amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:25 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Software Issues and Discussion The Amiga911 boot disk.

Amiga Software Issues and Discussion This forum exists for the discussion of the use, issues with, and fun brought about by classic and next generation Amiga software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2010, 08:18 PM   #21
PanterHZ
Technoid
Points: 4,842, Level: 44 Points: 4,842, Level: 44 Points: 4,842, Level: 44
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
PanterHZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 206
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xanxi View Post
Yes it is working now.
However, i have been unable to make a disk with everything within 880 KB.
I followed the tutorial on the website and made a not too stuffed project but disk is full before the end of the files copying. On a second try i removed some more programs but still the same.
Actual size of the files is 941 KB.
When you created the project, did you enable the "Create Low-Mem disk" option for making a disk which is meant for Amigas with less than 2MB RAM?
If this is the case, you unfortunately can't include as much stuff on the disk as you can with the "normal" disk (which is meant for Amigas with 2MB or more RAM).
The reason for this is that fewer files will be included in the LZX archives when creating a Low-Mem disk, this in turn means that the files not included will stay uncompressed and use more space on the disk. This was unfortunately the only way I could include support for Amigas with low memory, and it seems like I forgot to mention this in the tutorial.

So if you really created a Low-Mem disk project, I'm sorry to say that you most likely can't include any programs on the disk.

But I do however have plans of making it possible for the users to create an additional "Extras" disk where all the stuff that wouldn't fit on the main boot floppy can be added instead.
PanterHZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 08:37 PM   #22
PanterHZ
Technoid
Points: 4,842, Level: 44 Points: 4,842, Level: 44 Points: 4,842, Level: 44
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
PanterHZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 206
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenacious View Post
Ordering ( http://aminet.net/util/dir/Ordering_v1.18.lha ) is much smaller and faster than Dopus 4.xx. Fast even on 68000 CPUs.
Yes, support for Ordering will be included in Amiga911 Maker

And to all you others, please follow Tenacious's example here when you suggest programs to be included, do mention what it does and where it can be found. This will make things a lot easier for me.
PanterHZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 11:08 PM   #23
stefcep2
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,489, Level: 65 Points: 9,489, Level: 65 Points: 9,489, Level: 65
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,379
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Is it possible to have a version for 68040/68060 cards? I have an Apollo A1260 and a cyberstorm 2 68060 A4000. The phase 5 68040/68060 library archives work on both- I have compact flash card that I can use in both and i can boot both, but neither will boot without the libraries.
stefcep2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 11:27 PM   #24
mfilos
Cult Member
Points: 8,184, Level: 61 Points: 8,184, Level: 61 Points: 8,184, Level: 61
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 652
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Awesome stuff man! Thanks a lot
__________________
Visit my Amiga blog here
- A600: 030@37.5, 64MB, A604n, 16GB CF, Indivision ECS, Subway, MAS-Player + Custom Audio Mixer (internal), HxC SD + Slim floppy (internal)
mfilos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 01:03 AM   #25
Xanxi
Cult Member
Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Xanxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 894
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PanterHZ View Post
When you created the project, did you enable the "Create Low-Mem disk" option for making a disk which is meant for Amigas with less than 2MB RAM?
If this is the case, you unfortunately can't include as much stuff on the disk as you can with the "normal" disk (which is meant for Amigas with 2MB or more RAM).
The reason for this is that fewer files will be included in the LZX archives when creating a Low-Mem disk, this in turn means that the files not included will stay uncompressed and use more space on the disk. This was unfortunately the only way I could include support for Amigas with low memory, and it seems like I forgot to mention this in the tutorial.

So if you really created a Low-Mem disk project, I'm sorry to say that you most likely can't include any programs on the disk.

But I do however have plans of making it possible for the users to create an additional "Extras" disk where all the stuff that wouldn't fit on the main boot floppy can be added instead.
No, i have not choosen the low memory version as i have a large amount of RAM.
I am puzzled by the disk creation, maybe i will just wait for the next version with the "creat disk" option activated
__________________
10 Classic Amiga Computers so far: I have too many computers!!
Xanxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 01:51 AM   #26
Gulliver
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,201, Level: 79 Points: 15,201, Level: 79 Points: 15,201, Level: 79
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South of the south
Posts: 1,363
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PanterHZ View Post

One last thing. All DOpus versions on aminet requires at least a 68020 processor, but since I don't want to leave anybody out, is there a version of DOpus on the net that works with 68000 processors as well?
DOpus 4.12 from the CU Amiga coverdisk works for 68000, get it from http://www.guildserver.co.uk/AMR/cu_...95_02_d100.zip
Gulliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 02:06 AM   #27
Khephren
Cult Member
Points: 10,476, Level: 68 Points: 10,476, Level: 68 Points: 10,476, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 605
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Back when I had a base A1200 (ok, it was '92, so my memory is hazy) I used to powepack a lot of the stuff on the boot floppy, it would uncompress on the fly. Is there a better on the fly library that could do this?

Also, Dopus might be overkill, there are other nice (but small) filemanagers out there.
Khephren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 02:20 AM   #28
Gulliver
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,201, Level: 79 Points: 15,201, Level: 79 Points: 15,201, Level: 79
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South of the south
Posts: 1,363
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khephren View Post
Back when I had a base A1200 (ok, it was '92, so my memory is hazy) I used to powepack a lot of the stuff on the boot floppy, it would uncompress on the fly. Is there a better on the fly library that could do this?
Turbo Imploder does the job pretty well, and it is free. It is available on Aminet.
Gulliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 02:31 AM   #29
Jope
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,666, Level: 68 Points: 10,666, Level: 68 Points: 10,666, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,126
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Powerpacker combined with pploadseg is good for low mem situations.. IIRC you can even pack libraries, but don't quote me on that.

Last edited by Jope; 11-22-2010 at 02:36 AM..
Jope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 08:20 AM   #30
persia
Desperately needs a life
Points: 20,748, Level: 90 Points: 20,748, Level: 90 Points: 20,748, Level: 90
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
persia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,748
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

911, airplanes man, piloted by George Bush rammed everything, W is a lizard, I saw it on youtube, it must be true. 911, never forget or remember or something!
__________________


What we're witnessing is the sad, lonely crowing of that last, doomed cock.
persia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 03:49 PM   #31
PanterHZ
Technoid
Points: 4,842, Level: 44 Points: 4,842, Level: 44 Points: 4,842, Level: 44
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
PanterHZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 206
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefcep2 View Post
Is it possible to have a version for 68040/68060 cards? I have an Apollo A1260 and a cyberstorm 2 68060 A4000. The phase 5 68040/68060 library archives work on both- I have compact flash card that I can use in both and i can boot both, but neither will boot without the libraries.
I personally haven't got a 060 based card, so I haven't testet it, but yes I strongly belive it should work

The only thing you have to do is to copy the 68040/68060 libraries to the "System1/Libs" dir inside your project directory. This is the best method since they will then be included in the System1.lzx archive, which in turn means they won't take up so much disk space.

The only thing I can think of that can be a problem is with the UnLZX command. The 040 version of UnLZX will be used on boot disks meant for 040 & 060 based Amigas, and it might be an issue if UnLZX tries to use functions that are present in the 68060.library upon booting (since the library will not yet be available). I have a Apollo 1240 card and UnLZX doesn't seem to require the 68040 library for running, but I'm not sure what the status is with 060 cards.

Anyway, if the disk won't boot on your Amiga, try to copy the library files to the "Amiga911/Libs" dir instead.

BTW. If you try this, please tell me how it went
PanterHZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 04:06 PM   #32
PanterHZ
Technoid
Points: 4,842, Level: 44 Points: 4,842, Level: 44 Points: 4,842, Level: 44
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
PanterHZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 206
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xanxi View Post
No, i have not choosen the low memory version as i have a large amount of RAM.
I am puzzled by the disk creation, maybe i will just wait for the next version with the "creat disk" option activated
Just wondering, exactly what are you trying to copy to the disk? Remember that it is only the content of the Amiga911 dir that shall be copied to the disk. The System1, System2 & Programs directories shall not be copied to the floppy (these dirs with content are already present in the three archives inside the Amiga911 dir).

I have now started on the "Create Disk" part of Amiga911 Maker, and right now it's the format disk stuff I'm working on
PanterHZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 04:25 PM   #33
PanterHZ
Technoid
Points: 4,842, Level: 44 Points: 4,842, Level: 44 Points: 4,842, Level: 44
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
PanterHZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 206
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gulliver View Post
DOpus 4.12 from the CU Amiga coverdisk works for 68000, get it from http://www.guildserver.co.uk/AMR/cu_...95_02_d100.zip
Actually, the link you provided seems to be dead, I got it from here instead: http://www.pictureinthesky.net/appinfo.php?id=58

But after checking things out, I have to agree with Khephren, adding DOpus is a bit overkill since it will use waaaay too much disk space. So I think I will drop this idea.

Last edited by PanterHZ; 11-23-2010 at 06:00 PM.. Reason: wrong link
PanterHZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 06:34 PM   #34
PanterHZ
Technoid
Points: 4,842, Level: 44 Points: 4,842, Level: 44 Points: 4,842, Level: 44
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
PanterHZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 206
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Back when I was using my A500 I did also powerpack every file that was safe to pack on my WB disk as well, but I couldn't get packed libraries to work though. Another thing was that it wasn't safe to pack commands that should have the possibility to be made resident.

But it's a good idea, and maybe I will try to include packing of otherwise uncompressed files on the Amiga911 Low-Mem disk. But since I belive Turbo Imploder is better, I think I will use that instead of PowerPacker.
PanterHZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 07:30 PM   #35
stefcep2
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,489, Level: 65 Points: 9,489, Level: 65 Points: 9,489, Level: 65
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,379
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PanterHZ View Post
I personally haven't got a 060 based card, so I haven't testet it, but yes I strongly belive it should work

The only thing you have to do is to copy the 68040/68060 libraries to the "System1/Libs" dir inside your project directory. This is the best method since they will then be included in the System1.lzx archive, which in turn means they won't take up so much disk space.

The only thing I can think of that can be a problem is with the UnLZX command. The 040 version of UnLZX will be used on boot disks meant for 040 & 060 based Amigas, and it might be an issue if UnLZX tries to use functions that are present in the 68060.library upon booting (since the library will not yet be available). I have a Apollo 1240 card and UnLZX doesn't seem to require the 68040 library for running, but I'm not sure what the status is with 060 cards.

Anyway, if the disk won't boot on your Amiga, try to copy the library files to the "Amiga911/Libs" dir instead.

BTW. If you try this, please tell me how it went
running the 68060 version of unlzx without the 060 being initialized by the 68060.library I would say would fail. But having a cpu-specific version of unlzx is unnecessary AFAIK, beacsue the 68060 version of unlzx was just an optimised versions for that cpu to provide a bit of a speed up. As the generic 68k version works on the 68060, and as this an emergency disk, I think speed isn't the main priority, and it would save space, if just a generic 68k version of unlzx was included by default.

i should have time on the weekend to try this and see how it goes.

Last edited by stefcep2; 11-23-2010 at 07:32 PM..
stefcep2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 07:59 PM   #36
PanterHZ
Technoid
Points: 4,842, Level: 44 Points: 4,842, Level: 44 Points: 4,842, Level: 44
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
PanterHZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 206
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefcep2 View Post
running the 68060 version of unlzx without the 060 being initialized by the 68060.library I would say would fail. But having a cpu-specific version of unlzx is unnecessary AFAIK, beacsue the 68060 version of unlzx was just an optimised versions for that cpu to provide a bit of a speed up. As the generic 68k version works on the 68060, and as this an emergency disk, I think speed isn't the main priority, and it would save space, if just a generic 68k version of unlzx was included by default.

i should have time on the weekend to try this and see how it goes.

Yes I see your point, but as I previously said - it really depends upon whether the 060 version of unlzx uses functions only present in the 68060 library or not.

Anyway, this isn't really a problem since it's possible to select the processor in the "Configure system" window, and this in turn leads to the unlzx version that best matches the chosen CPU will be added on the disk.

This means that it's possible to select between the following two scenarios:

1. A disk that boots up as fast as possible.
Here you select whatever processor that your accelerator has, then a unlzx version that is optimized for that processor will be used on the disk. This in turn might lead to a shorter boot-up time since the extracting of the lzx archives will be faster. But it might lead to problems with 040 & 060 based Amigas since the 680x0 library file(s) are not present the first time unlzx is run.

2. A disk that is as safe and compatible as possible.
Here it's best to choose the processor that is the native one on the Amiga it is intended for, this usually means 68000 for ECS Amigas and 68020 for AGA Amigas. It might lead to a slower boot-up time, but it may be a bit safer with 040 and 060 based Amigas since the unlzx version used is not optimized for these processors. Another thing is that the disk will also work with the accelerator card removed.

But no matter what, it is really recommended that the user makes sure that the correct 680x0 library file(s) are copied to the System1/Libs directory. I can also mention that it's possible to check what CPU specific version of unlzx that is present just by checking the file comment of it.


Finally I would like to mention that I have now finished the "Create disk" part of Amiga911 Maker . In order to get this functionality you must download a small update file which can be found at the bottom of this page: http://rhz1.com/programs/Amiga911Maker-download.htm
PanterHZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 03:03 AM   #37
Xanxi
Cult Member
Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Xanxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 894
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PanterHZ View Post
Just wondering, exactly what are you trying to copy to the disk? Remember that it is only the content of the Amiga911 dir that shall be copied to the disk. The System1, System2 & Programs directories shall not be copied to the floppy (these dirs with content are already present in the three archives inside the Amiga911 dir).

I have now started on the "Create Disk" part of Amiga911 Maker, and right now it's the format disk stuff I'm working on
Ok, i misunderstood then. I was copying everything inside he project. Will give it another try then.
Thanks.
__________________
10 Classic Amiga Computers so far: I have too many computers!!
Xanxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 07:15 PM   #38
PanterHZ
Technoid
Points: 4,842, Level: 44 Points: 4,842, Level: 44 Points: 4,842, Level: 44
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
PanterHZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 206
Default Re: The Amiga911 boot disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xanxi View Post
Ok, i misunderstood then. I was copying everything inside he project. Will give it another try then.
Thanks.
You're welcome
But actually I want to thank you as well since you made me aware of a couple of bugs in Amiga911 Maker (where one is that the "New Project" GUI didn't check if the Projects dir exists).

If you download the update, you may find that creating the boot disk should be easier now.
PanterHZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
amiga911 , boot , disk

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump