amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:09 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion ACA 1230/28 Accelerator

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2010, 08:13 PM   #16
Crom00
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,396, Level: 70 Points: 11,396, Level: 70 Points: 11,396, Level: 70
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Crom00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: ACA 1230/28 Accelerator

Kudos to Jens for this. Wow... it's under $200!!!!
For those asking why it's not an 030 50mhz I belive reading on these forums that the ram maskes this board faster than any 25 mhz boards previously available.
Crom00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 08:40 PM   #17
Darrin
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,171, Level: 89 Points: 20,171, Level: 89 Points: 20,171, Level: 89
Activity: 46% Activity: 46% Activity: 46%
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana
Posts: 4,342
Send a message via AIM to Darrin Send a message via Yahoo to Darrin
Default Re: ACA 1230/28 Accelerator

Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit View Post
Yes very shortly - it can be ordered separately from us for under $10 with battery.
Cheers. I might grab one for an A1200 (just to make a games machine).
__________________
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
Darrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 09:03 PM   #18
Matt_H
VIP / Donor
Points: 24,090, Level: 94 Points: 24,090, Level: 94 Points: 24,090, Level: 94
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston, MA, United States
Posts: 5,241
Default Re: ACA 1230/28 Accelerator

Another thought, is the CPU socketed? In case someone wants to replace the EC030 with a full MMU'ed 030. Either on this board or the A600 version.
Matt_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 09:52 PM   #19
Heiroglyph
Cult Member
Points: 7,937, Level: 59 Points: 7,937, Level: 59 Points: 7,937, Level: 59
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Heiroglyph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 840
Default Re: ACA 1230/28 Accelerator

I was pretty sure he also said there was a 56 Mhz version as well.
Heiroglyph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 11:01 PM   #20
kolla
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,772, Level: 71 Points: 11,772, Level: 71 Points: 11,772, Level: 71
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,701
Default Re: ACA 1230/28 Accelerator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt_H View Post
Another thought, is the CPU socketed? In case someone wants to replace the EC030 with a full MMU'ed 030. Either on this board or the A600 version.
No sockets. This board is EC030, the A600 board will be full 030 if I understand things right. No idea what will be on the ACA 1230/56.
__________________
-- kolla
kolla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 12:03 AM   #21
Joeled
Merely Curious
Points: 935, Level: 16 Points: 935, Level: 16 Points: 935, Level: 16
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Posts: 12
Default Re: ACA 1230/28 Accelerator

I will probably buy one or wait for the 56mhz version.
Joeled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 10:16 AM   #22
amigakit
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 21,826, Level: 92 Points: 21,826, Level: 92 Points: 21,826, Level: 92
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
amigakit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,615
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: ACA 1230/28 Accelerator

Complete pricing including shipping for the ACA 1230/28 accelerator is as follows:

Accelerator including Shipping to USA/Canada/Mexico/Australia/NZ/Japan through www.amigakit.us is US $121.72

Accelerator including Shipping to Europe/Russia through www.amigakit.eu is EUR 105.79

Accelerator including Shipping to Norway/Switzerland through www.amigakit.eu is EUR 90.96

Accelerator including Shipping to UK through www.amigakit.co.uk is GBP 87.94
__________________
www.AmigaKit.com - Amiga Hardware/Software Dealer

New Products -- Customer Help & Support -- @amigakit

USA Toll Free Order Tel: 1-888-698-6758

Last edited by amigakit; 11-11-2010 at 10:20 AM..
amigakit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 10:31 AM   #23
runequester
It's Amiga time!
Points: 25,611, Level: 96 Points: 25,611, Level: 96 Points: 25,611, Level: 96
Activity: 96% Activity: 96% Activity: 96%
 
runequester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 3,695
Blog Entries: 7
Default Re: ACA 1230/28 Accelerator

Quote:
Originally Posted by klx300r View Post
nice to see new hardware but Jens how come you could'nt get at least 50 Mhz out of this modern board
He's working on a 56 mhz option.

As it seems, this one will actually be a bit snappier than a "real" 28 mhz board, due to using faster RAM.
__________________
Amiga AND Linux fan. Zealots are people that lack faith

I blog..a lot.
http://doctorwhoretrospec.blogspot.com/
http://redleftperspective.blogspot.com/
http://theamigablog.blogspot.com/
runequester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 12:37 PM   #24
mechy
Cult Member
Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
mechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas,usa
Posts: 911
Send a message via AIM to mechy Send a message via MSN to mechy
Default Re: ACA 1230/28 Accelerator

I agree with you! min. 030 accelerator these days should be 50mhz and have mmu/fpu... ;/




Quote:
Originally Posted by klx300r View Post
nice to see new hardware but Jens how come you could'nt get at least 50 Mhz out of this modern board
mechy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 12:41 PM   #25
kolla
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,772, Level: 71 Points: 11,772, Level: 71 Points: 11,772, Level: 71
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,701
Default Re: ACA 1230/28 Accelerator

Quote:
Originally Posted by mechy View Post
I agree with you! min. 030 accelerator these days should be 50mhz and have mmu/fpu... ;/
This card is mostly meant as a memory card, not a CPU card. It's just that in order to have more than 8MB RAM and avoid problems with PCMCIA slot, a different CPU is needed. The EC030 is the most common and cheapest one.
__________________
-- kolla
kolla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 01:24 PM   #26
golem
Premium Member
Points: 10,168, Level: 67 Points: 10,168, Level: 67 Points: 10,168, Level: 67
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
golem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 368
Default Re: ACA 1230/28 Accelerator

Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
This card is mostly meant as a memory card, not a CPU card. It's just that in order to have more than 8MB RAM and avoid problems with PCMCIA slot, a different CPU is needed. The EC030 is the most common and cheapest one.
That makes sense both technically and in terms of the market. Have you seen the lack of 1200 memory cards on the market and the prices they reach when they are available on eBay etc. The addition of fastmem to the system makes more difference than most people would think too
__________________

A1200 desktop, Blizzard 1260, OS3.9BB2, Indivision Mk II, SCSI Jaz, Ethernet with Genesis
A1200 desktop, Blizzard 1230, OS3.1, Ethernet with Roadshow.

Last edited by golem; 11-11-2010 at 01:26 PM..
golem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 01:28 PM   #27
RMK305
Cult Member
Points: 8,104, Level: 60 Points: 8,104, Level: 60 Points: 8,104, Level: 60
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
Starcastle Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 503
Default Re: ACA 1230/28 Accelerator

It will be fun to see the crazy ebay prices take a drop.
__________________
Amiga 4000, Warp Engine 040/40MHz, CV643D with scan doubler module, Tocatta soundcard, Deneb, 72Meg fast ram, 18 gig scsi hard drive.

3xA500, 1xA1200, 1xCD32
RMK305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 01:34 PM   #28
runequester
It's Amiga time!
Points: 25,611, Level: 96 Points: 25,611, Level: 96 Points: 25,611, Level: 96
Activity: 96% Activity: 96% Activity: 96%
 
runequester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 3,695
Blog Entries: 7
Default Re: ACA 1230/28 Accelerator

Quote:
Originally Posted by mechy View Post
I agree with you! min. 030 accelerator these days should be 50mhz and have mmu/fpu... ;/
His view from the EAB threads have been that there's almost no point in the MMU / FPU nowadays. If you do graphics work, you'll want an 060 or emulation anyways, and games don't generally care about it.

At 28 mhz, it'll give a good speed boost to most classic amiga stuff, and the extra fast ram is very handy.
__________________
Amiga AND Linux fan. Zealots are people that lack faith

I blog..a lot.
http://doctorwhoretrospec.blogspot.com/
http://redleftperspective.blogspot.com/
http://theamigablog.blogspot.com/
runequester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 01:46 PM   #29
amigakit
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 21,826, Level: 92 Points: 21,826, Level: 92 Points: 21,826, Level: 92
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
amigakit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,615
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: ACA 1230/28 Accelerator

The Ebay prices will drop for a while, but in a few months time when we are sold out of the new accelerators, they will probably be on Ebay as a second hand item for double/treble the price we sold them for originally.

We have seen the same thing happen with Indivisions and I expect our ZorRAM will go the same route.
__________________
www.AmigaKit.com - Amiga Hardware/Software Dealer

New Products -- Customer Help & Support -- @amigakit

USA Toll Free Order Tel: 1-888-698-6758
amigakit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 01:48 PM   #30
ad-rs1600i
Beginner
Points: 4,397, Level: 42 Points: 4,397, Level: 42 Points: 4,397, Level: 42
Activity: 30% Activity: 30% Activity: 30%
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 37
Default Re: ACA 1230/28 Accelerator

Cannot wait for the A600 board, it looks like a really neat piece of engineering reviewing your site and the picture on it - the price is very competitive as well considering the development that has gone in - especially considering the second hand prices of 630 boards..!

I think the A1200 is also spot on for the money as well, maybe not as beefy as some might have hoped, but for the money I think it is spot on

And being able to buy a accelerator for an Amiga in the year 2010 - incredible!!

Really excited
ad-rs1600i is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
accelerator , aca

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump