amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:14 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga community support ideas Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

Amiga community support ideas This forum is for the open discussion of new thoughts and ideas intended to help the Amiga community. What do we need? What do we want?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2010, 02:24 PM   #1
Amiga1200User
Merely Curious
Points: 92, Level: 1 Points: 92, Level: 1 Points: 92, Level: 1
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Default Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

Maybe I'll get flamed to hell for this, but it seems to me that a lot of old Mac PPC hardware is floating around. I just pulled a Performa 5200CDS out of my garage. It has a built in CD, Floppy, monitor, 32MB of ram, a PPC 603 cpu and a ethernet interface. I HATE Mac OS 8 or 9. It would be FANTASTIC to load Amiga OS on this. Why has no one made a port? It would open up the available hardware for Amiga OS and breathe new life into old hardware. I'd much rather load Amiga OS on it.

Just a rant and a thought!
Amiga1200User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 02:45 PM   #2
AppleHammer
Technoid
Points: 4,555, Level: 43 Points: 4,555, Level: 43 Points: 4,555, Level: 43
Activity: 58% Activity: 58% Activity: 58%
 
AppleHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South Wales, UK
Posts: 291
Send a message via ICQ to AppleHammer Send a message via MSN to AppleHammer
Default Re: Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

I hate all MAC Operating Systems.

I think the main problem with your suggestion is that in order to make a port to new (old) hardware, an investment is required in terms of programming resources. Hyperion will probably only invest that time for platforms that will likely see widespread use amongst Amiga users. A port to an old MAC system like the one you describe would be cool for you, but how many other people would it be cool for? Plus, the more systems they port to, the more problematic and time consuming it becomes to support all those systems. So they have to be careful and sensible about the hardware they decide to port AmigaOS to.

Hyperion are still debating whether or not to continue support for classic Amiga systems, of which there is still quite a widespread use amongst the Amiga community. So, if the classics support is in jeopardy, I think the likelihood of support for old MAC systems like the one you've described is slim to none.

But you're right, it would be cool to breathe new life into that old hardware!

Apple Hammer
AppleHammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 02:53 PM   #3
Kronos
Resident blue troll
Points: 14,538, Level: 78 Points: 14,538, Level: 78 Points: 14,538, Level: 78
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Kronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,927
Default Re: Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

MorphOS (http://www.morphos-team.net/) is available for all G4 based MacMinis.

It has been announced for EMac and PowerMac-G4 (some details need to be cleared here).

It has been been demoed on some PowerBook, but it has been not confirmed that this version will ever be released.

Porting to even older (and completly obsolote) G3 or slower Macs is not planed.
__________________
1. Make an announcment.
2. Wait a while.
3. Check if it can actually be done.
4. Wait for someone else to do it.
5. Start working on it while giving out hillarious progress-reports.
6. Deny that you have ever announced it
7. Blame someone else
Kronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 04:41 PM   #4
Matt_H
VIP / Donor
Points: 24,943, Level: 95 Points: 24,943, Level: 95 Points: 24,943, Level: 95
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston, MA, United States
Posts: 5,369
Default Re: Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

There's not enough bang for the buck on pre-OSX Mac hardware. The machines that the MorphOS team are targeting are more available, more powerful, more cost-effective, and more likely to have replacement parts readily available for the forseeable future.

And unlike the Cyberstorm and Blizzard PPC boards, there isn't already a large (relatively speaking) installed base of likely users for Mac classic hardware.
Matt_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 08:50 AM   #5
persia
Banned
Points: 20,846, Level: 90 Points: 20,846, Level: 90 Points: 20,846, Level: 90
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,753
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

Hyperion have a license for 3.1, Amiga Inc actually own it, although they seem to be pining for the Fjords of Norway nowadays....

Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleHammer View Post
I hate all MAC Operating Systems.

Hyperion are still debating whether or not to continue support for classic Amiga systems, of which there is still quite a widespread use amongst the Amiga community. So, if the classics support is in jeopardy, I think the likelihood of support for old MAC systems like the one you've described is slim to none.

But you're right, it would be cool to breathe new life into that old hardware!

Apple Hammer
persia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 10:00 AM   #6
ElPolloDiabl
Defender of the Faith
Points: 16,131, Level: 81 Points: 16,131, Level: 81 Points: 16,131, Level: 81
Activity: 83% Activity: 83% Activity: 83%
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,399
Default Re: Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

Initially it seems like a good idea. The problem I see is the lack of Amiga software that can take advantage of PowerPC.
If you just want a browser and paint program you could buy a Netbook with Linux and GIMP (free) for same price as a 2nd hand Mac.
I also have issues with memory limits of older hardware.
__________________
Go Go Gadget Signature!
ElPolloDiabl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 10:15 AM   #7
redrumloa
Original Omega User
Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
redrumloa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,126
Blog Entries: 4
Send a message via AIM to redrumloa
Default Re: Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

As has been stated in this thread, MorphOS already runs on Mac minis and other models such as PowerMac G4 has been announced. If you are not familiar with MorphOS, you could say it started as an AmigaOS close and has matured from there. MorphOS is highly compatible with AmigaOS 3.x applications. Pretty much anything system friendly will run. Old school games bang the hardware so they would require emulation (UAE).
redrumloa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 12:08 PM   #8
recidivist
Premium Member
Points: 4,756, Level: 44 Points: 4,756, Level: 44 Points: 4,756, Level: 44
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Land of the False Profit
Posts: 567
Default Re: Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

I agree but that still nly makes a few thousand of us who can see the obvious potential;it just isn't enough for somebody to make money !

There is an enormous amount of G3 Mac hardware sitting idle that can be had for very little;so who ,having spent $20 for the old Mac will spend $200 for MorphOS ?

What we who are willing to use the old G3 hardware want is a cheap OS.

You(we)(I) have three basic choices and one far-out: run MacOS and Mac programs,run MacOs with E-UAE for Amiga ,run one of the PPC Linux distros even if it isn't the latest(neither is the G3)..or IF you are a super programmer willing to donate your work (or at least expect no more than pizza and beer money) try your hand at porting MorphOs or AmigaOS and then try to get the blessings of the OS owners to allow its release.
recidivist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 12:47 PM   #9
Piru
' union select name,pwd--
Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
Piru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 6,946
Default Re: Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

Quote:
Originally Posted by recidivist View Post
porting MorphOs or AmigaOS and then try to get the blessings of the OS owners to allow its release.
just curious: how are you porting anything if you don't have access to the source code?
Piru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 01:05 PM   #10
Iggy
Energizer Bunny of Babble
Points: 16,270, Level: 81 Points: 16,270, Level: 81 Points: 16,270, Level: 81
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 4,058
Question Re: Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

[QUOTE=recidivist;553177]...so who ,having spent $20 for the old Mac will spend $200 for MorphOS ? /QUOTE]

MorphOS is a bit overpriced, but it soon should be able to run on a $20.00 computer, literally. I paid <$20 for a G4 Powermac. I had 768MB of PC133 memory sitting around unused, as well as a Soundblaster Live card. I bought a <$5 USB2.0 card (NEC based). It's made for a PC, but works fine in the Mac. I then modified an ATI 9250 (with 256MB of memory) to work in the Mac.

I've got under $50.00 invested in this (if you don't count the hardware I had on hand). Its relatively fast (as MorphOS or AmigaOS platforms go).
Parts are available, cheap, and reliable.
A new motherboard for AmigaOS 4.1 (like the Sam440) costs at least $600 and MorphOS outperforms AmigaOS.
So, with what I've saved, I can invest 150 euros in an OS. AmigaOS 4.1 isn't free either.

If you want free, build an X86 based AROS system.
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 01:58 PM   #11
kickstart
Cult Member
Points: 10,446, Level: 67 Points: 10,446, Level: 67 Points: 10,446, Level: 67
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
kickstart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 979
Default Re: Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

A loss of time port anything to use on performas and this kind of macs, the best option is g4 macs, any amigaOS or morphOS can user better the hardware than osx.
__________________
A1200,BLIZZARD1260@50MHz
kickstart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 03:42 PM   #12
kolla
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,417, Level: 72 Points: 12,417, Level: 72 Points: 12,417, Level: 72
Activity: 80% Activity: 80% Activity: 80%
 
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,743
Default Re: Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

Quote:
Originally Posted by persia View Post
Hyperion have a license for 3.1, Amiga Inc actually own it, although they seem to be pining for the Fjords of Norway nowadays....
I'll let you known when I see them.
__________________
-- kolla
kolla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 03:52 PM   #13
Karlos
Sockologist
Points: 50,827, Level: 100 Points: 50,827, Level: 100 Points: 50,827, Level: 100
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barishabaad, Sardistan
Posts: 16,670
Blog Entries: 18
Default Re: Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

I was under the impression that MorphOS 2 was "tuned" for G4 and Altivec. If so, I can understand the lack of interest in targeting older architectures.
__________________
OCA
This isn't SCSI... This is SATA!!!
I have CDO. It's like OCD except all the letters are in ascending order. The way they should be.
Core2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz / X48T / 4GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX275 / Linux x64, AROS, Win64
A1XE 800MHz / 512MB / Radeon 9200 / OS4.1
A1200T BPPC 240MHz / 256MB / Permedia 2 / OS 3.1 - OS3.9, OS4
A1200T Apollo 1240 28MHz / 32MB / Mediator1200 / Voodoo 3000 / OS3.9
A1200D Apollo 1240 25MHz (ejector seat ROM edition) / 32MB
Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 05:23 PM   #14
zylesea
Cult Member
Points: 8,063, Level: 60 Points: 8,063, Level: 60 Points: 8,063, Level: 60
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
zylesea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bielefed, F.R.Germany
Posts: 566
Default Re: Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amiga1200User View Post
Maybe I'll get flamed to hell for this, but it seems to me that a lot of old Mac PPC hardware is floating around. I just pulled a Performa 5200CDS out of my garage. It has a built in CD, Floppy, monitor, 32MB of ram, a PPC 603 cpu and a ethernet interface. I HATE Mac OS 8 or 9. It would be FANTASTIC to load Amiga OS on this. Why has no one made a port? It would open up the available hardware for Amiga OS and breathe new life into old hardware. I'd much rather load Amiga OS on it.

Just a rant and a thought!
As others already stated such 60x stuff is too outdated given the fact that G4 hardware is realy very cheap (the mini costs a bit still, but the others are really, really cheap). And while MorphOS on a low end ppc is fun already, the joy is even greater with some serious horse power(there are *demading* tasks available for MorphOS). Mac mini, Powermac G4 and eMac are pretty good choices. The powerbook port will be the icing on top.
zylesea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 05:51 PM   #15
Tripitaka
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,922, Level: 66 Points: 9,922, Level: 66 Points: 9,922, Level: 66
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
Tripitaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,288
Default Re: Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

I sold my old MAC's to retro MAC fans (clever me).
I you like Amiga classic OS, look on ebay or buy a Minimig (Minimig deserves support IMHO) or maybe go for emulation via your PC, MAC, XBox, PSP, etc...
Natami is showing progress too if it's classic OS with more power that you need.
If OS4 is more your your thing, then hardware is blossoming around us by the day, SAM440, Flex, 460 etc.. and soon(ish) X1000.

Why the hell would you bother developing Amiga OS for old MACS when now is the time of so much new activity on the scene? That would be pure wasted man hours as sure as eggs is eggs. Manpower better spent on OS4 apps for example.
__________________
Falling into a dark and red rage.
Tripitaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 09:25 PM   #16
B00tDisk
VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
Points: 12,757, Level: 73 Points: 12,757, Level: 73 Points: 12,757, Level: 73
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
B00tDisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,587
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

"Old Mac" hardware any older than, say, 2004ish is going to be cripplingly slow. A Performa 5200 (widely regarded as the worst powermac made) runs at about the speed of a Pentium 100.

The best use for Apple hardware that old is, in order: recycling common parts (drives, RAM, PCI cards), stripping out the 603 CPUs for BPPC/CS repair and flogging the remains off on eBay.
__________________
Back away from the EU-SSR!
B00tDisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 07:49 AM   #17
Amigamia
Technoid
Points: 8,500, Level: 62 Points: 8,500, Level: 62 Points: 8,500, Level: 62
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Amigamia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 202
Default Re: Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

Hello everyone, I am not a MAC expert but I have been trying to look around for a suitable one to possibly install MorphOS on it. I came across someone who is selling an Apple Quicksilver Power Mac G4 with 867 MHz and has 1.128 GB RAM. OS X 10.5 a DVD burner. Is this a good machine for $75? Less? What's it worth? Is it good for MorphOS?
__________________
Check out AROSWORLD.ORG
Amigamia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 08:53 AM   #18
recidivist
Premium Member
Points: 4,756, Level: 44 Points: 4,756, Level: 44 Points: 4,756, Level: 44
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Land of the False Profit
Posts: 567
Default Re: Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

Piru:
I haven't the slightest;I suppose reverse engineering?
Notice I never suggested that I have the knowledge ,expertise,or anything to do ports.
There are a few who go to extremes just to prove older hardware CAN do tasks either not envisioned or not implemented during the time such computers were new.
Sure commercial developers get to play with the new hardware months before it hits the stores but the hobbyist programmers had to wait,and often learn new tricks in programming;the dedicated hobbyist seldom counts the time spent in finding how to push performance,while his counterpart who is being paid must justify hours spent.

Owners of pre-G4 Mac might as well simply use the latest available MacOS release that works on their computer (or the latest linux available) and the best programs released for that computer during its commercially useful life-those programs that cost $500 to run on that $3500 Mac can both be found for pennies on the $ now.

Some people dumped classic Amiga hardware when it became commercially obsolete : as in the truckload of Amiga 4000s and Video Toasters I missed out on by minutes about 10 years ago.Seller accepted $100 just to get rid of that old stuff.
Businessmen depriciate the equipment and move on; it is only the hobbyists who see value in old cars,old computers,cancelled stamps,etc.
recidivist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 04:25 PM   #19
zylesea
Cult Member
Points: 8,063, Level: 60 Points: 8,063, Level: 60 Points: 8,063, Level: 60
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
zylesea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bielefed, F.R.Germany
Posts: 566
Default Re: Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigamia View Post
Hello everyone, I am not a MAC expert but I have been trying to look around for a suitable one to possibly install MorphOS on it. I came across someone who is selling an Apple Quicksilver Power Mac G4 with 867 MHz and has 1.128 GB RAM. OS X 10.5 a DVD burner. Is this a good machine for $75? Less? What's it worth? Is it good for MorphOS?
The price seems fine for me - there's plenty RAM and OS X 10.5. MorphOS will probably run nice on that maschine, but the current release comes with support for Mac mini G4 only. The cpu speed would be fine for most things.
It is not confirmed when the release with support for the PowerMac G4 actually will arrive.


According thread on morphzone.org.
http://www.morphzone.org/modules/new...er=1&start=200
zylesea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 11:57 PM   #20
haywirepc
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,833, Level: 71 Points: 11,833, Level: 71 Points: 11,833, Level: 71
Activity: 30% Activity: 30% Activity: 30%
 
haywirepc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Phila,Pa,USA
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: Old Mac hardware?? Amiga??

I'm not sure this can be done with an older mac, but... On an older pc
I installed windows xp, then did some work to remove the windows logon and logoff screens and so on. I replaced the windows shell with winuae.

Essentially when you turn it on,the machine appears to boot straight into amiga os3.9.

Perhaps you could do something similar, have mac os boot straight into eau and amiga os3.9? I'm not a mac person so I don't know if this is possible. If someone wants to send me an older mac, I can give it a a
try and report my results.

Steven
haywirepc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
amiga , hardware , mac

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump