amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:08 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion A3000 with floptical - anyone ever see one?

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2010, 05:08 PM   #1
B00tDisk
VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
Points: 12,757, Level: 73 Points: 12,757, Level: 73 Points: 12,757, Level: 73
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
B00tDisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,587
Blog Entries: 1
Default A3000 with floptical - anyone ever see one?

From here :

Quote:
Commodore International has selected the Insite Floptical drive for use in its Amiga 3000. There is some competition in the large-capacity, small-format area. The 2.88MB drive has been on the market for some time but has been impeded by high disk and equipment costs in return for only a twofold increase in capacity.
__________________
Back away from the EU-SSR!
B00tDisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 05:16 PM   #2
Tension
Banned
Points: 11,914, Level: 71 Points: 11,914, Level: 71 Points: 11,914, Level: 71
Activity: 56% Activity: 56% Activity: 56%
 
Tension's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,034
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: A3000 with floptical - anyone ever see one?

Hmmmm...

Never heard of that type of drive...

Sounds like an early version of the LS-120 drive to me, but they were 120MB.
Tension is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 05:21 PM   #3
Iggy
Energizer Bunny of Babble
Points: 16,254, Level: 81 Points: 16,254, Level: 81 Points: 16,254, Level: 81
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 4,049
Default Re: A3000 with floptical - anyone ever see one?

Quote:
Originally Posted by B00tDisk View Post
From here :
Yes, I remember these. The company started using this technology on 5.25 drives and I believe they eventually applied it to 3.5.
Year ago I bought one of the 5.25 as they were being liquidated. I never got it to work with any of the controllers I had though.
Really dead technology.
__________________
Sinner no more - sold the tablet.

Purchased a 1.8 GHz G5 PowerMac for now (and I have 2.3 PCI-E G5 PowerMac for future revisions of MorphOS).

Also I still have a 1.42 GHz iBook (with MorphOS 3.4).

Finally I still have an old A2000 for the days I'm into pain.

"We are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid." - Benjamin Franklin

"I'm a hard worker." - George W. Bush

"Guess I'll have to change my way of livin..."

Kenny Downing is my God.
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 07:42 PM   #4
JimS
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,174, Level: 69 Points: 11,174, Level: 69 Points: 11,174, Level: 69
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
JimS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 1,107
Default Re: A3000 with floptical - anyone ever see one?

Not as a built in drive, but I did see one used as an external drive on a 3000. If I recall, the guy was not particularly satisfied with it.
__________________
Obsolescence is futile. You will be emulated. - Amigus of Borg
JimS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 09:03 PM   #5
Matt_H
VIP / Donor
Points: 24,697, Level: 95 Points: 24,697, Level: 95 Points: 24,697, Level: 95
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston, MA, United States
Posts: 5,342
Default Re: A3000 with floptical - anyone ever see one?

@ B00tDisk

I think that passage about the 2.88MB drive is referring to those drives in general, not necessarily in regards to the 3000. It's not very well written.

The Insite drive they also refer to did get some Amiga support: http://aminet.net/search?query=floptical
Matt_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 10:23 AM   #6
hardlink
Cult Member
Points: 4,846, Level: 44 Points: 4,846, Level: 44 Points: 4,846, Level: 44
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silver Springy, MD
Posts: 586
Default Re: A3000 with floptical - anyone ever see one?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimS View Post
Not as a built in drive, but I did see one used as an external drive on a 3000.
I have the internal version of one of these drives, and I'm not sure it would even fit in a A3000D case. It was shipped on most SGI Indy pizza-boxes, back during their Jurassic Park glory days. We used them a lot at work to transfer files on floppy to/from the SGI's, and were very happy with them until they burned out, but we never had or used the optical media. I got one in an Indy picked up, with a brand new pack of 3 optical disks!, but I have not tried the opticals yet since I only have that one drive that can read or write them.
hardlink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 10:59 AM   #7
joekster
Technoid
Points: 6,077, Level: 50 Points: 6,077, Level: 50 Points: 6,077, Level: 50
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 182
Default Re: A3000 with floptical - anyone ever see one?

I remember these being scsi... They should work in an a3000, but would look more like a syquest than a floppy...
joekster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 12:07 AM   #8
Terse
Technoid
Points: 4,790, Level: 44 Points: 4,790, Level: 44 Points: 4,790, Level: 44
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Amiga.org
Posts: 180
Default Re: A3000 with floptical - anyone ever see one?

Updating this old thread.

I had an Insite Flopticall in my Amiga 3000. It interfaced using the SCSI bus but using a custom mountlist entry, it would easily read MS-DOS 1.44mb disks.

It was very unreliable, but the kit I'd gotten was specific for the Amiga 3000, so it more or less fit and could be used as the second drive.
Terse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 07:46 PM   #9
Motormouth
Technoid
Points: 7,748, Level: 58 Points: 7,748, Level: 58 Points: 7,748, Level: 58
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Motormouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Another World
Posts: 261
Default Re: A3000 with floptical - anyone ever see one?

I did not own one, but I saw one in action. The disks were 21 meg, and like Terse said could read MS-DOS HD disks. However they were as slow as molasses in January (well at least in the northern hemisphere.) basically not much faster than a floppy.
Motormouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 08:32 PM   #10
bbond007
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,304, Level: 67 Points: 10,304, Level: 67 Points: 10,304, Level: 67
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
bbond007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,384
Default Re: A3000 with floptical - anyone ever see one?

Quote:
Originally Posted by B00tDisk View Post
From here :
I know NeXT had a magneto-optical drive. Perhaps it was something like that.
bbond007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 10:52 PM   #11
matt3k
Cult Member
Points: 10,950, Level: 69 Points: 10,950, Level: 69 Points: 10,950, Level: 69
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 547
Default Re: A3000 with floptical - anyone ever see one?

An Amiga 3000 Internal 3.5 Floptical was in production but never released due to production issues.

I spoke to the manufacturer when they were in production. It was produced but never released as large production runs. They never achieved the performance and reliability to warrant mass production and acceptance.

I almost was able to purchase one from the manufacturer back in the day, to bad it didn't work out...

Last edited by matt3k; 07-27-2012 at 11:04 PM..
matt3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 03:14 AM   #12
ncafferkey
Technoid
Points: 9,411, Level: 65 Points: 9,411, Level: 65 Points: 9,411, Level: 65
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 348
Default Re: A3000 with floptical - anyone ever see one?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbond007 View Post
I know NeXT had a magneto-optical drive. Perhaps it was something like that.
It seems the two technologies are opposites in a way. MO is an a optical medium aided by magnetism for writing, whereas the Floptical is a magnetic medium aided by optical tracking. Another opposite is that MO is very reliable.
ncafferkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 03:26 AM   #13
Zac67
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Zac67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erlangen, Germany
Posts: 2,890
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: A3000 with floptical - anyone ever see one?

Very close. MO is a magnetic storage that's written to laser (heat) assisted and read optically - reliable but slow when writing. Floptical is just as you said. It never took off as it wasn't cheap and not very reliable. Then CD-Rs came into fashion, very quickly displacing everything else.
Zac67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 08:30 AM   #14
ChaosLord
Premium Member
Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
ChaosLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,528
Default Re: A3000 with floptical - anyone ever see one?

I had (still have) an LS-120 floptical in my A1200.

I also got a Ricoh Magneto Optical drive for my A3000 around 1990 which cost me $5000.00 with all the disks totalling over 8GB in storage, which was like 7.5GB more than the largest Amiga BBS I knew of at the time
__________________
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
ChaosLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 08:46 AM   #15
bbond007
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,304, Level: 67 Points: 10,304, Level: 67 Points: 10,304, Level: 67
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
bbond007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,384
Default Re: A3000 with floptical - anyone ever see one?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ncafferkey View Post
It seems the two technologies are opposites in a way. MO is an a optical medium aided by magnetism for writing, whereas the Floptical is a magnetic medium aided by optical tracking. Another opposite is that MO is very reliable.
Interesting... I never knew the difference.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosLord View Post
I had (still have) an LS-120 floptical in my A1200.

I also got a Ricoh Magneto Optical drive for my A3000 around 1990 which cost me $5000.00 with all the disks totalling over 8GB in storage, which was like 7.5GB more than the largest Amiga BBS I knew of at the time
I did have my BBS running on OS/2 machine. I had a bunch of (used) Microscience 85MB MFM drives (retired from Novell Netware servers). I formatted them to 120MB using RLL controller. I added a secondary RLL controller. I remember having to change the default base address and cut the trace for the IRQ on the secondary controller.
bbond007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 09:17 AM   #16
Zac67
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Zac67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erlangen, Germany
Posts: 2,890
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: A3000 with floptical - anyone ever see one?

LS-120 aka Superdrive is using pretty much the same technology as floptical but uses another name for legal reasons.
Zac67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 01:34 PM   #17
Nostalgiac
Technoid
Points: 6,339, Level: 51 Points: 6,339, Level: 51 Points: 6,339, Level: 51
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Nostalgiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 408
Default Re: A3000 with floptical - anyone ever see one?

I think (but could be wrong... ) that the old flopticals where the so called bernouille drives : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iomega_Bernoulli_Box

They used to be competition to the SyQuest drives.

LS-120 came later, as a counterpart to zip drives

I have had an unused LS-120 for years, without any media so never tried it.

TomUK
__________________
2000/2060/128mb/2320/2gb/C64-3D/Hydra-Aminet on OS 3.9

c128/1541/1750/1351 with Dolphin Dos and eprom burner

Last edited by Nostalgiac; 07-28-2012 at 01:55 PM.. Reason: memory rather flopsy...
Nostalgiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 02:07 PM   #18
Zac67
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Zac67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erlangen, Germany
Posts: 2,890
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: A3000 with floptical - anyone ever see one?

Bernoulli and the derivative Zip drives use non-contact heads while floptical and LS heads do have contact with the media surface.

In contrast to harddrives - where the heads fly over or under a rigid surface - Bernoullis use flexible media that in turn fly under a rigid (yet radially moving) head.
Zac67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 04:01 PM   #19
Motormouth
Technoid
Points: 7,748, Level: 58 Points: 7,748, Level: 58 Points: 7,748, Level: 58
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Motormouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Another World
Posts: 261
Default Re: A3000 with floptical - anyone ever see one?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zac67 View Post
Bernoulli and the derivative Zip drives use non-contact heads while floptical and LS heads do have contact with the media surface.

In contrast to harddrives - where the heads fly over or under a rigid surface - Bernoullis use flexible media that in turn fly under a rigid (yet radially moving) head.
Yes, and the Bernoulli drives used the "Bernoulli effect" (hence the name) to pull the media to the desired distance from the head.
Motormouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a3000 , floptical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump