amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:13 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Software Issues and Discussion The Amiga911 boot disk.

Amiga Software Issues and Discussion This forum exists for the discussion of the use, issues with, and fun brought about by classic and next generation Amiga software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2010, 03:49 PM   #31
PanterHZ
Technoid
Points: 4,679, Level: 43 Points: 4,679, Level: 43 Points: 4,679, Level: 43
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
PanterHZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 205
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefcep2 View Post
Is it possible to have a version for 68040/68060 cards? I have an Apollo A1260 and a cyberstorm 2 68060 A4000. The phase 5 68040/68060 library archives work on both- I have compact flash card that I can use in both and i can boot both, but neither will boot without the libraries.
I personally haven't got a 060 based card, so I haven't testet it, but yes I strongly belive it should work

The only thing you have to do is to copy the 68040/68060 libraries to the "System1/Libs" dir inside your project directory. This is the best method since they will then be included in the System1.lzx archive, which in turn means they won't take up so much disk space.

The only thing I can think of that can be a problem is with the UnLZX command. The 040 version of UnLZX will be used on boot disks meant for 040 & 060 based Amigas, and it might be an issue if UnLZX tries to use functions that are present in the 68060.library upon booting (since the library will not yet be available). I have a Apollo 1240 card and UnLZX doesn't seem to require the 68040 library for running, but I'm not sure what the status is with 060 cards.

Anyway, if the disk won't boot on your Amiga, try to copy the library files to the "Amiga911/Libs" dir instead.

BTW. If you try this, please tell me how it went
PanterHZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 04:06 PM   #32
PanterHZ
Technoid
Points: 4,679, Level: 43 Points: 4,679, Level: 43 Points: 4,679, Level: 43
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
PanterHZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 205
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xanxi View Post
No, i have not choosen the low memory version as i have a large amount of RAM.
I am puzzled by the disk creation, maybe i will just wait for the next version with the "creat disk" option activated
Just wondering, exactly what are you trying to copy to the disk? Remember that it is only the content of the Amiga911 dir that shall be copied to the disk. The System1, System2 & Programs directories shall not be copied to the floppy (these dirs with content are already present in the three archives inside the Amiga911 dir).

I have now started on the "Create Disk" part of Amiga911 Maker, and right now it's the format disk stuff I'm working on
PanterHZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 04:25 PM   #33
PanterHZ
Technoid
Points: 4,679, Level: 43 Points: 4,679, Level: 43 Points: 4,679, Level: 43
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
PanterHZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 205
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gulliver View Post
DOpus 4.12 from the CU Amiga coverdisk works for 68000, get it from http://www.guildserver.co.uk/AMR/cu_...95_02_d100.zip
Actually, the link you provided seems to be dead, I got it from here instead: http://www.pictureinthesky.net/appinfo.php?id=58

But after checking things out, I have to agree with Khephren, adding DOpus is a bit overkill since it will use waaaay too much disk space. So I think I will drop this idea.

Last edited by PanterHZ; 11-23-2010 at 06:00 PM.. Reason: wrong link
PanterHZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 06:34 PM   #34
PanterHZ
Technoid
Points: 4,679, Level: 43 Points: 4,679, Level: 43 Points: 4,679, Level: 43
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
PanterHZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 205
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Back when I was using my A500 I did also powerpack every file that was safe to pack on my WB disk as well, but I couldn't get packed libraries to work though. Another thing was that it wasn't safe to pack commands that should have the possibility to be made resident.

But it's a good idea, and maybe I will try to include packing of otherwise uncompressed files on the Amiga911 Low-Mem disk. But since I belive Turbo Imploder is better, I think I will use that instead of PowerPacker.
PanterHZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 07:30 PM   #35
stefcep2
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,196, Level: 64 Points: 9,196, Level: 64 Points: 9,196, Level: 64
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PanterHZ View Post
I personally haven't got a 060 based card, so I haven't testet it, but yes I strongly belive it should work

The only thing you have to do is to copy the 68040/68060 libraries to the "System1/Libs" dir inside your project directory. This is the best method since they will then be included in the System1.lzx archive, which in turn means they won't take up so much disk space.

The only thing I can think of that can be a problem is with the UnLZX command. The 040 version of UnLZX will be used on boot disks meant for 040 & 060 based Amigas, and it might be an issue if UnLZX tries to use functions that are present in the 68060.library upon booting (since the library will not yet be available). I have a Apollo 1240 card and UnLZX doesn't seem to require the 68040 library for running, but I'm not sure what the status is with 060 cards.

Anyway, if the disk won't boot on your Amiga, try to copy the library files to the "Amiga911/Libs" dir instead.

BTW. If you try this, please tell me how it went
running the 68060 version of unlzx without the 060 being initialized by the 68060.library I would say would fail. But having a cpu-specific version of unlzx is unnecessary AFAIK, beacsue the 68060 version of unlzx was just an optimised versions for that cpu to provide a bit of a speed up. As the generic 68k version works on the 68060, and as this an emergency disk, I think speed isn't the main priority, and it would save space, if just a generic 68k version of unlzx was included by default.

i should have time on the weekend to try this and see how it goes.

Last edited by stefcep2; 11-23-2010 at 07:32 PM..
stefcep2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 07:59 PM   #36
PanterHZ
Technoid
Points: 4,679, Level: 43 Points: 4,679, Level: 43 Points: 4,679, Level: 43
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
PanterHZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 205
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefcep2 View Post
running the 68060 version of unlzx without the 060 being initialized by the 68060.library I would say would fail. But having a cpu-specific version of unlzx is unnecessary AFAIK, beacsue the 68060 version of unlzx was just an optimised versions for that cpu to provide a bit of a speed up. As the generic 68k version works on the 68060, and as this an emergency disk, I think speed isn't the main priority, and it would save space, if just a generic 68k version of unlzx was included by default.

i should have time on the weekend to try this and see how it goes.

Yes I see your point, but as I previously said - it really depends upon whether the 060 version of unlzx uses functions only present in the 68060 library or not.

Anyway, this isn't really a problem since it's possible to select the processor in the "Configure system" window, and this in turn leads to the unlzx version that best matches the chosen CPU will be added on the disk.

This means that it's possible to select between the following two scenarios:

1. A disk that boots up as fast as possible.
Here you select whatever processor that your accelerator has, then a unlzx version that is optimized for that processor will be used on the disk. This in turn might lead to a shorter boot-up time since the extracting of the lzx archives will be faster. But it might lead to problems with 040 & 060 based Amigas since the 680x0 library file(s) are not present the first time unlzx is run.

2. A disk that is as safe and compatible as possible.
Here it's best to choose the processor that is the native one on the Amiga it is intended for, this usually means 68000 for ECS Amigas and 68020 for AGA Amigas. It might lead to a slower boot-up time, but it may be a bit safer with 040 and 060 based Amigas since the unlzx version used is not optimized for these processors. Another thing is that the disk will also work with the accelerator card removed.

But no matter what, it is really recommended that the user makes sure that the correct 680x0 library file(s) are copied to the System1/Libs directory. I can also mention that it's possible to check what CPU specific version of unlzx that is present just by checking the file comment of it.


Finally I would like to mention that I have now finished the "Create disk" part of Amiga911 Maker . In order to get this functionality you must download a small update file which can be found at the bottom of this page: http://rhz1.com/programs/Amiga911Maker-download.htm
PanterHZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 03:03 AM   #37
Xanxi
Cult Member
Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Xanxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 894
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PanterHZ View Post
Just wondering, exactly what are you trying to copy to the disk? Remember that it is only the content of the Amiga911 dir that shall be copied to the disk. The System1, System2 & Programs directories shall not be copied to the floppy (these dirs with content are already present in the three archives inside the Amiga911 dir).

I have now started on the "Create Disk" part of Amiga911 Maker, and right now it's the format disk stuff I'm working on
Ok, i misunderstood then. I was copying everything inside he project. Will give it another try then.
Thanks.
__________________
10 Classic Amiga Computers so far: I have too many computers!!
Xanxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 07:15 PM   #38
PanterHZ
Technoid
Points: 4,679, Level: 43 Points: 4,679, Level: 43 Points: 4,679, Level: 43
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
PanterHZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 205
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xanxi View Post
Ok, i misunderstood then. I was copying everything inside he project. Will give it another try then.
Thanks.
You're welcome
But actually I want to thank you as well since you made me aware of a couple of bugs in Amiga911 Maker (where one is that the "New Project" GUI didn't check if the Projects dir exists).

If you download the update, you may find that creating the boot disk should be easier now.
PanterHZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
amiga911 , boot , disk

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump