amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:41 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga community support ideas New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA

Amiga community support ideas This forum is for the open discussion of new thoughts and ideas intended to help the Amiga community. What do we need? What do we want?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2010, 07:11 AM   #16
orb85750
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,613, Level: 80 Points: 15,613, Level: 80 Points: 15,613, Level: 80
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
orb85750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA

Further bastardization of the Commodore name. It's like those spam emails with the enticing title, only to find out that the body of the email has little to do with the title.
orb85750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 07:21 AM   #17
scuzzb494
Cult Member
Points: 8,867, Level: 63 Points: 8,867, Level: 63 Points: 8,867, Level: 63
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 677
Default Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA

Its bad enough that I have to plug a larger keyboard into my iPAQ to make it usable.. Seriously is this supposed to be progress. Don`t get it. And certainly nothing Commodore about this sorry.

scuzz
scuzzb494 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 07:24 AM   #18
persia
Desperately needs a life
Points: 20,127, Level: 89 Points: 20,127, Level: 89 Points: 20,127, Level: 89
Activity: 56% Activity: 56% Activity: 56%
 
persia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,640
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA

Specs:

For those of you who need a recapitulation of the specifications, the Eee PC Keyboard packs Intel's Atom N270 processor; 1GB of DDR2;Ultra Wide Band built in transmitter and external receiver WLAN 802.11 b/g/n; 10/100/1000 LAN; Bluetooth V2.1; a 5-inch 800x480 LED multi-touch display; wireless-N; HDMI out from keyboard and UWB receiver; VGA out; 3 x USB 2.0 ports and Windows XP Home.

Asus' All-in-One Eee Keyboard PC Finally Ships
__________________


What we're witnessing is the sad, lonely crowing of that last, doomed cock.
persia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 07:30 AM   #19
gertsy
Lifetime Member
Points: 11,801, Level: 71 Points: 11,801, Level: 71 Points: 11,801, Level: 71
Activity: 56% Activity: 56% Activity: 56%
 
gertsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Melbourne, Oz
Posts: 1,806
Default Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA

Where did the pic come from? It's obviously doctored badly in the bottom RH corner.
gertsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 07:37 AM   #20
persia
Desperately needs a life
Points: 20,127, Level: 89 Points: 20,127, Level: 89 Points: 20,127, Level: 89
Activity: 56% Activity: 56% Activity: 56%
 
persia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,640
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA

On the other board they say it's a Great Wall Cross PC U150 Ion-izes the Eee Keyboard

This is the original un-doctored image:



Invictus

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds, and shall find, me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll.
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.

William Ernest Henley
__________________


What we're witnessing is the sad, lonely crowing of that last, doomed cock.
persia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 07:57 AM   #21
BigBenAussie
Technoid
Points: 7,230, Level: 56 Points: 7,230, Level: 56 Points: 7,230, Level: 56
Activity: 18% Activity: 18% Activity: 18%
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 314
Send a message via MSN to BigBenAussie
Default Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA

@persia

I've been in contact with Commodore's owner Barry Altman. He just got back from China and is jet-lagged.
Over the last month or so we've been discussing AROS as a standard boot option.
I shot him an e-mail just before and I am surprised I already got a reply.

I can confirm that the Invictus WILL HAVE wireless HDMI. VERY COOL!!

The specs are actually higher than the ASUS eee PC, which apparently has difficulty even running Xp.

He says the Commodore trademark deal is a mere couple of weeks away. Only got to decide on various options. Not a matter of IF but WHEN now.

I have been given permission to quote this part of his e-mail.
Quote:
Things are progressing at a rapid rate, and the Commodore line will launch shortly, with all the new products, including the Atom/Nvidea based INVICTUS, and many more surprises to follow.
Over the last couple of weeks he has shared with me the immense amount of work that goes into getting all this stuff done. Its much more than what you think. There's also a lot more going on that I can't divulge. The best is yet to come.
BigBenAussie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 08:11 AM   #22
BigBenAussie
Technoid
Points: 7,230, Level: 56 Points: 7,230, Level: 56 Points: 7,230, Level: 56
Activity: 18% Activity: 18% Activity: 18%
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 314
Send a message via MSN to BigBenAussie
Default Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywirepc View Post
I was kind of wondering how long it would take this idiot to rebrand this computer, since he's already got the cybernet and another all in one keyboard on his site.
With all due respect Steve.... Everything you've said in this post is complete and utter rubbish.
Quote:
I love the hypeup and make believe nonsense on the website. I wonder how long it will be until commodore international or whoever owns the trademark sues him and shuts him down.
Hype up? Hype up? On their own website....Heaven forbid, they would try to sell a product.
Edit: Forgot to comment on trademark.
The owner says the Commodore trademark deal is a mere couple of weeks away. Only got to decide on various options. Not a matter of IF but WHEN now.

Quote:
Why buy this thing from this joker? Just to get a commodore sticker you stick on yourself? Your kidding right?
Congratulations! You are runner up troll of the year.
The logo is already affixed to the machine as you would expect of classic Commodore machines.
Some of the pre-orders went out without them, that is all.
I don't know why you are getting you knickers in a knot over this.
Why is this making you so angry that you need to lash out and call people idiots?

I mean what did you expect a Commodore company to do? This is the first bunch of products. If you don't like any of the first generation of products, then don't buy one. Others will, and then you will see some unique product development more to your tastes. It might not be exactly what YOU want now, but the product line will evolve.
Is it too much to ask for a fair go? Maybe that's very Australian of me. ;-)

Last edited by BigBenAussie; 05-28-2010 at 08:13 AM.. Reason: Forgot to comment on trademark.
BigBenAussie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 08:11 AM   #23
tone007
sad moaning faced git
Points: 14,755, Level: 78 Points: 14,755, Level: 78 Points: 14,755, Level: 78
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
tone007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 3,204
Send a message via AIM to tone007
Default Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA

Quote:
the internal 5-inch touchscreen on the right shuts off when an external monitor is connected
How completely lame. I'd hope they're wrong about that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBenAussie View Post
This is the first bunch of products. If you don't like any of the first generation of products, then don't buy one.
Someone else's products! Unless he's selling at the same cost or less than the original vendor, it's a very silly idea to pay a higher price for a Commodore sticker.

Throwing a free OS onto a machine doesn't make the product original.
__________________
3 Commodore file cabinets, 2 Commodore USB turntables, 1 AmigaWorld beer mug
Alienware M14x i7 laptop running AmigaForever

Last edited by tone007; 05-28-2010 at 08:14 AM..
tone007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 08:24 AM   #24
Amiga_Nut
Cult Member
Points: 10,513, Level: 68 Points: 10,513, Level: 68 Points: 10,513, Level: 68
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 907
Default Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBenAussie View Post


Now that's more like it!!!!!!

I don't have specs for you yet.
(watch this space)
Commodore USA

But it is probably the same specs as what it looks like. :-D

I can confirm that it is ATOM/nvidia based
INVICTUS is the latin word for "Invincible".
It comes in silver too. It also has a stylus.
I do not know if it features wireless wiBand HDMI. I'll see if I can find out.
What makes this anything other than a limp wristed Atom based piece of crap inferior to a 2005 Pentium M laptop with the LCD screen/lid removed?

Will it even be able to play Battlefield 2 for PC from 2005 @ SXGA in medium detail? Nope.

So the answer is nothing

I bought an Amiga and a C64 because they were cutting edge technology, this is basically only suitable for the facebook/MSN/Youtube etc. Give me a Dell D810 laptop with 2.1ghz Pentium M II and 128mb ATI x600 with the lid missing for 50 bucks any day. Such a 5 year old machine would annihilate this thing on any test you care to run.

However if your current doorstop is a bit worn out and you don't want the door handles damaging your newly plastered walls on windy days.................
Amiga_Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 08:27 AM   #25
dammy
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 21,013, Level: 91 Points: 21,013, Level: 91 Points: 21,013, Level: 91
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
dammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tequesta, FL USA
Posts: 2,794
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by tone007 View Post
How completely lame. I'd hope they're wrong about that.



Someone else's products! Unless he's selling at the same cost or less than the original vendor, it's a very silly idea to pay a higher price for a Commodore sticker.

Throwing a free OS onto a machine doesn't make the product original.
Well, Eyetech did the same with Teron mobos, was that a bad thing?

Edit: And then the cost of OS4, lets' not forget that one either.
__________________
Dammy

www.arixfoundation.com
Unless otherwise noted, I speak only for myself.
dammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 08:29 AM   #26
tone007
sad moaning faced git
Points: 14,755, Level: 78 Points: 14,755, Level: 78 Points: 14,755, Level: 78
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
tone007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 3,204
Send a message via AIM to tone007
Default Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA

What free OS was that, that wouldn't run on any other clone lying around?

Exactly.
__________________
3 Commodore file cabinets, 2 Commodore USB turntables, 1 AmigaWorld beer mug
Alienware M14x i7 laptop running AmigaForever
tone007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 08:31 AM   #27
trilobyte
Technoid
Points: 4,370, Level: 42 Points: 4,370, Level: 42 Points: 4,370, Level: 42
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: IL, USA
Posts: 170
Default Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by tone007 View Post
Someone else's products! Unless he's selling at the same cost or less than the original vendor, it's a very silly idea to pay a higher price for a Commodore sticker.
Hey! Re-branding OEM PCs worked really well for Commodore companies of the past...

http://www.amiga.org/gallery/index.php?n=2621

Erm!
__________________
Amiga user since '96, when I could finally afford one
Commodore 8-bit since before I could tie my shoes

Last edited by trilobyte; 05-28-2010 at 08:36 AM..
trilobyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 08:33 AM   #28
kolla
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,772, Level: 71 Points: 11,772, Level: 71 Points: 11,772, Level: 71
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,701
Default Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBenAussie View Post
I mean what did you expect a Commodore company to do?
Are you sure you want to know?
__________________
-- kolla
kolla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 08:35 AM   #29
BigBenAussie
Technoid
Points: 7,230, Level: 56 Points: 7,230, Level: 56 Points: 7,230, Level: 56
Activity: 18% Activity: 18% Activity: 18%
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 314
Send a message via MSN to BigBenAussie
Default Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by tone007 View Post
Someone else's products! Unless he's selling at the same cost or less than the original vendor, it's a very silly idea to pay a higher price for a Commodore sticker.
You really make me laugh. I suggest you remove all brand products from your possession.
You'd probably end up naked. You pay more for a brand product. Get over it.
Hell, why don't you go wear that line out on the AmigaOne fans.
At least it's not CommodoreOne. Sheesh.
At least they can get the proper name of the brand.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tone007 View Post
Throwing a free OS onto a machine doesn't make the product original.
Why do you want to pay for Windows for? Losing Windows is a good thing.
It comes with Ubuntu now.... Yeah, it's been done before... sure... but it's hardly a wide spread practice. Isn't that different enough for you.
Ok, with a bit of luck we'll get AROS on it, and maybe some emulation options. We'll see.
You can even install MacOSX on their Commodore Phoenix. Which I hope to demonstrate when mine finally arrives. Yeah, you can do that on MSI machines. But it is still different.
There is probably even going to be an OS called Comodo which is a vastly simpler OS for young children or seniors.
Hell... What has Commodore got to do?
Do you want ChomeOS? I mean really?
Do you want something like Bumptop?
What would you like to see on this machine?
Tell me and I'll see if I can make it happen.
The owner is open to all suggestions.
We, the Commodore fans, can make this what we want!
BigBenAussie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 08:45 AM   #30
BigBenAussie
Technoid
Points: 7,230, Level: 56 Points: 7,230, Level: 56 Points: 7,230, Level: 56
Activity: 18% Activity: 18% Activity: 18%
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 314
Send a message via MSN to BigBenAussie
Default Re: New Commodore Invictus from Commodore USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amiga_Nut View Post
What makes this anything other than a limp wristed Atom based piece of crap inferior to a 2005 Pentium M laptop with the LCD screen/lid removed?

Will it even be able to play Battlefield 2 for PC from 2005 @ SXGA in medium detail? Nope.

So the answer is nothing

I bought an Amiga and a C64 because they were cutting edge technology, this is basically only suitable for the facebook/MSN/Youtube etc. Give me a Dell D810 laptop with 2.1ghz Pentium M II and 128mb ATI x600 with the lid missing for 50 bucks any day. Such a 5 year old machine would annihilate this thing on any test you care to run.

However if your current doorstop is a bit worn out and you don't want the door handles damaging your newly plastered walls on windy days.................
1. The Invictus comes with the Nvidia ION chipset which it is said will revolutionise gaming on these small devices. With wireless HDMI, you won't even need to have it plugged into your HDMI TV.

"Will it even be able to play Battlefield 2 for PC from 2005 @ SXGA in medium detail? Nope."
2. I bet you it will. And on your couch in your living room. And who knows, you might even be able to put keyboard game shortcuts on the touch screen.

3. If you think these specs are too low for you.....There's always the Commodore Phoenix, with the highend version being a 3.4 Ghz Quad Core. If you wait until Christmas you might even see an i7 version. That's why there's a range of Commodore machines at different specifications and price points. Honestly. Next you'll begrudge a Toyota Corolla for not being an F1 car!
BigBenAussie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
usa , invictus , commodore

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump