amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:06 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Software Issues and Discussion Amiga samflex 440ep startup-sequence

Amiga Software Issues and Discussion This forum exists for the discussion of the use, issues with, and fun brought about by classic and next generation Amiga software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2010, 06:51 AM   #1
atom-ant
Too much caffeine
Points: 2,970, Level: 33 Points: 2,970, Level: 33 Points: 2,970, Level: 33
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
atom-ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cambridgeshire U.K
Posts: 83
Blog Entries: 2
Angry Amiga samflex 440ep startup-sequence

I have got myself in touble in the startup-sequence I added a line in C: SetPatch ADDCHIP 2 and can get in the startup-sequence and delete the C: SetPatch ADDCHIP 2 but can not save it please help
atom-ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 06:54 AM   #2
gertsy
Lifetime Member
Points: 12,241, Level: 72 Points: 12,241, Level: 72 Points: 12,241, Level: 72
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
gertsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Melbourne, Oz
Posts: 1,893
Send a message via ICQ to gertsy Send a message via AIM to gertsy Send a message via MSN to gertsy Send a message via Yahoo to gertsy Send a message via Skype™ to gertsy
Default Re: Amiga samflex 440ep startup-sequence

Save it as a new startup-sequence and then rename it ?
__________________
G E R T S Y
A4000 040@25 16/2MB 8GB CF
A2000 040@33 16/2MB 20GB BHD
A1200 030@33 64/2MB 4GB CF
A 500 000@07 2/1MB A590 1GB HD
gertsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 07:06 AM   #3
atom-ant
Too much caffeine
Points: 2,970, Level: 33 Points: 2,970, Level: 33 Points: 2,970, Level: 33
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
atom-ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cambridgeshire U.K
Posts: 83
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: Amiga samflex 440ep startup-sequence

How can I do this as all I get is the AmigaDOS SETPATCH: wrong number of arguments and when I type in ed s:startup-sequence and delete the line I added and click on top left nothing happens and I have turn the Amiga off and rebooted and the same screen comes back??????????????
atom-ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 07:08 AM   #4
Karlos
Sockologist
Points: 50,530, Level: 100 Points: 50,530, Level: 100 Points: 50,530, Level: 100
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barishabaad, Sardistan
Posts: 16,665
Blog Entries: 18
Default Re: Amiga samflex 440ep startup-sequence

Quote:
Originally Posted by atom-ant View Post
I have got myself in touble in the startup-sequence I added a line in C: SetPatch ADDCHIP 2 and can get in the startup-sequence and delete the C: SetPatch ADDCHIP 2 but can not save it please help
A bit more info would be handy. Why can't you save it? Does the system give any error when trying to save it? If so, what does it say?

Suggestions, beyond that which gertsy has already given:

Boot without startup-sequence and list the file to see if it has been write-protected. If it is missing the "w" flag, use the "protect" command to put it back and try editing it again.

Is the drive write-protected? Depending on your filesystem (FFS in particular), you may have invalidated your disk, in which case, you'll need to wait for it to validate before you can do anything. You can check this by running the "info" command.
__________________
OCA
This isn't SCSI... This is SATA!!!
I have CDO. It's like OCD except all the letters are in ascending order. The way they should be.
Core2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz / X48T / 4GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX275 / Linux x64, AROS, Win64
A1XE 800MHz / 512MB / Radeon 9200 / OS4.1
A1200T BPPC 240MHz / 256MB / Permedia 2 / OS 3.1 - OS3.9, OS4
A1200T Apollo 1240 28MHz / 32MB / Mediator1200 / Voodoo 3000 / OS3.9
A1200D Apollo 1240 25MHz (ejector seat ROM edition) / 32MB
Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 07:11 AM   #5
atom-ant
Too much caffeine
Points: 2,970, Level: 33 Points: 2,970, Level: 33 Points: 2,970, Level: 33
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
atom-ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cambridgeshire U.K
Posts: 83
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: Amiga samflex 440ep startup-sequence

How can I do this as all I get is the AmigaDOS SETPATCH: wrong number of arguments and when I type in ed s:startup-sequence and delete the line I added and click on top left nothing happens and I have turn the Amiga off and rebooted and the same screen comes back??????????????
atom-ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 07:37 AM   #6
Karlos
Sockologist
Points: 50,530, Level: 100 Points: 50,530, Level: 100 Points: 50,530, Level: 100
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barishabaad, Sardistan
Posts: 16,665
Blog Entries: 18
Default Re: Amiga samflex 440ep startup-sequence

Quote:
Originally Posted by atom-ant View Post
How can I do this as all I get is the AmigaDOS SETPATCH: wrong number of arguments and when I type in ed s:startup-sequence and delete the line I added and click on top left nothing happens and I have turn the Amiga off and rebooted and the same screen comes back??????????????
Instead of typing that, type the following:

info

Is your system partition write enabled? If not, then your machine needs to validate the partition. If it says "validating" in the status column, just leave it for a while and periodically re-check. You can't write to a partition that is being validated.

If the partition is writeable, type:

list s:startup-sequence

Pay attention to the protection bits. The flags for rwd should at least be present (readable, writeable, deletable). If any of these are missing, type:

protect +rwd s:startup-sequence

and then list the file again to make sure they were set.

At this stage, your startup sequence is both editable and your partition is valid. To prevent weirdness, set up a minimal working environment typing the following:

assign env: envarc:
assign t: ram:

Now edit your startup sequence:

ed s:startup-sequence

This time, save it by pressing esc to bring up Ed's internal command line prompt (an asterisk) and type:

sa/s:startup-sequence.new/

then hit enter. This should save your file as a new file with the name specified.

Confirm this by typing

list s:startup-sequence#?

You should see both files and your newly edited one should have a different size if you have made modifications to it.

Now type the following:

rename s:startup-sequence s:startup-sequence.old

rename s:startup-sequence.new s:startup-sequence

then reboot.

Assuming you have no other problems with your startup-sequence file, this should work fine.
__________________
OCA
This isn't SCSI... This is SATA!!!
I have CDO. It's like OCD except all the letters are in ascending order. The way they should be.
Core2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz / X48T / 4GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX275 / Linux x64, AROS, Win64
A1XE 800MHz / 512MB / Radeon 9200 / OS4.1
A1200T BPPC 240MHz / 256MB / Permedia 2 / OS 3.1 - OS3.9, OS4
A1200T Apollo 1240 28MHz / 32MB / Mediator1200 / Voodoo 3000 / OS3.9
A1200D Apollo 1240 25MHz (ejector seat ROM edition) / 32MB
Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 08:12 AM   #7
atom-ant
Too much caffeine
Points: 2,970, Level: 33 Points: 2,970, Level: 33 Points: 2,970, Level: 33
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
atom-ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cambridgeshire U.K
Posts: 83
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: Amiga samflex 440ep startup-sequence

I have put in info and this is what comes up
Mounted disks:
unit size used
CD0: no disk present
DH0:
DH1:
ENV;
RAM:
Volumes available
RAM Disk: [Mounted]
Work: [Mounted]
OS4.1: [Mounted]
list s:startup-sequence
Directory "s:" on sunday 26-sept-10
startup-sequence 1001 --------rw-d 26-sept-10
Not sure as I put the line in protect+rwd s:startup-sequence than I get an unknown command
Just like to say I do not know a lot about the Amiga and just one more thing when I go into the ed s:startup-sequence and delete the line I put in the mouse freezes up and the keyboard.
atom-ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 08:20 AM   #8
Karlos
Sockologist
Points: 50,530, Level: 100 Points: 50,530, Level: 100 Points: 50,530, Level: 100
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barishabaad, Sardistan
Posts: 16,665
Blog Entries: 18
Default Re: Amiga samflex 440ep startup-sequence

It's

protect +wrd s:startup-sequence

not

protect+ wrd s:startup-sequence

Anyway, this part is not the problem as your file appears to be writeable anyway.

You may be having instability caused by not running setpatch in the first place.

Reboot the machine. When it fails and drops you into a shell, type:

c:setpatch quiet

then

c:reboot fast

After the machine starts up again, you may find you can edit the startup-sequence file without it freezing up.
__________________
OCA
This isn't SCSI... This is SATA!!!
I have CDO. It's like OCD except all the letters are in ascending order. The way they should be.
Core2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz / X48T / 4GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX275 / Linux x64, AROS, Win64
A1XE 800MHz / 512MB / Radeon 9200 / OS4.1
A1200T BPPC 240MHz / 256MB / Permedia 2 / OS 3.1 - OS3.9, OS4
A1200T Apollo 1240 28MHz / 32MB / Mediator1200 / Voodoo 3000 / OS3.9
A1200D Apollo 1240 25MHz (ejector seat ROM edition) / 32MB
Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 08:48 AM   #9
number6
Premium Member
Points: 8,486, Level: 62 Points: 8,486, Level: 62 Points: 8,486, Level: 62
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 756
Default Re: Amiga samflex 440ep startup-sequence

Quote:
Originally Posted by atom-ant View Post
How can I do this as all I get is the AmigaDOS SETPATCH: wrong number of arguments and when I type in ed s:startup-sequence and delete the line I added and click on top left nothing happens and I have turn the Amiga off and rebooted and the same screen comes back??????????????
I don't understand what you mean by "click on top left".
To save the file after edit you just type "[escape key] x".

The format for adding chip ram in that line btw, is:
C:SetPatch QUIET ADDCHIPRAM=[number]

#6
number6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 08:58 AM   #10
atom-ant
Too much caffeine
Points: 2,970, Level: 33 Points: 2,970, Level: 33 Points: 2,970, Level: 33
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
atom-ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cambridgeshire U.K
Posts: 83
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: Amiga samflex 440ep startup-sequence

Thanks very very much for your help all sorted and I used another mouse which seems to work and the mouse I was using has broken and again thanks for your help.
atom-ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
samflex , startupsequence , amiga , 440ep

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump