amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:29 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion General chat about Amiga topics CommodoreUSA site updated

General chat about Amiga topics This forum is for conversations which are specifically "Amiga" related, but don't fit into other categories. Contents of this forum do appear on the main page, unlike Talk About. If a subject appears to be non-related, it will be moved to Talk About.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2010, 08:21 AM   #1
jorkany
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,386, Level: 65 Points: 9,386, Level: 65 Points: 9,386, Level: 65
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
jorkany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,009
Blog Entries: 1
Default CommodoreUSA site updated

Love 'em or hate 'em, something is happening over at C-USA though it looks like they might have some load-balancer issues:
http://www.commodoreusa.net/CUSA_Home.aspx

LOL
"No need to bother with floppy disks, as practically every game you ever owned is now available for free on the internet as abandonware."

I prefer Commodore Scotland myself!
jorkany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 08:32 AM   #2
spihunter
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,752, Level: 73 Points: 12,752, Level: 73 Points: 12,752, Level: 73
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,501
Default Re: CommodoreUSA site updated

Isn't that backround image on the "Workbench 5" page yet another stolen 3D image from aminet?

I love the way these guys are spamming/trolling the hell out of Amigaworld lately....

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorkany View Post
Love 'em or hate 'em, something is happening over at C-USA though it looks like they might have some load-balancer issues:
http://www.commodoreusa.net/CUSA_Home.aspx

LOL
"No need to bother with floppy disks, as practically every game you ever owned is now available for free on the internet as abandonware."

I prefer Commodore Scotland myself!
spihunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 08:38 AM   #3
klx300r
Amiga 1000+AmigaOne X1000
Points: 10,414, Level: 67 Points: 10,414, Level: 67 Points: 10,414, Level: 67
Activity: 51% Activity: 51% Activity: 51%
 
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,827
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: CommodoreUSA site updated

I can't wait to see what the new Amiga Workbench 5 actually is
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________________
c64-dual sids, A1000, A1200-060@50
Indivision AGA & Catweasel MK4+= Amazing
! My Master Miggies-Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
--- www.mancave-ramblings.blogspot.ca ---
-AspireOS.com & Amikit- Amiga for your netbook-
***X1000- I BELIEVE ***
klx300r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 08:48 AM   #4
ral-clan
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,203, Level: 79 Points: 15,203, Level: 79 Points: 15,203, Level: 79
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
ral-clan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: CommodoreUSA site updated

I have to admit, while I am very suspicious of CommodoreUSA (I use that name lightly), I do like the new site and the design of the "Amiga" cases. They are simple and elegant, yet really do remind me of the originals. (I'm guessing these are just renders though and might not ever really see the light of day - and if so they will just be PCs with Amiga emulation). I would even guess that these cases are merely re-badged third party PC cases that already exist somewhere on the market.

To someone not that familiar with original Amigas though, they might wonder why the "highest end" of the line is numbered 2000 rather than 3000 (which is the mid-range line on Commodore USA). Of course we know why - the large black case mimics the original A2000's coffin-case.
ral-clan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 09:14 AM   #5
Forcie
Too much caffeine
Points: 2,441, Level: 29 Points: 2,441, Level: 29 Points: 2,441, Level: 29
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 128
Default Re: CommodoreUSA site updated

Quote:
Originally Posted by ral-clan View Post
I would even guess that these cases are merely re-badged third party PC cases that already exist somewhere on the market.
Thats right. Its just a bunch of Chinese HTPC cases that have been around for a while. I guess they'll just slap some stickers on them.

http://www.aumro.com/products.html
Forcie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 09:17 AM   #6
Iggy
Desperately needs a life
Points: 15,647, Level: 80 Points: 15,647, Level: 80 Points: 15,647, Level: 80
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,899
Default Re: CommodoreUSA site updated

Well, the site does look much better.

Once he starts shipping product (which I'm sure he will), he'll finally silence a large portion of the naysayers.

I told you guys after contacting Altman, he's serious about this.

And the use of the Workbench name is a brilliant way to side step the Hyperion/AOS trademark issue.
__________________
Now just another Sinner with a tablet.

Purchased a 2.0 GHz G5 PowerMac for now (and I have 2.3 PCI-E G5 PowerMac for future revisions of MorphOS).

Also I still have a 1.42 GHz iBook (with MorphOS 3.4).

Finally I still have an old A2000 for the days I'm into pain.

"We are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid." -Benjamin Franklin

"I'm a hard worker." -George W. Bush

"Guess I'll have to change my way of livin..."

Kenny Downing is my God.
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 09:18 AM   #7
spihunter
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,752, Level: 73 Points: 12,752, Level: 73 Points: 12,752, Level: 73
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,501
Default Re: CommodoreUSA site updated

I'm guessing that "Workbench 5" is going to be some kind of Windows 7 or Ubuntu theme. The emulation will be a couple Commodore icons on the desktop that will launch a preconfigrued WinUAE and C64 emulation.

I'm not sure who is going to buy any of this stuff?


Quote:
Originally Posted by klx300r View Post
I can't wait to see what the new Amiga Workbench 5 actually is
spihunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 09:32 AM   #8
runequester
It's Amiga time!
Points: 25,611, Level: 96 Points: 25,611, Level: 96 Points: 25,611, Level: 96
Activity: 96% Activity: 96% Activity: 96%
 
runequester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 3,695
Blog Entries: 7
Default Re: CommodoreUSA site updated

As a professional company, I am sure his legal team has advised him that "abandonware" is not a legal term, and that he probably shouldn't be advertising that.
__________________
Amiga AND Linux fan. Zealots are people that lack faith

I blog..a lot.
http://doctorwhoretrospec.blogspot.com/
http://redleftperspective.blogspot.com/
http://theamigablog.blogspot.com/
runequester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 09:37 AM   #9
Karlos
Sockologist
Points: 50,135, Level: 100 Points: 50,135, Level: 100 Points: 50,135, Level: 100
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barishabaad, Sardistan
Posts: 16,646
Blog Entries: 18
Default Re: CommodoreUSA site updated

Quote:
Originally Posted by klx300r View Post
I can't wait to see what the new Amiga Workbench 5 actually is
Quote:
A distinctive, attractive, advanced and stable operating system experience
Well, that rules out any traditional AmigaOS or it's offspring
__________________
OCA
This isn't SCSI... This is SATA!!!
I have CDO. It's like OCD except all the letters are in ascending order. The way they should be.
Core2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz / X48T / 4GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX275 / Linux x64, AROS, Win64
A1XE 800MHz / 512MB / Radeon 9200 / OS4.1
A1200T BPPC 240MHz / 256MB / Permedia 2 / OS 3.1 - OS3.9, OS4
A1200T Apollo 1240 28MHz / 32MB / Mediator1200 / Voodoo 3000 / OS3.9
A1200D Apollo 1240 25MHz (ejector seat ROM edition) / 32MB
Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 09:46 AM   #10
persia
Desperately needs a life
Points: 20,144, Level: 89 Points: 20,144, Level: 89 Points: 20,144, Level: 89
Activity: 66% Activity: 66% Activity: 66%
 
persia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,644
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: CommodoreUSA site updated

"Workbench 5" appears to be a Linux distro, perhaps it's a way to revive the old "Anubis ate my chickens" thread...
__________________


What we're witnessing is the sad, lonely crowing of that last, doomed cock.
persia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 09:48 AM   #11
redrumloa
Original Omega User
Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
redrumloa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,126
Blog Entries: 4
Send a message via AIM to redrumloa
Default Re: CommodoreUSA site updated

Well Barry and maybe one other person in the Amiga Kommunity will label me a troll, but I have very little faith in seeing anything other than a Cybernet PC with a label slapped on it actually for sale.

Prove me wrong CUSA.
__________________
Someone has to state the obvious and that someone is me!
redrumloa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 10:59 AM   #12
psxphill
Defender of the Faith
Points: 6,647, Level: 53 Points: 6,647, Level: 53 Points: 6,647, Level: 53
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,546
Default Re: CommodoreUSA site updated

Quote:
Originally Posted by redrumloa View Post
Well Barry and maybe one other person in the Amiga Kommunity will label me a troll, but I have very little faith in seeing anything other than a Cybernet PC with a label slapped on it actually for sale.
The commodore 64 pictures prove they are actually doing something.

http://www.commodoreusa.net/CUSA_C64Prototype.aspx

Now whether that is something they will ever ship to anyone is another matter. It's a pity it's not fanless & the keyboard needs a bit of work, hopefully the finished product will look more like the render than the prototype (function key colour for a start).
psxphill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 11:15 AM   #13
Matt_H
VIP / Donor
Points: 24,129, Level: 94 Points: 24,129, Level: 94 Points: 24,129, Level: 94
Activity: 61% Activity: 61% Activity: 61%
 
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston, MA, United States
Posts: 5,250
Default Re: CommodoreUSA site updated

There's no asterisk on the keyboard!
Matt_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 11:19 AM   #14
haywirepc
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,005, Level: 69 Points: 11,005, Level: 69 Points: 11,005, Level: 69
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
haywirepc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Phila,Pa,USA
Posts: 1,264
Default Re: CommodoreUSA site updated

This "company" and I use that term loosely, really loosely, is a joke.

Call the phone # the site, its a voicemail box. Very impressive.

Who but a huge amiga or commodore fan would buy any of this crap, and most commodore and amiga fans see right through the smokescreen and know he's just slapping stickers on already existing stuff. So far they have yet to make a single product for sale themselves, but they sure are good and slapping their name on stuff, and acting like they did something.

For all their hype, so far I bet their sales figures would make being a homeless person and begging for change look like a better business idea.

Workbench 5? Yeah that will be an ubuntu respin with uae and an amiga wallpaper. They will spend upwards for 20 minutes putting that together.
Mark my words.

The c64 thing? I can build one myself from an c64 case, but why would I want to type on that ancient keyboard? This project has been done many times before, all over the internet by hobbyists, but never for sale.

Click on products, I get they ran out of stickers to slap on the cybernet zpc's they were selling for like 40% more than you could get them for direct from the real maker (cybernet). Wow their support for their products must be excellent, hype the hell out of your "new" computer,
sell it for 2 months then drop it, in favor of cases you bought wholesale and slapped old names on.

JOKE.

Steven
haywirepc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 11:20 AM   #15
Karlos
Sockologist
Points: 50,135, Level: 100 Points: 50,135, Level: 100 Points: 50,135, Level: 100
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barishabaad, Sardistan
Posts: 16,646
Blog Entries: 18
Default Re: CommodoreUSA site updated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt_H View Post
There's no asterisk on the keyboard!
/* who needs it? */
__________________
OCA
This isn't SCSI... This is SATA!!!
I have CDO. It's like OCD except all the letters are in ascending order. The way they should be.
Core2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz / X48T / 4GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX275 / Linux x64, AROS, Win64
A1XE 800MHz / 512MB / Radeon 9200 / OS4.1
A1200T BPPC 240MHz / 256MB / Permedia 2 / OS 3.1 - OS3.9, OS4
A1200T Apollo 1240 28MHz / 32MB / Mediator1200 / Voodoo 3000 / OS3.9
A1200D Apollo 1240 25MHz (ejector seat ROM edition) / 32MB
Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
commodoreusa , site , armchair , updated , lawyers

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump