amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:38 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion General chat about Amiga topics What is the hard disk size limit?

General chat about Amiga topics This forum is for conversations which are specifically "Amiga" related, but don't fit into other categories. Contents of this forum do appear on the main page, unlike Talk About. If a subject appears to be non-related, it will be moved to Talk About.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2009, 03:52 AM   #1
sim085
Cult Member
Points: 11,687, Level: 71 Points: 11,687, Level: 71 Points: 11,687, Level: 71
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Malta (Europe)
Posts: 918
Blog Entries: 1
Default What is the hard disk size limit?

Hi,

I was wondering, on Workbench 3.1, is the hard disk size limit 2GB as whole? or 2GB per partition? Also does this apply to all partitions or only to the partition where Workbench is installed?

Regards,
Sim085
sim085 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 05:05 AM   #2
Lando
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,051, Level: 69 Points: 11,051, Level: 69 Points: 11,051, Level: 69
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,384
Default Re: What is the hard disk size limit?

The limit is 4gb for partition and/or drive. After this it will start to 'wrap around' and overwrite data at the beginning of the drive.
Lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 05:05 AM   #3
gertsy
Lifetime Member
Points: 11,775, Level: 71 Points: 11,775, Level: 71 Points: 11,775, Level: 71
Activity: 79% Activity: 79% Activity: 79%
 
gertsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Melbourne, Oz
Posts: 1,803
Default Re: What is the hard disk size limit?

Workbench or the OS should go on the first Partition. 250-500MB is heaps for a System partition.
Less than 4GB partitions are fine for OS 3.1.
On my A1200 and A4000 I have 8 GB drives with a 500MB System and 2 x 3.6GB Partitions.
OS 3.1 on the A1200 and 3.9 on the A4000.
(Man... Lando guzumped me by seconds)

Goodluck.

gertsy
gertsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 05:30 AM   #4
sim085
Cult Member
Points: 11,687, Level: 71 Points: 11,687, Level: 71 Points: 11,687, Level: 71
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Malta (Europe)
Posts: 918
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: What is the hard disk size limit?

Thank you very much for the replies. from your answers I can understand that I can have as many partitions as I like as long as none of them are more then 4Gb large.
sim085 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 05:37 AM   #5
Thomas
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 14,751, Level: 78 Points: 14,751, Level: 78 Points: 14,751, Level: 78
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,995
Default Re: What is the hard disk size limit?

Quote:
On my A1200 and A4000 I have 8 GB drives with a 500MB System and 2 x 3.6GB Partitions.
This won't work without additional software. Kickstart 3.1 with its built-in IDE driver and the built-in file system cannot access outside of the first 4GB of the drive. The IDE driver recognises drives up to 8GB, but if you create a partition in the upper 4GB it will use the same space as other partitions inside the first 4GB, so the partitiions will overwrite each other.

There is FFSTD64 on Aminet which patches the file system to allow to use the full 8GB (even as one partition, no need to make a smaller system partition). You need to patch the IDE driver as well to get more than 8GB. IDEfix97 is such a patch for the IDE driver, for example. OS 3.5 and 3.9 come with new IDE drivers, too.

Bye,
Thomas
__________________
Email: thomas-rapp@web.de
Home: thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de/
Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 05:38 AM   #6
Thomas
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 14,751, Level: 78 Points: 14,751, Level: 78 Points: 14,751, Level: 78
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,995
Default Re: What is the hard disk size limit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sim085 View Post
from your answers I can understand that I can have as many partitions as I like as long as none of them are more then 4Gb large.

NO !

Read my above reply. It's dangerous to create partitions outside the first 4GB of the drive.
__________________
Email: thomas-rapp@web.de
Home: thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de/
Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 05:38 AM   #7
Marcb
Technoid
Points: 5,868, Level: 49 Points: 5,868, Level: 49 Points: 5,868, Level: 49
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Marcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 407
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: What is the hard disk size limit?

It depends on the file system you are using,
if you're using FFS then the hard disk limit is 4gb.. partitions need to be under 2gb but the entire hd used can't be over 4gb..

Edit: Thomas was too quick for me :-)
__________________
"...but some animals are more equal than others."

Last edited by Marcb; 12-08-2009 at 05:40 AM..
Marcb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 06:02 AM   #8
sim085
Cult Member
Points: 11,687, Level: 71 Points: 11,687, Level: 71 Points: 11,687, Level: 71
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Malta (Europe)
Posts: 918
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: What is the hard disk size limit?

Thanks Thomas.

So with out any fixes, the maximum is 4GB, while with fixes the maximum is 8GB. am i right now? (I am reffering to total size of hard disk)

Last edited by sim085; 12-08-2009 at 06:08 AM..
sim085 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 06:32 AM   #9
Thomas
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 14,751, Level: 78 Points: 14,751, Level: 78 Points: 14,751, Level: 78
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,995
Default Re: What is the hard disk size limit?

Quote:
while with fixes the maximum is 8GB
With one fix (file system) the maximum is 8GB. With two fixes (file system + IDE driver) the maximum is 128 GB. Only with OS 3.9 + BB2 + fixes from Aminet more than 128 GB is possible.

All that only applies to the internal IDE controller. Other controllers have different limits (although the 4GB limit is common to all drivers and file systems).
__________________
Email: thomas-rapp@web.de
Home: thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de/
Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
size , limit , disk , hard

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump