5" x 3" x 1.5" thick) 127mm x76mm x 38mm
Powerfull enough to run any desktop expansions including blizzard PPC w/Bvision
Tested for 5+ months on a variety of machines: Amiga 500 w/csa derringer 030/50 and gvp Anet ethernet sidecar,A600 with 2M ram expansion and internal cdrom,Several A1200's-Blizzard 030/50,Dkb 030/40 w/scsi HD, apollo 040/40,blizzard 060 128MB ram,internal cdrom,pcmcia ethernet,dual floppies and also a 1200 with the blizzard ppc 060/50 603/240 w/bvision gfx card in a desktop case.
I have run these fully loaded 24/7 in hot texas temperatures over the summer with no problem.Some of our summer temps resemble that of australia and other places where heat is a problem for electronics.I feel I have created a resilient and robust power supply that should handle most situations.
http://www.amiga.org/forums/attachme...1&d=1292799648

I have built 15 of these.Anyone wanting one of these on A.org can buy one for $35+shipping..just PM me
Shipping inside the usa is $7.62 , canada is $11.45 ,mexico $11.45, all other countries 14.00 (all shipping costs in USD)
I also have these listed on ebay at http://shop.ebay.com/m3ch/m.html?_nk...&_trksid=p3686
Ebay fee's account for the price difference.

If ANYONE knows where i can get more square 5pin din connectors,please tell me!!

thanks,
Mike
All sold out everyone. Thanks!
sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 0.jpg (27.6 KB, 89 views)
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (81.1 KB, 58 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (93.3 KB, 43 views)
File Type: jpg 4.jpg (89.8 KB, 38 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (97.3 KB, 41 views)

Last edited by mechy; 12-20-2010 at 04:13 PM..
mechy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 05:17 AM   #2
gertsy
Lifetime Member
Points: 12,435, Level: 72 Points: 12,435, Level: 72 Points: 12,435, Level: 72
Activity: 50% Activity: 50% Activity: 50%
 
gertsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Melbourne, Oz
Posts: 1,924
Send a message via ICQ to gertsy Send a message via AIM to gertsy Send a message via MSN to gertsy Send a message via Yahoo to gertsy Send a message via Skype™ to gertsy
Default Re: FS/FA Amiga 500/600/1200 custom HD PSU's-100v-240v!

Well done. Superb effort. I get buzz seeing new Amiga hardware. Just verifying shipping to Australia is $14 US ?
__________________
G E R T S Y
A4000 040@25 16/2MB 8GB CF
A2000 040@33 16/2MB 20GB BHD
A1200 030@33 64/2MB 4GB CF
A 500 000@07 2/1MB A590 1GB HD
gertsy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 07:21 AM   #3
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Smile New A500/600/1200 PSUs On Ebay...

Someone on ebay is selling new A500/600/1200 power supplies that are tiny in comparison to the original brick PSU for the Amiga. Priced at 24.57 ($38) these may be just what your looking for if your old Amiga PSU is on the way out...

Amiga A500/600/1200 New PSU

(it's our very own Mechy... )
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 07:38 AM   #4
Karlos
Sockologist
Points: 50,827, Level: 100 Points: 50,827, Level: 100 Points: 50,827, Level: 100
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barishabaad, Sardistan
Posts: 16,670
Blog Entries: 18
Default Re: New A500/600/1200 PSUs On Ebay...

Are they switched mode?

-edit-

Yep, it seems so. No big ass transformers then
__________________
OCA
This isn't SCSI... This is SATA!!!
I have CDO. It's like OCD except all the letters are in ascending order. The way they should be.
Core2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz / X48T / 4GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX275 / Linux x64, AROS, Win64
A1XE 800MHz / 512MB / Radeon 9200 / OS4.1
A1200T BPPC 240MHz / 256MB / Permedia 2 / OS 3.1 - OS3.9, OS4
A1200T Apollo 1240 28MHz / 32MB / Mediator1200 / Voodoo 3000 / OS3.9
A1200D Apollo 1240 25MHz (ejector seat ROM edition) / 32MB

Last edited by Karlos; 12-20-2010 at 07:43 AM..
Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 07:53 AM   #5
mechy
Cult Member
Points: 13,068, Level: 74 Points: 13,068, Level: 74 Points: 13,068, Level: 74
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
 
mechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas,usa
Posts: 938
Send a message via AIM to mechy Send a message via MSN to mechy
Default Re: FS/FA Amiga 500/600/1200 custom HD PSU's-100v-240v!

Quote:
Originally Posted by gertsy View Post
Well done. Superb effort. I get buzz seeing new Amiga hardware. Just verifying shipping to Australia is $14 US ?
that is correct, $14 to australia.

Mike
mechy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 09:38 AM   #6
golem
Premium Member
Points: 10,297, Level: 67 Points: 10,297, Level: 67 Points: 10,297, Level: 67
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
golem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 370
Default Re: New A500/600/1200 PSUs On Ebay...

Ordered one. These look fantastic.
__________________

A1200 desktop, Blizzard 1260, OS3.9BB2, Indivision Mk II, SCSI Jaz, Ethernet with Genesis
A1200 desktop, Blizzard 1230, OS3.1, Ethernet with Roadshow.
golem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 09:48 AM   #7
runequester
It's Amiga time!
Points: 25,611, Level: 96 Points: 25,611, Level: 96 Points: 25,611, Level: 96
Activity: 96% Activity: 96% Activity: 96%
 
runequester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 3,695
Blog Entries: 7
Default Re: New A500/600/1200 PSUs On Ebay...

That is pretty awesome
__________________
Amiga AND Linux fan. Zealots are people that lack faith

I blog..a lot.
http://doctorwhoretrospec.blogspot.com/
http://redleftperspective.blogspot.com/
http://theamigablog.blogspot.com/
runequester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 09:49 AM   #8
bbond007
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,496, Level: 68 Points: 10,496, Level: 68 Points: 10,496, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
bbond007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,385
Default Re: New A500/600/1200 PSUs On Ebay...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franko View Post
Someone on ebay is selling new A500/600/1200 power supplies that are tiny in comparison to the original brick PSU for the Amiga. Priced at 24.57 ($38) these may be just what your looking for if your old Amiga PSU is on the way out...
Excellent find! I just ordered one for my 1200!
bbond007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:22 AM   #9
save2600
Premium Member
Points: 19,457, Level: 88 Points: 19,457, Level: 88 Points: 19,457, Level: 88
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Southern, WI USA
Posts: 3,100
Send a message via Yahoo to save2600
Default Re: New A500/600/1200 PSUs On Ebay...

Mechy himself started his own thread yesterday on this. Why are we talking about it in a new thread created a day later by someone else? I'm beginning to think some people just love the sound of their own keystrokes.
__________________
Cash paid or will trade for loose and CIB Amiga games I need. Game manuals and boxes only too! Will purchase in large lots as well.
save2600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:22 AM   #10
stevee617
Too much caffeine
Points: 7,497, Level: 57 Points: 7,497, Level: 57 Points: 7,497, Level: 57
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
stevee617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 88
Default Re: New A500/600/1200 PSUs On Ebay...

Mine is on the way as well!!

These are going to be great!!
__________________
Steve E

-Mac Mini | PowerPC G4/1.42Ghz | 512MB RAM | MorphOS 3.3| Chrysalis 3.3
-PowerMac G5 | PowerPC G5 2.0GHz | 1GB RAM | MorphOS 3.5 | Chrysalis 3.5.1
stevee617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:23 AM   #11
Xanxi
Cult Member
Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Xanxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 894
Default Re: New A500/600/1200 PSUs On Ebay...

Awesome!
With one of these, the A600 does become more portable for sure.
I have just ordered one too.
__________________
10 Classic Amiga Computers so far: I have too many computers!!
Xanxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:26 AM   #12
DCAmiga
Hobbyist
Points: 2,853, Level: 32 Points: 2,853, Level: 32 Points: 2,853, Level: 32
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
DCAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA, native of Sydney
Posts: 70
Default Re: New A500/600/1200 PSUs On Ebay...

Good to see someone building Amiga PSU's and I love in the description it says "I have run these fully loaded 24/7 in hot texas temperatures over the summer with no problem.Some of our summer temps resemble that of australia and other places where heat is a problem for electronics."
I lived in Sydney for 31 years and never had any heat problems with my electronic's. Temps are actually nice there 50F low in winter to 98F high in summer, I currently live in Central America (USA) and the temps here are crazy ... 24F winter and 110F in summer.
__________________
Amiga 500, 1/2 Meg Trap Door, RocTec HD, Slim External Floppy (DF1), KS Switcher: KS 1.3 & KS 2.04 (1987-1995)
PeeCee Box, W7 - WinUAE
Dell Inspiron 14R - laptop
Sony PS3
Sony PSP
Nintendo Wii
Nintendo 3DS
DCAmiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:28 AM   #13
yssing
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,302, Level: 72 Points: 12,302, Level: 72 Points: 12,302, Level: 72
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
yssing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,332
Default Re: New A500/600/1200 PSUs On Ebay...

Nice..

If only they could make some PSU for A590, which I think use the same as the CD32??
__________________
SAM 440 As main Amiga
Alien Air Attack html5 version.
yssing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:37 AM   #14
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: New A500/600/1200 PSUs On Ebay...

Quote:
Originally Posted by save2600 View Post
Mechy himself started his own thread yesterday on this. Why are we talking about it in a new thread created a day later by someone else? I'm beginning to think some people just love the sound of their own keystrokes.
Oooh... pardon me...

For a start I didn't notice Mechys thread on here and was only browsing through ebay when I discovered the add.

It would also seem from other folks responses here that they didn't notice Mechys thread either, and judging by the results from this thread Mechy has just about sold out of these power supplies now...

So whatever you have to say doesn't matter one bit, end result Mechy got some sales and folk who have purchased these PSUs seem quite happy...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:44 AM   #15
Xanxi
Cult Member
Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Xanxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 894
Default Re: FS/FA Amiga 500/600/1200 custom HD PSU's-100v-240v!

Awesome! I have bought a golden one from ebay

I would like to know the dimensions of the brick in cm and its weight in kg please
__________________
10 Classic Amiga Computers so far: I have too many computers!!
Xanxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:47 AM   #16
Karlos
Sockologist
Points: 50,827, Level: 100 Points: 50,827, Level: 100 Points: 50,827, Level: 100
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barishabaad, Sardistan
Posts: 16,670
Blog Entries: 18
Default Re: New A500/600/1200 PSUs On Ebay...

Quote:
Originally Posted by save2600 View Post
Mechy himself started his own thread yesterday on this. Why are we talking about it in a new thread created a day later by someone else? I'm beginning to think some people just love the sound of their own keystrokes.
Behold the awesome power of thread merge
__________________
OCA
This isn't SCSI... This is SATA!!!
I have CDO. It's like OCD except all the letters are in ascending order. The way they should be.
Core2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz / X48T / 4GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX275 / Linux x64, AROS, Win64
A1XE 800MHz / 512MB / Radeon 9200 / OS4.1
A1200T BPPC 240MHz / 256MB / Permedia 2 / OS 3.1 - OS3.9, OS4
A1200T Apollo 1240 28MHz / 32MB / Mediator1200 / Voodoo 3000 / OS3.9
A1200D Apollo 1240 25MHz (ejector seat ROM edition) / 32MB
Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:58 AM   #17
mechy
Cult Member
Points: 13,068, Level: 74 Points: 13,068, Level: 74 Points: 13,068, Level: 74
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
 
mechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas,usa
Posts: 938
Send a message via AIM to mechy Send a message via MSN to mechy
Default Re: New A500/600/1200 PSUs On Ebay...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCAmiga View Post
Good to see someone building Amiga PSU's and I love in the description it says "I have run these fully loaded 24/7 in hot texas temperatures over the summer with no problem.Some of our summer temps resemble that of australia and other places where heat is a problem for electronics."
I lived in Sydney for 31 years and never had any heat problems with my electronic's. Temps are actually nice there 50F low in winter to 98F high in summer, I currently live in Central America (USA) and the temps here are crazy ... 24F winter and 110F in summer.
Well,some of my friends in australia report 110F at times..we see that for a few days in summer here in texas.

Being in south america you may need to dip this thing in epoxy to keep the moisture out before it corrodes.. hehehe
mechy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:58 AM   #18
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: FS/FA Amiga 500/600/1200 custom HD PSU's-100v-240v!

@ Mechy

Seems like I owe you an apology as save2600 seems to think I've stolen your thunder here.

I hadn't noticed this thread and had been browsing on ebay when I noticed these PSUs for sale so I posted a thread to let others know about them as I thought they were really neat and reckoned some folk here might like to buy them.

I hope you don't think I was in any way trying to take credit for your work (don't see how I could be) and judging from things all has turned out well as they now seem to be sold out.

So please accept this apology Mechy as I was only trying to be helpful and pass on some intersting news to the community...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:59 AM   #19
save2600
Premium Member
Points: 19,457, Level: 88 Points: 19,457, Level: 88 Points: 19,457, Level: 88
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Southern, WI USA
Posts: 3,100
Send a message via Yahoo to save2600
Default Re: New A500/600/1200 PSUs On Ebay...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franko View Post
So whatever you have to say doesn't matter one bit, end result Mechy got some sales and folk who have purchased these PSUs seem quite happy...
Seems as if what I said *did* matter cheeky monkey, as behold: we have witnessed the power of thread merge.

@Franko - it's not about "stealing thunder"... was very cool you pointed the auction out. Was just surprised that you hadn't caught the original thread.
__________________
Cash paid or will trade for loose and CIB Amiga games I need. Game manuals and boxes only too! Will purchase in large lots as well.
save2600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 11:04 AM   #20
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: New A500/600/1200 PSUs On Ebay...

Quote:
Originally Posted by save2600 View Post
Seems as if what I said *did* matter cheeky monkey, as behold: we have witnessed the power of thread merge.

@Franko - it's not about "stealing thunder"... was very cool you pointed the auction out. Was just surprised that you hadn't caught the original thread.
Me favorite word "Cobblers"...

Only joking... I honestly hadn't seen Mechys original thread and when I spotted these on ebay I thought cool everyone should know about these...

Daft thing is I forget to order one myself, now there all gone...

Mechy any chance of building some more...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
psus , ebay , a or 1200 , or 1200 , amiga , psu100v240v , custom , fs or fa

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump