amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:20 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion General chat about Amiga topics Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

General chat about Amiga topics This forum is for conversations which are specifically "Amiga" related, but don't fit into other categories. Contents of this forum do appear on the main page, unlike Talk About. If a subject appears to be non-related, it will be moved to Talk About.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2010, 12:41 AM   #1
BigBenAussie
Technoid
Points: 7,230, Level: 56 Points: 7,230, Level: 56 Points: 7,230, Level: 56
Activity: 18% Activity: 18% Activity: 18%
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 314
Send a message via MSN to BigBenAussie
Default Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

Commodore Amigo computer



I believe, the specs are.....

CPU Fanless Xcore86 1Ghz “Device on Chip”
BIOS AMI BIOS
RAM 512MB DDR2 onboard
Storage 1 IDE for 2.5 inch internal, 2 x SD external
LAN 10/100 Mbps r6040 NIC
WIFI Optional WIFI module available (802.11 b/g)
3G Network Optional 3G module
Video Integrated 1280 x 1024 with 128 MB dedicated video RAM
VGA out, Composite out and SVHS out
Audio Hi Definition Audio, Stereo speaker, Digital Array Mic
Audio Jack Audio in and out
I/O Enhanced IDE Interface x1, USB 2.0 x 2, RS232 x 1
OS Microsoft Windows XP, Linux

Last edited by BigBenAussie; 04-08-2010 at 12:58 AM..
BigBenAussie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 12:44 AM   #2
Cammy
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,227, Level: 72 Points: 12,227, Level: 72 Points: 12,227, Level: 72
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In my own little world, Australia
Posts: 1,361
Send a message via MSN to Cammy
Default Re: Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

Nice, no Windows keys!
__________________
A1200 030@28Mhz/2MB+32MB/RTC/KS3.1/IDE-CF+4GB/4-Way Clockport Expander/IndivisionAGA/PCMCIA NIC
A1200 020@14Mhz/2MB+8MB/FPU/RTC/KS3.0/IDE-CF+2GB/S-Video
CD32 020@14Mhz/2MB+8MB/RTC/KS3.1/IDE-CF+4GB
A600 030@30Mhz/2MB+64MB/RTC/IDE-CF+4GB/Subway USB/S-Video/PCMCIA NIC/USB Numeric Keypad+Hub+Mouse+Control Pad
A500 000@7Mhz/512kB+512kB/ROM Switcher/KS3.1+1.3/S-Video

Get AmigaOS for your PC, it's FREE and comes in two flavours!
www.icarosdesktop.org
www.aros-broadway.de
Cammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 12:49 AM   #3
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 38,826, Level: 100 Points: 38,826, Level: 100 Points: 38,826, Level: 100
Activity: 50% Activity: 50% Activity: 50%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,788
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

Ha ha, very nice! I'm sure it's got junk guts, but if the price range were right and it was Haiku/Aros friendly, I'd just have to snag one or two of these!
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 12:56 AM   #4
ElPolloDiabl
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,732, Level: 80 Points: 15,732, Level: 80 Points: 15,732, Level: 80
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,360
Default Re: Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

It doesn't have DVI or HDMI out. Bad move.
__________________
Go Go Gadget Signature!
ElPolloDiabl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 01:02 AM   #5
clusteruk
Premium Member
Points: 4,742, Level: 43 Points: 4,742, Level: 43 Points: 4,742, Level: 43
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 202
Default Re: Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

Sorry better off with a 1.6ghz net book for $300 running Aros.

To slow for a new computer, people moaned about the Atom not being quick enough and this has much less performance.
__________________
Amiga 1000/3000, iMica Silent and NVidia Aros computer.
http://www.imica.net
Lets enjoy the Amigas future, THIS year is 25th Anniversary lets make it special.
http://www.amiga25.org
clusteruk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 01:18 AM   #6
Cammy
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,227, Level: 72 Points: 12,227, Level: 72 Points: 12,227, Level: 72
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In my own little world, Australia
Posts: 1,361
Send a message via MSN to Cammy
Default Re: Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

I have to agree with that, running Aros on a netbook is great! It's portable and super quick with only 1.6Ghz. It's definitely my fastest Amiga. I call mine the A1600. You can get them pretty cheap from Alibaba, here are some links for anyone who wants a cheap, cool netbook that runs Aros and Ubuntu Netbook Remix and probably other OSs too.

http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/24...laptop_10.html
http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/27..._LAPTOPS_.html
http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/29...p_Netbook.html

If you shop around you can find them even cheaper, I did. And they're not that small either, here's me with mine - http://i46.tinypic.com/2envwx3.jpg

They're not stuck with some ugly PC company's name or badge on them either, just that Intel Atom sticker which you can peel off.
__________________
A1200 030@28Mhz/2MB+32MB/RTC/KS3.1/IDE-CF+4GB/4-Way Clockport Expander/IndivisionAGA/PCMCIA NIC
A1200 020@14Mhz/2MB+8MB/FPU/RTC/KS3.0/IDE-CF+2GB/S-Video
CD32 020@14Mhz/2MB+8MB/RTC/KS3.1/IDE-CF+4GB
A600 030@30Mhz/2MB+64MB/RTC/IDE-CF+4GB/Subway USB/S-Video/PCMCIA NIC/USB Numeric Keypad+Hub+Mouse+Control Pad
A500 000@7Mhz/512kB+512kB/ROM Switcher/KS3.1+1.3/S-Video

Get AmigaOS for your PC, it's FREE and comes in two flavours!
www.icarosdesktop.org
www.aros-broadway.de
Cammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 01:18 AM   #7
dentunes
Too much caffeine
Points: 3,427, Level: 36 Points: 3,427, Level: 36 Points: 3,427, Level: 36
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
dentunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 108
Unhappy Re: Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

2 SD card slots? RS-232? VGA only? SIM Card option? Composite and S VHS?

Seriously? In 2010?

My suggestions - the second SD card slot could have been Express card slot. RS-232 could have been Atari Joystick adapter for retro games. HDMI only. You can get DVI and the rest from that now. That way you could also have digital audio out.

I have to ask - is this a joke? I know it is on their website though seriously, you have to question it.
__________________
Amiga, Amiga, Where for art thou Amiga?
dentunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 01:25 AM   #8
Cammy
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,227, Level: 72 Points: 12,227, Level: 72 Points: 12,227, Level: 72
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In my own little world, Australia
Posts: 1,361
Send a message via MSN to Cammy
Default Re: Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

No no no, it doesn't even have S-Video! Just Compo%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!e and VGA.

It's just another old zero-footprint PC being rebadged by Commodore.
__________________
A1200 030@28Mhz/2MB+32MB/RTC/KS3.1/IDE-CF+4GB/4-Way Clockport Expander/IndivisionAGA/PCMCIA NIC
A1200 020@14Mhz/2MB+8MB/FPU/RTC/KS3.0/IDE-CF+2GB/S-Video
CD32 020@14Mhz/2MB+8MB/RTC/KS3.1/IDE-CF+4GB
A600 030@30Mhz/2MB+64MB/RTC/IDE-CF+4GB/Subway USB/S-Video/PCMCIA NIC/USB Numeric Keypad+Hub+Mouse+Control Pad
A500 000@7Mhz/512kB+512kB/ROM Switcher/KS3.1+1.3/S-Video

Get AmigaOS for your PC, it's FREE and comes in two flavours!
www.icarosdesktop.org
www.aros-broadway.de
Cammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 01:45 AM   #9
CommodoreMan
Beginner
Points: 128, Level: 2 Points: 128, Level: 2 Points: 128, Level: 2
Activity: 29% Activity: 29% Activity: 29%
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 21
Default Re: Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

If they were smart they would have prefigured them with a good Commodore 64 emulator, and added ports to hook up the commodore drives and joysticks, I MIGHT have bought one then !! LOL The composite out is kinda neat for going retro with it but thats about it....
CommodoreMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 01:56 AM   #10
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 38,826, Level: 100 Points: 38,826, Level: 100 Points: 38,826, Level: 100
Activity: 50% Activity: 50% Activity: 50%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,788
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

@Cammy: Aghh, OK, so your Netbook uses the GMA 950 Chipset for video. Wonderful! I have that in my Toshiba and I've been very impressed. Though, I presume it's only supported in Vesa mode, thus allowing you to only enter AROS in 24bit video mode with fixed resolution correct?

Also, does AROS support the on-board audio, usb, and networking?

Anyhow, Where are you guys seeing the specs on the CPU speed? All I see are pics mostly.

In regards to the video output, I do believe that most modern TV's have RCA Video, and VGA inputs. At least mine does. Also, considering that it's probably using some sort of Intel Chip for it's video, I'd wager a guess that it's about on par with a basic GeForce 6 in which case I don't see how how having HDMI would serve anyone much over VGA. Besides, what are we doing in AROS right now that needs to be in such high resolutions? The video doesn't even work right in AROS to begin with. Granted, all this will be fleshed out in time and hopefully not left in the state that BeOS was left in, but still.

I do feel that they could have went with S-Video instead of the Composite output, but oh well, as I said I have VGA input so I'm good.

Anyhow, I don't even know why I'm defending this computer. As I said before it's prolly filled with junk components and going for more than I would be willing to pay for, but I DO love the looks and the retro appeal! I mean at least it's a real product and not just a mythological machine that exists only in poster form.
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs

Last edited by XDelusion; 04-08-2010 at 01:59 AM.. Reason: sarcasm
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 02:14 AM   #11
skurk
Cult Member
Points: 6,522, Level: 52 Points: 6,522, Level: 52 Points: 6,522, Level: 52
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
skurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 929
Default Re: Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cammy View Post
Nice, no Windows keys!
Well, at least on one of the pics

I still call bull%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@! on all this Commodore USA stuff, though.
__________________
Code 6502 asm or... DIE!!

[C64, C128, A500, A600, A1200, A3000, MBP+Mini, Efika/MOS2.1, Sam440 w/AOS4.1
skurk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 02:53 AM   #12
BigBenAussie
Technoid
Points: 7,230, Level: 56 Points: 7,230, Level: 56 Points: 7,230, Level: 56
Activity: 18% Activity: 18% Activity: 18%
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 314
Send a message via MSN to BigBenAussie
Default Re: Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

@skurk
Quote:
I still call bull%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@! on all this Commodore USA stuff, though.
What do you mean? Do you doubt it is legit? They're selling the Commodore Phoenix right now. I've spoken to the owner, and have posted his extensive technology background before. Don't be surprised if you see an actual Commodore advertisment some time soon.
BigBenAussie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 03:07 AM   #13
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 38,826, Level: 100 Points: 38,826, Level: 100 Points: 38,826, Level: 100
Activity: 50% Activity: 50% Activity: 50%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,788
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

Aghh ha! I see the specs now. For what ever reason, the text wasn't showing up before!

1Ghz is kind of weak, unless of course this will be selling for around $200, then it wouldn't be half bad, besides you can still emulate Amiga at decent speeds with 1Ghz...

...well in Windows. On AROS UAE still has jumpy sound and all that and I'm running at 2.4Ghz, non emulated.

On the upside: 128Mb of Dedicated Video Ram, not shared! GOOD MOVE!
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs

Last edited by XDelusion; 04-08-2010 at 03:28 AM..
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 03:11 AM   #14
countzero
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,900, Level: 69 Points: 10,900, Level: 69 Points: 10,900, Level: 69
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
countzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 1,937
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fanscale View Post
It doesn't have DVI or HDMI out. Bad move.
what for you ain't gonna watch blue ray or HD video on this baby anyway
__________________
I believe in mt. Fuji
countzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 03:21 AM   #15
dentunes
Too much caffeine
Points: 3,427, Level: 36 Points: 3,427, Level: 36 Points: 3,427, Level: 36
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
dentunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 108
Default Re: Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

DVI to plug it into my DVI only LCD monitor.
__________________
Amiga, Amiga, Where for art thou Amiga?
dentunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 03:29 AM   #16
skurk
Cult Member
Points: 6,522, Level: 52 Points: 6,522, Level: 52 Points: 6,522, Level: 52
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
skurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 929
Default Re: Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dentunes View Post
DVI to plug it into my DVI only LCD monitor.
__________________
Code 6502 asm or... DIE!!

[C64, C128, A500, A600, A1200, A3000, MBP+Mini, Efika/MOS2.1, Sam440 w/AOS4.1
skurk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 03:41 AM   #17
recidivist
Premium Member
Points: 4,756, Level: 44 Points: 4,756, Level: 44 Points: 4,756, Level: 44
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Land of the False Profit
Posts: 567
Default Re: Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

Wel the prices are listed,and may I say,OUCH!
Looks like $475 to $1295 !!??!!
recidivist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 04:08 AM   #18
haywirepc
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,682, Level: 71 Points: 11,682, Level: 71 Points: 11,682, Level: 71
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
haywirepc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Phila,Pa,USA
Posts: 1,307
Default Re: Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

I hate to burst any bubbles but...

First, who is commodore usa? This company is like AMIGA INC in that they have no relation to original commodore except perhaps to own the rights to use the name "Commodore USA"

They have no relation whatever to original commodore. This is just a couple of people (or more likely one guy) who thought hey I can make a buck if I register the name commodore usa and there is likely no one left to sue me for using that name or trademark.

The commodore USA phoenix is simply the cybernet zpc, which has been around for literally years and years, simply rebranded.

This "AMIGO" is simply the xsurf pc, announced some time ago, rebranded again. Apparently this "Commodore USA" is just some guy buying already existing all in one keyboard type pc's and rebranding them.
Calling them a commodore pc is ridiculous. They have nothing to do with the commodore brand, lineage or history. They are already existing products you can get much less expensively elsewhere.

Again sorry to burst anyone's bubble if they are excited about this stuff, but I thought someone should actually mention the truth.

Steven

EDIT - Sorry I didn't read this thread thoroughly enough, cammy did mention the truth. This is bunk lets make a buck from stupid people who
don't know we just rebranded existing products. Its ridiculous.

Last edited by haywirepc; 04-08-2010 at 04:12 AM..
haywirepc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 04:16 AM   #19
BigBenAussie
Technoid
Points: 7,230, Level: 56 Points: 7,230, Level: 56 Points: 7,230, Level: 56
Activity: 18% Activity: 18% Activity: 18%
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 314
Send a message via MSN to BigBenAussie
Default Re: Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

@haywirepc
Honestly, how would you expect any company after the Commodore bust up, to be in any way related to the original Commodore? Would they have to be related to Jack Tramiel or something?

When the Commodore Phoenix was announced, there was a thread here about what it was, and it is hardly a secret.

Buying pre-existing all-in-one-keyboard hardware to fill a retro niche isn't such a bad idea. At least the hardware isn't vapour. Would it suit your sensibilities better if it was instead conceived of from a reference design like a lot of other hardware.

I think the expectations a lot of people express are a little high, and a little naive, because no company short of a multi-national could pull it off, and even then they would be beset by the same criticisms. You can't please everybody.
BigBenAussie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 04:21 AM   #20
dentunes
Too much caffeine
Points: 3,427, Level: 36 Points: 3,427, Level: 36 Points: 3,427, Level: 36
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
dentunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 108
Default Re: Commodore USA introduces new Amigo computer!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by skurk View Post
Fair enough.
__________________
Amiga, Amiga, Where for art thou Amiga?
dentunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
amigo , commodore , computer , introduces , usa

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump