amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:06 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

» Amiga.org » Amiga computer related discussion » Amiga community support ideas » Radioactive Workbench

Amiga community support ideas This forum is for the open discussion of new thoughts and ideas intended to help the Amiga community. What do we need? What do we want?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2010, 07:46 PM   #1
Rebel-CD32
Technoid
Points: 8,798, Level: 63 Points: 8,798, Level: 63 Points: 8,798, Level: 63
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Rebel-CD32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 288
Send a message via MSN to Rebel-CD32
Default Radioactive Workbench

Here's a theme I'm working on for our upcoming Workbench distribution, which people have dubbed "Modern Workbench" but I don't know what it'll be called. Probably Modern Workbench if we can't think of anything better.
There will be a choice of glow effects for your icons. Along with the classic dull yellow glow, there's this new "radioactive" glow, complete with green themed window borders.

...

I've designed everything to be compatible with any Amiga running Kickstart 3.0/3.1, although VisualPrefs may not run on 68000 so we'll need to include a simpler window-border hack that will still work with Birdie.
__________________
Amiga user forever.

Last edited by Rebel-CD32; 09-19-2010 at 07:50 PM..
Rebel-CD32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 08:18 PM   #2
AmigaEd
His Dudeness, El Duderino
Points: 6,462, Level: 52 Points: 6,462, Level: 52 Points: 6,462, Level: 52
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
 
AmigaEd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pensiltucky
Posts: 479
Default Re: Radioactive Workbench

Looks quite nice to me. Look forward to seeing more.

"our upcoming Workbench distribution" - please forgive my ignorance, but who is "our" and what is the story behind the "upcoming Workbench distribution"

Regards,
AmigaEd
__________________
"Pretty soon they will have numbers tattooed on our foreheads." - Jay Miner 1990

La Familia...
A1K - La Primera Dama -1987
A1K - La Princesa- January 2005
A2K - La Reina - February 2005
A2K - Doomy - March 2005
A500 - El Gran Jugador - April 2005
A1200 - La Hermosa Vista - May 2005
A2KHD - El Duro Grande - May 2005
A600 - Prístino - May 2005
A1200 - El Trueno Grande - July 2005
CDTV - El Misterioso - August 2005
C64 - El Gran Lebowski - August 2005
A3K - October 2010
y mas...
AmigaEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 08:35 PM   #3
gizmo350
Lifetime Member
Points: 12,914, Level: 74 Points: 12,914, Level: 74 Points: 12,914, Level: 74
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
 
gizmo350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: GR, Michigan
Posts: 901
Default Re: Radioactive Workbench

DANG! How can I make my A1200 screen look like that? I'm new to the A1200 and have recently installed 60GB HDD w/WB3.9, Indivision AGA, and an Accelerator + many other goodies that are still waiting to be installed... Where do I even start to get a screen and Icons like this (obviously you), but I mean "how to do it?"

The hardware is great fun but mastering the software is my ultimate goal!

giZmo....
__________________
A500 w/2MB Chip, 2MB Fast, Indi ECS, Mini Megi, A590-4GB/MechyCF-HDD, ROM Switcher w/KS1.3/KS2.1

A2000HD w/2MB Chip, 32MB Fast, Phase 5: Blizzard 2040/ERC @40Mhz, 4GBHDD, Indi ECS, Mini Megi, CD-RW, Kitchen Sync, SunRize AD516, Toaster 2000, Toaster Flyer, WB2.1

A1200 w/2MB Chip, 64MB EDO Fast, 4GB CF-HDD, GVP-M Typhoon 030 40MHz, Subway USB, EasyNet Ethernet, Indivision AGA MKI, FastATA MK-IV, Internal Slim CD/DVD-RW, WB3.5 - It's KickAss Fast Too!


A Site For Classic Amiga Projects
gizmo350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 08:37 PM   #4
Rebel-CD32
Technoid
Points: 8,798, Level: 63 Points: 8,798, Level: 63 Points: 8,798, Level: 63
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Rebel-CD32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 288
Send a message via MSN to Rebel-CD32
Default Re: Radioactive Workbench

Cammy and I are working on it together, but if we ever have a forum where we can work on these kind of projects together we'd gladly accept help from anyone else.

I guess I use the term "distribution" in the same sense they do with Linux, although it won't actually include the copyrighted system files. The installer will prompt you to insert a Workbench floppy disk during installation, the same as Classic Workbench, AmigaSYS and AmiKit do.

If you haven't already checked out the existing Workbench packs/distributions, they're pretty good:

Classic Workbench - http://classicwb.abime.net/
AmigaSYS - http://amigasys.ultimateamiga.co.uk/
AmiKit - http://amikit.amiga.sk/

It's basically a pre-installed Workbench setup, packed with programs, customised and snapshotted in position, ready for anyone to jump in and use so they don't have to spend months or years doing the job from scratch.
__________________
Amiga user forever.
Rebel-CD32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 09:08 PM   #5
gizmo350
Lifetime Member
Points: 12,914, Level: 74 Points: 12,914, Level: 74 Points: 12,914, Level: 74
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
 
gizmo350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: GR, Michigan
Posts: 901
Default Re: Radioactive Workbench

I have read a bit about the "pre-installed Workbench" and didn't really understand everything but, am I right in thinking I would have to reinstall my entire OS? I seemed very complicated the first time I read thru it all but I probably just need more experience. Very nice WB screen though! Someone once said on this forum that "most C64 peeps went straight to the PC clone". I did for the reasons stated in his post (mostly expense). I was a master at the C64 and just got into the Amiga about 4 years ago. I understand how much time people invest in Amiga binary code... and like many other things in life, I wish I could spend boat loads of time with. OK, I'm rambling.... but I love this stuff. Thanks for the links! This is the most time consuming computer hobby I've had - and "loving it"!
__________________
A500 w/2MB Chip, 2MB Fast, Indi ECS, Mini Megi, A590-4GB/MechyCF-HDD, ROM Switcher w/KS1.3/KS2.1

A2000HD w/2MB Chip, 32MB Fast, Phase 5: Blizzard 2040/ERC @40Mhz, 4GBHDD, Indi ECS, Mini Megi, CD-RW, Kitchen Sync, SunRize AD516, Toaster 2000, Toaster Flyer, WB2.1

A1200 w/2MB Chip, 64MB EDO Fast, 4GB CF-HDD, GVP-M Typhoon 030 40MHz, Subway USB, EasyNet Ethernet, Indivision AGA MKI, FastATA MK-IV, Internal Slim CD/DVD-RW, WB3.5 - It's KickAss Fast Too!


A Site For Classic Amiga Projects
gizmo350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 12:43 AM   #6
Thomas
Desperately needs a life
Points: 15,165, Level: 79 Points: 15,165, Level: 79 Points: 15,165, Level: 79
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,036
Default Re: Radioactive Workbench

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo350 View Post
DANG! How can I make my A1200 screen look like that?
Patch to manipulate window borders and other GUI elements -> http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/VisualPrefs
Patch to allow colored icons -> http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/NewIcons46
Patch to allow lots of graphics without loosing too much chip-RAM -> http://aminet.net/util/boot/fblit.lha (hopefully your accelerator has some fast-RAM, otherwise this is of no use)
More icons than you ever need -> http://aminet.net/pix/nicon
Background pictures and patterns -> http://aminet.net/pix/back


Quote:
am I right in thinking I would have to reinstall my entire OS?
"Installing" in terms of AmigaOS just means copying some files from one place to another, so it's not such a big deal. But yes, you'll need to replace your boot partition with a new OS. Usually one just unpacks the distribution archive of the "preinstalled" Workbench to the boot partition. When it first starts it will ask for the installation disks and copy all needed files to the right places automatically.
__________________
Email: thomas-rapp@web.de
Home: thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de/
Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 03:00 PM   #7
platon42
Cult Member
Points: 9,459, Level: 65 Points: 9,459, Level: 65 Points: 9,459, Level: 65
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
platon42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 573
Default Re: Radioactive Workbench

Very nice "RocketTool" icon
__________________
--
Regards, Chris Hodges )-> http://www.platon42.de <-(
hackerkey://v4sw7CJS$hw6/7ln6pr7+8AOP$ck0ma8u2LMw1/4Xm5l3i5TJCOTextPad/e7t2BDMNb7GHLen5a34s5IMr1g3/5ACM
platon42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 04:49 PM   #8
Darrin
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,668, Level: 90 Points: 20,668, Level: 90 Points: 20,668, Level: 90
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana
Posts: 4,383
Send a message via AIM to Darrin Send a message via Yahoo to Darrin
Default Re: Radioactive Workbench

Very nice.

I've been using a "Classic Workbench AGA" install on my A4000 and I've just managed to get a 1.5GB "Classic Workbench" hard file made up for my Minimig v1.1. I was loading it up with various WHDLoad games and testing them when I had to go back to work.

I look forward to checking this out because "something" in my A4000's Classic Workbench setup seems to be stopping my FastATA4000 hard drives working in anything other than PIO0 without reporting read errors and my Deneb from working in anything other than Z2 mode.
__________________
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
Darrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 05:00 PM   #9
Karlos
Sockologist
Points: 50,827, Level: 100 Points: 50,827, Level: 100 Points: 50,827, Level: 100
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barishabaad, Sardistan
Posts: 16,670
Blog Entries: 18
Default Re: Radioactive Workbench

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel-CD32 View Post
Perfect workbench backdrop for this theme?
__________________
OCA
This isn't SCSI... This is SATA!!!
I have CDO. It's like OCD except all the letters are in ascending order. The way they should be.
Core2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz / X48T / 4GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX275 / Linux x64, AROS, Win64
A1XE 800MHz / 512MB / Radeon 9200 / OS4.1
A1200T BPPC 240MHz / 256MB / Permedia 2 / OS 3.1 - OS3.9, OS4
A1200T Apollo 1240 28MHz / 32MB / Mediator1200 / Voodoo 3000 / OS3.9
A1200D Apollo 1240 25MHz (ejector seat ROM edition) / 32MB
Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 06:45 PM   #10
Drummerboy
Technoid
Points: 10,839, Level: 68 Points: 10,839, Level: 68 Points: 10,839, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Drummerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: America - Behind Drums Set Close to any Amiga
Posts: 461
Send a message via MSN to Drummerboy Send a message via Skype™ to Drummerboy
Default Re: Radioactive Workbench

@Rebel-CD32

Very Cool!!

Its nice was doing for use with Amiga OS 3.X..

congratulations for you and Cammy!-- Great Job!
__________________
Amiga 1000, 500, 600, 2000, 1200, 4000...

C= VIC 20 / 64 /SX64/ 128

Atari 600XL (SIC Cartdridge)
Atari 800XL (SIO2SD unit)

Jay Miner`s Atari 2600 - Wood front -

\"Amiga, this Computer have a Own Live\"--\"Silence When the Drums are Talking\".... DrummerBoy
Drummerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 08:10 PM   #11
Darrin
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,668, Level: 90 Points: 20,668, Level: 90 Points: 20,668, Level: 90
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana
Posts: 4,383
Send a message via AIM to Darrin Send a message via Yahoo to Darrin
Default Re: Radioactive Workbench

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karlos View Post
Got it in 1920 x 1050?
__________________
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
Darrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 01:14 PM   #12
radzik
Too much caffeine
Points: 1,160, Level: 18 Points: 1,160, Level: 18 Points: 1,160, Level: 18
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
radzik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 76
Send a message via Skype™ to radzik
Default Re: Radioactive Workbench

Very nice. Will icons be available separately? For download and install it on any system?
__________________
Amiga 2000 2 MB Chip ECS, Blizzard 2060/60 MHz 128 MB Fast, Picasso II+, Deneb USB, 160 GB & DVD-RW / OS 3.9
Amiga 1200, Blizzard PPC 233/040 256 MB Fast, BVision / OS4.0, OS3.9, MOS 1.45
radzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 01:53 PM   #13
kolla
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,413, Level: 72 Points: 12,413, Level: 72 Points: 12,413, Level: 72
Activity: 83% Activity: 83% Activity: 83%
 
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,742
Default Re: Radioactive Workbench

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karlos View Post
Broccoli!!!
__________________
-- kolla
kolla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 03:15 PM   #14
Clark Kent
Merely Curious
Points: 694, Level: 13 Points: 694, Level: 13 Points: 694, Level: 13
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Clark Kent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 11
Default Re: Radioactive Workbench

Respect! This is very nice, especially since you only use 16 colors as far as I can see. Works great with AGA. Call me conservative, but shouldn't you have a blue theme? Blue/gray windows always seems more Amiga to me. I never liked that green theme used in AmiKit.

Are the icons rendered to this palette?

By the way, is there any "perfect" 16-colour palette for all-round use? Guess that must include more shades of gray than other colors?
Clark Kent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 03:45 PM   #15
Akiko
VIP / Donor
Points: 12,420, Level: 72 Points: 12,420, Level: 72 Points: 12,420, Level: 72
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Akiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 985
Default Re: Radioactive Workbench

Very cool icons..
Akiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 05:13 PM   #16
Karlos
Sockologist
Points: 50,827, Level: 100 Points: 50,827, Level: 100 Points: 50,827, Level: 100
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barishabaad, Sardistan
Posts: 16,670
Blog Entries: 18
Default Re: Radioactive Workbench

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darrin View Post
Got it in 1920 x 1050?
It could probably be arranged I think I have all the original assets, one of which was an absolutely enormous resolution image of the Tsar Bomba detonation.
__________________
OCA
This isn't SCSI... This is SATA!!!
I have CDO. It's like OCD except all the letters are in ascending order. The way they should be.
Core2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz / X48T / 4GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX275 / Linux x64, AROS, Win64
A1XE 800MHz / 512MB / Radeon 9200 / OS4.1
A1200T BPPC 240MHz / 256MB / Permedia 2 / OS 3.1 - OS3.9, OS4
A1200T Apollo 1240 28MHz / 32MB / Mediator1200 / Voodoo 3000 / OS3.9
A1200D Apollo 1240 25MHz (ejector seat ROM edition) / 32MB
Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 05:50 PM   #17
Retrofan
Technoid
Points: 7,760, Level: 59 Points: 7,760, Level: 59 Points: 7,760, Level: 59
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Canary Islands
Posts: 491
Default Re: Radioactive Workbench

I'm not into the Amiga scene since a long time, but I like to have different configurations in different Hd CF. I already have 3:
32Gb Trascend Sys4Aga OS3.9,
16Gb Sandisk Amikit running on Real Amiga (my favourite), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8iKiBfZt0wc
16GB Sandisk Classic WB OS3.9,
and by now I was thinking to setup another, and I'll keep the Mac installation for later, so I will be interested trying this Radioactive WB... I'm going to Ebay to buy another CF...

Ah, good to see Thomas is around here. He's a master...

BTW: Will I need to use gloves to install that radioactive thing ? I'm wearing them on since my clothes began to shine in the dark...

Last edited by Retrofan; 10-30-2010 at 08:58 AM..
Retrofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 06:02 PM   #18
TheGoose
Defender of the Faith
Points: 13,413, Level: 75 Points: 13,413, Level: 75 Points: 13,413, Level: 75
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
TheGoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Moon
Posts: 1,458
Blog Entries: 9
Default Re: Radioactive Workbench

"I've designed everything to be compatible with any Amiga running Kickstart 3.0/3.1, although VisualPrefs may not run on 68000 so we'll need to include a simpler window-border hack that will still work with Birdie."

Badass. You crazy kids are my heroes!
__________________
G1200, A3000D, A1200 PPC AOS4.0C

I'm on Google +

Last edited by TheGoose; 10-29-2010 at 06:04 PM..
TheGoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 04:36 PM   #19
Retrofan
Technoid
Points: 7,760, Level: 59 Points: 7,760, Level: 59 Points: 7,760, Level: 59
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Canary Islands
Posts: 491
Default Re: Radioactive Workbench

Two questions:
Will it be a free distribution pack or will it be for sale?
When do you believe will be the (first) release (I understand you could make updates)?
Retrofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 04:48 PM   #20
Darrin
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,668, Level: 90 Points: 20,668, Level: 90 Points: 20,668, Level: 90
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana
Posts: 4,383
Send a message via AIM to Darrin Send a message via Yahoo to Darrin
Default Re: Radioactive Workbench

Any more progress on this?
__________________
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
Darrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
radioactive , workbench

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump